BBB Accredited Business since

Dixie Building Products, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 342-6787 View Additional Phone Numbers 3342 Melrose Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24017 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers gas logs & installation, heating, garage doors, fireplaces, gas grills, gas heaters, wood & pellet stoves, home building/remodeling.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dixie Building Products, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dixie Building Products, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 18, 1974 Business started: 04/09/1959 in VA Business incorporated 06/01/1960 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Mark Silverstein , President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Silverstein , President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Dixie Fireplace Shop
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 3342 Melrose Avenue

    Roanoke, VA 24017 (540) 342-6787 (800) 343-6780

  • P. O. Box 6023

    Roanoke, VA 24017


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/21/15 I purchased a set of 24" gas logs and an RCB Upgrade Remote for the logs from Dixie Products. The logs and remote were installed by ******* ******* *** *** as part of a larger conversion of my home from oil to gas heat in mid May of 2015. Shortly after the installation, a service person from Dixie Products came out to my home and assured me that the logs and remote had been installed correctly. In late November of 2015, I noticed a red blinking light on the unit attached to the logs. I called Dixie to see what this blinking light indicated. They informed me over the phone that the blinking red light was on the receiver portion of the remote and the blinking meant that the batteries were going dead. Once the batteries were dead the remote would not be usable. I was amazed that the batteries could be dead in less than 5 months and said so. The Dixie representative did not care or address how quickly the batteries had gone dead. He merely stated that it would be a full $100 service call for them to come out to replace the batteries. I was utterly astounded and dismayed at their lack of customer service. I then called ******* (who installed the logs). *******'s customer service was excellent. Even though this was not really their problem, they new the batteries should not have gone dead that quickly and agreed to help me. On 11/25/2015 *****, a ******* Service Technician came to my home and replaced the batteries in the remote receiver with brand new batteries. On 7/10/16 I noticed that the red light on the remote receiver unit of my gas logs had started blinking again. I couldn't believe it, as it was less than 8 months since ***** had replaced them. On 7/11/16 I called Dixie to review the history of the unit and stated that I thought the unit might be defective. I originally talked to *****, who quickly passed me on to ***. When I went through the history again, *** said, "We tell our customers to replace the batteries once a year." I tried to explain that it had been considerably less than a year and the second time in 14 months. I again repeated that I thought the unit might be defective. *** said no and that it would be a complete service call ($100) for them to come out and replace the batteries. I believe that Dixie Products sold me a defective RCB Upgrade Remote and are refusing to acknowledge it or do anything about it. They just want to make money on the extra service calls.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is that Dixie Products replace the entire remote system and send someone to my home to install the new remote system on my existing logs free of any charge. I also want a formal written apology and assurance that if the replacement should have the same problems that they will take care of it free. They should be willing to back what they sell.

Business Response: Dear Ms ******* and the Better Business Bureau,I am the owner of Dixie Building Products and feel the need to respond personally to the complaint that has been filed.  I am quite proactive in my approach to customer service issues and can assure all concerned that any corrective measures needed will actually happen. That being said, l would like to share what I know and resolve this matter amicably.  I have been around long enough to know that there are always two sides to the story and that sometimes not all information is conveyed properly or fully understood. I also know that sometimes personalities don't mesh well. That's usually where I try to step in and bridge the gap.Let me start off by saying that I acknowledge that Ms. ******* purchased her gas log system from us and has contacted us three times with questions. I thank her kindly for her purchase as well as the opportunity to serve her. Now I need to clarify a few things.1 - Most gas log sets and gas fireplaces sold today do NOT include a remote control system.  My approach has always been to give the customer far more value for their money so we include some sort of remote control system with most of our gas units. At the time of her original purchase, we were including a model called the TLM from Ambient Technologies.  It has an extremely touch sensitive remote that is not always easy for some customers to use. As a result, we make it a po¡nt to show our customers all of their remote control options and allow them to choose. Ms. *******chose the RCB from Ambient Technologies and the resulting $45 upgrade fee simply was the difference in my cost between the two units. The RCB is a truly simple and easy use remote control system that consists of two major components . . . a wireless, hand held remote and a radio receiver unit (black box) that is connected by wires to the log set in order to turn the log set on and off with the remote. Batteries are required for both components.  Batteries are provided by the manufacturer but we usually encourage customers to replace them with fresh alkaline batteries at their first opportunity.2 - Two of the phone calls made to my company by Ms. ******* centered around a light flashing on the black box. One of the truly wonderful features of all Ambient remote systems is the red light on the receiver box. It serves to tell the user when the batteries are actually gett¡ng weak and should be replaced. This information ¡s on the very first page of the owner's manual.  I have included a copy of the first page and highlíghted this information. Ambient recommends that "the batteries should be replaced at least once every six months or when the battery indicator flashes. My staff tellscustomers to change out the batteries AT LEAST once a year or when a battery light is blinking on the receiver (black box). lf there was any confusion over what we said with respect to batteries, then all I can do is apologize.  Batteries do not last forever and honestly, I change the batteries on my own fireplace remote system probably three times each year.  I purchase batteries in pack of 48 and ¡t is not unusual to find 6 to 10 of them to either be extremely weak or completely dead! And while it is not exactly the same situation, how long do batteries last in a flashlight?3 - Our normal service call fee is $96. I know that this figure differs slightly from what was stated in the complaint but I strive for accuracy.  While some may think this fee to be high or excessive, in reality it is quite fair and is based upon a number of factors that include the cost of sending out a service technician. Most customers don't realize the high cost of insurance coverage for anything that is gas related. If you then add in the cost of the vehicle, taxes, tools, diagnostic instruments, manpower, gasoline, etc. you would be surprised by the true cost of making a single visit to a customer'shome. We have kept our service rates the same for almost 9 years and simply do not have complaints about this price.4 - The first call made to us by Ms. ******* resulted in a free service visit to inspect the installation work and to assure her that the unit was installed properly. Normally, there would be a charge for such a visit but my technician chose not to charge her as a gesture of good will for her new purchase.5 - The complaint makes several statements about the lack of quality in our customer service, implies that we don't care and that we are simply try¡ng to make money on service calls. Unfonunately, this is where I believe a disconnect exists and why I mentioned that somet¡mes personatities simply do not "mesh".  We actually try to SAVE our customers from paying a service fee by attempting to help them diagnose and fix the most common issues that crop up with the products we sell. If we "just want to make money on extra service calls" (as stated in the complaint) then why would wetell Ms. ******* that the blinking light was indicating that she simply might want to change the batteries? (And thus save on any service call fees.)  As for the desîred settlement, I will gladly send my service technician free of charge to install batteries for Ms. ******* and verify that the remote control system is operating properly. Replacement of the entire remote system and then a promise of free service calls indefinitely is simply not reasonable or practical. I will also say that I truly apologize for any inconvenience or misunderstandings that Ms. ******* may have experienced. I never want to have a customer in the field who thínks poorly of us. My father founded my company in 1959. We have been in contínuous operat¡on for over57 years. I think that in itself speaks volumes about our reputation and approach towards our customers. That being said, I take every complaint or criticism to heart and will certainly speak with each member of my staff about the complaint filed by Ms. *******. We actually DO care about being helpful and respectful towards all customers and stand behind everything we sell. I firmly believe that our 40+ years of being in good standing with the BBB clearly indicates such an approach.I thank you for taking the time to read my response and look forward to a prompt and mutually acceptable resolution.Best regards,Mark SilversteinCEO - Dixie Building Products, lnc

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.Many of the points Mr. Silverstein makes are correct. I purchased the upgraded remote and the price may very well be the difference of the two remotes. I have no way of knowing. Their service call is $96 and their reasoning behind this is their prerogative. They did send a technician to make sure the logs were installed properly at their expense. I did call to ask what the blinking red light was because I did not know. However, I still have differences. When I purchased the logs, I was told that the upgraded remote was a better option and that it would perform better than the unit that came with the logs. I was never told that the batteries on the receiver would need to be changed more than once a year. In fact, the word batteries never came up in the conversation with the salesman. If it had, I would certainly asked about other options simply due to the ongoing cost of replacing batteries that often. No one I know or have talked with about this who has gas logs has told me that they have to change their batteries this often.I still believe that this particular unit is defective and I still would like to have it replaced at Dixie's cost. I did not mean, in my original complaint, that I wanted indefinite service calls. What I meant was, that if I am forced to live with a unit that needs its batteries changed more than once a year, that Dixie cover the ones that are over the traditional once a year change. I have talked with enough people to now know that these batteries will likely need to be changed once a year (I wish I had known this at the time of purchase so that I could investigate other options.). It is the several times a year battery changes that I have a problem with. I believe it indicates the unit may be faulty and it is very costly, both in service calls and the cost of the batteries. Regards, ****** *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dixie Building Products, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)