BBB Accredited Business since

Vinton Roofing Company, Inc.

Phone: (540) 890-1705 View Additional Phone Numbers 124 E. Washington Avenue, Vinton, VA 24179 http://www.vintonroofing.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial roofing, roof repairs, free estimates and insurance claims handled promptly.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vinton Roofing Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vinton Roofing Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Vinton Roofing Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 15, 1998 Business started: 01/15/1980 in VA Business incorporated 01/15/1980 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Vinton Business License

Phone Number: (540) 983-0608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Payne, President Ms. Joy G. Payne, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Payne, President
Business Category

ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Products & Services

Vinton Roofing Company, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Certainteed, CMS - Coastal Metal Service, GAF, Owens Corning

Method(s) of Payment

All major credit cards

Cash

Check

Financing is available

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 124 E. Washington Avenue

    Vinton, VA 24179 (540) 297-6063 (540) 890-1705

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired Vinton Roofing to put on a new Roof, Gutters, & Sky Lights.... Was told by Gary ***** (Owner) sky lights would not leak. never had a previous problem for 22 years. BOTH Sky Lights were installed incorrectly. I called Gary out, explained the issue, and showed him pictures. He agreed to come out and fix them. He sent one of his workers out and they only fixed one instead of both. Friday, September 25th, I called and left a voice mail at Vinton Roofing that the Sky Light in the Master Bathroom was leaking water. I asked someone to come out and fix it prior to the next rain that was predicted. No one called or came out and that weekend, the leak turned into a DRIP. So on Monday, September 28th Gary came out. I asked him why he did not fix BOTH Sky Lights when he sent someone out. His answer was he did not know both were leaking, even though I explained this to him face to face, as well as showing him the pictures of the problems. That same Monday, MOLD starting growing on the walls surrounding the Master Sky Light. I took pictures (which I still have in my possession) and sent them to Gary. He came back 2 days later and put a tarp over the sky Light. 2 Days later he came out and installed the sky light correctly. I expressed a VERY STRONG CONCERN about the Mold continuing to grow with my 2 Grand Kids living with me and them breathing that in. After 10 days, he finally sent **** *** out to access the issues and what needs to be fixed. The Mold is also growing in the attic where the sky light is per **** ***. The **** *** agent asked me where to send the estimates. I told him that I wanted a copy, but, the estimates should go to Vinton Roofing because their inability to install sky lights correctly, thus causing the damage and mold issues that we nowhere facing. I called gary today, October 6th to confirm that the estimates should be sent to Vinton Roofing as this was their responsibility. Gary said he would have to see the report from **** *** before he could determine if Vinton Roofing is responsible. I asked what the info in the report had to do with responsibility. He just kept answering he would have to see the report. I stated firmly that this issue was caused by inferior installation that I have been trying to get corrected for months now. I was hoping it would not come to this, but, obviously it has. No leaks for 22 years prior to Vinton Roofing installing new ones incorrectly. (I have pictures of that too) I am now getting the run around from Gary so I thought it was the correct time to file this complaint against Vinton Roofing.

Desired Settlement: Vinton Roofing is entirely at fault due to their inferior installation. They installed 2 sky lights incorrectly with NO seals and this caused the water leakage. Now,**** *** has to come in and remove the Mold from the bathroom and the attic and replace the ceiling and boards behind the sky light. The correct remedy is for Vinton Roofing to pay for the damage that they have caused to my home. I can NOT even see where there should be any questions as to who's responsibility it is. The Sky Lights also have a Warranty. If I would NOT have hired Vinton Roofing, none of these problems would exist. I want them to fix the problems that they have entirely caused themselves!

