BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Western Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Copperhead Plumbing & Heating

Phone: (540) 819-5464 4716 Edgelawn Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24017 http://www.gottrust.org/copperhead_plumbing__heating

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers residential and commercial plumbing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Copperhead Plumbing & Heating meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Copperhead Plumbing & Heating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Copperhead Plumbing & Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 21, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2009 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Rafael Vazquez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rafael Vazquez, Owner
Business Category

PLUMBERS PIPE & VALVE FITTERS - GAS WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING SEWER CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING

Alternate Business Names
Copperhead Plumbing, LLC
Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 4716 Edgelawn Avenue

    Roanoke, VA 24017 (540) 819-5464

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted this business to install a gas line to my new gas stove. We already had a natural gas line run to the house. The owner of the business "*****" agreed to come back on a Saturday and hook up the stove once it was delivered and check for leaks. He did show up 3 hours late from when he said he was coming. Once all was hooked up I assumed the job was complete. I discovered about a week later that the copper ground that should have been connected back to the main panel was coiled up on the ground outside the house and so the job was never complete not to mention this is a fire hazard and not to code. I have made two additional phone calls asking him to come back to the house to correct this problem and I have never heard back from him. Very poor service and very poor workmanship.

Desired Settlement: A formal complaint on file against his business showing on his BBB profile. He has shown no responsibility for incomplete work nor care for my families health as this is a serious issue.

Business Response: We were contracted to install gas line to Mr ******s stove on 12/12/13.  Mr ****** failed to mention that according to our agreement the stove was to be on site so the job could be completed in one service visit.  When we arrived it was not there.  We started running the gas line anyway since Mr ****** assured me it would be delivered that Saturday 12/14/13.  When we went to obtain a permit for the work we were doing we were informed by the city of Roanoke Building Department that we could not pull a permit for that property due to there being multiple expired permits.  I was advised not to start work on that property.  I told them that work was already started I was advised to talk to the homeowner (Mr ******) and have him come down to straighten the permit situation out.  Which is exactly what we did.  To my surprise Mr ****** knew all about the expired permits. We informed Mr ****** that since our company had a good reputation with the city building department that we would finish installing the gas line and I would personally come back to hook up his stove provided he would contact the city to straighten out the permit situation which in turn we could pull the permit for the gas line and get it inspected.  He assured me he would. Saturday morning 12/14/13 I received a call from Mr ****** stating the stove would not be in that day and that he will call me when it was delivered.  This occurred on 12/21/13.  Mr ****** called me and I informed him I had a few things to take care of but would be there that day which I did.  After the stove was connected and working Mr ****** was advised that he needed a licensed electrician to ground the gas line since his house was piped with non-metallic piping and was reminded to handle the permit problem as soon as possible.  I did not hear from him again until 1/31/14 when I received a voicemail stating that he would like us to install a gas line and logs in his fireplace.  I then checked with the city of Roanoke to see if his permit issues were resolved and was informed that they were not, as a matter of fact the property did not even have a certificate of occupancy-meaning Mr ****** was not even supposed to be living on the premises.  I was given a copy of a letter sent by the city to Mr ****** informing him of the expiration of his permits.  When I reiterated this fact and that we could not do anymore work until he straightened things with the city out Mr ****** became noticeably upset and rude. That was the last I heard from him. I then received an e mail from the BBB website stating this complaint. As of 2/24/14 he still has not taken care of the outstanding permit situation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. The information this business has responded with is false and very misleading. He was well aware that the stove was not on the premises before ever coming to install the job. I was absolutely not aware that there were open permits on my property as these were left open from the previous owner of the property due to remodeling of the home. I have received no such letter from the City stating that I have open permits or that I need to come down and resolve them. He told me that once he heard back from the City he would contact me in regards to the permit issue and I never heard from him again.  I will however be contacting them on this issue. He never told me that I needed to have an electrician come out and ground the line as he has stated. I left him two voice mail messages two weeks prior to this original complaint letting him know that he had not finished grounding the line and asking him to come install the line to the fireplace. Two days after this complaint was filed he called and left me a voice mail message apologizing for not calling me back and they he would try to fix what he had left undone. At that point I had already had another contractor correct the problem as it was unsafe. I still have the voice mail message.   In regards to the business agreeing to come back out on Saturday when my Stove was delivered, he did, just three hours later than he said he was coming and when he got there he was visibly not happy about having to be there. He was also aware that I wanted the gas line run for the fireplace as he installed a T-joint in the original installation so he could come back and finish the other line. The bottom line is he just didn't want to come back again because he knew I was unhappy with what he had done the first time. Just a poor way to conduct business, incomplete job and a rude business owner.   As far as I'm concerned, it just needs to be noted as to how he conducts business. Public beware. Regards, **** ******

Business Response: The Roanoke Planning, Building and Development Office states the home owner needs to write, not call, them and request that the permit issued previously be closed. Then, a new permit can be issued and the company could do the work. The home owner needs to request the permit be closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. [Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.] Regards, **** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1