BBB Accredited Business since

Cook Siding & Window Company, Inc.

Phone: (540) 389-6104 View Additional Phone Numbers 301 Kessler Mill Road, Salem, VA 24153 http://www.cooksiding.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale and installation of vinyl siding, guttering, room enclosures, decks, awnings, vinyl replacement windows as well as roofing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cook Siding & Window Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Cook Siding & Window Company, Inc. include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cook Siding & Window Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 15, 1973 Business started: 01/15/1954 in VA Business incorporated 01/15/1973 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Board of Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Ste 400, Richmond VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8511

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Salem Business License

Phone Number: (540) 375-3019

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kyle D. Cook, President Ms. Darlene Harmon, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kyle D. Cook, President
Business Category

SIDING CONTRACTORS HOME IMPROVEMENTS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS DECK BUILDER ROOFING CONTRACTORS WINDOWS - INSTALLATION/SERVICE AWNINGS & CANOPIES

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 301 Kessler Mill Road

    Salem, VA 24153 (540) 389-6104 (800) 769-2040

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cook Siding installed new siding on our home. While the product they sold was good, the installation performed by their subcontractor was not acceptable. They had to return to fix items that the subcontractor tore up at our house and also to repair siding and drip edge issues. The last time we contacted them, the service manager came and looked at the problem area and agreed to fix it. After returning to his office, the salesman that sold us the siding said they would not fix problem. In addition, he accused us of being dishonest about the things that the subcontractor tore up at our house during installation. I find it appalling to be treated this way. We only asked Cook to fix items that their subcontractor messed up and we were honest about this. In addition, they claim the current issue we're having with the drip edge is due to original installation but we have pictures that clearly show the subcontractor manipulated the drip edge during siding installation. They were supposed to come back to our house today with their owner to look at the drip edge, but refuse to respond to our calls and texts. Even their vice-president will not return our calls about these issues.

Desired Settlement: The drip edge on the three gable ends of our house needs to be replaced due to the damage incurred during siding installation.

Business Response: In answer to customers complaint of our siding installer removing and reinstalling his drip  the old drip edge here at our office. You can see upon inspection of this old drip edge that it had been nailed in the face of the drip edge by others when installed. Our siding installer would have no reason to remove or cut the original drip edge. What we did have to do however is remove the face nails in order to slide our fascia metal up under it and did not reinstall the face nails. What we did was install all new drip edge (which had to be cut as the original was) we nailed most of it through the top as it is supposed to be done but had to add a few face nails as the previous install had been done. I can see why the original had to be cut by others as it was not installed when the roof was installed but was added later by others. At any rate we replaced it all in order to take care of our customer. I spoke with the homeowner on Tuesday morning the 23rd of August and he said it looks good.Thanks,Kyle Cook

Consumer Response:  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  Regards, *********** ****

7/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: April 29: paid $1750 down for siding and windows. May 19: siding was installed. I paid for insulation board and did not receive it. Siding on back of house had large gaps. Shrubs were crushed and broken, aluminum on front door, uneven,messy and new storm door screws stripped and filled with chauk: looks awful! I called immediately and made them aware of the situation. I was told since the installers usually do new construction they did not know to put back board up. I was told when my windows arrived the salesperson will come out and access the situation. June 5: window installer arrive, no one else: "they were busy." I ordered 4 windows; one was the wrong size, one I can see daylight through the bottom left corner, and is not insulted, which leaves me to deduct none of the windows were insulated. June 13: call again to let them know I am having the building Inspector come to receive a Certificate of Occupancy by June 29. I was told they would not do anything until the window came in. I asked when that might be, no date given.I let them know the electrician is not interested in putting the electrical outlets and lighting up for inspection , only to remove and replace when backboard is installed, backboard does not have to wait on windows. I was told to call Mr. Cook.

Desired Settlement: I want all issues resolved/ repaired before June 29, except for window. I should not have to wait for months when they want payment immediately. If this cannot be done within the week, I want contract cancelled and will have to hire another contractor to take care of these issues.

Business Response: Response to BBB case # ******* We are currently waiting on the one window that was manufactured the wrong size. We did not install the 1/4" underlayment originally as we do not normally use this product when tyvek housewrap is already installed on new construction type jobs. However in this instance our sales rep did charge Ms ******* for the insulation so we have went back and removed the siding and installed the insulation. We gave Ms ******* the option of a reimbursement of three times the cost of the underlayment or to install it and she choose the later, which we have completed. We also went back and reinsulated the windows. As soon as the other window arrives we will arrange a time that suits Ms ******* and install it and replace any stripped or missing screws on the storm door. I am sorry Ms ******* felt the need to contact the BBB . As she said on last line of  her complaint " I was told to call Mr. Cook" and I wish she would have done that to make me aware she had an issue.  Having said all that the bottom line is we would like to assure Ms ******* that we will complete her job in a quality manner and extend to her not only the manufacturers Limited lifetime warranty on the products but also warranty our labor for a period of 5 years.Sincerely,Kyle CookPres. CSW Inc

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. The windows were not insulated, exterior caulk was added. I can see that as the windows are not trimmed inside.The frame of the new storm door also had extra holes made to place screws and it looks sloppy with caulk smeared on it. I can send pictures if necessary. I would like the frame replaced, not just stripped screws.For the record- it was the salesman responsibility to take care of the issues, not mine to call Me Cook. I told him I would contact BBB, and waited a week for a reply. As none was rec'd, I contacted BBB.Thank you for your time and assistance, ********** *******

Business Response: The window has come in and  will be calling to set up an appointment to install it.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.It has taken a couple months, and much aggravation, to get a window. The other windows I purchased were not insulated, just received recaulked. Also, the framed storm door had been removed and screws were stripped and extra holes put in frame. Regards, ********** ******* 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ********** *******

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cook Siding put vinyl siding, windows, and guttering on my house at *** ******* ***** *********** **. In less than 5 months after the installation, the back guttering fell off. Cook Siding said they would charge me to put it back on, because they say the roof is bad and the rafter tails are rotten. Nobody at Cook Siding said anything about the roof or rafter tails when they put the guttering on and charged me over $10,000 for the total job.

Business Response: In regards to Mr. ******** Complaint, we put Fascia boards, soffit, and guttering on the house in the first week of September 2014.  After the job was complete Mr. ****** came in inquiring about work that was supposed to be done on the house that was not in the original contract, after doing this work to satisfy the customer at no charge, he came in stating that the house had a roof leak and that we caused it.  We did not do any work to the roof on this property nor were we contracted to inspect the roof, but in the interest of customer satisfaction we sent someone out to take a look at this leak and fix this for him at no charge. Mr. ****** was informed at this time that this roof was improperly installed and may have several leaks. On Wednesday March 4, 2015, Mrs. ****** called in to say that the gutter on the rear of the house has fallen off. We sent installers to the house to put the guttering back up.  When the installers arrived it was not just the guttering that had come off, it was the guttering, soffit, and fascia that had fallen off of the back of the house.  After inspection of the damage it was determined the gutter, soffit, and fascia board had pulled off of the house due to rotten Rafter tails.  These are rotten because of the improperly installed Ondura roofing. The Ondura Roofing was put down over top of the existing shingle roof, with screws that have the washer, and the screws are sticking up and the washers are not sealing the holes. Therefor water is running in under this roof and down the old roof and coming out behind the gutters, fascia, and soffit. This damage was not evident during the original installation due to the fact that the rafter tails and old fascia were painted with several coats of paint and hid the rot.  Even if this damage had been discovered during the original installation there would have been a charge to correct this issue at the time, but as stated before we were not contracted to inspect or work on the roof period.  We informed both Mrs. ****** and Mr. ******, once this was discovered on March 4, 2015, that we can fix this problem of the material falling off of the house, but that the underlying roof problem will cause this to happen again.  We recommended that they have the roof replaced.  There are also several pictures showing this damage and the cause of the damage that were sent to Mr. ****** as well.  There will be a charge to fix this damage as it was not caused by our work, nor is it a problem with our workmanship.  If Mr. ****** is unwilling to pay for this work, then Cook Siding and Window Co. Inc., will not do any work to this property, period. Mr. ****** also stated that he will be contacting his lawyer to settle this in ********* ****** court, at that time he was informed that if he wants to pursue this as a legal matter then we definitely will not set foot on the property until this matter is resolved in court.  Due to the fact that it is the roof that is causing this damage Mr. ****** was also informed that he should be contacting his roofer or whomever installed the roofing to cover the damages. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.I just want my back gutter on the house, which is something I already paid for. They fixed the leak on the roof, before they put the gutters on, so if they said the roof was bad at that time, why did they put the gutters on after that? One crew put the vinyl siding on, then later on another crew put the gutters up.  **** ******

Business Response: In regards to Mr. ******** response, the vinyl siding installation was completed on 9/5/14 and the gutters were completed on 9/9/14. It wasn’t until two weeks later that Mr. ****** came in to discuss his roof having a leak. Our installers went out to the property on 9/24/14 to address the roof leak and some other issues he was having.  It was not until this time that our installers fixed the roofing leak and told him that the roof had issues and needed replacing.  As stated before we were not contracted to inspect or do any work with the roof, and we will not set foot on this property until Mr. ****** Agrees to pay for the extra work to fix this problem. Also as stated to Mr. ******, fixing the soffit will not fix the problem. The roofing needs to be replaced, and without having the roof replaced this problem will happen again.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, **** ******

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cook siding and Window installed an Easy Breeze Sunroom at my residence approximately 2 yrs ago and I was assured they would repair any problems. I have had them here 4-5 times over leaks. The last time they did come to repair after approximately 6wks and at least 3 phone calls. I told them then that if they didn't respond to my complaints I would file a complaint with BBB. It was at that point that they did repair defective tape to stop the leak. Three wks. ago I called they regarding the gutter pulling away from the roof with water gushing down and running into my Sunroom. I called again 11/18/13 and left a message requesting a call back to schedule the repair but have not heard from them.

Desired Settlement: I desire for the guttering to be repair and any future repairs being performed in a timely manner.

Business Response: In reference to ******* ********* Complaint dated 11/20/13. After some investigation I found that Ms ********* complaint is 100% correct. Although we did not get the complaint off the answering machine that she left on Monday whether the fault of our machine or her phone she shouldn't have had to make that call since she had called previously. We sent serviced guys out the day we received the complaint from BBB and discovered what the problem was. We then sent service guys back this morning (the 21st) and corrected her problem. Hopefully she will not have any other problems , however if she does we have given her a cell # in the event she can't reach  us by normal means. We value you our A plus BBB rating highly and are disappointed she felt it necessary to make this complaint. As you know this is the only complaint we have had in many years and after over 6000 jobs done since any complaints. Sincerely, Kyle Cook Pres. CSW Inc.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Cooks Siding and Windows did respond to my complaint. Workers competed repairs as of this AM.  I was given a cell # to call if the problem isn't resolved with the next rains. I was also contacted by phone following the repairs' Regards, ******* ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cook Siding & Window Company, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)