BBB Accredited Business since

Wisler Plumbing, Inc.

Phone: (540) 483-9382 View Additional Phone Numbers 405 Industry Blvd., Rocky Mount, VA 24151

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


THis company offers plumbing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wisler Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wisler Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

14 Customer Reviews on Wisler Plumbing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 14
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 14

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 15, 1995 Business started: 01/15/1986 in VA Business incorporated 08/14/2000 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Brian Wisler, Secretary/Treasurer Mr. James Wisler, General Manager Mr. Daniel Wisler, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Brian Wisler, Secretary/Treasurer
Principal: Mr. James Wisler, General Manager
Business Category


Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor Water Quality

Additional Locations

  • 405 Industry Blvd.

    Rocky Mount, VA 24151 (888) 483-7338 (540) 483-9382


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I scheduled with Wisler to come out today. They indicated a $69 charge to assess the problem. I told them I knew what the problem was, (either replace the internal guts of a sometimes functional toilet or replace the toilet) they then indicated the charge would be to come out and assess. After looking at the toilet, they provided 3 options....all toilet replacements. Starting at well over $500 with the least being over $450!! (I replaced a toilet in another residence a year ago for less than $200 installed.) This "assessment" (quote) could've been done over the phone and I would have declined then due to outrageous cost. Instead they billed $69, and I missed an hour and a half of work for absolutely nothing! I then asked what their labor charges were and the 'plumber' said he didn't know.

Desired Settlement: They refund the $69 and change their biz practices!

Business Response: We went out on the 29th and when I was reviewing the paperwork on the 30th I seen the notes that the tech made and the negative comment on the check. I immediately called the client and left a message with him stating that I would put his check back in the mail and apologized for the lack of satisfaction. The client called me back later on the 30th and shared with me his concern on the failure to give pricing over the phone and the total cost of the project. I shared with him that we have found it to be a problem even when the client has "diagnosed" the issue to give prices over the phone due to the potential that it could change when we arrive. This leads to the concept that we give a low ballpark price over the phone and the raise the price on variables once we arrive. Therefore we prefer to be upfront with our pricing to come out and give the actual exact price once we arrive and look at the issue. Also the toilet that we provide is a high quality product that allows up to stand behind it and the installation is done in a manner that allows us to cover any issues with the toilet and installation at no cost to the client in a period of 3 or 5 years depending on the toilet chose. Things like disposal of the old toilet, inspection of the flange to insure no leaks in the future, insuring the toilet is set properly so the seal will not be compromised, burst proof supply line, and the 3 or 5 year guarantee on parts and labor are some of the value points that go into us figuring the cost of our toilets.As I respect that these things may not be valuable to all they are to many of our clients. We have honored many warranty issues when they come up over the years and the clients have been pleased that they spent a little more for no hassle claims, quality, and work done right to support longevity.I received notice of this complaint on the 1st after all of this had transpired. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ******* ********

6/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This project was a disaster from the onset. We were promised a job where the floors, vents, and areas out of bounds to construction were to be closed off. This was not the case. The HVAC vents were left open and debris fell into the vents. Dust persists throughout the house today. The weekend before construction was to begin, no one had contacted us to prepare for demolition. We called on the Saturday before demolition was to begin, and the manager of the operation rushed over that afternoon to tell us to pack everything up before Monday morning. We could not finish the packing before the crew arrived. They "helped" by putting everything in boxes that the manager brought. Subcontractors were sent in to do projects, but the preliminary work had not been done. They left to come back at a later day. Completion of the job took longer that promised. We constantly had to call them to come back and do finishing work. We saw the manager at a home show, and requested him to come to our house to look at details of tile and caulking separating. He promised to call and set up an appointment. He never called! We saw him again at another home show, and reminded about his appointment. Again, he made an appointment. He came out, and said the problems could be fixed. He said he would call within two days. It has been five days and NO response. This company would only get NEGATIVE reviews from us. It seems, once they received their check, we were not important!

Desired Settlement: We want the representative to come to our house and correct the problems!

