BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Western Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO Transmissions

Phone: (540) 344-1647 316 Orange Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24016 http://www.aamco.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers transmission repair and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmissions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 20, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1999 in VA Business incorporated: 06/10/1999 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

Type of Entity

Franchisee

Business Management
Mr. Joe Casey, Vice President Ms. Mary Casey, President Mr. Dave Aldrich, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Casey, Vice President
Principal: Ms. Mary Casey, President
Business Category

TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Four May, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 316 Orange Avenue

    Roanoke, VA 24016 (540) 344-1647

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Aamco Transmission to get a general quote for a transmission repair. The representative stated they do a free inspection of transmissions. After speaking with a representative I took my Range Rover to Aamco for the free inspection. I gave the representative the code for the slipping transmission and explained what was wrong with the transmission from the information that was giving from the Land Rover dealership and another independent local transmission business. The owner told me to get a more in depth analysis they need to diagnose the care where it may just be an electrical problem. After further discussion I agreed to diagnose the car. While test driving the car the owner told me the car stopped on them when they went to get coffee from ********* in my vehicle during a test drive. I was not happy that during a test drive they felt it necessary to stop and get coffee. The owner also gave me an estimate that was different then what was initially discussed and I stated I would pay for the time and pick up my truck. After further discussion the owner stated my truck was ready for pick up. I paid for my hour of diagnosis and drove my truck away. When I arrived at my destination I took off my suit jacket and put it in the backseat to find my headlight sitting in the back seat. I called Aamco and they stated it fell off during the test drive. No one ever told me my light was broken and they did not tell me the light was not on the truck when I pulled off. I could have been pulled over and ticketed for improper equipment. The owner called me and discussed my options for fixing the transmission and not once did she mention my head light fell off during the test but she did tell me she went to *********. I called Aamco and they said it just fell off and was an act of God. They said it fell off while driving on 220 but was able to stop the truck and get out and pick up the head light. I am very dissatisfied and would like my light replace and a refund of diagnosis.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund and my headlight replaced.

Business Response: Regarding Mr. ******** complaint, he was originally charged 5 hrs. diagnostic labor to which he agreed to pay.  As I stated to Mr. ******, on the test drive, the headlight fell out. At  the time of the incident, the technician's had not even opened his hood. This was clearly an "act of God and would have happened to whomever was driving said vehicle at the time.  We charged Mr. ******  only the 1 hour diagnostic labor instead of 5 hours he agreed to at a saving of $360.00. While trying to be honest with our customers, it only took 1 hour to diagnose his problem. Considering the act of god and his savings on diagnostic labor, we do not see any justification to his complaint. Thank you

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. As a multiple business owner and to much of my disappointment of this business  I was never told my light was damaged and fell off the car.  I was told that a joyride trip to ********* was taking during the evaluation of the test drive and a tow truck had been called because an additional issue that was not there when I dropped the vehicle off had arose.   In response to the diagnoses I spent over 20 minutes discussing this matter with the business owner.  She stated that they had completed the free diagnosis and would require verbal permission for up to an additional five hours for their technician to possibly determine the problem.  The owner also stated it may only take an hour and I would only be charged for the amount of time the technician spends on the vehicle. Given the fact that the Range Rover had been to the dealership and diagnosed with the proper codes and additional information provided to Aamco  I was very confident it would not take long.  The problem was evident and did not even take an hour.  Hence, there was no savings.  The bigger issue is the safety of the driver of the Range Rover.  There was no right turn signal on the vehicle when I left the facility.  Without knowledge it was disappearing the safety of the driver and others around the driver became a great concern.  There could have been an accident among other things.  The light was damaged in the possession of the business.  It is the responsibility of that business to correct the problem.   The only reason I took the Range Rover to Aamco was due to the verbal quote I received from a representative via the telephone.  The quote I received via the telephone for a rebuild was less than $2,500 plus any additional parts that were broken or needed to be replace.  After Aamco had my vehicle the owner called back to quote over $8,000 without looking at the transmission.  All I'm asking for is a return on my labor cost and the turn signal assembly to be replaced with and OEM part. Regards, ******* ******

Business Response: We stand behind our original response. This was strictly an act of god and we feel no justifiable obligation to fix or replace something that was totally out of our control.  We do regret customer's animosity toward AAMCO.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. As I state before I reject the initial response and have contact my attorney who has given a legal description that will follow.  Also when I cleaned my Range Rover there were scratches from the turn light assembly on my vehicle that would need to be touched up. The cost to replace my turn light assemble from the Local Land Rover dealer is ($199.06 plus installation) and I would like my refund o $90.00 for labor that was not needed.  That is a total of $289.06 plus installation and the cost to fix the scratches. My attorney stated the following:  [Act of God - A natural catastrophe, such as an earthquake, tornado, flood, that is beyond any reasonable expectation of control.  Used to negate contractual obligations.  When you leave your car with a mechanic, a "bailment" relationship is created, which gives rise to several duties on the part of the mechanic, including the duty to use reasonable care until you pick it up, to make repairs in a skillful and workmanlike manner, to inspect your car after making repairs to ensure that it's not a danger to you or others to drive, and not to engage in fraudulent or deceitful conduct.  An auto mechanic will be liable for damages suffered as a result of negligent repairs.  They were negligent for not informing you of the "accident" before you drove off in your car because, in my opinion, your car was not safe to drive.  I also believe they are responsible to repair the scratch to your vehicle because it happened while they were on a "test drive" which is part of their obligation to perform work in a workmanlike manner.  The car was scratched while in their care and they failed to use reasonable care in the performance of their services.] I have also attached pictures taking on the day in question of my picking up my vehicle.  I realized this when I arrived at my destination.  I drove to the destination as the vehicle appears in these pictures. Regards, ******* ******, ******** *********

