BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Western Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Window Max, Inc.

Phone: (540) 586-6924 View Additional Phone Numbers 16366 Booker T. Washington Hwy., Moneta, VA 24121 http://kitchenandbathmax.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers windows, siding, doors and sunrooms.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Window Max, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Window Max, Inc. include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Window Max, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Window Max, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 02, 2005 Business started: 08/14/1995 in VA Business incorporated: 11/01/2005 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Braden Miles, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Braden Miles, President
Business Category

WINDOWS - INSTALLATION/SERVICE DOORS HOME IMPROVEMENTS PATIO, PORCH & DECK ENCLOSURES SIDING CONTRACTORS

Hours of Operation
Mon.-Thur. 7am-4pm
Fri.- 7am-12pm
Sat. by appt.
Method(s) of Payment
Accepts cash, checks and offers financing to qualified customers.
Alternate Business Names
Kitchen and Bath Max
Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 16366 Booker T. Washington Hwy.

    Moneta, VA 24121 (540) 586-6924 (800) 673-6955 (540) 721-3044 (434) 237-0012

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (434) 237-0012(Phone)
  • (540) 721-3044(Phone)
  • (800) 673-6955(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2009 we signed a contracted with Window Max Inc to do some work on our enclosed patio deck. This work was being done because we had experienced leaks on numerous occasions and we desired to correct this problem. The work actually started in January of 2010 and consisted of replacing all the windows, door to outside and roof. We had a discussion with Mr. Miles about the slope on the roof being adequate and he stated that the roof he proposed would not leak. On the contract we signed it states that the roof is guaranteed not to leak for 25 years and it is signed by Mr. Braden Miles. The contract says nothing about this being a manufactures warranty. The roof started leaking after the first rain and we reported this to Mr. Miles. After several telephone calls he finally came out and stated that at least it was leaking in a different place. I didn't think that was very funny at all considering the leak we orginally had was one drip and now the porch was leaking in 7 or 8 different places down a seam and we had 5, 5 five gallon buckets lined up along the floor. Mr. Miles sent some workers out and they put some sealer down the seam and it leaked the next time it rained. This same scenario went on three or four different times and one day Mr. Miles told my wife that the Manufacturer of the roof had gone out of business and he washed his hands of responsibility for the leak. We could not find our contract that stated the roof was guaranteed for 25 years so we left the buckets on the porch until we decided what we could do. Months later we called Mr. Miles and told him we felt it was his responsibility to fix the leak. He then sent his partner out and he indicated he had a sure fix for the leak and he would give us a good deal on it at $737.10 dollars. We asked if Mr. Miles would pay for it and he said he checked with Mr. Miles and he said no. Since we couldn't find the contract we felt we didn't *ave any choice but to pay for the repairs so we could enjoy our porch. his partner did say that he would not guarantee in writing that the roof wouldn't leak but he was sure it wouldn't. He taped the seams and put some kind of coating like you use on campers or RVs. This lasted several months and the leak came back. We called Mr. Miles and ask if he could send us a copy of our contract and he said he had had a fire and all his records were stored at another location and that he would go get it and send it to us in the next day or two. We waited several weeks for the call and finally found our contract. We called Mr. Miles and told him we found the contract and he indicated he was just ready to send it to us. We told him we thought that fixing the leak was his responsibility. he indicated that the guarantee was a manufacture’s guarantee and he would get a representative out to look at it. We said I thought the manufacturer went out of business. Mr. Miles mumbled something. We told him we had gotten quotes on fixing the leak and that the lowest bid was $1,850.00 and that we also felt he should also be reimburse us for the $737.10 we spent for the previous repair that didn't work since the check was made out to Window Max Inc. he wanted to set up a meeting to discuss the problem. We reluctantly agreed since this has been going on for four years. he indicated he would call and talk to me the next day about setting up a meeting. It has been a week and he still hasn't called. Over the four years we have dealt with Mr. Miles he has returned only one call personally out of many to the company. We feel that we are justified in asking for the total cost of getting someone else to fix this problem since it is obvious his company cannot. We also feel that we are justified in asking that the $737.10 be returned to us since the roof was guaranteed by his company. The windows and door have been excellent but the roof leak has been a nightmare and we are fed up with Window Max. Each time we call Mr. Miles and give our name he says "your porch must be leaking again" . It is my understanding that the company no longer dose roof work. I wonder why!!!!