Business Response: Mr. **** **** from *** *** ******** will be contacting you to schedule an appointment to come by and evaluate the situation, upon your return. Yes, Mr. ***** I’m sure that it will be “enlightening” as you say. The photos that ******* took were very “enlightening”, indeed;  hence the inspection.As I have said before, if Vinton Roofing is found responsible for damages, then we will certainly take responsibility. Meanwhile please do not make any changes to the interior of your home. Mr. **** will be conducting the study and is trying to get it done for you ASAP. Thanks in advance,

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed are below:Thursday Oct. 22: Appointment with Mr. **** to take a Mold Sample to determine the age of the Mold.  The 2 Owners, Husband & Wife also showed up (Unannounced). I asked them why they were there.  To go around with Mr. ****. I said ok.  My wife & oldest daughter were also in the house.  I showed all 3 of them to my Master Bathroom where the issue is.  Mr. **** told me to take down the screen that was nowCovering the open sky light area, (suggested by **** ***). I asked him to take it down himself.  He asked for a ladder which I do notOwn.  He stated that he was there to be a witness if I was going to "going after them". I stated that those were his words, not mine.  He asked if he could go into the attic which I replied sure.  He again asked me for a ladder.At that point one of the owners pulled out their cell phone to start taking pictures. I asked that they do not take pictures inside of my house for Personal & Confidential reasons.  At that point, she began to Criticize my bathroom. My wife & daughter listened to this entire conversation.Once the criticism started, I stated that this meeting is now over and I asked them kindly to leave my house.  I walked them out the front door. My wife was upset by what she heard.  I told all 3 of them when we met in my driveway that I had a Water Restoration company coming in my house at 8:30am to begin Removing the Mold from where the sky light leaked and then turned in to a drip.The meeting lasted 5 minutes.  Started at 8:00am & at 8:05am, the 3 of them were standing in the street in front of my house.  They stayed there for 25 minutes until the Water Restoration Company began pulling in my driveway.  They then got in to their trucks and departed.My thoughts: (1) Mr. **** did not bring one item with him in Order to take a Mold Sample.  Not even a Note Pad. Nothing. Thought he should have a ladder if he indeed was going to take samples.  That is not why they were at my house.  I was mislead on that which is a common way  that this company operates.  They have only been concerned with trying to place the blame on something, anything, so they came up with poor ventilation in my master bathroom.  Of course, the Mold is only under the sky light! No problems for 22 years prior. (2) After coming to the realization that Vinton Roofing was NOT going to resolve the problem that they themselves and only them caused, I decided to get the Mold out of my house myself, which is what I have told them all along.   So I hired a reputable company to remove the Mold, repair the areas that needed to beRipped out, and plaster & paint.  The COMPLETE job.  (3) Due to Trust issues, I was very uncomfortable having them in my house.(4) if you read back through the emails strings forwarded in prior weeks, you will see that I have been accused by Vinton Roofing of"Distorting the Facts".  No, that is incorrect.  And, I thought I was the CUSTOMER!  I have never been spoken to as a customer like Vinton Roofing does.  (5) It should be also noted that when they replaced my gutters, that I paid them extra for, they decided to replace all but1 Large (20-30') piece in the back of the house.  That piece ended up being stopped up and when it rained the water was pouring over the sides of the gutter that they did not replace.  They had to come out to my house 3 different times on that 1 piece of gutter.  The third time was when I asked them to put a New piece of gutter there, which is what I paid for in the first place!  I watched them replace it.  It took 10 minutes. (6) Removed an Unopened Plastic bag of roofing nails out of the gutter in the front of my house.(7) We picked up nails that were left in the front & back yards for weeks after they were done installing.  Some were in piles of 20-30 that were left.Some of the above issues, I never even mentioned to Vinton Roofing.  I was just going to handle it and not worry about those.  However, since it has come down to this now, the BBB needs to FULLY understand how this company does Business.  Good Companies will always do the right things for their customers because that's just Good Business. The fact that they have attempted to place the blame on me, theHomeowner, the Customer, that paid them in Full, only to be left with damage to my home shows proof that Vinton Roofing is a danger toANY consumer that deals with them.  If they wish to pay for their damages to be repaired, then I certainly would welcome that.  But, a Wise Man once taught me to not listen to the tongues in people's mouths; just watch the tongues in their shoes and it will tell you everything you need to know about them.Based on that, I am certainly am not expecting that Vinton Roofing will do the "right thing". Ever.My hope is that you do not continue to allow this company to operate as they do now.  Consumers/Customers should not be exposed to this kind of Business Ethics.  Investigate this company.  Do not listen to their excuses.  This has been and always will be unacceptable toAny & All Consumers.   Regards, ******* *****

Business Response: In regards to Mr. *****'s complaint  I contracted with *** (************* ********** ********) to come to Mr. *****'s home to do a complete examination of the interior "mold" damage which Mr. ***** claims is the fault of our company. The appointment was made for when Mr. ***** returned from a trip, and made for 9:00 ( *** scheduling conflict) and then 3:00 but was changed to 8:00 a.m. when Mr. ***** said that he had someone coming in at 8:30 a.m. to begin the restoration process. (As you will note in previous e-mails Mr. ***** was asked to not disturb anything as until after the assessment was made.) When we met at the home Mr. ***** asked "exactly what are your intentions" and had a hostile attitude from the beginning. Upon entering the bathroom you could see that the entire skylight had been covered with orange VT tape and dark mesh ( not even clear plastic) making it impossible to see anything. When Mr. **** asked if Mr. ***** would remove it he said "NO, you do it" to which Mr. **** asked for a STEP ladder. Please note that the skylight is centered over a garden bathtub hence the need for a STEP ladder and not the roofing ladders in our trucks. Meanwhile I pulled out my phone to shoot pictures and Mr. ***** said "NO pictures!!!" I asked why and he said "confidentiality". I told him that we had a right to document the damages and he said "No you don't, you just want to prove me wrong" and I told him it was to ascertain the REASON for the damage, not to prove anybody wrong about anything. He said that he"didn't give a rip". That is when I started telling Mr. ***** exactly what I was seeing , a large set in window at the tub with rotted wood and peeling paint, wallpaper on the far side, corner of the room ( 14 feet away from the tub) with NO mold growth on the underside , ditto in the shower stall on the other corner of the room. I was not criticizing Mr. ***** or his home, I was stating facts that this could not possibly be from a skylight leak, in so short a time.  Mr. **** then mentioned that all of Mr. *****s ceiling can lights in the bathroom were severely rusted which indicates that this took a long period of humid conditions and condensation. This was when Mr. ***** said "this meeting has ended". Mr. ***** did not allow Mr. **** or Vinton Roofing the opportunity to take photos or prepare for any rebuttal other than his own photos and those of *******. Both, by the way, have been reviewed by *** and are being documented in the full report which will be provided to you upon completion. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. In regards to the latest response from Vinton Roofing:Mr & Mrs ***** & Mr. **** obviously mistakenly took the frustration that I haveIn dealing with Vinton Roofing for hostility. They have had ZERO concerns for theHealth issues that mold can cause and a month later that mold would still be thereIf I would have waited for Vinton Roofing to do something about it.  If not mold, then how about the water damage that the leaking skylight caused.Vinton Roofing can argue about the cause of the mold (which they chose to do) butThe water damage is non disputable.... Pictures sent to them at the very time it wasLeaking, after I notified them, and Mr. ***** had to come out and put a temporaryTarp over the entire sky light to stop the leak.  He returned later and corrected it and we have Not had any leaks since then.  Vinton Roofing had committed to pay **** *** for removal.  That email is in the file.They stated they "Trusted" **** *** and their findings.  That no longer seems to beThe case.  I have had the mold and water damage taken care of.  I expressed myConcern about my Grandkids living with me with growing mold possibly being airBorn many many times.... Mrs. ***** has continually asked me not to change anything to the interiorOf my home. That speaks volumes to me that she would rather dispute the moldAs opposed to taking action to remove it.  In my most previous response I advised that Vinton Roofing did not replace one largePiece of gutter on the back of my home after I had paid them for ALL NEW Gutters.Vinton Roofing did NOT respond to that, however, they need to state their answer onWHY they decided to leave a 22 year old piece in place instead of doing the work thatI paid them for.  I have never received an answer on that but would like an explanationFrom them. I believe this is another indication of exactly how this company operates.Vinton Roofing & their PAID consultant have been the only 3 folks that believe the water & Mold damage was caused by poor ventilation. 3 different builders & ******* ***** ***********, that have been working on these issues inside my home believe the damage was caused by the leaking sky light. Especially since the only mold that appeared was in exactly the same area where the skyLight was leaking. Vinton Roofing needs to state their intentions. What are their plansTo make this right?? That's all I need to know....Not sure how this companies practices of doing business in the Valley warrants anA+ Rating. Thanks,******* *****

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Vinton Roofing Company, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart