BBB Accredited Business since

All Roof & Repairs

Phone: (434) 846-4903 P. O. Box 1081, Rustburg, VA 24588 http://www.gottrust.org/AllRoofRepairs


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All Roof & Repairs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for All Roof & Repairs include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All Roof & Repairs
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 1993 Business started: 01/15/1978 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Douglas F. Roakes, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas F. Roakes, Owner
Business Category

ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • P. O. Box 1081

    Rustburg, VA 24588 (434) 846-4903

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My contract says a new roof is to be put .Workers has taken shingles off one half of roof and put wrong shingles up. I contacted Mr. Douglas F. Roakes (Roofing Contrater) of the lack of wood replacement and the wrong shingles .He replied that they would only patch the holes and that he was giving me a better shingle. This is not what we agreed upon I replied to him. this conversation was on 3/24/14.He did not show up the next day as he said he would. My attic is littered with wood chips (3 to 9 inch )from the shingles that is being nailed into.I have taken pictures of wrong shingles (2 types) and attic,wood chips etc.

Desired Settlement: Roof replacement honoring the contract.

Business Response: We was ran away.  He said do not come back on his property.  All this has changed sence the last time I talked to him on phone.  I do not deceive no body.  I give what I promise and I respect the same. Unfortunately I have to write this letter concerning your home at **** ******* *****t, Lynchburg, VA.  Our contract states we are to remove the old roof, not the wood, and replace with a new black architect roof.  I showed you a chart about the shingle (IKO) brand.  This is a lesser brand than Owens Corning.  I bought the Owens Corning at no extra cost to you.  I was just being nice.  I should have said something earlier.  However they sat in your front yard the whole time we were there until you ran us away on March 24, 2014 at 2:33 pm.  I can and will replace the shingles with IKO shingles if we come to terms with the shingle part.  I am not responsible for the wood that is under the shingles.  If you wanted the wood replaced you should have said so before writing the contract.  If you need the wood replaced under shingles on all of house it would be an additional $3,200.00 plus the remaining balance still due of $3,125.00.  A change order on contract will be made or a release agreement can be made.  A response to this letter is due within (10) ten days from this date March 27, 2014. Doug Roakes

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.                                   Around the middle part of March,Mr. D.F.Roakes and i sat down and had a conversation concerning replacing the roof at my home on ******* St.At this time i asked Mr. Roakes to replace the entire roof due to being old with many holes in it.I had two holes shingled over in 2011 by Mr. Roakes.He acknowledge that he remembered.   When work started on my home on 3/24/14,i was not made aware of the change in type of roofing shingles.The old rotting wood was not being replaced with new boards.The workers had also replaced the shingles on my addition build in 2009.which due to that is no longer warranted by builder.I called Mr. Roakes at approx. 2:30 P.M.I asked him why his workers was putting up the wrong shingles and not replacing old wood.He replied that the shingles was better and that he was being nice to me .At this point i became very up-set with Mr. Roakes. I told him if he wasn,t going to do the job get off my roof,because i feft that i was being deceived and that the contract has been breached.I feft that as a pro.carpenter Mr. Roakes should have known that this home was beyong just replacing the shingles.   At the time of the proposal i was confident that Mr. Roakes understood what i had requested of his service.After speaking with Mr.Roakes,he promised me that he would sat down with me on 3/25/14.I have yet to see Mr.Roakes. I checked my attic after the workers departed and found wood chips all over the portion that they had finished.Later ph.conversation with him,he telle me that was normal.Again,i feel the fool for signing a contract with this man!Also he's blaming me for the wrong shingles.I want all my money back from him as soom as possible.I in need of a new roof over my head .I layed in bed the other night as pouring rain entered my attic.What he wants me to do is rewrite contract with,i do not trust this man .********* ******* 4/17/14


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on All Roof & Repairs
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)