BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Western Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Thompson Tire

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 731-1150 View Additional Phone Numbers 105 Centre Court, Radford, VA 24141 http://www.thompsontire.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tires and automotive maintenance and repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Thompson Tire meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thompson Tire include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Thompson Tire
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 15, 1981 Business started: 06/15/1968 in VA Business incorporated: 11/25/1969 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Radford Business License

Phone Number: (540) 731-3613

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Fran Boyd, President Mr. Melvin Tolbert, Vice President Mr. Jeremy Cultice, Controller Mr. Manager Manager Mr. Joe Thompson, Chairman of the Board
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Fran Boyd, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeremy Cultice, Controller
Principal: Mr. Melvin Tolbert, Vice President
Business Category

TIRE DEALERS AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS TIRE RETREAD & REPAIR AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Goodyear Credit Card
Alternate Business Names
Thompson Tire Co., Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 102 First Street

    Radford, VA 24141 (540) 639-2451

  • 105 Centre Court

    Radford, VA 24141 (540) 731-1150 (866) 980-8473

  • 1070 E. Main Street

    Wytheville, VA 24382 (276) 228-5511

  • 2218 W. Main Street

    Salem, VA 24153 (540) 389-8621

  • 5302 Williamson Road

    Roanoke, VA 24012 (540) 366-9840

  • 545 S. Main Street

    Rocky Mount, VA 24151 (540) 483-9800

  • 675 Roanoke Street

    Christiansburg, VA 24073 (540) 382-1850

  • 701 E. Main Street

    Pulaski, VA 24301 (540) 980-3760

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 980-8473(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I could have put this complaint under many different titles since it has a multi faceted issue. The repair was improper, there was an unreasonable delay in repair to my vehicle, there was an unauthorized repair, repairs that resulted in additional damage, and failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support could all also be checked. I do not have a lot of time to sit down and deal with this sort of thing and gave the business manager at the Wytheville location 2 emailed notices regarding my vehicle and lack of satisfaction and one physically mailed letter stating the same. I have given ample amount of time for these issues to be resolved. No one has ever responded at all. I then emailed the corporate headquarters for Thompson Tire twice and have given ample time for a response and yet again never received one. You can probably guess at how unhappy I am about taking even more of my time on this issue to formally turn it over to the BBB. Attached is a copy of what I actually sent to both locations, multiple times. I have also had overheating problems stemming from radiator issues since my pick up date on my vehicle. This was obviously seen when the team did a "flush" of my radiator. The general appearance of my radiator since being flushed is very very poor thus creating overheating issues. I indicated I wanted the radiator "rodded" not "flushed" anyway. This apparently was not something they could do at their shop but did not tell me so when I inquired multiple times. The original email to ****, general manager at the Wytheville location was September 5, 2013. A hardcopy was mailed to him on September 17, 2013 when a response wasn't received. I forwarded the letter I mailed to **** along with a new email explaining the situation on October 8, 2013 to the corporate office (c**********************com) hoping for closure and received nothing again. I emailed them a final time on October 30, 2013 with the forwarded previous message. No response at all.