BBB Accredited Business since

Window World of Central Valley

Phone: (540) 946-0770 1018 W. Main Street, Waynesboro, VA 22980 http://www.windowworldcharlottesville.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This com[pany offers vinyl windows, siding and doors.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Window World of Central Valley meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Window World of Central Valley include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Window World of Central Valley include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Window World of Central Valley
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 29, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2002 in VA Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business under new ownership as of: 02/01/2012 Business incorporated 12/09/2002 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Waynesboro Business License

Phone Number: (540) 942-6610

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Deathridge, President Ms. Melinda Hawks, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Deathridge, President
Business Category

WINDOWS - INSTALLATION/SERVICE CONTRACTORS - GENERAL CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES HOME IMPROVEMENTS WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE WINDOWS SIDING CONTRACTORS DOORS - PATIO DOORS - INSTALLATION DOORS

Alternate Business Names
Window World of DC, Inc.
Industry Tips
3-Day Cooling Off Rule BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 1018 W. Main Street

    Waynesboro, VA 22980 (540) 946-0770

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before I signed the contract I ask the sales person if the installer could remove the inside trim on the door to be replace without causing any damaging and reinstall it just as it is now. He replied "I don't think that will be a problem as these guys can do some amazing things." I asked what is the average time to have the doors installed. He said 6 to 8 weeks. At week 12 I had not heard from Window World so I called to get a update on my doors. Window World in formed me that they could install on 2/23/15. Installer showed up on time. He measured the opening of the door to be replaced to make sure that the new door was the correct size. He discovered that the door was not and informed me that he would not be doing the installation today. The next day I get a call from the man who did the measuring of the door and requested to return a remeasure the door as he could believe he measured it incorrectly. I said that would be OK. He measured the door and admitted the new door was incorrect. Then he started to talk about the trim on the door a stated that the dead bolt latch wound not be it the same location as the original door and they would have to notch it out in different location and the trim would have a noticeable notch that they would not be able to fix. I told him that would be unacceptable . This is what I have a problem with, the salesman comments lead me to believe that the trim would be reinstalled just as it was. I can't believe that Window World would think anyone would be happy with that condition . If the salesman would have told me that they could not locate the dead bolt latch on the new door to match the original door this would have been a deal breaker for me and I would not have gone forward with this project. After being informed of this I told The man form Window World that I wanted to cancel the project. They have wasted to much of my time and made to many mistake which has delayed the job and also mislead me as to what I was expecting to be done. As of today with all the problems with this project on there part no one has afforded an apology for the delays and no one from Window World has contacted me to find out why I want to cancel my order. They are not interested in the least to find out why I wish to cancel. During the last phone conversation with Window World all I could get out of them was this statement "After 3 days we don"t have to give you a refund." This was repeated at least a dozen times. Even after I told them I get about the 3 days they continued to repeat this over and over. Window World is not interested in providing customers with quality workmanship that would add value to your home, all there about is making a fast buck no matter what.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see Window World do what is morale right. I don't think they have done anything to earn all of the $1100 I gave them in good faith. I realize they have invested time and should be compensated accordingly. If they don't offer me and thing I will walk away absolute nothing.

Business Response: In response to the customers filed complaint, I have tried to contact Mr. ****** via phone number on record.  We are currently trying to contact Mr. ****** to resolve this matter.  As of today, Window World of Central Valley has had no response and are still waiting in hopes to speak directly with Mr. ****** in order to deliver, as always is Window Worlds intent, top quality customer service and satisfaction.

Business Response: Mr. ******, First I would like to apologize to you for the problems you are having with the door. We do value you as a customer and are not interested in making a fast buck. Typically in these situations, Window World reorders any item that does not fit properly at no additional cost to you as the back of the contract states. When mistakes do happen, we do everything within our power to make it right before releasing someone from the contract.  I am sorry you feel you have not gotten this level of service from our Central Valley location. We have reviewed the notes on your file and it was our understanding that you wanted the door reordered. You then changed your mind and wanted to cancel everything and we were to keep the deposit due to the breach of contract by you. Now I am seeing a request for a full refund so I am concerned on how we arrived to where we are today. We would love to be able to resolve the trim issue with the door but my understanding from your letter is that is not possible. We are willing to release you from your contractual obligation but there will be a cancellation fee. Please call our office at your earliest convenience because we would like to hear more about your experience and to finish sorting out everything that happened. Thank you,***** ******Operations Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ******* ******

2/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are attempting to have our front window replaced in our house we purchased 1 year ago. The previous owners purchased all the windows from Window World which states that these windows are all under warranty. The previous owners were to notify us of this warranty within 30 days of us purchasing this house or the warranty on the windows would no longer be valid. However, after many attempts with us and the previous owner discussing with Window World they have not provided us with documentation stating such warranty. The previous owners of the house were also unaware that they needed to notify Window World of an owner change at the property in order for the warranty for the windows to be valid for us.

Desired Settlement: With the difficulty we have had with this company giving us excuse after excuse and not calling us back or following up in any way, we would really just want our front window replaced free of charge under the warranty terms that the windows have at this property. We even attempted to pay for the window replacement but Window World charged us doubled (they did correct that) and cancelled 3 attempted installs and when they finally arrived at our house they had ordered the wrong window therefore canceling the order. We would expect a company to honor its warranty of their product for a good name and reputation.

Business Response: Here at Window World, we will respond quickly to any complaint that a potential customer may want to file.  However, in this case, this potential customer window we have found is NOT under warranty according to our company procedures for warranty.  The previous owner, **** ****** * **** ******** **** *********** ** *****, did not transfer this warranty within the 30 day window that Window World recognizes as "transfer of warranty" procedure.  Please see the warranty guidelines as attached.  You will see the warranty guidelines that applies to this case on the last paragraph that is solely the responsibility of the previous homeowner.  Window World has not changed their posture on the warranty transfer since the beginning of this great company.  It stands original and unchanging as each customer is made aware at point of sale as contracted.  Please respond.

1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Struggling with office since agreeing to purchase. Gave deposit with promise of call back within two days to schedule measurement. No call back. Called and was told someone would call back within48 hours. No call back. This scenario repeated several times and again for installation. Arrived with one window wrong size. Said web to install correct size with "rush" order. Noticed kitchen window had been installed tho badly damaged and I'll-fitting. I called immediately. Said someone would call back in 48. Here we go again. Called a second time. Now Day 9, and no return call. These difficulties began in September. Three months later I am left with one window that now looks totally out of place on the house, and another that is unsecured and not useable.

Desired Settlement: Immediate resolution of these issues, and a written apology would be nice.

Business Response: I have contacted this customer by phone promptly to address her issues with our company.  We have discussed all issues and I am dedicated to resolve them for her in a professional and swift manner.  Her window that was mismeasured upon the original install has been ordered and as I relayed to her should be on our delivery truck tomorrow.  Once I have determined tomorrow that her window in fact has arrived,  I will contact her as promised to schedule an install date at her convenience.  Upon this install.  we will have our craftsman (installer) evaluate and resolve an issue with the kitchen window that was installed previously.  I apologized to the customer for any inconvenience this situation may have caused her and it is my intention to construct a letter of apology from our company to reiterate our deepest regret for lack of superior service.  I also thanked her for allowing me the opportunity to correct these issues.    ***** *****Operations ManagerWindow World of Central Valley

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10327866, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Window world finally installed the window which did not fit at first.  They examined the damaged window and agreed it requires replacement.  The installer left saying someone would call me "in a couple of days" to schedule a replacement which would be a rush order.  On Friday, a month will have passed since this promise.  These problems have been ongoing since September, false promises, shoddy workmanship, and failure to return calls.   Regards, *** ********

Business Response: This has been reviewed by Window World.  We apologize for the inconvenience of a MM at time of first install and made provisions to get this and the other issue of a possibly damaged window as soon as possible.  The MM was installed as soon as it was received on 12/17/2014.  It was agreed at this time that our installer would evaluate the issue with the possible damage on the kitchen window and bring back information as to what was needed to be ordered (i.e. a complete window, main frame or sashes) as we could not see exactly what was needed via pics that was sent by the customer.  It was ordered immediately once this information was received.  It has always been our procedure to contact our customers to install once product has been received which we did immediately up receiving the main frame.  We admit that there was delay in our order due to closure of our manufacturing plants over the holidays but did everything we could to expedite this order.  Our scheduling department contacted the customer to schedule install and it has been scheduled for 1/21/2015 as the customer can only install on a Wednesday.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. the promise to replace the damaged window on January 21 obviously has not yet taken place.  My confidence is minimal.  Also, it is not true that I can only install on Wednesdays, it's merely the most convenient day for me.  I was told I would have to wait until after the end of the month because they had to honor a " really big" contract first.  Apparently I am a less valued customer, because my contract is not really big.  Their excuse is lame and not altogether truthful, and certainly has not yet been fulfilled.  However, IF the faulty window is satisfactorily repaired next Wednesday, I will be relieved to have this disappointing business over with.  Thank you. Regards, *** ********

