BBB Accredited Business since

Wilfong Roofing

Phone: (540) 886-4602 39 Shady Hollow Lane, Staunton, VA 24401 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers roofing and home improvements.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wilfong Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wilfong Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 24, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1993 in VA Business incorporated 09/12/2011 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Staunton Business License

Phone Number: (540) 332-3829

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steve Wilfong, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Wilfong, Owner
Business Category


Industry Tips
3-Day Cooling Off Rule BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 39 Shady Hollow Lane

    Staunton, VA 24401 (540) 886-4602


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi: In July 2015, Wilfong Roofing performed roofing on new construction, at ***** ******* ***** ****, ********* *** Wilfong roofing did not apply the drip edge correctly and did not allow for enough shingle overhang. About half of the roof edge was poorly done. Wilfong Roofing has been to the property to check this and has acknowledged the poor quality of the work. Wilfong Roofing has repeatedly promised to come back and fix the problems. The OSB under the shingles is in danger of being damaged by rain. I have not been able to get them to honor their promises to come out to the residence to fix this. They were paid in full within days of the work they did in 2015. I must have this corrected ASAP.

Desired Settlement: Please have Wilfong Roofing repair the poor quality work they performed last July. Thanks

Business Response: Steve WilfongWilfong Roofing, llcNew construction at ***** ******* ***** **** ********** **This letter is in response to the complaint ID ********.  After we installed the roof per the general contractors instruction, the general contractor for the job installed an additional trimboard up the rakes of the house, even though I advised him against this since we had already installed the roof.  To do so they had  to push the drip edge up and out of the way.  The homeowner admitted to me that this detail was overlooked by the contractor, but however wanted us to fix it.  I said I would but that it would take sometime to get back to his job.  It was not a critical problem and would cause no leak.  The homeowner and myself talked several times on the phone about it. The last time he called me I did not get back to him and this was my fault, we were just extremely busy.  We never considered this problem our fault, but we did agree to fix it for him. It's been a year since we did the job and I can understand his patience running out.  We are back at his house on July 12, 2016 fixing the problem for free and still do not consider this probem out fault in the first place.  The customer even supplied all the material to fix the problem, because he knows we are not totally at fault.sincerely,Steve Wilfong

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wilfong Roofing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)