Desired Settlement: We obtained two quotes on repairing the roof. The lowest quote was $1,850.00 and we feel we should be reimbursed for this as well as the $737.10 we paid to have his partner do the first repair since the contract says and I quote "roof to be guaranteed not to leak for 25 years" and the check we paid for this repair was to Window Max Inc.

Business Response: I would first like to say I'm sorry you have had a ongoing problem with your patio room roof. We have made a total of eight attempts to try to stop the leak in your room. Not long after installing the roof the manufacture who made the roof system went out of business. After talking to you twice last week I contacted three other patio room roof manufactures and talk to several engineers who have designed these roof system to figure out why your roof seams to keep leaking. After talking and looking at cross sections of the roof I think we have finally found out why your leak keeps coming back. I think you will agree that we have made several attempts to fix the problem and it has fixed the problem for a while and then the roof starts leaking again.  We believe that in order to fix your roof so a leak doesn't develop in 6 months The roof needs to be removed and the area of the roof that joins to your home needs to be sealed with a different type of gasket. I know you want a rubber roof put over this patio room roof but we don't believe that will fix the roof. It might stop it from leaking for the summer but when we receive snow next winter the room mighty start leaking again. The roof that was installed on your patio room came with a 25 year manufactures warranty and a one year labor warranty. I know this leak issue has been a "royal pain in the neck for you" and in good faith we have tried to fix the problem several times. I would be willing to disassemble the roof and add a different flashing kit to  where the roof joins your home and then re assemble the roof system. We will do this for you at this time at no charge. It takes about two weeks to get the parts from another manufacture and they we could proceed in fixing your problem.Last week when we talked you instructed me that if I didn't pay $1900 for a rubber roof to be installed over your patio room and to refund the charge we charged to try to fix your room when it was clearly out of warranty you would be forced to sue us for the amount. I was completely shocked. We do not agree that the roof can be fixed with a rubber roof and my company is not willing to pay for the new roof.  If you do not elect for us to try and fix the leak issue in good faith I will refund the cost of the repair we attempted last fall as it did not work.I hope we can continue to work together and resolve your problem.Braden MilesWindow Max Inc.   

Consumer Response: First of all I would like to state that we did not tell you that we would sue you if you did not meet our offer. We stated that we had contacted an attorney and let them look over the contract. the attorney stated that by the contract saying" the roof was guaranteed not to leak for 25 years" she felt that it was Window Max's responsibility to fix it or pay to have it fixed. Nothing on our contract says anything about 1 year labor warranty by Window Max and 25 years by the roof manufacture. Your company has been onsite no more than four times to attempt to repair the roof to our knowledge. I am shocked that after four years of trying to get this leak fixed we had to turn to the BBB for help. We have been married 47 years and never have had to use BBB in this manner or seek an attorneys opinion before. We feel that trying to remove the roof to possibly fix the problem would create more problems considering the tape, sealant and Flex Coat that has been put on by your company. We have contacted other contractors and feel that our best approach would be to go forward with the rubber roof considering the trouble we have had for the last four years. Although we do not feel it is fair we are willing to close this complaint once we receive a check for $737.10 from Mr. Miles that we paid last year for repairs that should have been covered.  Regards

Business Response: Mr. ******, I had hoped you would elect to  have the roof removed and reinstalled.  I believe it would have fixed the leaks in the patio cover.  However, I will send out your refund today for $737.10 per your request.  I hope you get your problems resolved.   Braden Miles Window Max 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. It is a shame that Mr. Miles did not show more interest in resolving this issue before we contacted the BBB. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Regards,