Business Response: I am truly sorry regarding the circumstances of this complaint. I was hoping to fix customer's transmission problem for a minor repair of which I charged him 5 hours diagnostic labor. On the way back from the test drive, it was confirmed that a minor repair would not fix customer's complaint and I advised customer of this. Customer declined repair and I decided to only charge him 1 hour diagnostic labor which was $90.00. Regarding headlight concern, anyone driving that vehicle at the time of incident would have experienced this situation. I honestly do not feel responsible for this and feel sorry it happened but cannot  justify the customer's wishes for us to replace it. As a token of customer service, I will offer to issue a refund of the $90.00 diagnostic charge as long as customer will be placated.  Sincerely, Mary Casey owner AAMCO Transmissions

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I will stand on my previous claim and ask for the cost to replace my turn light assembly with the refund of my charge for one hour of labor.  My attorney explained the difference between act of God and mechanics liability.  Again, I was not charge for 5 hours of labor and there was no savings.  I only authorized up to a maximum of 5 hours which I knew it would not take giving the previous diagnosis from Range Rover with codes that were giving to AAMCO. Regards, ******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dropped off 2005 Subaru Outback on March 19,2014. They performed an inspection, told us we needed our transmission rebuilt. We gave the go-ahead to work on the car. Was told repeatedly they would call us with any news during the rebuild. Never heard from them, we had to call every time. We were constantly promised it would be fixed by a certain date, and upon that date we would have to call them only to find out the car still wasn't repaired. We finally picked up our car on April 2, 2014. We were told to expect a small leak until new seals and gaskets set. This was "normal". On April 4,2014, we called AAMCO and spoke to ***** Told him the car was st¡ll leaking and now it was shuddering in 2nd gear. Was told to bring the car back in and it would be looked over by lead tech **** ****** on Monday, April 7, 2014. After not hearing from them, we called on April 9, 2014 and spoke to **** on the phone. She said it would be the end of the week until it would be ready. We were near their location at the time, so we stopped by to talk to **** in person and find out why it was taking longer than expected. From what she told us, she had "the best transmission technician on the east coast" and they would do a good job. When asked why it wasn't repaired properly the first time it was released back to us, she said "sir, l'm only human". We stated that we knew someone who worked for ******* ** News, that maybe we should give them a call and see if the news station would come out and do an investigative report on their business practices. The response we received was unexpected. She began yelling and pointing at my husband saying that he threatened her and told him to "GET OUT OF MY SHOP...l'LL FIX YOUR CAR, BUT GET OUT!!" My husband put his hands up, palms out, said "ma'am that's not a threat". She continued to yell at him and at this moment her lead tech **** ****** came out of the back office and walked up to my husband and pushed him back towards the door, also yelling "SHE TOLD YOU TO GET OUT, JUST LEAVE!!" Two other technicians that work there came into lobby and attempted to restrain Mr. ****** and pull him off of my husband. As this was happening, **** was also pulling on him saying "BACK OFF ****, I GOT THIS!". Upon our leaving the lobby area, my husband was shaking his head in disbelief at what just happened and Mr. ****** yelled after him "KEEP SHAKING YOUR HEAD, PUNK! KEEP SHAKING YOUR HEAD!". We got into my husband's vehicle and left the premises. Two days after this occurred, I called AAMCO to see if my car was ready. **** answered the phone and was very polite yet offered no apology. She told us they opened up the transmission and realized they needed replace some parts that they had to order. She said the parts wouldn't come in until Monday, April 14, 2014 and it would be ready that afternoon. I called back on the afternoon of the 14th only to be told by **** that our transmission had been sent to their Blacksburg shop (we received no phone call telling us this) and it would be repaired there and sent back to Roanoke. **** told me he would call me when the transmission was back in Roanoke and was being installed in our vehicle. I received no such call. This brings us to present day. We are still waiting to have our car returned to us in proper working order. They have had our vehicle a total of 24 days.

Desired Settlement: return our car

Business Response: In response to this complaint, I would like to stress that there is always two sides to every story.  I had just hung up the phone explaining everything to customer's wife regarding status of the repair.  Within 2 minutes they both came in the shop.  He was extremely rude repeatedly. At no time was I condescending to him. I apologized numerous times about the delay in repairing his vehicle, even showed him his vehicle and status of repair (which was under warranty) He was obviously not listening and threatened to call a friend of his that works at ******* ** to run a story on us. At that time, I told him to leave the premises numerous times of which he refused to leave and got very defiant to me. At that time, **** came out and asked to leave also to which he refused again. **** at no time shoved him and myself and the other technician that witnessed this event did not have to restrain ****.  Another issued to be addressed is his car came into the shop for repair on 3/19/14 and left on 3/26/14 of which we have written documentation.  Finally, in the 20 years I have owned shops, he was by far the most rudest customer I have ever had to deal with.  We obviously tried to treat him in a courteous and professional manner but he wanted no part of this. The desired settlement customer asked for has been satisfied on the return of his vehicle on 3/26/14. He still has a nationwide warranty at any AAMCO in the country. Mary Casey Owner AAMCO Transmissions Roanoke, Va. *****

Consumer Response: REGARDING COMPLAINT # We have reviewed the response from **** *****.  It is no shock to us that she is flat out telling lies.  Her lead technician most certainly yelled at and shoved my husband and had to be restrained by two other technicians and **** herself.  She is going this route simply because she knows that she could very well lose her "best technician on the east coast" and she could be held accountable for her role in all of this.  We have our invoices from AAMCO that give different dates as to when they worked on our vehicle as well as when they released our car.  We also have proof that I picked up my car THE SECOND TIME on April 16, 2014...my mother-in-law drove me there and waited in their parking lot.  We also have phone records for all the calls made to them.  She claims that they released my car on 3/26/14.  We have documentation stating that they weren't paid until 3/30/14 and this was written in **** ********* own hand.  The car actually wasn't returned to us until 4/2/14.  And if she did release the car on 3/26/14, why would she wait 4 days to receive payment for her work??  Also, the date on our invoice claims the "delivery date" concerning our warranty claim information is 3/31/14.  All her dates she claims to have are NOT what we have printed on AAMCO invoices given to us. Another item to be clarified is concerning our warranty.  She says in her response "the desired settlement customer asked for has been satisfied on the return of his vehicle...he still has a nationwide warranty at any AAMCO in the country."  The resolution we considered fair and that which was sent to BBB is to have our warranty extended to 36 month/36,000 mile beginning upon completion of the warranted work.  Are we to understand that this is the warranty we have now?  We believe that warranty should be in effect from April 2, 2014.   Regards, ******* * ****** ********

Business Response: I have truly struggled on commenting on this situation. I am offended by the personal attack of this customer's wife. I only can say that I am honest and have no further offer for this.

