BBB Accredited Business since

Rutrough Plumbing & Electrical, LLC

Phone: (540) 334-5513 6360 Grassy Hill Road, Boones Mill, VA 24065 http://www.rutrough.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing and electrical services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rutrough Plumbing & Electrical, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rutrough Plumbing & Electrical, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rutrough Plumbing & Electrical, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1978 in VA Business incorporated 01/01/2004 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

DPOR
9960 Mayland Drive, Ste. 400, Richmond VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/LicenseLookup/
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gary W. Rutrough, President Ms. Helen Rutrough, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary W. Rutrough, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Helen Rutrough, Business Manager
Business Category

PLUMBERS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING PUMPS-SERVICE & REPAIR ELECTRICIANS

Alternate Business Names
Gary W Rutrough Plumbing & Electrical
Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 6360 Grassy Hill Road

    Boones Mill, VA 24065 (540) 334-5513

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this business regarding a plumbing issue and to get an estimate on a repair. The owner of the company's son ***** came out to check the issue on 6/15/2015 and to provide an estimate of what the cost of the repair would be. The service tech spent approximately 35-45 minutes at my house, of which 20 minutes of that time was spent on the phone with the owner explaining the issue. The service tech was told after getting off the phone with the owner that we were going to get additional estimations on the cost of the issue before deciding to hire his company. I asked the service tech if anything was owed for his service call. I was told that there was no fee. A few days later I receive an invoice dated 6/18/2015 with an invoice amount of $315.00. I was appalled that I was being charged $315.00 for 1 hours' worth of labor. I immediately contacted the company to try and resolve the issue and to get an explanation on why I was being charged when I was told there was no fee, let alone a huge amount of $315.00. The owner of the company, Gary Rutrough explained that he was charging this amount because he felt he wasn't contacted back regarding his services in a timely fashion. I explained to Mr. Rutrough that his service tech was told that additional estimates were scheduled and if I requested his services, I would give him a call. At no point did I agree to hire his company and even tried to settle at the time of the scheduled visit. Mr. Rutrough became very rude and abrasive regarding my inquiry. He did however agree to reduce the price to $225.00. I stated that I felt this amount was still too much for the total time spent at my house and agreed to pay his service call of $75.00 as no actual work was done. He did not agree with my request and stated that $225.00 was his lowest amount. I'm unhappy with the fact that he is charging me such a large amount when no actual work was done. I feel that Mr. Rutrough is taking advantage of me for being a female and not knowing the ends and outs of the plumbing business.

Desired Settlement: I will agree to pay the 1 time service fee of $75.00 and will be willing to drop this claim if he will accept.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I agree to pay the $75.00 service fee. Regards, ****** *******

Business Response: I am sorry it has taken so long to respond but I was on vacation last week and just read the complaint late yesterday.  I was called by this customer on Friday afternoon 6/12/15 stating she had no water and that she had an electrician check it out and was told the wire was either bad or broken where it went through the cement casing.  She indicated the well was deep in the ground and she wanted us to come repair the problem.  I told her it would be the first of the week before we could get out to check it out and make the repairs.  I called her on Monday morning, 6/15/15, and she indicated she still wanted us to come out.  I asked her about her well and she thought it might be 150-180' deep but did not know where her pressure tank was located.  We loaded up our pump puller, various size pumps, wires, and materials to pull the pump out of the well if we needed to.  Our two service tech's arrived at her home at 8:50 am and introduced themselves to her.  She explained that someone else had checked the system but didn't know what was going on and for us to check it out.  Our service tech's found that the pressure tank was a basketball size tank located inside the well tile which is around the well.  The pressure switch was about 5' deep inside the well tile which was only 24" in diameter. This made it too small to work in while standing in the well tile and too deep to reach from the top.  While barely being able to reach the pressure switch he tested the wire coming to the well from the breaker box and found they had power at the switch.  They then checked out the pump by putting an amp gauge on it and found the pump was drawing high amps and locking up making it unable to start.  That determined the pump was defective and needed to be pulled out of the well.  This was an abnormal situation because of the way the pump had originally been installed.  We would need to bring our excavator to dig up the well tile to get to the well to be able to pull the pump.  After diagnosing the problem, the service tech explained what was wrong and what we would likely have to do to make repairs.  She then told him she would like to have an estimate of what it would cost.  This was the first time she had mentioned an estimate.  The tech then called me to explain the situation and to determine how we would go about making the repairs.  He then explained our decision in more detail to her.  He told her he would go back to the shop and we would figure an estimate and call her back.  She indicated she needed to call her brother because he was helping her pay for the repairs and wanted to know how soon we could make the repairs.  Our tech told her that afternoon if she gave us approval.  She asked what the charges were for what they had already done.  The tech told her that we would wait until the work was completed and add it in with that.  She agreed and they left the job site at 10:00 am, 1 hour and 10 minutes after arrival.  We figured up the estimate and I called her around 11:00 am explaining the situation and what the approximate cost would be.  She indicated again that she had talked to her brother and he was going to help her pay the bill and he was to talk to her at lunchtime and she would then call us back.  I asked her if she could get in touch with him now so we could have time to get the job done that day.  She said she would try and would call me back as soon as she could.  We proceeded to get our materials and equipment loaded preparing to return to make the repairs.  Not once did she indicate they would be getting any other estimates.  We did not hear from her so we tried calling her 2-3 times but never got an answer.  We unloaded at 12:30 and left to go to another job.  Approximately 3 pm her brother called and said they were going to get a couple estimates but we were the best so far.  We asked him to please let us know either way so we knew how to plan.  We never heard from either one of them again concerning the well.  After several days I sent her an invoice for 3 hours(9-12) and a $75.00 service call.  On 6/23/15 she called and left a heated message on my answering machine.  I returned her call when I came in.  She proceeded to tell me how appalled she was that I would send her a bill.  I tried to explain my side and she wouldn't listen.  I didn't think I was rude and abrasive but I was defensive of my explanation.  I told her to settle with $225.00 and she thought that was still ridiculous.  On 6/30/15 a different brother called to discuss the job and he was very kind and understanding.  He asked me to settle for 1 hour and I declined.  He said he would pass it on to her.  I apologize for this misunderstanding and will agree with her terms of settlement to drop the case.  As of August 18, 2015 the consumer has not made any payment to us.