BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Western Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Window World of Central Valley

Phone: (540) 946-0770 1018 W. Main Street, Waynesboro, VA 22980 http://www.windowworldcharlottesville.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This com[pany offers vinyl windows, siding and doors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Window World of Central Valley meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Window World of Central Valley include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Window World of Central Valley
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 29, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2002 in VA Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business under new ownership as of: 02/01/2012 Business incorporated: 12/09/2002 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Waynesboro Business License

Phone Number: (540) 942-6610

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Deathridge, President Ms. Melinda Hawks, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Deathridge, President
Business Category

WINDOWS - INSTALLATION/SERVICE CONTRACTORS - GENERAL CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES HOME IMPROVEMENTS WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE WINDOWS SIDING CONTRACTORS DOORS - PATIO DOORS - INSTALLATION DOORS

Alternate Business Names
Window World of DC, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 1018 W. Main Street

    Waynesboro, VA 22980 (540) 946-0770

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 10 windows 8/16/13 Sales estimator **** *****, before purchasing windows I ask if new windows would match windows I already had, he stated would not notice.  Windows brought to house to be installed 9/24/13 too large.  Made new ones installed 10/15/13, put in from inside of house, frames look like sore toes to others, 3 window frames about 1 inch from house these windows have no shutters.  11/3/13 ****** ****** from Waynesboro came to my house stated I was sold wrong type windows. s channel should have been used around window, 3 windows should have been fixed differently. Called back 11/4/13 with a complete different report on windows, said he would call back about fixing windows.  To date have heard nothing.  This will affect sale of house.

Desired Settlement: Put flat frame on top and bottom of end window, fix 3 window frames so bees, bugs and wind cannot get under frames.  I want to know why i was told one thing on day, the next day a different statement was made about windows, nothing since.                                                                   

Business Response: Window World has responded to this complaint.  ****** ******. production manager, has spoken with our customer.  We are scheduled to go out to Ms. ***** property this coming Thursday, December 19th, and will address all issues and take of them that day. 

Consumer Response: Window World's repairman was at my home today and repaired window frames they look so much better.  I am well satisfied. Regards, ******** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/6/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had storm doors installed on my front and back doors and I was told that I have a lifetime warranty as long as I live in the residence. The issue started when I first got the doors in 2009 and the doors have not been right since they installed them. The front and back door slams when you come in and out of the house. Everytime a technician comes out they just adjust the screws and say that should fix the problem. Well the problem still is not fixed. I called them a month ago and a technician came out and put new hardware on but that didn't fix problem. They told me it was new hardware but I did not see them take any new hardware out of the bag. I called again on August 27, 2012 and the lady I spoke with said I needed to speak with the manager and to this date I have not received the courtesy of a return call.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement of these doors as I have paid enough for the doors for them not to continue to cause me problems. I'm not sure why the problem cannot be resolved and why it takes Window World such a long time to even try and come to my house and fix the problem. I told them the last time that if the problem was not resolved that I wanted new doors.

Business Response: We have agreed to furnish and install 2 new storm doors for the customer. We understand she has contacted you to withdraw the complaint. Please withdraw the complaint and remove from our records per the customer's request. Thank you, **** **********

Consumer Response:

Ms. ******* called and said that she called Window World yesterday and again this morning and they told her that they had just ordered the door. She is very upset and wants her door. She stated that She paid good money for this and wants it resolved. Office Manager is ****. Consumer is requesting a call from **** with an explanation for delay and a date it will be installed. Her door is getting warped waiting for them to install the doors that have been paid for well in advance.

 

Business Response: Both new storm doors were ordered on  09-06-12. The first of two storm doors were installed 9-21-2012.  We are waiting on additional parts for the second storm door.  The scheduled arrival date is is 10-25-2012.  As soon as the parts arrive in our warehouse, Mrs. ******* will be called to schedule installation.

Consumer Response: I was told I would be contacted about the status of the parts but have not received a call as of yet.  If Window World is just now ordering the hardware how come its going to take until October 25th before the parts arrive when I was told they could order the parts from the warehouse in Washington and they could have the parts overnighted.  This leads me to believe that Window World never ordered the door to begin with and they are just now ordering the door.  I have been waiting for well over a month especially when they stated the doors were ordered on September 6.  Window World needs to come and finish the installation of the back side door which was never completed on September 21st and I am requesting that Window World pay me for the storm door that still has not been replaced and the frustration that I have had to endure over this whole situation.  Window World does offer a lifetime warranty for these storm doors as long as I reside at the premises and I do not feel they have honored their warranty and has caused me to never use Window World again for anything or recommend Window World to anyone else.  Regards, ***** *******   

Business Response:  We are scheduled to install her final storm door on 11/7 and **** said that once the door has been installed and the job has been signed off on as completed satisfactorily we will send her a $125 check. Thanks  ********

Consumer Response:  As long as the work is done to my complete satisfaction and that they finish the installation on the back door as well. Regards, ***** *******  

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1