BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO Transmissions

Phone: (434) 528-3915 View Additional Phone Numbers 3203 Old Forest Rd., Lynchburg, VA 24501

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers automotive transmission service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmissions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 15, 1985 Business started: 07/15/1979 in VA Business incorporated 08/01/1979 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Lynchburg Business License

Phone Number: (434) 455-3880

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. George May, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George May, President
Related Businesses
Davis Auto Service
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Jack E. May & Son, Inc.
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 3203 Old Forest Rd.

    Lynchburg, VA 24501 (434) 528-3915 (540) 344-1647


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle for transmission issuss in April 2014. Was told that the torque converter needed rebuilt for $2624.67 with 3 yr 36, 000 mile warranty and would take a week to complete. I agreed and we (my girlfriend ******* **** and I) applied for ******* *** financing. The repair took two weeks to complete. One week after vehicle was picked up it broke down on my way home from work. Aamco picked it up, was told it was a defective torque converter and another repair for a week was performed. On December 21 2014 vehicle transmission started missing and flashing check light started blinking. I called Aamco and was told it would be picked back up next day or Friday (day after Christmas). Called on Friday, was told they were shorthanded and would bepicked up SSaturday. Called back on Monday and was asked if we could bring it by. We told them no and vehicle was picked up on December 28. Called to check on vehicle every other day and was told it was defective torque converter again and was told about a week to fix. Got the runaround for two more weeks (Called corporate office three times) and finally aamco called to say vehicle was ready on January 13. Picked up vehicle on January 15th at 8:30 a.m. and broke down at 9:15 a.m. I called and Lynchburg aamco said they would have ******* aamco pick it up and fix it since they were oser. ******* aamco STILL has vehicle. We have missed lots of time from work and spent lots of money on rental cars.

Desired Settlement: Either full refund for repair or compensation for rental cars and missed time from work

Business Response: In response to ****** ****** complaint on *******. The original rebuild of the transmission was done on 4/4/2014 the vehicle had 192,665  miles on it at that time. Shortly after rebuild the torque converter failed and was replaced under warranty. Their vehicle had no problems from that time til 1/5/2015. I talked to ******* at that time and explained she wud be responsible for the towing and the fact we were comimg off the christmas and new yesr holiday weeks that if it was a minor repair I would be able to have their vehicle ready that week if not it would be the following week at best as we were behind due to the holidays. After checking the ******* we found it was not minor and the transmission had to be removed to repair. We were able to complete the ******* at the end of the following week. When picking the vehicle up ******* told us it would be a cold day in  befor they paid us for the tow so i didnt charge them the towing fee of $80.00. The ******* did fail and it was the torque converter again which is a common problem in those vehicles and the fact i might of rushed it here at my shop due to the constant calls almost everyday but that is no excuse. I had it towed to the ******* Aamco at no charge and had it repaired at no charge. I feel a refund is not an option at this point due to the fact they have got 13,504 miles out of my service to this point and it was repaired under warranty at no charge. We never refused to repair ******* under their warranty it was just bad timing comimg off the holidays. They disputed the charge with the finance company and wanted refund and they agreed with me and denied their refund request. As far as rental reimbersment. Their warranty doesnt cover rental car and ******* told me they were borrowing mothers vehicle. If they can show me receipts for rental car i am willing to go $200.00 towards rental minus the $80.00 tow fee they refused to pay. At this point i feel this is fair.   Thank you.     ****** ***

1/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Me and my husband were recommended to Aamco Transmission by my husbands aunt. So we took our van over there and dropped it off on Nov. 19th for them to fix the transmission because the overdrive light came on. We have a warranty so we were upset to find out that the warranty company would only pay $2,200 for a rebuilt transmission, we had to come up with $800 out of our pocket. We borrowed the money from a family member of mine and gave them the go ahead to work on it. They started working on it and rebulit the transmission but could not get the overdrive light to go out so they decided it had to be a wire. So it took them 3 days maybe even more to determine it was the computer. The general mananger wanted to charge us for the computer but we said no we aren't paying for it. So an employee by the name of **** told us that the shop would eat the cost of the computer since it was thier mistake. They overnighted the computer but it took them 2-3 days before they put it in and then it took an additional 3-4 days for the guy to come flash the computer. The shop called my husband on Dec. 15th saying that the van was ready he told them he would be there after work. Before my husband picked up the van; **** called my husbands aunt who is a customer there and left a message for her. The message stated that we have a $300 balance that we could not afford to pay so would she be able to help with the balance owed. My mother in law called my husband and explained the message was left. My husband went over there to pick the van up and he specifically asked them do we need to do anything else, do we owe you anything and the answer he got from them was no. I called the shop on Dec. 16th asking about the message and **** had no clue about the message but assured me he would look into it and get back to me. I let him know that it was completely inappropriate and unproffessional to call a family member who has nothing to do with this other than she is a customer there and referred us to them. I also told him I don't even think that is legal to do that. They want us to bring our van back to them in 10 days for them to check everything but I'm terrified they will try to keep my vehicle for a balance that we didn't even know we had. We repeatedly asked them before we picked up the van just to make sure we wouldn't have any surprises when the van was ready. All **** kept telling us was all we owed was $800 and that had already been paid. I found out from **** in our converation on the 16th the computer costs $300. The shop didn't tell us about the $300 instead assumed we couldn't afford it and involved a family member to collect the money from. That is completely unproffessional!! I would not recommend this place to anyone!!! And our check engine light is now on and has been since Dec. 16th! Unfortunately we have no choice but to deal with this company in the future because the transmission has a warranty of three years.

Desired Settlement: All I want is my van to be fixed and fixed right!!!! I don't want anything to do with this company in this future!

Business Response: I am responding to the complaint from **** ******. I would like to start by saying we had very little contact with **** during this repair process. Her husband Mr. ****** contacted my shop and said he had a transmission problem with his van and and was reffered to us by a family member. He stated he had an extended warranty on van. We asked him to drop off for diagnostics which he did. His extended warranty is through ***** warranty. After our diagnostics were complete we found his van had an internal transmission problem. After calling ***** and verifing his contract we then contacted Mr. ****** and told him he is to authorize the removal and dismantle of the transmission which he authorized. He was aslo told that alot of the extended warranty companies will only pay up to a used transmission and he may have to come out of pocket for a rebuilt transmission. After removal and dismantle we contacted ***** and they sent an adjuster out to confirm damage in transmission. The adjuster reported back to ***** and tey authorized $2200.00 which is used transmission price. We then discounted our rebuild price over $600.00 to bring the total cost down to where Mr. ****** would only be responsible for $800.00 which included his $100.00 deductible. The damage was in the transmission which the warranty adjuster saw and noted. After rebuild and installing in van yes there was a computer failure which caused the damage to transmission to begin with. We contacted Mr. ****** to let him know we were willing to let him have computer at our cost. He said he did'nt have the money and was gonna try borrow it from family member. It was Mr. ****** that informed us that ***** ***** was going to pay for it. We wouldve never contacted ***** had he not told us that. We just wanted to confirm it. Even when Mr. ****** came to pick van up he told us ***** was gonna call and give us credit card number for payment on computer. I've been in business 35 years. I vaule ***** and **** And Mr. ****** satisfaction. I am not wanting payment for computer. It can be a christmas gift from Aamco. And i do still want them to bring van by so we can recheck our work. We would try hold their van. Thank You. ****** ***

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, **** ******

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in for diagnosis and was informed that the transmission needed to be rebuilt. I was told that the transmission had to be disassembled to determine the exact problem, but the cost would run between $1,267 and $1,822 with $1,822 being the WORST CASE scenario and that once the transmission was disassembled there would be $700 fee to reassemble should I decide not to complete the rebuild. Based on the worst case scenario amount I consented to having the work done. Tw days later I received a call and was told that my transmission had a valve body that also needed replacing and this would cost an additional $1,918, but that since I was given a quote of $1,822 they were going to "do me a favor" and cut that cost to only an additional $1,367. After an additional phone call and discussion I was told they would drop the $700 dollar reassemble fee and complete the entire job for the new price of $2,395. I asked if they would waive the $700 reassemble fee and just put the transmission back together and I was told no, they would only waive that charge if I consisted to the rebuild and paid $2,395. Having no options I agreed to pay $2,395 and stressed that I would not pay one dollar more. When I picked up the car the bill was $2,465 as they didn't include tax when I agreed to the $2,395

Desired Settlement: While I feel I am entitled to a refund, my real desire is to make other consumers aware of the questionable at best, criminal at worst practices of this business.

Business Response: This is a responce to the Accura RSX complaint, we do have some concerns with the above complaints.The customers accura was dropped off at Aamco for diagnosis we perform an external diagnosis service on every vehicle that comes into our shop. Some of the concerns with the complaints we would like to address one being the worst case scenario figure.First of all 1822.00 is not a worst case scenario that we would use on any vehicle especially a Acurra RSX.Upon completing the external diagnostics our master technician determined that the transmission had a internal problem and needed to be rebuilt at that point we contacted the customer and he was given a base price of $1297.00 plus torque converter and gear train if needed he authorized the work with his date of birth.We needed to remove and disassemble the transmission and it was determined that the torque converter was bad and needed to be replaced and do to the metal and the contamination that the electrical parts inside the transmission needed to be replaced. And the valve body needed to be updated,we found it to be more cost effective to replace the valve body with all new electronics.The replacement of the torque converter was 429.00 and the replacement of the valve body was going to be 1367.00 which was a grand total of 3093.00.The customer was discouraged with the final price and needed to think about it, the customer called back in a day or so and wanted to know how much it would be to reassemble the transmission and was considering towing it to his house so we quoted him a price of $698.00 to reassemble the transmission however we feel like putting his transmission back together unfixed has never been good for customer satisfaction and rarely do we do it. We would rather discount the reassembly fee towards the rebuild of the transmission then put it back not fixed which is what we offered the customer, so he wanted some time to think about it and told us he would get back to us so he called back and gave us authorization to rebuild which we did.Here at Aamco we strive for 100% customer satisfaction and to do our customer a good quality repair, we feel like we could not have even put a used transmission in this customers Accura for the 1822.00. We feel like the customer was never mislead at anytime during his repair process, all work was authorized all work was performed at this point we do not feel that the customer is entitled to any refund. However we once again we do strive for 100% satisfaction and would be willing to increase his warranty to a 3 Yr / 50,000 mile warranty at no additional cost to the customer                                                                                Thank You                                                                          George May Owner  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Unfortunately the respondent to my complaint isn't the person I dealt with and therefore has no idea what I was told nor what price was quoted over the phone as a worst case scenario . The complaint I filed is accurate, but I will add that it was explained to me that they called 9 other aamco dealers after disassembling my transmission for information regarding this rebuild.  While the respondent was very adept at explaining away their transgressions it does not change the facts as they occurred. Unfortunately, all our contact was conducted verbally so I cannot produce written evidence.  Suffice it to say after my experience I am not surprised by their response and remain a dissatisfied customer.  Regards, ****** *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. In my haste to respond to being called a liar I failed to respond as completely as I should have to the business's response to my complaint, and I am hoping to add the following. As I did say in my reply to the offer of resolution, the respondent to my complaint is a third party to all communications and agreement under which I authorized work on my car.  While I have no doubt they would not quote $1,822 as a worst case scenario at this time, this is a apparently a result of what they learned by working on my car.  I was told this was their first Acrura RSX, and after disassembly they felt the need to contact 9 other Aamco dealers for advice as to how to proceed. The respondent is correct that I was quoted a base price of $1,297; however, at no time was "gear train" ever mentioned.  I was under the impression this was included in the $1,297 base price.   The respondent also fails to mention, that while I was told the valve body would cost an additional $1,397, that the actual cost would normally be $1,918, but they were reducing the price to "help me out", since they were far exceeding their worst case scenario price.  I was also told that the electronics of the valve body could not be individually replaced, but that it had to be replaced as an individual unit.  I was billed for a new valve body not just replacement of the electronics. The respondent correctly commented that I was told it would be $698 to reassemble the transmission to get it into condition to tow, but his comment that putting a transmission back together unfixed has never been good for customer satisfaction makes no sense.  As I explained, the reason I was considering this option is that the newly quoted price of $3,093 actually exceeded the value of the car so I was going to junk it.  Had a price of more than $3,000 ever been mentioned I would never have consented to the work.  He can also learn a valuable lesson here that doing what the customer asks rather than what he thinks is best often leads to a satisfied customer. Finally he never actually addresses that if they were in the right and never quoted a worst case price of $1,822, why they not only reduced the cost of the valve body from $1,918 to $1,397, but if I agreed to having the transmission rebuilt and not just reassembled they would also forego the reassemble charge of $698, and throw in a new set of brake pads to compensate for their mistake. As I said while I feel entitled to a refund of the cost exceeding $1,822 I do not expect one.  My hope in filing this complaint was to make as many potential customers as possible aware that this company does not stand behind their word.  This is also the reason for my not accepting an extension of the warranty to 50,000 miles.  Having failed to live up to the first agreement we had I have no reason to believe they would honor any other agreement or in this case warranty. Sincerely, ****** *******  

Business Response: In response to Mr. *******'s replie. I am not out to call anyone a liar however I was and I am always involved in the pricing of the jobs that come into my shop. I actually was sitting across from desk as **** talked to Mr *******. I wish I had the right answer here as to resolve this. I do think there was a mention of brake pads. I am willing to install brake pads n also offer an oil change as well. I always strive for 100% customer satisfaction and would like the same here. I would even be willing oil changes on any other cars customer may own. My offer to extend the warranty still stands. And please rest assured I have never in 35 years not stood behind my warranty. I feel when my customer has to return with a problem it's an opportunity for me once again to show them they made the right choice having me repair their car. Once again I would like to thank Mr ******* for his business and hopefully we can resolve your concerns.   Thank you.  George May                                          

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I have no idea where Mr *** was sitting during any of the 7 separate phone conversations I had with **** and really that has no bearing on the issue.  The problem was, is and will reamin that I was provided a maximum charge that the work on my car would not exceed and once I authorized the work that price not only changed but was nearly doubled.  Through multiple phone calls that charge was reduced but still exceeded the original quote by more than $600.  As this business has no intention of honoring their originally quoted price the only resolution I would deem acceptable is the posting of my complaint so potential customers are aware of the problems they *** encounter should they choose to use this facility. Regards, ****** *******