BBB Accredited Business since

Mountain Roofing, Inc.

Phone: (540) 342-9901 501 Shenandoah Avenue, NW, Roanoke, VA 24016 http://www.mtnroof.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential roofing and roof repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mountain Roofing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mountain Roofing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mountain Roofing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1998 in VA Business incorporated 02/05/1998 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Hunter Merrill, President Mr. Adam Gheen, Field Supervisor Ms. Gayle Merrill, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hunter Merrill, President
Business Category

ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 501 Shenandoah Avenue, NW

    Roanoke, VA 24016 (540) 342-9901

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had called Mountain Roofing, Inc. after having researched them online, including BBB reviews as well as customer reviews. We were looking for a contractor to install a metal roof. After not receiving a call back from an estimator for a week, I called again and talked to ***** (******* ****), being told that the estimator (******) probably thought it was a duplicate since he had recently done an estimate in my area on ******* ****** ***** (I live in the same area). ***** had ****** call me, who said he would call me the following week on Monday. Monday came and went, then an entire week. My husband then calls last week (week of 04/19/2015) and speaks to their new estimator, ****. My husband clearly explains that we are wanting to tear our own old roof off and make repairs to the boards underneath, so that they only have to come in and lay down the new metal roof. **** sets up an appointment for today (04/28/2015) at 4:00 p.m. and has the dimensions of our roof. This time comes and goes with no sign of ****, nor any phone call. At 4:30, concerned about him not showing up, I call Mountain Roofing's office to see where he is. The gentleman I spoke to was very nice. He took my number and said he would need to call me back since he needed to get in touch with ****. At 4:37 p.m., I receive a call from a cellphone number and it is ****. His first statement is that they cannot do our roof since they do not work with "that type" of panel (huh?). He then proceeds to inform me that it is their "policy" that they do everything from tearing the roof off to completion of the new roof and that they cannot (or will not) do the job unless that happens. I asked them if it just their policy or one among all roofing contractors, and he said among all contractors, which I find hard to believe. I also asked him why my husband was not informed of that when they had spoken the week prior. He said he had to speak to the "powers that be." I informed him that I thought it was a ridiculous policy and that I thought it was a punishment to the homeowner. I then asked him if he was actually complaining about a homeowner fixing their own boarding so that the only thing they had to do was come in and lay the new roof. He basically said yes. He then was talking to the "head estimator," after which I receive an outrageous estimate of $16,300 to do our roof. My husband and I had already priced the materials through ***** and all materials were under $3,000, so I asked him where the gold mine was. **** had no answer. We had another estimate from another company for less than half the estimate by Mountain Roofing, Inc. **** said he appreciated the opportunity, but that unless they did things from A to Z that they could not do the job. I told him that I should have known something was wrong when I received no phone call from an estimator on the initial contact, no call from ****** when he said he would, and then he (****) not showing up or calling. Again, **** said he appreciated the opportunity but could not do the job. After this, I told **** I appreciated the call back, but that I would be writing a bad review about them online, wished him a good evening, then hung up without giving him a chance to say anything. *****, the owner's wife, is on the board of the BBB, so it surprises me that we would get this treatment. As I see it, they do not deserve the A+ rating they have through BBB. Their behavior was unprofessional for such a highly rated company, and their "estimate" outrageous. Who knows who else has had this experience with them. What shocks me the most is that **** did not even bother to call, and likely would not have had I not called their office at 4:30 p.m. They did not even lay eyes on our home. Either you want business or you do not. If you are too busy to handle the job, be honest and just tell me. I can handle that a lot better than what I have just recently been through.

Desired Settlement: A written apology would be nice. My husband and I did not deserve to be treated the way we were. We had high hopes for this company, with such high ratings and so many positive reviews. The behavior of this company as a whole was unprofessional. I think they should also revamp their business practices, or at least the employees that are providing estimates.

Business Response: Mountain Roofing Inc. would like to apologize to Mr. and Mrs. ****** for any misunderstandings that took place reguarding their roof estimate.We did have a 4:00 pm appointment scheduled to meet the ******s on the 28th of April.  However, our estimator spoke with Mr. ****** the week of 04-19-2015 and was told that he, Mr. ******, would tear off the old roof because "we might cheat him and not replace all the soft  spots in the deck" and that Mr. ****** would supply the roofing materials too.  Mr. ****** then told our estimator that he, Mr. ******, ran the last estimator off the property because his price was too high.  Mountain Roofing Inc. always supplies all of the materials and labor on all roofs we install including the labor for tear offs.  For safety and quality concerns, Mountain Roofing Inc. only provides a turn key start to finish roof system to make sure everything is done per our high standards of quality.  We told the ******s that we cannot do this work because we cannot warranty our work if we are using materials supplied by others.In separate conversations, our estimator told Mr. ****** and Mrs. ****** that due to Mr. ******'s scope of work, Mountain Roofing would not be interested in doing the project.  The conversation with Mr. ****** took place during the week of 04-19-2015, therefore, our estimator removed the April 28 meeting from his calendar.From what we understand, the ******s were requesting that we install an exposed fastener agricultural roof panel from or like a *****' roof panel.  Our estimate to do the complete roof job for $16,300 was based on the dimensions Mr. ****** gave us and was for a traditional double lock standing seam metal roof with no exposed fasteners.   This roof system has been installed on residential homes for over 100 years and is the only type of metal roofing our company will install on a residential project.Regretfully for Mountain Roofing Inc. and the ******s, it took a lot of conversations to fully understand what each party expected of the other.Fortunately through these conversations, we all concluded together that due to the scope of work, we would not work together on this project.Again, we at Mountain Roofing Inc. apologize to the ******s for any confusion or longer than expected response times that Mountain Roofing Inc. may have created.***** *******MRI MOUNTAIN ROOFING, INC

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I appreciate the apology made by MRI and accept it, but I did not accept it as a resolution for the following reasons:Some of the details in Ms. *******'s response were not accurate.  Yes, we had a previous contractor up for an estimate and we did not "run him off" as she stated.  I was not here at the residence at that time, and the contractor had left by the time I made it back home.  If he was run off or asked to leave, I cannot say.  More than likely, he was asked to leave.  We felt at that time that his estimate was a bit high, but his estimate was for a similar product that MRI offers.  Also, what we were quoted from ***** is not agricultural grade at all.  It also is a standing seam product similar to what MRI uses.  We specifically indicated when we requested the quote not to have agricultural type of material.  If you are going to do something, do it right.  Also, **** did NOT inform us that he did not do "agricultural grade" panels, that MRI gets the materials and everything, and that there was a policy of doing everything from tearing the roof off to installation.I think MRI  took my husband's statement out of context.  He did not mean that MRI would "cheat us" out of anything, we simply want to make sure that repairs are done correctly.  We are not backyard hacks that simply think we know what we are doing.  We have done shingle roofs in the past for family members and done similar repairs.  We have also heard horror stories, very locally no less, of contractors that did shoddy work.  Sometimes if you want something done right, you have to do it yourself.  You cannot blame a homeowner for making doubly sure things are right.   We have no doubt that the final installation of a metal roof by MRI would have been of top quality.  It would have been nice if **** had at least called and let us know that he had removed the appointment.  We were completely unaware of this.  Otherwise, we would not have made such an effort to make sure we were both here.  At the conclusion of the phone conversation between **** and my husband (I was present in the room when this took place), there was a mutually agreed upon time and date.  My husband rushed home to be on time to meet ****.  I also work from home and had planned to take enough time to be present while **** was here.  Also, the $16,300 estimate is way out of proportion, turn key or not.  The roof on our home could be done for approximately $5,000 to 6,000, give or take, even with labor.  A friend of mine has a much larger house, and had a local company cover her house, a garage, and a storage building for $6,000 less than MRI's estimate, with excellent result I may add, and the square footage of what she had to cover is far more than our home.  I feel the estimate from **** was made out of aggravation or frustration.Overall, this whole thing was either because of a lack of communication or just simply misunderstanding.  I honestly believe everything could have been worked out one way or another.   At this point, we are not sure if we will just install it ourselves or try another contractor.  This whole experience has left us pretty gun-shy. Regards, *** ******