BBB Accredited Business since

Perry Pools and Spas

Phone: (434) 239-9650 6000 Fort Avenue, Lynchburg, VA 24502 http://www.perrypools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Perry Pools & spas offers Swimming Pool Construction, Repair & Renovation, as well as all the chemicals, tools, accessories and maintenance supplies needed to properly maintain your pool, Hot Tubs, Outdoor/Patio Furniture, Billiard Tables, Billiard accessories, and complete Game Rooms.  


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Perry Pools and Spas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Perry Pools and Spas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Perry Pools and Spas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 1983 Business started: 01/15/1972 in VA Business incorporated: 02/24/1972 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Lynchburg Business License

Phone Number: (434) 455-3880

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Craig Millner, Vice President Mr. John Perry, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Craig Millner, Vice President
Principal: Mr. John Perry, President
Related Businesses
Perry Pools and Spas
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS, DESIGN SWIMMING POOL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES FURNITURE-OUTDOOR SPAS & HOT TUBS - DEALERS

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Perry Pools, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 6000 Fort Avenue

    Lynchburg, VA 24502 (434) 239-9650

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Perry Pools installed our pool in 2010. We have purchased thousands of dollars worth of chemicals, equipment and other items from this business. April 10, 2014 we paid for Perry Pools to change the sand in the filter of the pool. When we opened the pool in July we discovered a crack where the pipes come in. The only way this could have happened is when changing the sand, they had to put pressure here to unscrew and screw back when finished. We came by Perry Pools on Monday, July 7th to pick up some chemicals and spoke to someone about this matter. His immediate response was "we didn't do that" and walked away. My husband asked him to at least come out and look at it and he responded "not without a $75 service charge". I have called and left a message for the owner John Perry to call me on 3 separate occasions with no response. I then e-mailed Mr. Perry and even sent out pictures without any response. A business should at least respond and discuss this situation with a customer.

Desired Settlement: We at least wanted some response to this matter. We will not be using Perry Pools in the future and will not recommend anyone else to this business.

Business Response:   Mr. ********** came into our store on July 7th and spoke with ***** *********. He described a crack in the side of his multiport valve. This type of crack is consistent with freeze damage, not with removing and reinstalling a valve for the purpose of changing the filter sand. This information was conveyed to Mr. **********. The crack was consistent with freeze damage, ***** was informing Mr. ********** that there would be a charge to come out and look at or fix a problem that was not caused by our service technician. If they would like another opinion, we can send the valve back to the manufacturer.       Sincerely,   John B. Perry, IV

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. ***** never responded to Mr. ********** about any freeze damage or anything else....all he said was "we did not do that"!  That was all that was said to Mr. **********.  All we ask was that John Perry give us a call at ###-###-#### and after three attempts of leaving a message on his voicemail, he never gave us a call in response.  If Mr. Perry would give us a call at ###-###-#### to discuss this matter, it would be appreciated.

Business Response: John Perry stated he has called ******** ********** regarding this complaint.   They discussed that the crack in the valve was consistent with freezing, but he will send the valve to manufacturer to get their opinion as soon as the **********'s get the valve to him. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. After talking to John Perry (it took 4 voices messages and 2 e-mails and a complaint to the BBB before he contacted me) I have considered his complaint and have decided that upon speaking to him that he is still determined that the crack in the value is "only freeze damage".....at no point did my husband ever accuse them of the damage but ONLY wanted them to look at the situation which "they were not able to do unless we paid a $75 service call".   We had the sand change done on April 10th and feel like the "experienced technicians" would have seen and determined any "freeze damage of a crack" at that point them when they removed the valve at that point and re-applied the valve"......but did not.  When we opened the pool after July 4th is when we discovered the crack that we tried to notify Perry Pool or at least tried to at that point.  We had the pool in 2010 and have never had any "freeze" damage at this point until we discovered this "after Perry Pool changed the sand in the filter" therefore "just wanted them to look at the situation.  After all the voice messages left and the two e-mails (with pictures sent) there were no responses until AFTER I contacted the BBB.  I am NOT satisfied with the contact or response therefore will NOT be using Perry Pools for any further needs.  We have already ordered and received this valve and will NOT be contacting Perry Pools for anything else. Regards, ******** **********

5/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Perry Pools advertised $150.00 for pool opening service, $50.00 off their regularly priced $200.00 fee. I contacted Perry Pools via phone prior to scheduling my appointment and spoke with ***** in accounts to confirm what this service included. I specifically inquired if this included all labor and the initial chemicals required to open the pool at which she responded yes. This response is confirmed by my wife who was listening to the conversation. We were very deliberate in validating this fact due to the previous billing experience we had with Perry Pools when they billed us for an erroneously high amount when we had used them for closing our pool the previous season. The service they rendered was average at best and the opening was to include vacuuming of the pool, which they did not do. The reason provided is that our pool did not have enough water! The pool was at its normal level and they could have easily completed a significat portion of the vacuuming effort. After Perry Pools debited our account prior to providing the billing invoice, I contacted them the next day via phone to inquire why $288.00 had been billed which amounted to nearly twice the advertised ammount provided on the coupon I had confirmed on the phone. I received a dismissive and curt respone to my inquiries and was informed by ***** that the coupon was more like an estimate and I was in error for assuming this was an all inclusive offer. ***** also refuted my assertion that two weeks prior she had confirmed via phone that this service also included the initial chemical treatment of the pool. I realized this conversation wasn't going well, and I was becoming angry by their unethical and unscrupulous billing practices so I terminated the call. I called back a few moments later and another Perry Pools associate answered the phone. I informed him that I would be contacting the BBB and Lynchburg Chamber of Commerce to file a complaint. The invoice included the cost of all chemicals and $187.50 for labor.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for the cost of all chemicals billed amounting to $143.70 and partial 15% refund for the labor since the vacuuming wasn't completed or an attempt even made.

Business Response: The special advertised indicated $50.00 off our Pool Opening Service. A normal service is $200.00 and with $50.00 off it would be $150.00 again, for a normal pool opening, as long as the pool opening was normal and had no circumstances that would cause us to spend a longer time servicing the pool and mentioned nothing about retail goods such as chemicals, supplies, etc. The coupon was service only. *****'s desk is right beside mine, I monitor her phone calls and responses to customers request. Not one single person has been told EVER that our service includes chemicals period!. The pool cannot be vacuumed if the water level is not high enough. The customer indicated they have had service from Perry Pools before, if that is the case they should be well aware that our pricing is never all inclusive because every pool is very different and offers it's own set of challenges, as well as every customer's pool would require totally different chemicals to balance at opening depending on what Sanitizer they are using and how their pool was closed. We add chemicals if the customer request it, but it is not included in the price. I am sorry Mr. **** made an assumption that was incorrect, but valid service was performed on his pool and the pool was opened and prepared for the summer. We performed a countless number of these service calls as a result of this special, and not one other customer has had this complaint. There is no way Perry Pools could have the reputation we have in our community nor have survived in business 40 years if we mislead our customers. It simply does not happen. Perry Pools would be glad to come out if the water level has been raised to the appropriate level and vacuum the pool at no additional charge for Mr. **** and since we did have a sale on Chemicals earlier in the month, which the ****'s did not take advantage of, I would be glad to extend the 10% off we had the chemicals on sale for at that time as well.

Consumer Response: The logic is sound regarding the coupon being service oriented, however I do contend that the Perry Pool's respondant does not monitor and remember every conversation ***** has on the phone.  I had but one call to remember and made no assumptions about the coupon.  My phone call to clarify what the coupon included does not constitute assumption but validation on my part.   Using Perry Pools only one previous time, 6 months prior, for a different service, hardly constitutes a precedence to establish instantiated business practices.  It is apparent there was/is a communication gap that will not be resolved in this medium.  My primary source of contention is not what was or wasn't completed as part of the service but what the advertisement states, or lack there of identifying the exclusion of chemicals, and the perception of bait and switch billing by debiting a customer's account prior to providing a billing invoice. I am aware of Perry Pools' history as I researched it prior to filing this complaint, and I am not interested in "taking advantage" of the 10% discount I was aware of, but missed out on due to the fact I had to wait three weeks for service from point of scheduling.  I have already found a much cheaper online supplier of pool chemicals from a certified Baquacil dealer which exceeds any discount Perry Pools could offer.  I will relay this to every pool owner I know.  My pool no longer requires vacuuming as I already took care of this.  I choose to forgo extending my future business to Perry Pools and only request the following actions be taken to resolve my complaint.  Please remove me from any future Perry Pools' mailing offers and delete my account from your customer database.  Regards, ********* ****