Consumer Response: Reply to customer complaint #******** We have clearly reached an impasse with this company.  There is no dealing with Ms. *****.  She believes she is a truthful, honest person who has somehow earned an A+ rating with the BBB.  We fail to understand how so many complaints could be filed against her and yet still maintain this high rating.  We will have no more dealings with her and this will end our correspondence with the BBB.  Regards, ******* * ****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/26/12 I brought my Chev Avalanche to Aamco for repairs. They rebuilt the transmission and charged me extra for a rebuilt torque converter, which I'm sure it needed. At their request, I brought it back after a week or two to have them check it to make sure everything was okay. I told the person then that there was a little "miss" while driving, especially around 45-55 miles per hour. They drove it around and told me that it wasn't the transmission causing the problem, so I thought that the problem was in the engine. Since the truck had so many miles on it, I decided to continue running it till it got worst. I've driven it over 30,000 miles in 14 months and for the most part nothing has changed. I wanted to give this vehicle to my daughter (who has had trouble making ends meet) but didn't want to pass on a problem, so I took it in to a garage to have it checked out and was told the problem is and has always been in the transmission. Now that the transmission is "out of Warranty ", Aamco agrees.

Desired Settlement: Since this problem has existed since day one, and they were notified of this with-in two weeks, I feel that Aamco should rebuild the unit again under the warranty.

Business Response: In response to Mr. *****'s complaint: Original transmission repair was done on 11/7/12. Repair came standard with a 12 month/12,000 mile nationwide warranty and customer was offered a 36 month, 50,000 mile warranty and declined. on his 10 day check, it was determined that he had an engine miss and customer advised of this. On 2/25/14, Mr. ***** brought his vehicle back for transmission concern.  It was determined then that there was a transmission concern that needed to be addressed.  AAMCO determined that this vehicle was 17,682 miles over original the 12,000 mile warranty. But in consideration to Mr. ***** being a prior customer, he was offered 2 choices. 1 - since original repair was $1800.00 (which was a wholesale price due to fact he stated he would send us more of his company's vehicles- this is 500.00 less than retail w/12 month/ 12,000 mile warranty, AAMCO would charge the same price, but give him a 3 year, 50,000 mile warranty or 2 - do the repair for $1400.00 w/12 month/12,000 mile warranty. Mr. ***** refused these offers. Pls. note, most shops would have charged him the same or more in today's economy. It also should be also noted that no other Mr. *****'s company vehicles ever came to AAMCO from 11/17/12 to date. AAMCO still stands behind our original offer since it obviously more than fair due to mileage put on this vehicle.  **** ******* C. S. Mgr. AAMCO Transmissions

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Aamco did indeed make the offer as stated,  and the mileage is indeed what he said (as I noted in my original complaint), however the main point of the complaint is the "engine miss " he noted was not an engine miss... it was and is the same miss I am experiencing today.... no worse... no better.  Since this "miss" was noted at the 10 day check I fell it should be covered now.  There was only a few hundred miles used at that time.   I think they should have put the truck on the same machine they used to determine the problem that they used recently instead of just driving it around. I'm willing to compromise on this .  He offered to rebuild it for $1200... I'm willing to pay $900. , or half the original amount. Yes,  I have 10 vehicles but the transmission has to go bad before I can take it to them.  To my knowledge, they don't work on any thing else. Regards, ***** *****

Business Response: In response to the complaint, AAMCO feels our proposal is more than fair to alleviate the complaint.  Doing this repair for $900.00 would be below parts and labor cost.  We cannot justify this request to perform a repair below cost. We will however, still honor our initial proposal in this matter.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. If I had not taken this vehicle to them and pointed out the problem 2 weeks after the work was done,  I would agree that the vehicle was well over the warranty period., their offer to fix it at cost would be very generous.  However the problem existed since the beginning of the warranty period.  Instead of putting the vehicle on a machine to test it ,  they just drove it around and said it wasn't the transmission causing the problem.  Now that it is out of warranty they admit it is the transmission.  Frankly they should do the repair at no cost to me.  However since I have gotten over 30,000 miles out of it I am willing to split the cost.  I am considering legal action but would accept arbitration. Regards, ***** *****

Consumer Response: A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance to have the complaint be handled through Arbitration.   Better Business Bureau: I would like my complaint ID *******, to be handled through an Arbitraion hearing. Regards, ***** *****

Business Response: From: **** ***** Sent: Friday, May 02, 2014 10:19 AM To: ******* ****** Subject: Complaint # *******  In regards to Mr. ***** *****'s complaint # *******, I spoke to Mr. ***** and per **** ******s authorization, agreed to resolve this issue by repairing his vehicle at his desired price of $900.00. Mr. ***** agreed to this and will drop off his vehicle in the near future for his transmission repair. **** ******* Customer Service Manager AAMCO Transmissions 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have two vehicles that we have taken to AAMCO and gotten taken advantage of. The first is a Nissan Altima (2004). I took the car there on February 26th, 2013 for an inspection and to see what was causing the car to not start randomly. ***** called me back and said that the car wasn't starting because oil was getting into the spark plugs due to a Valve Cover Gasket leak. I thought this sounded inaccurate but he seemed confident that would fix the problem, so I allowed the service. Needless to say...the issue has never been fixed. We were also told the car failed inspection due to a Tie-Rod. So we authorized the service of the Tie-Rod and an Alignment as well to pass inspection. When driving the car, we still heard a clanking noise in the wheel where the tie-rod should have been replaced but didn't think much of it because it passed inspection. Today I had the car towed back in due to a separate issue of the car not starting. I explained to **** that while he has it in there to check the tie-rod because it doesn't seem like it was fixed. He stated he didn't see where we had the tie-rod or alignment done. He also said the invoice was only for 359.70. This enraged me because I know we paid close to $700 for repairs and NOTHING WAS EVER FIXED...NOT THE STARTING ISSUE AND NOT THE TIE-ROD ISSUE. On a separate occasion in August of 2013, I had my 2002 BMW X5 in for a routine oil change and inspection. I also wanted them to check and see why the service engine light was on and why it would shut off occasionally while driving it. I dropped it off on a Saturday before leaving to go out of town. When I dropped it off, I told **** exactly what I wanted done. A state inspection, oil change, and diagnoses of what's wrong. I saw **** write all of this down. **** calls on Tuesday and says my inspections done and I owe 16 dollars. I asked him about everything else and he was clueless. He said he would get started on it. The next morning at about 8:30 AM I call back and ask if everything was done. He said the oil change and inspection are finished. I asked him if he had figured out what was happening with my car. He said the technician thinks something might be going wrong with the transmission but bc it's a BMW I need to take it to the dealership. I asked him about the engine light and the engine issue. He says "it's a cam shaft sensor and we don't do that either." Needless to say I was furious because I just had the cam sensor replaced by THIS AAMCO about 6 months ago. I told him that...and he said "oh...ok then we will take care of it." I hung up and called back around 3pm to see if it had been finished. **** says "Yes but I can't promise the engine light won't come back on." I asked if he actually replaced it and he said that he did. I find this very hard to believe bc the last time I left it there it took two days to change that sensor out, and also bc of his statement about the engine light. It sounds like he just cleared the code and hopes it doesn't come back on. Every time I spoke to **** I felt as if he just didn't want my business and didn't want to do anything to my car. One hour after I drove my car off the lot...the service engine came back on and there is zero difference in the cars performance. I'm extremely disappointed and am sure the part wasn't replaced as it should've been since its under warranty. I know I've been lied to and taken advantage of in both of these instances and I think AAMCO needs to start being held accountable for their dishonesty. I will speak to an attorney about my options if this isn't resolved quickly and ACCURATELY. (MEANING THE WORK IS ACTUALLY DONE AND NOT SAID IT HAS BEEN DONE AND COLLECT THE MONEY FOR IT WITHOUT ANYTHING ACTUALLY BEING DONE TO IT. I've tried to speak to the owner, **** repeatedly about this issue because I've always had good communication with her, and when she was involved...the work was actually done in previous visits. However, ive been unable to reach her and left several messages for her to call me that weren't returned.

Desired Settlement: I want AAMCO to be held accountable. I want the tie rod and alignment done on the vehicle and I want the starting issue fixed (the initial one where it won't start randomly...wont turn or anything). I also want the Cam Sensor fixed and the service engine issues cared for on my BMW and I want these things to be done at the expense of AAMCO since i've forked out so much money for service that wasn't even done, wasn't needed, or wasn't done properly.

Business Response: Mr. ***** has been notified that the work performed on his nissan altima was actually performed at another shop, not AAMCO as he claimed.  He has been given the other shop's name and number to follow up on his complaint and he is satisfied with that result.  **** ******* CSMgr. AAMCO Transmissions

Business Response: Spoke with **** and requested he bring the BMW back to the Aamco where the repairs were done so that his concerns could be addressed. **** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I took the car to AAMCO for the work and have always been under the impression AAMCO did the work. I just had my Altima in there last week as well and they tried to tell me I needed a new engine because the car wouldn't start. I had it towed to another service center for a 2nd opinion and they said it only needed a new battery. It rubs fine now. They also said the valve cover gasket has a leak and needs to be replaced as well...which AAMCO also said they did the last time it was there. At this point, the only thing that will make me satisfied in dealing with crooks is a full refund of the services they (didn't) perform in Feb of 2013. Regards, **** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/16/13 we had our 1995 Buick Park Avenue towed to AAMCO Transmissions located at 316 Orange Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016. The reason was due to we had a severe oil leak that was causing oil to be all over the passenger side of the motor. We were told the repair needed was a rear main seal, a harmonic balancer, 1 Serpentine belt, oil filter and oil total including parts and labor was $744.86. After repairs was made we picked up the vehicle on 10/24/13 repairs was completed we paid in full for the repairs and brought the vehicle home. On 10/26/13 ***** ******** noticed a very sizable puddle of oil underneath the car again. He contacted AAMCO Transmission shop on Monday 10/28/13 explained that the oil leak was apparently not fixed because there was also oil still on the passenger side of the motor and on the ground. ***** was instructed by **** to bring the vehicle up there and they would take care of it. Over a period of 48 hours of them having the vehicle ***** was contacted on 10/30/13 **** relayed from the technician that their diagnosis was a minor oil leak as long as ***** continued to top off the oil in the vehicle the vehicle should be okay. The technician also instructed **** to inform ***** that the only true resolution was to replace the motor. On 11/2/13 approximately 4:00 p.m. in preparation to go to dinner plans ***** went to check the fluids including the oil in the Buick Park Avenue and discovered a very large dark area underneath the Buick and also discovered there was no oil reading on the dipstick what so ever. So it appears to ***** ******** that the amount of $744.86 that was paid for the original repair did not in fact solve the oil leak.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome is a full refund of $744.86 or for the repairs to be made under the original agreement and payment of the $744.86 in a timely manner due to the time that the said vehicle has already been at their shop totaling 8 business days already for this repair.

Business Response: In response to customer's concerns and complaint, the Buick Park Avenue did have a large oil leak initially when it first came in. The vehicle left a 2" trail of oil in parking lot to bay area. It was obvious that the rear main oil seal had blown and needed to be replaced along with harmonic balancer, serpentine belt, oil & filter.  That repair was accomplished and when customer's wife picked up car, she was advised the major  leak was repaired but due to being run so low on oil, a possibility existed that damage could have done to engine.  The customer did bring vehicle back for another oil leak.  The harmonic balancer and seal were replaced twice but motor still had a small leak which can only be repaired by replacing engine due to damage in initial damage to engine.  Our technician advised the second leak could not be repaired due to previous engine damage and if customer kept oil level proper the engine may last for an indeterminate amount of time. Also to point out, due to possible damage to engine by first leak, there was no warranty given or implied. The customer is referring to one leak when in reality there was two leaks, the second being caused by initial damage prior to the vehicle arriving here. Since the initial leak was so massive, it was impossible to determine if anything else was wrong except for possibility engine was damaged by initial leak. Since customer was advised of circumstances in this repair and the possible consequences, we feel we fulfilled our responsibilities.**** ******* Customer Service Mgr.AAMCO Transmission

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.Another situation that was left out of original statement was that when ***** ********'s wife picked the car up the first time after repairs were supposedly made she was told that the oil pressure gauge was not working properly but that it would be ok. When ***** ******** dropped off the Buick for the second visit he talked to **** regarding the oil pressure gauge and asked about why it was not working properly, He was told by **** that it would be looked into. When ***** ******** picked up the car he was told the gauge was either a faulty gauge or they just wasn't sure. So Prior to reviewing the response from AAMCO. ***** ******** took the Buick Park Avenue to ****** ******* *** ***** **** located at *** *** *** *** Roanoke Va. The technician does agree that there may be some internal damage to the motor, however in his opinion he does not believe without going more into depth of the motor that the present oil leak is due to any internal damage. He informed me that there is no minor oil leak that I have a GUSHING MAJOR OIL LEAK In ***** ********'s opinion is the SAME amount oil leaking that was leaking originally that he sought the service from AAMCO to begin with. And that the oil leak appears to be coming from the harmonic balancer area and has already ruined the serpentine belt that along with the harmonic balancer that AAMCO installed is destroyed. ****** ******* *** ***** is willing to do a more thorough diagnostic of the motor and oil leak for a small fee which I would be willing to pay however should the result be of faulty work from AAMCO I would expect to be reimbursed for that fee as well as the original 744.86  I do understand there was no warranty issued for the work AAMCO preformed however I do feel that since AAMCO's diagnoses was that the cause of  any other oil leak problems  would be due to the internal motor damage I would like there to be proof provided of that to contribute to the massive oil leak that I still currently have and DID NOT appear to be fixed in ANY manner by AAMCO when the 744.86 was paid.

Business Response: In response to this complaint, AAMCO does stand by the original diagnosis and repair of said problem. Customer was made aware of possible internal engine damage at time of repair. Original leak was obvious and repaired accordingly. Secondary oil leak not observed when vehicle returned to customer. Obvious, this leak could have occurred anytime after delivery of the vehicle.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told that our transmission would need to be rebuilt and that the cost would be between $1,200.00-$2,100.00 depending on how much needed to be replaced. The cost was $2,000.00 which we were told was because the transmission needed to be almost entirely rebuilt. The car never performed properly but seemed acceptable at first then the transmission started displaying the same symptoms which we brought it in for. We took it back they said it was low on fluid filled it and told us to keep an eye on fluid level. It worked ok for short time then started to exhibit the same old symptoms. We have taken it to the nearest Aamco for repair under warranty but have been told it could be more than a week for the repair. We believe the car was never satisfactorily repaired and that the loss of our car for an additional week due to their negligence in initially repairing the vehicle should result in their having to pay the cost of repairing the vehicle to the standard originally agreed to as well as the cost of a rental car for the duration of the redo. We cannot afford to rent a car or do without one for more than a week. Had they repaired the vehicle properly the first time we would not be incurring this cost and inconvenience which is substantial. The owner simply states that human error occurs and she will fix it but refuses to consider the additional cost to her customer of having to rent a car while they fix their mistake.

Desired Settlement: Owner paid rental until car is repaired and no charge for the repair.

Business Response: The transmission will be covered under warranty all parts and all labor. Unfortunately rental cars are not a provision of the warranty.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Where do I begin? Talking to **** and **** on the phone about the transmission in the beginning I was told that AAMCO did the best quality work for the best price. Transmissions go through a highly detailed inspection after they are complete and how their technicians are the best around yada yada. I was originally quoted a price by ***** of $2895 for most of the work and that at the absolute most this would cost me would be $3200-3300 on Friday June 14th. If they didn’t need as many parts as expected the price could come in a lot lower than $ 2895.They told me my car would be ready by Tuesday and maybe Wednesday worst case scenario (The car was towed by them on Saturday). On Tuesday I called and they told me it would be at least Wednesday maybe now Thursday before it was ready. So I called Thursday and now its Friday at best. So at this point I asked ***** how much and what actually happened to transmission. He told me a bushing on inside had ruptured. I asked him how much this was going to cost and he said we came in a little bit better than I had originally thought. It was going to be around $2700 and all they had left to do was put in the torque converter on Friday morning. I said is this the FINAL price? He replied no, that taxes weren’t included. I asked him how much tax would be and he said around $125 dollars. So I said roughly $3000. His reply and I quote “No, better than that roughly $2900. I repeated this back to him over the phone. So the total cost of this is around $2900 give or take $50 bucks, and his answer was yes. So after telling me the car wouldn’t be ready until the end of the day on Friday I proceeded to drive up 1.5 hr drive to Roanoke. While I’m on my way up there I get called by a financial company in Lynchburg to apply for an all-purpose loan with interest. I told them that I would not be interested since I was told that I had 180 days same as cash option. So I arrive at AAMCO and when I looked down at the loan paperwork it had the wrong amount financed and the total amount was $3964. $1000 dollars more than **** had told me over the phone. **** was pushy for me to sign this paperwork and I kept telling him this amount was incorrect. He told me well don’t worry about it the interest doesn’t apply if you pay it off in 180 days. I said well **** the total amount financed is incorrect (Around $3300). He argued with me for about 30 minutes and finally I spoke with ****. **** said well **** has been working here for 10 years and he would never give a final price over the phone before why would he now. My reply was all the work was completed when I was on my way up so how did it go up 1000 dollars in last hour. **** said she had never had anything happen like this before so she proceeded to call someone and ask their opinion on this (Owners usually can make their own decisions). She came back and said she didn’t know what to do. I told her how about giving me the price **** had told me over the phone (2900). She said she couldn’t and she didn’t offer any explanation why the price had proceeded to be $1000 more than what was quoted me. **** even had the nerve to ask me “How does this make me feel.” At this point I told her give me the pen and I will sign before I say/do something that’s going to get my in some serious trouble. Plus they knew they had me since I needed the car and live an hour and half away. After going outside and getting in the car I noticed that the interior had multiple grease/oil stains on the door, headrest and seats. In conclusion, you better be prepared to pay way more than the price that is quoted to you. I will NEVER ever do business with this company again and I will make everyone aware of this company!!!!I have already contacted corporate and filed a complaint on this issue. The only way this is going to get resolved is to thru the court system.

Desired Settlement: Total bill to be what was told to me mulitple times over the phone by the manager **** ****** ($2900).

Business Response: In response to complaint # *******:
After diagnosing customer's vehicle, I contacted him and advised him that the base price for the repair is $2895.00 and internal damaged parts would be an additional cost. Customer was assured that he would not paying what the dealer wanted which was $4200.00 but I could not give him final cost until transmission was removed from vehicle and inspected for damage.  When transmission was removed and inspected, I contacted customer to advise him that a bearing had come apart inside transmission and did damage to interior of transmission. I explained we had to replace a complete planetary assembly , rear support , solenoid block , direct drum & torque converter and the final repair cost was $3782.17 plus tax which would be approximately $120.-125. Customer acknowledged the cost and verbally approved the final repair as is per AAMCO's protocol to get final approval from customer which was documented by time, date customer's verbal authorization. We did have a time delay in returning customer's vehicle because being a Subaru, the torque converter had to ordered and shipped which caused 2 day delay. When customer arrived to pick-up his vehicle, he seemed surprised at repair amount and complained. I asked him one question, how could logically this repair to less than the base price we quoted at $2895.00? He insisted I misquoted. I showed him the estimate that I used when I talked to him but he wouldn't listen. I respect the fact that he believed he was misquoted but in the 10 years and thousands of customers I have dealt with, AAMCO's proper authorization protocol was adhered to and  we've never had a complaint such as this. It is, and always has been our position that every customer gets a quality job at a fair price (which was still less than dealer's price) and that service was performed.
**** ******* - Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response: Well basically the price was never told to me unitl I asked to see the final bill (which I asked for many times), all **** wanted to do was tell me thats not the price you pay if you pay the loan off early. The price was TOLD to me over the phone 1hr before I arrived to pick the car up which was 2900. I will never do business with them again and I will make sure that everyone I know doesn't as well. My question for **** would be how can the same company with a different location only about 40 miles away give me a price that is $1500 dollars less. By the way did I mention this is owned by the same family. Can't speak for the lynchburg aamco but I can honestly say this tramission place located in roanoke are crooks. I guess we will have to meet up in court.Regards,******* ********  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I would not like my complaint ID *******, to be handled through and Arbitration Hearing.Will pursue in court if choose to move further.Regards,******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday February 14th, 2013 i dropped off my vehicle due to a transmission issue.This was the second time i would be bringing it back to Aamco,After having it repaired the first time April 25,2011.The fist time i had it repaired they put in a new assembly kit,a new filter,a new band,a shell,drum,gov pressure,a Rebuilt torque converter.I was charged with parts and labor 2,058.05.Not having that money i financed it through their finance company with an interest rate of 29% lucky me!Three days after i had gotten my jeep back i took it to get an oil change where i was told transmission fluid was pouring out and i needed to take it back to where i had it fixed.Let me mention that it was not a Little drop of fluid that was puddled under my car.So i took it back.I dropped off my car and told them the keys were in the car,and i would be back in awhile to pick it up.Two hours later,after walking around i went to pick up my car.**** explains"Um we haven't looked at it yet because you never left us the keys" WHAT! I explained to told them again i had left the keys in the car,that's when i was told she must not have heard me say that.OK fine.So i sit there for another hour while they fix the leak.First frustration with Aamco.Now February 14,2013 my transmission went out again.What was wrong?The rebuilt torque converter that they replaced went out,so they needed to replace it again 20,000 miles over the warranty but **** the owner wanted to work with me so ihad to pay for parts which came out to 715.00.They kept my car from Thursday to next Friday the following Week February 22 2013.When i picked up the vehicle i drove five-ten min down the road and heard a horrible metal grinding sound.I pulled over and I immediately called **** but BC it was 5:00 on a Friday she told me to bring it back by Saturday and someone would check it out.I got out to look under my car and noticed that two hoses were hanging from the cooling system they had put in.So i get back in my car and now it wont start.I call a friend that suggest i try starting it in neutral.I try that and it worked.From that point on my car would not start in park.So Saturday i took it down their where ***** the service manager knew nothing about me needing to have my car looked at and told me i needed to bring it back at my own convenience.That was after he walked into the shop and asked the mechanic if he could look at it where he told him to tell me to bring it back and had said i was ugly the day before.The day i picked up my car her mechanic **** walks out from the shop and says "don't you know how to check your transmission fluid?"That upset me because one i had just checked it and two the transmission fluid was lefts all down the highway and all over my car and that's the reason for the lack of fluid.It had plenty of transmission fluid in it.He was rude and proceeded to tell me things i needed to fix with my car,things i already knew about and was not taking it there to fix.He was rude about asking me who did my inspection that expired February 2012.I told him it hadn't been inspected yet and he snapped back yes it has.I told him it expired 2012 as he walked back into the shop.From that point i felt i wasn't treated like a customer should be treated.I felt attacked and from that point my attitude with aamco showed nothing but my frustration.so when i brought the car back at my convenience which was Monday February 25,they fixed the hanging hoses and the safety neutral switch so my car would start in park.I sat there for two hours.They told me they could not hear the sound.I told them that they needed to drive the vehicle they weren't going to hear it sitting on the lift it needed to be driven.So their mechanic john took the jeep out and came back.He told me he did hear a sound but without having the car for a day he couldn't pin point what exactly it was and i needed to drop it again and see what was wrong.With my work schedule i wasn't able to get back in until a week later where i called **** to explain what was going on.She told me she did not even know anything was wrong with my car but to bring it back in and someone would look at it.FRUSTRATED!I leave work and i drop my car off at 12:45PM Thursday march 7th.I called **** that afternoon right before they were about to close.I asked her what was going on with m y car and she put me on hold to get my paper work.She gets back on the phone and tells me i have a really bad engine miss and she nor her guys can hear any sounds.wait what?!? **** had already drove my car and told me something could be cracked or a bolt could be loose.Now **** is telling me they don't hear anything and they are going to drive it around some more to see if they hear anything and to call the next day.I call the next day Friday March 8 2013 and **** proceeds to tell me her techs have been driving it around and still they cant hear anything.I'm beyond frustrated.I tried to explain to her that **** had already told me that he heard it and was cut off by yelling and telling me i was the one being ugly.She told me shes helped me out enough and at least I'm not stranded on the side of the road anymore and that once my car is picked up she never wants to see it nor my business again,said shes done goodbye and hung up.When i called back later that day to ask if the transmission had been rebuilt again her answer was I'm sorry I'm busy right now Ill have to call you back.Very unprofessional.When i dropped off my car i had set the odometer to 0.When i picked it up it read 4.Her road tests involve taking it on the highway and back down Williamson?I don't feel like my car was driven several times at all according to the odometer.**** said they did several road tests in the two days they had my car but my odometer tells me otherwise.I feel as if my car was not done correctly the first time?I asked **** how likely the transmission was to go out agai

Desired Settlement: My car fixed right and to be compensated to have it fixed right by another shop.

Business Response: When Miss ********-******* brought her Jeep in it was about a year and 22,000 miles out of warranty.  We did Miss ********-******* a favor and fixed her transmission for parts only.  If she has any problems with the repair  we did she has a 90 day warranty against all transmission leaks good at any AAMCO in the country and Canada.

Consumer Response: The issue is not with the transmission leaking.The issue is that there is a horrible winding noise that was not present before the jeep was taken thier.She refuses to look at my car any further bc she could not hear the noise and i can not understand how it was not heard.I drive it everyday since  it was picked up and the noise has only gotten worse.Once she received the payment for the vehicle she refused to fix the noise or deal with me as a customer.Nothing to do with any leaks or seals. Regards, ******* ****************  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAMCO,****** ***. transmission shop near *********** ****, repaired a R. front axle on our '91 Subaru the end of Feb.'12. Approx. a month later, the R. wheel dropped as I drove the same car on a Sat.eve slowing to a stop not on 460 at highway speed(thank goodness for me), in an area between Lynchburg and Roanoke, VA. We took many angled pictures of the wheel base before the tow truck towed it to a local mechanic because AAMCO was closed.The mechanic said whomever repaired the R. axle did not put the carter pin/nut back on the lower ball joint which would have caused this incident.(Thankful no accident). We contacted AAMCO and the manager was rude,loud and unwilling to listen to our complete situation (thankful no accident) ,unwilling to accept any responsibility .We said we feel AAMCO,****** ***.transmission shop can refund us the tow and repair cost we had to pay to the mechanic. She stated the service was not under warranty and we should have brought it back to AAMCO. We tried to explain to her that it was a late Sat., this is not a warranty issue, this has to do with a negligent repair job by the ****** ***. AAMCO franchise. She refused to discuss the matter. We filed a complaint with AAMCO online, but it was only forwarded to her, and her response remained the same. She still refuses to discuss the situation as a professional SAFETY responsibility to her and AAMCO, ****** ***. transmission shop customer due to the NEGLIGENT repair service and quality control concerns.

Desired Settlement: We request a full refund of the tow cost and repair completed by the mechanic in the Bedford area

Business Response: Aamco did supply labor on an axle that was supplied by the customer.This repair was done on Feb. 27,2021. This repair was done with no warranty written nor implied due to the fact that the customer supplied the part. Aamco offered to look at the car after the customer had said repair done at another shop. The customer declined the offer. If the vehicle had been brought back to any of over 700 Aamco locations then we may have been in a position to offer something to customer. However due to the circumstance Aamco will not refund any monies on a repair that had no warranty based on a claim of another shop.

Consumer Response: Their response is a complete lie. What **** did say was,  you should have brought it back to us or any AAMCO.Our daughter heard her screaming her response over the phone , and she would not allow us to explain all that had taken place.   The accident was on a Sat. in RUARAL Bedford, VA,and .****** ***. AAMCO  or any other AAMCO was not open. THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH WARRANTIES, but everything to do with quality control regarding a NEGLIGENT repair job. AND THIS IS WHAT **** AND AAMCO APPEAR TO REFUSE TO ACCEPT.

Consumer Response: The problem concerning the 91 Subaru repairs performed at AAMCO was never about a warranty on a drive shaft that I provided. That drive shaft was under warranty from the parts store.  The issue that **** would never let us discuss with her was the labor that was performed.  The balljoint must be removed from the control arm in order to replace the shaft, which is the service that AAMCO was tasked to perform.  When my wife was driving the car the ball joint came separated from the control arm, resulting in the vehicle becoming disabled.  Upon inspection at the scene I discovered there was no bolt on the ball joint shaft.  This bolt would have been removed at AAMCO.  Also there is a cotter pin which keeps the bolt from backing off the shaft and there was no evidence of this at the scene. The ball joint shaft threads were worn down indicating the bolt had been off for some time.  We are requesting reimbursement for the tow bill, new ball joint, seals which were damaged, grease which leaked from the damaged seals, and the mechanic labor to perform the work.  **** was not responsive to us on the phone and contrary to her statement, Her business labor is warrantied. Thank You for your help.                                                                                                                                         *** *******  

Business Response: I am sorry this customer feels like Aamco is responsible for this failure. Once again I would be in a better position to help if the 91 subaru came back to any Aamco center in the country. Unfortunately Aamco cannot base a decision on another mechanics opinion.Aamco will be happy to take a look at the vehicle.

Business Response: I look forward to talking to Mr and Mrs ********. 