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. Braden Miles of Window Max, Inc. owes me $336.97 and is refusing to pay me. First of all, almost one and one half years ago, he took an exterior screen from a window to get it repaired but lost it. He agreed to pay for its replacement on August 9, 2013. Secondly, after an extensive master bathroom remodeling project with Mr. Miles in which the ceiling drywall still had a bow, he agreed in the August 9, 2013 letter for me to hire a professional outside of his company to repair the ceiling. See the attached note.... "**** You will need to order a new screen from your window people. I can not find your old one. Yes, I will pay for it just send me the bill. You said you were having a plaster guy fix the ceiling a couple of weeks ago. Your quoted price was $300. To be done with this project I will pay the $300 for the ceiling to be fixed again. Braden Miles Window Max Inc."" Mr. Miles used the word "again" even though the ceiling was never fixed nor did he take the time to come out to see the problem for himself. However, his partner Mr. Joe Brightwell did and agreed it was an issue that more skim coating could not repair. I got two estimates and professional opinions about why there was a significant and unsightly bow in the ceiling despite some earlier attempts to skim coat it. Mr. ***** ******* of ***** Plastering (###-###-####) and Mr. *** ***** (###-###-####) are both professional plasterers with years of experience. They both agreed that the joint had to be cut out and refinished. Mr. *******'s estimate for repair was $300. I hired Mr. *** ***** who completed the repair for only $250. I sent Mr. Miles of Window Max (aka Kitchen & Bath Max) photographs of the open ceiling and Mr. *****'s explanation of what had caused the bow. "Drywall board wasn't broken on trusses. Had to remove board, install nailers, replace board and finish." IE, the dry wall seam was floating between trusses so the edges of the two boards were simply in the middle and not nailed to anything. I submitted the two charges.....$86.97 for the screen which was custom ordered through *** Supply and then Mr. *****'s charge of $250. I never received payment. On September 28th, the morning of the Salem Home Show which I told Mr. Miles via email that I was planning to attend, I received a call from his secretary stating that a check was in the mail that day. I thanked them. However, a check has never been received. I have attempted to contact Mr. Miles multiple times and he refuses to call back. I am confused as to why Mr. Miles is refusing the payment for both the missing screen and the improperly installed ceiling drywall boards. I advised Mr. Miles that I would report him to the BBB if I had not heard from him by today but never heard back from him. As of October 18, 2013, Mr. Miles has refused to send a check or to answer any emails or phone calls on the subject. Mr. Miles has conducted himself very unprofessionally.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for expenses incurred for repair of bowed ceiling drywall installation (work completed by Mr. *** ***** ###-###-####) $250 Reimbursement for replacement of a Weather Shield exterior window screen (custom ordered from *** Supply on********** Avenue) 86.97 Total reimbursement due to ****** ** ************** = $ 336.97

Business Response: Mrs. *************, I am sorry you have not received your check for $336.97. On Friday September 27, 2013 I had my office call to say we issued a check for 336.97 and it was to be mailed out. On Sunday September 29, 2013 we had a fire that destroyed my office and we have been in the process of moving to another location. We have had major problems with phone lines and e-mail. I believe the problems have been fixed. I guess the check we issued on September 27 must not have mailed and left in the building before the fire. We have stopped payment on the old check and issued a new check. We mailed a check on Saturday October 19, 2013 for $336.97    Sincerely, Braden Miles    

Consumer Response: While I am very sorry about the misfortunes at Window Max, I feel via multiple emails and phone calls to  the office as well as contacts via the cellphones of Mr. Miles and Mr. Brightwell,  I should have received some type of response. or notification of the problems they were having.   Even if the phones were messed up by a fire, emails and cellphone messages should have been accessible.     However, I appreciate their willingness to send a check at this time to resolve the issue.  I have appreciated their efforts in taking on our remodeling projects.   In general, we were very happy with the final result of our bathroom remodels (x2)  and our relationship with Mr. Miles and staff.   I wish them nothing but the best as they regroup after the fire and in all future projects.    Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Regards,****** **************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Window Max (Braden Miles) installed new tile in our kitchen and bathrooms, including backsplash in the kitchen in October, 2012. The grout in the backsplash started cracking and flaking out in November, 2012. I've called the business 4 times(Nov, Dec, Jan, Feb), with promises of follow-up, but no one returns my calls. On two occassions I spoke to the owner, Mr. Miles. On Feb.7, I was informed by his secretary that he's been working 14 hours a day and doesn't have time to return calls.

Desired Settlement: All I'm asking for is a return visit to repair the grout in the backsplash which shouldn't take more than an hour to do.

Business Response: Mr. ******,  I think this complaint is ludicrious. You know for over the past two months we have been working on the home in your back yard. I guess we did not relize that you have spent most of your time in North Carolina. We have knocked on your door more times than we can count. At some point not be able to reach you we left a note on the door. I know we were finally able to chatch you at home and the problem has been fixed. I hope you relize now that several attemps were made to take care of the problems you were having. I ask you please remove this complaint.   ****** ***** Window Max Inc.    

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards,**** ******  

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1