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back for the oil change that I did not give permission to do, the alt belt, the radiator flush, the gasket and all labor for the previously mentioned and also for the emergency brake cable installation since it does not work. I can have all of this info verified by my other shop which noted many of these issues and even saved the radiator fluid when they replaced the fan clutch and fan since it was overheating so bad. Another problem your technician should have noted when doing obvious repairs. Do to him being yanked from the job constantly to work on more important customer's vehicles, he obviously didn't do the job I paid him to do. I am not ever taking my Scout back to them. At this point I want an apology and a refund because I tried and tried to make their services work and they took advantage of me. Just for basic parts and things that didn't actually happen in an efficient or even working way I am asking for $179.23 back. This amount is for parts only not labor. This includes, wrong size alt belt $29, $99.99 for the radiator "flush", $10 for a carb gasket that was included in the edelbrock carb box I brought to them, $40.24 for changing my oil that I did not request having done. I was charged $591.69 in labor. That's not going to work. My emergency brake cable was not installed correctly, my foot brake is still loose, my Scout still overheats (main reasons I took it to Thompson since they have a "Scout Specialist" there). There was very little quality work done to my Scout and it sat there for 2+ weeks while other cars came in and out and the Scout was put on the back burner. I was as understanding as I could be but 2+ weeks was a bit much. I caused a 3 day delay over a weekend when I had a part shipped, the rest were delays because the technician wasn't allowed to work on my truck until all the other vehicles in the garage were out. The assistant manager told me that several times as did the technician. Very poor customer service. I would like most of the $591.69 back since very little was done. Add that amount to the incorrect parts amount of $179.23. I was also charged for a points contact and condenser that I actually brought in from another shop (the shop the Scout sat at to have repairs done after leaving Thompson since it was in such poor condition). The timing was completely wrong and would barely even run to make it to the shop 7 miles away which ultimately got it right. I just don't feel I should have been charged for that either since again, it was not done right. Also, each and every time I spoke with the store manager and the technician they were extremely unfriendly, not willing to help and talked to me like I was a burden. I wish I had never taken my truck to them in the first place. Absolutely horrific customer service and I had to turn around and pay another shop to actually do the necessary repairs that should have been fixed at Thompson Tire. I apologize for the length of this letter but I want this settled correctly this time because I absolutely do not have a second of time or an ounce of emotion left to give to this screw up anymore and would like to be done with it. I am asking for $179.23 +$45.00 = 224.23 + labor back. I want at least 50% of the labor back because it is bad business to charge me a made up number when very little was done correctly, in a timely manner or efficiently. 50% of 591.69 is $295.85 which is still not fair. Bare minimum return is $520.08. My total bill was $934.89 and I brought you all of the parts. To even pay you all $200 would be really pushing it. Please make the right decision. Wouldn't you be furious if it was your project Scout?

Business Response: My apologies for the delay in responding to you, we are currently looking into this matter and will get back with you as soon as possible. The Vice president is currently out on sick leave and both of us are working to resolve this issue. We will be in touch with you as soon as possible and thank you for bringing this to our attention. ****** ******* Thompson Tire - Corporate

Business Response:   We spoke with Ms. ****** at the end of November and after our conversation, she agreed to a settlement of $430.00. She said that she would contact the BBB after receipt of the check to let you know that the matter has been settled to her satisfaction. Attached is a copy of the check made payable to her. Let me know if you have any questions.  Thanks,  ******   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory though it is less money than I wanted to settle for I would just really like to see this issue go away. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I just received the check on 12/24 after waiting for it for a month. I am finished dealing with this business and hope to never do so again. I did receive the call from BBB about my lack of response but I was still waiting on the company to make this right.  Regards, ***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

11/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent the following email to Thompson Tire Corporate on July 31 and have not received a response. "I have visited the Christiansburg Thompson Tire location on and off over the past five years as I work near there and it is very convenient for me. Unfortunately, I have never had a positive experience with your service. I've kept coming back and hoping that the other times were just a fluke, as the people at the desk do seem very friendly. I am a female and have often found it difficult to be treated fairly by those in the auto world. However, I grew up with several mechanics in the family who own their own businesses, so I know when something isn't right, how something needs to be addressed and what things should cost. I purchased tires from Thompson Tire quite a while ago and visit for tire rotations. I assumed this was a fairly safe thing to have done there since it's very basic and it's free for the life of the tires. I visited today, dropped my car off at 8 a.m., had not received a call by 2 p.m. to pick it up, gave you guys a call and found out it was done. When I picked it up, the cover over the lug nuts was visibly loose on one of the tires, the front two appeared to have not been inflated to capacity (as I'd specifically asked them to be since they were low) and my radio (an Alpine stereo system with amp and subwoofer) was blasting when I turned it on and had been set to play a CD that was in it. I was super disappointed with this ... I am left guessing whether or not my tires were actually rotated, I will have to stop to put air in them on my commute home and I will have to check all the lug nuts to make sure they're not tight as that cover was not. Over a year ago I visited the Christiansburg location and swore I'd never return there; I should've listened to my instincts and not visited again for the tire rotation - even though it was free. I stopped by to get my state inspection done, which I'd had completed there previously. I was told that my taillight was broken (the brake light was not working) and it would cost $600 to replace the light, along with labor. I knew this was inaccurate, so I told them I would have to think about that and return another day. I went home, popped my trunk, changed the bulb in my light and it worked fine. I returned to Thompson Tire the next day for the inspection, told them I'd replaced the bulb (which they'd told me was not the problem), dropped my car off for inspection again and got a lovely surprise when I picked it up. My hood had been buffed. I knew there was no way I could prove it, but I know what a buffer will do to a car, having been around people painting cars. The clear coat was gone in some spots. I see those buffer marks every single day and they greatly reduce the value of my vehicle. When I began telling others about that experience, I heard more and more horror stories - but only from women. One lady went to you guys for an oil change. Her hood was not latched and when she left, it flew up and busted her windshield. Another was told that her window was broken and she needed a new motor. She took it to another mechanic for a second opinion and he found that her door had never been taken apart to view the motor and he fixed the problem for free - without having to replace the motor. I'm sorely disappointed in your business, as your associates do seem very nice. Sadly, I will not be returning - even for my free tire rotation. I will also be advising others to not patronize your business."

Desired Settlement: I paid for my inspection with Thompson Tire and received a complimentary buffing of my hood. This not only looks embarrassing, it reduces the value of my car. I am attempting to trade my car in for a new purchase and this is impacting the amount they are willing to give me. Thompson Tire needs to settle with me how they see fit.

Business Response: This is in response to complaint # *******. After looking into the matter, we notice that the inspection that is in question took place over a year ago. In addition, there were other items that the vehicle was rejected for which are listed on the invoice copy that I have attached. There is no estimate for the taillight on the invoice, but looking at the other items listed, I can see where the estimate for repairs for all items would be a several hundred dollars. Furthermore, Thompson Tire does not perform body work or do detailing of any kind. We do not have a buffer at our location nor would we use something to intentionally damage a customer's vehicle. Our staff at the Christiansburg store would have been happy to assist you with any issues that you may have had at the time of any incident. All that you would have to do is ask for the Manager, his name is ***** *****, and he would do what he could to help. Thompson Tire appreciates your business. We extend our apologies for any inconvenience that you have experienced.  Thank you, ****** *******Administrative Assistant/Wholesale Sales Thompson Tire-

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.Yes, this inspection took place quite a while ago, but you did not address the recent tire rotation, which was nothing but bitter icing on a very bitter cake. When my car went through the inspection, the only thing I was informed of in regards to the rejection was the tail light. I was told that it - specifically - would be the extreme cost and the entire tail light would have to be replaced. I was not told of any other items that my car was rejected for; all I did was replace the light and it passed, so if there were other failing items, they were not addressed. My car hood was, indeed, buffed. There were circular motions - from a buffer - in the paint. The top coat was removed. There was not just one, but several spots. If your company does not own a buffer at this location, then some other tool was used for this paint damage or an employee is personally responsible and used their own tools. I recently suffered financial hardship while trading my car in toward a new one. The lack of paint in large spots on the hood damaged its value and was pointed out by the dealership. I have made them aware of how and by whom this hood damage was created. Regards,***** *******

Business Response: Business's original response stands.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.There was no resolution, no apology, nothing.Regards,***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

5/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Thompson Tire on Monday, 5/13/2013, to receive a state inspection. They failed my 1996 Chevy S10 because of an exhaust leak. An employee told me to go to ******* Muffler to get it checked out. I took my vehicle to ******* Muffler the same day, and he found a rattle from the oil cap that Thompson Tire may have misunderstood as the leak. ******* Muffler had me pull my truck up onto the ramps in the shop and he lifted it up and put his hand over the exhaust while the other guy felt and listened for a leak. After about 15 minutes he pulled me to the side and said there was no leaks. I went back to Thompson Tire that afternoon and the guy who helped me, ****, wasn't nice at all. He told me his guy does the inspection and that is what he noticed. I told him there was no leak and he started getting very upset towards me. He did not even offer to recheck the truck, which I thought was not good customer service at all. He then told me that he would get with a state trooper and meet me there on Tuesday, 5/14/13, to check it over. I called him on Tuesday morning around 9:30am and he told me he would call me back a little after lunch. At 2:30pm I hadn't received a phone call so I called him and he then told me the state trooper couldn't meet me until Friday afternoon. So instead of dealing with this Thompson Tire, that is very unprofessional and don't seem to care if they have business and don't know how a business should run, I will not go back to them ever again. It is the worse place to ever send vehicles. So Tuesday evening I went to another shop and got my truck inspected with no problems at all. To end this story, why did two places tell me no exhaust leak but Thompson Tire did? This makes me wonder how many people that are going there that are having work done that is not necessary.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the $16.00 I paid for an inspection back.

Business Response: In response to the complaint by Mr. ****. We apologize for any inconvenience that he has incurred while awaiting contact from our store.  We did contact the State Trooper over inspection stations for this area, as we stated we would, but we are at his mercy regarding his schedule as he has his other duties as well as the inspection stations. He did contact us back and will be at the location at 10:00 am Friday Morning in Salem. We gave the Trooper the customer's information so that they can communicate as well so as not to waste anyone's time. We perform these inspections as per the State Inspection Manual and perform them to the best of our abilities. After the Trooper has looked at the vehicle, if an error was made, we will gladly refund the customer's inspection fee.  

Consumer Response: The vehicle has been inspected elsewhere and passed.  Two other businesses have checked the vehicle and there was no problem.  The best customer service in the beginning would have been to reinspect the vehicle that day instead of not doing anything.  I have other obligations and will not be meeting at the time specified.   If that is the best customer service that you can provide, so be it.  You have lost my business as well as the business of others.  Regards, ***** ****  

Business Response: Our sincerest apologizes you don't find the offer acceptable.We are going to mail you a check for $16.00 but this is a Virginia State Police inspection issue.Once we are made aware of an issue involving the inspection program we must involve the Trooper assigned to our station.He has every right to contact you and inspect the vehicle himself as they set the inspection rules we must adhere to. If we have made an error he will advise us so and take corrective measure's as he will do the same if another staion has made an error. You have been given every opportunity to take the issue up with the Trooper himself which is who will have the final say in where the error was made. We wish you the very best, **** ****    

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when i call them for a tire i gave the man on the phone my tire size and the guy gave me a price for the tire and road side service. i told him ok.When the service guy came out he had the wrong tire, and when he call back to the office and told them they gave him the wrong tire. The service guy gave him the size and they went up on the price. It went up 352.08 more then the first price. For a total of 752.08. It wasn't my doing i gave them my tire size the first time. they charge me additional service charge for them to bring out the right tire. I think since it was a mistake on there behalf they should have took the lost and not charge me another service fee.

Desired Settlement: If they won't take the lost. I would to be refunded the additional service charge.

Business Response:

Please see the attached letter in response to complaint #*******.

We have reviewed the complaint along with the response and other information regarding this claim with the President of the company, and she is in agreement that there should be no complaint since the customer was made aware of the extra charges, and approved them, before any work was done by our technician.  We apologize that he feels the need to file a complaint, but the President stands firm on the actions of the Vice President and our Road Service Technician being just and correct given the information we had at the time. Misinformation is the reason for the price to increase; once our technician realized this he took the appropriate steps to correct the information, get the correct tire, and get the customer safely on his way.  Once again, the charges were discussed with the customer before the tire(s) was installed and he could have refused them at any time. We feel no refund or further action should be taken on this case.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1