Consumer Response:

Ms. ******* said they did take the car back - but were unable to come to an agreement. **** (the business owner) said her mechanics were going to get together and come up with some resolution.  **** said they will only communicate with BBB. *** *** **** *******

 

Business Response:

The subaru did come into the shop. The customer had pictures of the 1991 subaru areas of repair. Aamco had two ASE certified technicians look at pictures. We requested that we see the old ball joint as it would have been helpful in determing the cause of failure. Unfornutanely that could not be produced. After careful consideration the techs could not definetely conclude that the ball joint failed due to lack of workmanship. The subaru is used as a mail car and it is that side that is prone to the abuse of stopping and going on and off road for mail deliveries. The vehicle also has over 240,000 miles on it and to the best of everyones knowlege the ball joint had never been replaced. Aamco does not take resonsibilty for this failure and has no offer of cash refund. Again if the car had returned to any of over 900 Aamco centers it would have made it possible to try and help the customer. Aamco would like to offer the customer 150.00 worth of labor on any future repair for any vehicle this customer has. This offer is good at the Roanoke,Salem,or Blacksburg locations only.

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: We have had our transmission repaired with AAMCO in Dec. 2011 and had to return twice due to overlooked mechanical errors regarding trans.repair,( with proof). Months later we had the car towed on a week day for axle repair at AAMCO,  which in turn is where our present failure in repair services brought us to  the BBB.  The car is used 2 days a week only, and the ball joint has been replaced within a 4year period,( both with proof). Approx. a month later,the car fails on a Sat. . I COULD NOT TAKE THE CAR TO ANY AAMCO ON A SAT. I did not know what was wrong at the time and the mechanic was right there in Bedford willing to repair the car that day, until he informed us of the AAMCO  error of not replacing the cotter pen.  AAMCO did not look at the car. The owner refused to look at the pictures, but her head mechanic did review our pictures, and the mechanic admitted that it is a possibility of failure on their part. Everyone is fallable.  Regarding their response, AAMCO should advertise that they will only work on cars that have low millage,and  will not stand by their repairs nor their customers. NO THANKS EVER AGAIN AAMCO! Another dissatisfied customer.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Aamco transmissions between the dates of 11/30/11 12/1/11 to have my transmission fluid/filter changed due to my car jerking in between gears. That same day i was also supposed to get an oil change, have my O2 sensor fixed, & my tail light replaced. The total i paid for those services was $596.15. After i went to pick my car up i realized my tail light was never replaced & i called & they advised me they must've missed it & to bring it back in by Fri. to have it replaced however scheduling conflicts prevented me from doing that. I was told all of these services would fix the jerking problem in my car however absolutely nothing changed & my car cont'd to jerk. I brought it back to Aamco on 2/29/12 to renew my state inspection, have my headlight/taillight replaced (which i had to repay for) & to have them look at my car again to see why it was still jerking in between gears. I was told upon dropping my car off that it would be ready to be picked up by the end of the day however they called me around 5pm & told me they had to run addit'l tests b/c it was doing something "bizarre" & they would need to keep it overnight. The next day i called b/c i had not heard from them & spoke with **** & she told me that they hadn't ran any tests on my car & they wouldn't have time to b/c they were backed up & would need to keep for at least another night. Due to my schedule i wasn't able to let them keep it another night so i picked my car up at 5pm & paid for the inspection & for my lights to be replaced. Since my car was still jerking i decided to take it to the dealership on 3/23/12 where they informed me that my transmission fluid/filter needed to be changed & it did not appear to of been changed within the last 3-4 mnths. So i had to pay the dealership $450.00 to have them correctly change my fluid/filter. I contacted Aamco & told them the issue however they wouldn't refund my money even with receipts/documentation from the dealership providing Aamco with evidence for the mistake they made.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the amount i paid to Aamco for a transmission fluid/ filter change and for the taillight i had to pay for twice before it was ever replaced.

Business Response: This customer brought the vw into Aamco on 11-29-11. The complaint on the car on file is jerking between gears. After a diagnostic check was performed there was no transmission problem found at that time. Aamco never experienced the jerking as described by the customer. We did change the fluid and filter at that time. The customer returned 4 months later and requested a state inspection and also stated the transmission was still jerking. After a diagnostic was done there were no trouble codes in the system and again we never experienced the jerking. Aamco does not feel the customer is due any refunds as in the service was performed and did come with a 90 day warranty on pan leaks only as this is simply a preventive service not intendeding to solve any existing problems. Aamco's policy is not to repair a vehicle on a stated complaint but we must expeirence the symptom and verify the need for repair. Unforntunately the vehicle did not act up with us. I stand by my service as the fluid and filter most defintely was replaced. Aamco has no offer in this situation.

Business Response: The tail light was absolutely replaced as in it will not pass state inspection unless that light was replaced.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This transmission company that is located across the street from the ***** ******. I had my transmission re-built by them and the quality of work was ameture at best i think that these guys could not have a valid mechanic. They work was looked over by another transmission shop and was found to be alot of faults and shortcuts they could take at the begining of the discussion with **** thats her name we told her that we thought a new transmission would be best but after leaving the truck with them for 3 days they said the best thing for them and would then save me money would be the best way to fix it and here it is 20 months later and the truck will not go into reverse again the same problem as before and my cost was $ 1516.10 for the transmission work and then another problem they found while the transmission was being worked on and they charged $1034.25. So in the middle of 2010 i spent a total of 2550.35 Now when you call they treat you like everything is fine just bring it back so we can get another 2500 dollars from you these transmission repair companys should be watched lost of bad customers out here need to say the things that help other people from being completely RIPPED OFF

Desired Settlement: Just for the to fix what they know was a very incomplete job. Maybe i am sorry for taking your money and not giving you quality service Just like the comercials say every morning **** will take care of you

Business Response: The customer called me and explained that the vehicle had no rev. I looked up the record and the transmission repair was done over 20 months ago and came with a 12 month warranty. Every customer is offered an extended warranty at the point of car delivery. This customer declined an extended warranty. However, I offered to look at the vehicle at no charge. The next phone call I recieved was from the customer who said he was at another shop and accused my shop of never doing the transmission repair. He also said this shop would install a brand new transmission for 1500.00  I explained to him that he should call the dealership and price out transmission. I do not feel like he ever gave me an oppurtunity to do anything when he chose not to bring the vehicle back to an AAmco. I have no offer for this customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1