Business Response: I would like to respond to the items in the complaint. The items that the consumer is stating just simply are not factual. We committed to provide a plastic dust barrier to the area that was worked in and this was done per the commitment. There was a selection process completed by the client 2-3 weeks prior to the start date and the start date was given to the client on the finial selection date. The week prior to the start date the client called and said they were not settled on selections. We went back out that week and seen that the items were not moved and we confirmed the selection concerns and ask if the stuff was going to be moved by Monday. The client said yes it would be. When we arrived on Monday nothing was done. At that point went and bought boxes and our staffed help the client move the stuff in the way. The project timeline was on target until the client had concerns and changes and when we received word of this we went right away to address them. We answered their requests by redoing work and made changes to meet their expectations. Naturally the project got behind due to work being redone for free per the clients request. We were contacted at the ***** show and we set an appointment to go out and look at concerns. When we were there we shared with them that it would take a few days to get the grout color in stock and we would schedule a time to come back out. The grout joins the kitchen counter and tile backsplash has slightly separated from the counter due to contraction (very common when things expand and contract) This is to be done at no extra cost to the client. We have since tried to set this return visit two times and the times will not work for the client. The client says that they substitute and will not know until the day of that we can come and won't allow us to come after school. They say if necessary we can come in June after school is out.   

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.   Mr. Wisler told us before Memorial Day (May 26, 2014) that he was going out of town,  When we did not hear back from him, we called him on Saturday, June 14, 2014. to make sure we were still scheduled to begin on Mon. June 16, 2014.    He came by that afternoon and told us that he had been out of town and had been sick, and then told us what we needed to do by Monday.  We explained that we would not physically be able to move the appliances and furniture, and he said his workers would do that.  We immediately began packing the contents of the cabinets.  We worked continually the rest of the day on Saturday and Sunday, into the early hours of Monday morning, at which time, we ran out of boxes.  When the workers arrived on Monday, we explained that we ran out of boxes and Mr. Wisler brought plastic tubs and his men helped finish the packing.     We were told that a plastic dust barrier would be put up prior to the work being started.  We were also told that a plastic runner would be put down to protect our carport and to prevent dirt from being tracked into the kitchen area.  Neither was done prior to the start of the job.  The kitchen and bath demolitions were done without any dust barrier in place.  A few days later, we asked why these two things were not done and were told that they should have been.  It was at that time that these two things were done  As the workers began to demo the kitchen,  some men tried to deliver the dumpster for the materials to be discarded.  They brought one that was too large.  When they tried to get a smaller one, they were told that they did not have any more small ones.  They brought a dump truck instead.  This was not a problem, as we did not have a large amount of material to throw away (we chose to donate the old appliances and cabinets).  We were, however, disappointed, at the lack of planning or breakdown in communication concerning the dumpster.  After the plastering was done, we were not pleased with the work and asked that they come back to do a better job.  We also had concerns with the painting and asked that they come back to do a better job.    The flooring was not done according to the original plan ( placement of tile and carpet), so we had to get the flooring men to come back and put tile in the area where they had extended the carpet too far (the hall closet door would not close because of the carpet and we had wanted tile there.)   Because there was not enough tile to do the configuration we had wanted, more tile had to be ordered and we had to wait for the tile to come in.     We had a lengthy list of concerns that needed to be addressed and though it may have caused the job to take more time than anticipated, we felt justified in making these concerns known.  We also felt that these matters should be fixed since we were expecting quality work for the money we were paying.   We did not view this work as being done "for free", as we were paying for the work to be done to our satisfaction.   As an example, his subcontractors had to come back on more than on occasion, to do work that was to have been finished after his employees had done the preliminary work.  The preliminary work had not been completed!  The delays were because of their hold up., not ours.   A red flag should have been sent up , when  we did not sign a contract prior to the start of the job.  When we began having lots of concerns, we inquired about a contract, in case we need to cover ourselves.  Mr. Wisler came by and offered a contract, but told us that he typically does not have a contract signed by his clients (just have never needed to have one).   We did not sign the contract because we did not want to create any animosity.   Also, there was not a building permit for the work that was done.   With the amount of demolition, electrical, and plumbing work to be done, we questioned why there was not a building permit.  He said that he typically does not need building permits.  No inspector ever inspected any of the work.  We spoke to Mr. Wister at the Fall Home Show at the Roanoke Civic Center (Fall of 2014), and told him we had a few concerns and would like for him to come by.  He wrote down our name and number, but he never contacted us.    When we attended the Spring Home Show(2015)  at the Salem Civic Center, we again approached Mr. Wisler and told him we still needed to see him about our concerns.  He set up an appointment (on his tablet) and came to see us on Thur. April 9, 2015.  We showed him the areas of concern and he said he would get back to us on Friday or Saturday, April 10 or 11, either by phone or text message.  We did not hear back from him until Tuesday, April 14.  He asked if his worker could come by on Tuesday afternoon at 4:30 or so.  That time did not suit (my wife would not be able to be there) and then he asked about Wednesday afternoon.  When we asked about how long it would take, we did not get a response.   According to his note, we were not willing to let them come by at that time.  This is not the case at all.  We simply would like to be present when the work is being done, to ensure that all concerns are addressed and that the work is done to our satisfaction.  ( My wife works with the school system and I do volunteer work after school, so we had suggested that we wait until school is out, so that we can both be here to oversee the work.)   The work is tentatively scheduled to be done on Saturday, May 2, 2015. No time has been discussed, or agreed to.   We chose Wisler's company to do our projects because we had gotten a recommendation from some friends, and we were impressed with the time and effort he put into taking us around to select flooring, cabinetry, and countertops.  Unfortunately, the process and workmanship were very disappointing and the job was very costly for the quality of work that was done.  ******* *****

Business Response: Response to BBB complaint ID ******** concerning Mr. and Mrs. *****.I will respond with both what our records show and what I am able to remember.  With this project I met with Mrs. ***** mainly for this project although Mr. ***** was around.  I initially gave them the proposal on the 30th of April and set a date for what we call a design and selection process.  I personally was with the *****s as we went to each showroom and selected fixtures, floor covering, tile, counter tops and cabinets.  At the end of this day I gave them a project start date of Monday June 16th.  I assured them that would be when we would start.  At the time in 2014 when we did this project we normally did not call until a couple of days ahead of time and touch base with arrival times for the morning of the project.  I received a call the week of June with concerns from Mrs. ***** about her selections and she stated she was wanting to view them all again to make sure that she was comfortable with all colors and finishes.  I picked up all tile, floor covering and counter top selections and set a time of Friday June 13th to take them back to her even though everything had been ordered at that point.  After viewing all selections she stated she would like to see one of her kitchen cabinet doors with her other selections so I set up a time to bring them back on Saturday June 14th after picking up a door from the cabinet maker.  At this visit I also went over the scope of work and contract again and tried to be very detailed with everything.  On both the Friday and Saturday meeting times I looked at the kitchen space, which was stacked high with many items covering counter top surfaces and packed in cabinets, and inquired if things would be cleaned out before Monday June 16th. I even offered to get them some totes and they said it would not be necessary.  I did state the large things that were furniture items my techs would and could help them move.  I will state that while I met with Mrs. ***** on Saturday June 14th she stated that everything looked good to her, that being said she did express an interest in still doing anything we could to bring cost down from what we proposed.  This is not an exceptionally unusual conversation and I assured her we would throughout the project work to do so in areas of drywall repair and painting.When my techs arrived on site on Monday June 16th it did not appear that any dent had been made in removing items from the kitchen area.  The kitchen and dining area total dimensions is 18.25’ x 13’. Normally two people working two days and a night as claimed could clean out a space of this size.  Even if items were stacked to the ceiling and that was not the case.  After receiving the call from the remodeling techs on site stating things were not removed from the space I emptied totes and boxes at our office and drove to the site to help.  I took along about 6-8 totes and quickly realized it would not be enough.  Leaving the site I went to ***** and purchased another 15+ totes of the largest size they had and went back to help remove items.  Our contract states plainly that if this specific occurrence happens we will bill time and cost to help remove items.  I decided to try and help out and be understanding and never brought up charging for this and never invoiced any time due to our lost time.  There was a total of three techs and myself on site involved in getting the kitchen cleaned out.  In total we removed 20+ large totes small items and other larger items that would not go in totes from this small kitchen.We had requested a small dumpster from the company we use to supply debris removal from.  Unfortunately they brought a large one because they did not have a small dumpster available that day.  The project manager quickly realized what we already knew and had them remove the dumpster.  The owner of the container company apologized and brought one of his personal pickup trucks to the site for us to load debris on.  There was never a dump truck on site.  I left after getting things to a manageable state on the project.  My project manager and the few subs we do use operate very clean projects for the type of work we do.  There was a dust barrier taped off between the kitchen/dining area and the living room on the first day.  Our scope of work states that we will cover all floors inside the home, since we were removing all the floor coverings in the kitchen, hall and bath areas we worked in we did not cover them.  The carport is a stamped concrete surface with dirt and grime from many pets on it and the driveway is asphalt.  After our demo and phase our drywall guys started on the drywall repair.  After the first visit from the drywall crew I received a text from Mr. ***** about the quality of the work and the cleanliness of the site.  I dropped my scheduled appointments in a neighboring county and drove directly there to meet with both Mr. and Mrs. *****.  Once arriving and listening to Mr. ***** for over 10 minutes he left and I was able to talk to Mrs. ***** about his concerns.  