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 10 windows 8/16/13 Sales estimator **** *****, before purchasing windows I ask if new windows would match windows I already had, he stated would not notice.  Windows brought to house to be installed 9/24/13 too large.  Made new ones installed 10/15/13, put in from inside of house, frames look like sore toes to others, 3 window frames about 1 inch from house these windows have no shutters.  11/3/13 ****** ****** from Waynesboro came to my house stated I was sold wrong type windows. s channel should have been used around window, 3 windows should have been fixed differently. Called back 11/4/13 with a complete different report on windows, said he would call back about fixing windows.  To date have heard nothing.  This will affect sale of house.

Desired Settlement: Put flat frame on top and bottom of end window, fix 3 window frames so bees, bugs and wind cannot get under frames.  I want to know why i was told one thing on day, the next day a different statement was made about windows, nothing since.                                                                   

Business Response: Window World has responded to this complaint.  ****** ******. production manager, has spoken with our customer.  We are scheduled to go out to Ms. ***** property this coming Thursday, December 19th, and will address all issues and take of them that day. 

Consumer Response: Window World's repairman was at my home today and repaired window frames they look so much better.  I am well satisfied. Regards, ******** ****

11/6/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had storm doors installed on my front and back doors and I was told that I have a lifetime warranty as long as I live in the residence. The issue started when I first got the doors in 2009 and the doors have not been right since they installed them. The front and back door slams when you come in and out of the house. Everytime a technician comes out they just adjust the screws and say that should fix the problem. Well the problem still is not fixed. I called them a month ago and a technician came out and put new hardware on but that didn't fix problem. They told me it was new hardware but I did not see them take any new hardware out of the bag. I called again on August 27, 2012 and the lady I spoke with said I needed to speak with the manager and to this date I have not received the courtesy of a return call.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement of these doors as I have paid enough for the doors for them not to continue to cause me problems. I'm not sure why the problem cannot be resolved and why it takes Window World such a long time to even try and come to my house and fix the problem. I told them the last time that if the problem was not resolved that I wanted new doors.

Business Response: We have agreed to furnish and install 2 new storm doors for the customer. We understand she has contacted you to withdraw the complaint. Please withdraw the complaint and remove from our records per the customer's request. Thank you, **** **********

Consumer Response:

Ms. ******* called and said that she called Window World yesterday and again this morning and they told her that they had just ordered the door. She is very upset and wants her door. She stated that She paid good money for this and wants it resolved. Office Manager is ****. Consumer is requesting a call from **** with an explanation for delay and a date it will be installed. Her door is getting warped waiting for them to install the doors that have been paid for well in advance.

 

Business Response: Both new storm doors were ordered on  09-06-12. The first of two storm doors were installed 9-21-2012.  We are waiting on additional parts for the second storm door.  The scheduled arrival date is is 10-25-2012.  As soon as the parts arrive in our warehouse, Mrs. ******* will be called to schedule installation.

Consumer Response: I was told I would be contacted about the status of the parts but have not received a call as of yet.  If Window World is just now ordering the hardware how come its going to take until October 25th before the parts arrive when I was told they could order the parts from the warehouse in Washington and they could have the parts overnighted.  This leads me to believe that Window World never ordered the door to begin with and they are just now ordering the door.  I have been waiting for well over a month especially when they stated the doors were ordered on September 6.  Window World needs to come and finish the installation of the back side door which was never completed on September 21st and I am requesting that Window World pay me for the storm door that still has not been replaced and the frustration that I have had to endure over this whole situation.  Window World does offer a lifetime warranty for these storm doors as long as I reside at the premises and I do not feel they have honored their warranty and has caused me to never use Window World again for anything or recommend Window World to anyone else.  Regards, ***** *******   

Business Response:  We are scheduled to install her final storm door on 11/7 and **** said that once the door has been installed and the job has been signed off on as completed satisfactorily we will send her a $125 check. Thanks  ********

Consumer Response:  As long as the work is done to my complete satisfaction and that they finish the installation on the back door as well. Regards, ***** *******