BBB Accredited Business since

Miller Roofing & Guttering, Inc.

Phone: (540) 342-7348 View Additional Phone Numbers 2745 Shenandoah Avenue, NW, Roanoke, VA 24017 http://www.millerroofingco.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing, siding and window installation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Miller Roofing & Guttering, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Miller Roofing & Guttering, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Miller Roofing & Guttering, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 15, 1985 Business started: 01/15/1970 in VA Business incorporated 01/10/1986 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard C. Miller, President Ms. Tricia Meador, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tricia Meador, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Richard C. Miller, President
Business Category

ROOFING CONTRACTORS GUTTER CLEANING WINDOWS - INSTALLATION/SERVICE SIDING CONTRACTORS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS

Alternate Business Names
Vinton Continuous Guttering, Inc.
Additional Information

Miller Roofing & Guttering, Inc. is in NO way affiliated with Sonshine Construction or Scotty Miller.

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 2745 Shenandoah Avenue, NW

    Roanoke, VA 24017 (540) 342-7348 (540) 342-0452

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After the roof was found to be leaking, I had ******* look at the gutters and they said it was okay and that it was coming from the roof, the valley and caulking of the chimney.  I then called Miller Roofing and they came out for estimate and took photos of affected area.  I then told him I would leave a stack of matching shingles out for their use when they came back for repair.  Repair estimate was made on 9-11-13.  The estimate of $265 was made to remove old roofing on back of valley, driveway side.  Water was seen running off overhang, down the screen of porch and onto porch floor.  The personnel that I have talked with regarding this problem have been ****** ******, **** ***** (repair man) & ****** ******  They supposedly came out to fix this in Oct. while we were gone.  It looked as though no shingles had been used.  The invoice was sent (#*****) and paid 11/10/13, ck.#**** in the amount of $265.00.  As of today, Jan.10, 2014 , it is raining and water continues to come down the affected area.  We have tried many times to get the problem solved, so as the wood would not become damaged.  Many times they have said it would be taken care of and that **** ***** had a work order to correct the problem. But, needless to say, It is NOT DONE!!

Desired Settlement: I want **** ***** or some other competent person to repair my roof and solve this problem asap!  Due to the negligence of the company and the aggravation to us, I expect this to be at no future cost to us.

Business Response: **** ***** met w/Mr. ********** last week and has satisfied the complaint.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ***** **********

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 29th Richard Miller scheduled his roofers to show up and replace my roof. That day came and went. I called the company and was told he was on vacation and forgot to schedule a crew. When he got back from vacation, he told me a different story (he was running behind), and scheduled my roof for Aug 2. They did show up that day, but did not paint the unfinished plywood they nailed to my chimney after taking down the old materials. When I asked Mr. Miller if he was going to complete the job so it would look the same as he found it, he said "yes" and took a paint chip. That was on Aug 5. I have called several times since then and still the job is not complete. I paid in full on August 5.

Desired Settlement: I want my chimney painted according to that paint chip with appropriate weather-proof paint. Thank you.

Business Response: This complaint was satisfied 09/16/13.  Thanks  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Regards,**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Miller Roofing & Guttering, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart