BBB Accredited Business since

Salem Automatic Transmission Service

Phone: (540) 389-0030 315 West Fourth Street, Salem, VA 24153 http://www.gottrust.org/salem_automatic_transmission_service


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automotive transmission repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Salem Automatic Transmission Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Salem Automatic Transmission Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Salem Automatic Transmission Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 1980 Business started: 05/05/1978 in VA Business under new ownership as of: 11/30/2012 Business incorporated 11/30/2012 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Salem Business License

Phone Number: (540) 375-3019

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Seldomridge, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Seldomridge, President
Business Category

TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Seldomridge, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 315 West Fourth Street

    Salem, VA 24153 (540) 389-0030

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they replaced a transmission in my vehicle upon leaving the shop my wife ( primary driver of the vehicle ) noticed the VSA indicator light and VSA activator lights were alight on the console . she did not inform me of this immediately and when I was made aware I contacted the shop and brought it by for them to look at. the staff stated that there was no linkage between the VSA lights and the transmission and were not responsible and they would attempt to repair it for an unknown cost. on my return trip home stopped at two other mechanics I use for repairing my cars and both said there is a connection and the transmission firm should be liable . upon relaying this to the Salem Automatic Transmission staff I was told it was not there responsibility and I should just have the other shops make the repairs There are other issues which will not pursue at this time but can elaborate on if the need arises

Desired Settlement: to fix the problem with no additional charge

Business Response: Customer wanted used transmission we salem  automatic purchased one from salvage yard on 1/14 16 with 30 days warrenty first one came in with case bad got another on 1/28 installed  and picked up 1/28customer was again notifed of 30 day warrenty   on transmission customer returned on3/9/16 with D LIGHT BLINKING we scand and found coad 3ed gear pressure switch coad  I told customer there would be a charge to fix the issue. the costomer then told us there was  traction control light on . the light  was on previcus  and after installing transmission . I offerd to look at the issue . explaned  he wouled have to leave car a day  he then stated he would have his own mechanic look  at the problem [warrenty was with salvage yard .

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ***** ****** there are multiple erroneous statements in the response1) the only light on was the check engine light when I brought it in for initial service . I was advised by my mechanic that it might be a transmission problem. That being said my wife will confirm that this was the case . I know that the assistant will confirm the mechanics version . But I assure you neither I or my wife would lie2) upon the initial evaluation the mechanic reported that there was a problem with an APPS sensor that was causing the cars dysfunction ,this was replaced at a cost of $237 3) I did not test drive the car after this instillation and trusted the mechanics word that I still needed a transmission ( something that I doubt at this time ) I have never seen the old parts to verify this 4) the mechanic told me I needed a transmission 5) my invoice states that I have a 120 day warranty 6) upon receipt of the car as my wife was driving home the indicator light for the traction control came on as did the D  light blinking. 7) due to a heavy work schedule for myself and wife I was delayed in returning to show this to the shop8) mechanic stated this was not related to the transmission , my own mechanic upon hearing this disputed this fact9) mechanic said I would have to leave the car with him and would be a charged for repairs as well as  no clarity as to how long he would need to keep the vehicle in his shop ( he had the vehicle for ~ 2 weeks for the transmission) 10) he did stop the D light from blinking but it was only temporary as the light started blinking again that evening 11) when I called the shop to state that my mechanic thought the sensor light was connected to the installation of the transmission his response was " well have them fix it then"  there are probably more details I could add but this is a quick summation Per my conversation the BBB I do not see a resolution to this event ,however I would strongly question the A+ rating this company has and further suggest you look elsewhere for your service needs.As for me I will break down and just go to the dealership ,overpay but hopefully correct the situation  Thank you ***** ****** 

Business Response: VEHICLE CAME TO SHOP TOWED IN WE HAD TO REPAIR APPS SENSOR TO ROAD TEST  APPS SENSOR IS ACCELERATOR PEDAL SENSOR. AFTER REPAIR ROAD TEST  TRANSMISSION WAS BAD. MR ****** SAID I CHARGED 237.00 SENSOR WAS 165.00 TRANS FLUID WAS 72.00 THERE WAS NO LAB0R I WILL FAX INVOICE. LABOR WAS 900.OO FOR R.R  THE TRANSMISSION. INVOICE DONT SAY ANYTHING ON WARRENTY. 120 DAY? IT IS 30 DAYS . NO LABOR .  WHEN MR ******* RETUREND CAR HAD 3RD GEAR PERSSURE SWITCH COAD  WOLD NOT PAY DIAGNOSS SAID  THAT HE IS NOT GOING TO PAY ANYTHING. THIS COAD  IS A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM.THE LIGHT THAT WAS ON WAS VSA VEHICLE STABILITY ASSIST. IT WAS ON WHEN IT CAME IN AND LEFT TRANSMISSION WORKED VERRY GOOD  MR****** DROVE CAR WHEN IT WAS PICKET UP?  VEHICLE WAS HEAR  2 WEEKS TRANS CAME OUT OF STATE CASE  WAS BAD HAD TO ORDER A NOTHER TRANS . HE NEVER CALL ME BAEK ABOUT LIGHT  COMEING ON  IF COAD IS 3ED PERSSURE SWITCH  IT IS TRANS RELATED AGEAN NO WARRANTY!

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ***** ****** just some further information . I took the vehicle to the dealership for repairs it cost 227 dollars to correct the problem . the dealership informed me that the issues were directly connected to the installation of the transmission


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Salem Automatic Transmission Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)