BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

According to information in BBB files, this company operates a chain of more than 1,600 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Firestone Tire & Service Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Firestone Tire & Service Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Firestone Tire & Service Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 15, 1976 Business started: 01/01/1976 in TN Business under new ownership as of: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 01/01/1990 in TN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

Roanoke County Business Lic.

Phone Number: (540) 772-7587

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glenn Tureski, District Manager Mr. Shawn Akers, Blacksburg Manager Mr. Ian Aylor, Manager, 202 Williamson Rd. Ed Olowiany, Assistant District Manager Mr. Wayne Sesler, Manager, Harrisonburg
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ian Aylor, Manager, 202 Williamson Rd.
Principal: Mr. Glenn Tureski, District Manager
Related Businesses
Firestone Tire & Service Center GCR Tires & Service
Business Category

TIRE DEALERS AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS TIRE RETREAD & REPAIR BATTERY SUPPLIES TIRE DISTRIBUTORS & MANUFACTURERS BATTERY REPAIRING & REBUILDING SHOCK ABSORBERS

Alternate Business Names
This company also does business as Expert Tire, Mark Morris Tire and GCR Tires & Service
Additional Information

This firm is headquartered at 50 Century Blvd., Nashville, TN 37214, 615-872-5000. Its Retail Division is headquartered at 333 East Lake Street, Bloomingdale, IL 60108, 630-259-9000.

System Wide Accredited Business

This company's headquarters and company-owned locations throughout the country participate as BBB Accredited businesses. This means they support BBB's services to the public and meet our BBB Accreditation standards. Locally, they joined this BBB in March 1988.

Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 1740 E. Market Street

    Harrisonburg, VA 22801 (540) 432-1406

  • 202 Williamson Road

    Roanoke, VA 24011 (540) 344-6678

  • 2048 Electric Road

    Roanoke, VA 24014 (540) 989-5226

  • 305 Ferguson Drive

    Blacksburg, VA 24060 (540) 552-2581

  • 4480 Electric Road

    Roanoke, VA 24014 (540) 774-7788

  • 5002 Airport Road

    Roanoke, VA 24012 (540) 362-3355

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my wife's 2002 Lexus SC430 in and bought four tires. The shop reportedly balanced the tires, and I bought lifetime alignment. After we picked up the car, there was a shimmy in the steering wheel between 63 and 67 mph. I brought the car back and they claimed they rebalanced the tires. When we picked the car up, there was still a shimmy in the steering wheel. I took the car back. They looked at it and told me the car needed $1,700 worth of front end work. This car has only 102,000 miles on it. I took it to *** ********** in ************* **. They said that the tires had never been balanced, and there were no weights on the wheels. They also said that the wheels were severely out of balance, representing a danger to anyone who drove the car.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund on the lifetime alignment, since we can never trust this shop to bring it back for additional service. I would also like them to pay the price I paid to have the tires balanced by *** *********** since balancing was included in the purchase price of the tires.

Business Response: Mr. ****** ****** made contact with us shortly after the complain was fíled with the BBB. We were able todiscuss the situation and were able to refund Mr. ******s money for the lifetime alignment as well as the cost ofthe balance at the other shop. We refunded a total of $278.89 and Mr. ****** was satisfied with the outcome. Hewelcomed you to contact him to verify his satisfaction.Regards,*** *****

Consumer Response:  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** ******

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last month, I was in ************* ******** on business. In route to ************, I complained about noise coming from the hood of my car. So, I took my car to the nearest Firestone (****** ******). I explained my situation with the staff and they agreed to test drive it. Following the drive, the serviceman told me the noise was coming from my tire as my hub and wheel bearing was in need of replacement. He also mentioned that I was in need of new break pads, but I also needed new rotors. He gave me the estimate for both of these services. I was a little skeptical about the steep pricing, but I digressed. Based on our conversation, I agreed to take care of the break pad issue first. My total came to $375. A couple weeks later while getting my hub bearing assembly I explained the servicemen about the break pads I got installed by FireStone. This conversation probed my inquiry in the reasonableness of charges of the break pads. When looking through my statement, I noticed that I was overcharged by $231.97 (rotors plus SLC 798 BRK CAL.... plus Replace Caliper - One. Given this issues, I wished to be refunded for these overcharges and unauthorized charges.