There were at most 20 dime size or smaller spots of drywall compound on the carport and asphalt driveway outside and a 2” x ¼” splash of compound on the interior of the kitchen window glass.  The drywall crew normally sweeps after each day and cleans up completely after two or three days of work depending on the size of project.  I assured Mrs. ***** that all of the spots would come off with a sponge and water and at that time left to buy a sponge and bucket and came immediately back and cleaned things up.  Another issue that Mr. ***** was concerned about was areas on the dining and hall way walls that were already there from previous picture hanging and wear over the years.  We would not normally address areas that we were not working in even if they are beside where we were working especially in light of the conversation I had with Mrs. ***** about reducing cost.  Along with these areas he pointed out areas that were not smooth although we were just at the first coat stage of compound application.  He also had concerns about the smoothness of wall areas behind where the new cabinets would be installed.  I had discussed with Mrs. ***** that one way to reduce drywall cost was to first and second coat the compound in those areas but not final coat areas to be covered by cabinets and tile splash and she stated she was fine with this approach due to cost savings.  A half inch gap around the window jambs of existing board was also pointed out but when we don’t replace board we normally do not fill existing gaps that will be covered with casing.  Another issue was the fact the drywall crew had mixed compound in their grass and that left some residue behind on the grass and on the hose nozzle.  This is unfortunate but short of mixing on the carport or driveway there was not another convenient area to mix compound in.  I did with water and a sponge, clean the hose nozzle and spray the compound out of the grass with the hose.  After meeting with the *****s I discussed the with leader of the drywall crew all of their concerns and we addressed all issues brought up at our expense even though we were not contractually obligated to do so in the hall way and dining areas once again in light of the conversation of reducing cost.Throughout the project we continued to give in areas like the painting.  The existing door hinges and hardware had paint on them from previous paintings and we were blamed for painting them.  Once again we simply tried to take the high road and did not argue at this point as it was still our objective to try and satisfy Mr. and Mrs. *****.  In any project where older and much worn board and trim is worked with it is difficult to achieve perfect new condition. We did strive to do so.When it was time to install floor covering the installer had a conversation with one of the *****s (which one is one thing that I am not sure about because I was not directly involved and it has been some time since it was all relayed to me) about how they would like the carpet in the hall area to end and the LVT tile in the kitchen area to begin.  Based on what one of the *****s expressed he installed the floor covering.  Over the next few days there were conversations that they did not really agree on what was best resulting in meeting with both of them to decide what would make them happy.  After discussion it was decided that they were not satisfied with where one floor covering ended and another started.  Once again I agreed to change it for them at no cost in an effort satisfy their wants.  We did have to order more tile and reschedule the installer.  This took time and also created installing new trim and additional painting once it was all done again.  Again I met with them on a list of concerns that mostly have been covered in the previous paragraphs and agreed to do everything that was ask.  This did take time to schedule the proper people to address and due to a continually busy schedule on all of our techs and subs it did take time to resolve some of the issues.  At this meeting after hearing their comments about not having signed a contract through a couple subcontractors and our project manager I brought this subject up.  Currently at this time in 2014 we did business mostly on a handshake.  With our extensive design and selection phase and multiple meetings purpose of intent is clearly defined.  I did offer to sign a contract with them after explaining this and the offer was declined.  I would have more than gladly done so with no animosity and more than once tried to express this.  This was a discussion I had with Mrs. ***** and not Mr. ***** because at this point he normally seemed to avoid our discussions.  I shared with the *****s during the second or third meeting with them we were taking out existing fixtures and finishes and replacing them with like kind fixtures and finishes in the same basic floor plan areas except for moving the location of the electric range and the fridge.  After explaining what the code expresses about this and sharing our practices at this time they agreed a building permit was not needed.  This did come back up again from Mr. ***** at the end of the project but the facts remained the same as this work was finishes related without our changing structure and very minimal infrastructure. I do not remember talking with Mr. and Mrs. ***** at the Fall 2014 Home Show… I regret that this is a misunderstanding.  I did speak to them at the Spring Home Show in Salem and scheduled a time to meet with them again while at the Home Show.  I did meet with Mrs. ***** on Thursday April 9th, 2015.  Mr. ***** left to take a pet to the vet when I arrived.  The issues that were discussed for the most part are very common especially in a home where humidity is not precisely controlled.  The list consisted of cracking of grout between the counter top and backsplash above the counter top in the kitchen, cracking of grout where the tile tub surround meets the ceiling in the bathroom and cracking of the grout in the LVT tile floor in a few small areas within the bathroom floor.  Typically ceramic tile grout does not crack on a floor but occasionally LVT tile grout does as it is installed over wood underlayment and not tile backer material.  All of these items I stated we would be happy to address for them.  I did state that it would take some time to order the grouts in an acrylic version so this would not happen again.  A couple of items were brought up that I did not commit to do.  One concern that was stated was that Mrs. ***** thought her ceramic tile backsplash that she had chosen during selections was to plain and did not look as decorative as she had hoped.  During selections and design processes we had had this discussion based on reducing the cost of the project, I had initially proposed a mosaic stone or glass.  We specifically discussed installing ceramic as a way to reduce cost and after looking at several samples she chose one that looks great with her counter tops and cabinets.  She asked if accent dots or an accent stripe could be installed at this time to add to the appeal of the splash area.  I told her that it could and explained what I would recommend.  I also stated that I would check on pricing for her and let her know.  The last item that was brought up was one of her cabinet doors.  The cabinets in the kitchen area are a light stained hickory.  We had a very specific discussion about the characteristics of this species of wood during selection process and they looked at two different sets of cabinets in the showroom that were made out of this species of wood.  We explained that hickory has a natural tendency to have varied wood grain.  They did express that they wanted as little of this as possible.  In light of this request we ordered a very premium grade of hickory for the doors and drawer fronts but also explained we could not guarantee absolutely no variation.  One door in the entire kitchen has variation on the bottom stile of the door.  She stated that is all she sees when entering the kitchen.  I did not fully commit to replacing the door at this time.  After talking to our cabinet maker/provider and discussing this I was informed that it is something that could be resolved but would take ordering multiple doors and finishing them to ensure we were able to provide another one with no variation.  After receiving notice of Mr. *****s complaint through the BBB I text Mrs. ***** and ask her to call me at her convenience on Tuesday April 14th.  Once she called later that day she stated that she was aware of Mr. ***** making a complaint but had not read or verified what was in the complaint.  I am not sure how to address the complaints about time and communication as all of my communication has been with Mrs. ***** and not Mr. *****.  Some of the conversations and replies are not accurate.  I did respond by phone to Mrs. ***** about how long we expected addressing the grouting concerns would take even though we had been texting prior to the phone call.  At this time we have relayed times and expectations to address the grouting issues with Mrs. ***** by text.  Partly because this seems the best way to communicate and partly so we would have record of all communications.At this time I would do what they ask even to the point of the cabinet doors and adding accents into their backsplash at our cost, that being said it seems that regardless of how hard we try we cannot satisfy the expectations of this client.  Under these circumstances it does not seem wise to continue to give without results or an end to the concerns.  I have expressed this in the kindest way possible to Mrs. *****. We currently complete between 60-80 projects a year for many types and personalities of clients.  We strive to maintain professional standards and exceed expectations.  To say that this is accomplished 100% of the time without mistakes is not realistic but when we do mess up we urgently strive to resolve issues.  Please feel free to call or email to discuss further if there are any questions and thanks.Brian Wisler************************************

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ******* *****