Desired Settlement: To be credited $231.97 back to my **** ****.

Business Response: in response to your inquiry with complaint from ******** ******.  I contacted Mr. ****** and discussed issue.  Mr. ****** stated that he didn't realize he was getting a brake caliper in addition to brake pads & brake rotors.  When I asked how he got a competitor price quote (which is reflected clearly on invoice) that we matched, he couldn't give a clear answer. We explained charges, matched competitors written estimate and was given approval by Mr. ******.  Sometime later after talking to third party, Mr. ****** desided he was overcharged, even after we matched his competitors estimate.  Clearly we did nothing improper or wrong regarding this complaint.  However, in the spirit of satisfying all customers, we gave Mr. ****** a refund of (see attached in #******)  $139.00 for caliper he claimed he was confused over.Store Mgr***** *******

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son ,***** ********, is a junior at JMU and he went to Firestone on 5/28/14 to get our 99 Honda Accord inspected. He was told the car was rejected as it needed new struts, the emergency brake light was coming on periodically and that it had a tire which had to be replaced due to having a nail in it. He was told the repairs would be over $500. I notified our home mechanic (********** **** * *******) in Christiansburg. The automotive manager, *** ***** told me to have my son drive the car home to be repaired on 5/31/14. The struts were not defective and the technician adjusted something minor to correct the emergency brake light from coming on, and they plugged the tire- all for $40. The Firestone mechanic was trying to rip off my son and this needed to be reported so that other parents of *** students do not send their children there for car repair.

Desired Settlement: I want the outcome publicized regarding this complaint to warn others about the deceptive practice of Firestone.

Consumer Response: I would like an apology and explanation for the Harrisonburg Firestone business giving us false information stating we required unnecessary repairs. **** ********

Business Response: In response to your letter dated 6/12/2014 BBB case #******** customer **** M. ********.  Customer statement attached.  Although we value every customer, and will satisfy without regard of right or wrong, in some cases such as this, I as store Mgr. have no authority to intervene in matters of Va. State Safety Inspections.  After reviewing Invoice in question, I talked with a license State Inspector and he stands behind his decision.  Although I have no authority to override his decision, there are other options, such as contacting Va. State Police Inspection Officers to intervene with their decision.  I do apologize for any inconvenience that this may have cause for our customer.  It is a matter between our Licensed State Inspector, Va State Police Safety officers and **** ********.  If I can be of any further assistance in this matter, please contact me at ************* Sincerely yours, ***** ******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I am not satisfied with their response as I have had the same mechanic for over twenty years who is well respected in our area and he related nothing was wrong with the vehicle and only patched a tire and adjusted the brake light for $40.   I know they will not taking responsibility for their wrong doing at this point,  but I want to make it public what unethical practice we experienced at the Firestone in Harrisonburg, VA and further to recommend to other *** parents to not use this gargage. There is no point in going on with this further based on their comments. thank you, **** ********  

2/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 4 tires and made an appointment online to have them installed on a commercial delivery truck. When arriving for the appt. I was told they didn't have the tires, they had sold them to someone else. This vehicle has to be on the road delivering 6 days a week this time of year and we depended on those tires and that appt to be accurate so we had safe and reliable tires. It's out of the way to just go back and get tires whenever it's suitable for THEM. Now, they are telling me it'll be Weds., today is Mon. So, i have to find time to drive over there, when I took time out of my day, and work, for an APPT. Just as I have people depending on me everyday to get their deliveries to them, Firestone had an obligation to me, and they shouldn't be able to just shrug off the fact that they let a customer down. They did offer to take $100 off the bill for the inconvienence. Considering the tires are over $800 for the 4, that will help, BUT, I needed those tires the day they were promised to me! This has put me and my business in a bad spot.

Desired Settlement: There should be a 50% discount on this purchase for all the waisted time. This truck desperately needs rear tires and I could have bought them elsewhere, but it seemed so convient to order and make appt online, now those tires are unsafe and I've wasted at least $400 in time and money on my business just to be disappointed.

Business Response: This is response to **** ********** claim with the Better Business Bureau.  We did credit $100 dollars to the purchase price.  Refunded another $313.98 (offered, awaiting reply).


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Firestone Tire & Service Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart