BBB Accredited Business since

Classic Plumbing Solutions

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 375-7378 923 Florida Street, Salem, VA 24153 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.classicplumbingsolutions.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial plumbing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Classic Plumbing Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Classic Plumbing Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Plumbing Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1980 in VA Business incorporated 11/20/1998 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Salem Business License

Phone Number: (540) 375-3019

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Renee Abshire, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Renee Abshire, President
Business Category

PLUMBERS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING PLUMBING - CONTRACTOR WATER FILTRATION & PURIFICATION EQUIPMENT KITCHEN & BATH-DESIGN & REMODELING

Products & Services

Classic Plumbing Solutions sells the following brand(s): A O Smith Water Heaters, All Brands Including:, Gerber Toilets, Nature's Miracle Water Filtration, Wolverine Brass Faucets

Classic Plumbing Solutions offers the following product(s): All Products Including:, AO Smith Water Heaters, BioSmart Drain Maintainer, Gerber Toilets, Nature's Miracle Water Filtration, Wolverine Brass Faucets

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Cash, Check
Alternate Business Names
Special Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 3735 Franklin Road, SW

    Roanoke, VA 24014 (540) 375-7378

  • 923 Florida Street

    Salem, VA 24153

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: call a plumber to unclog a pipe in my kitchen sink they charged $432 for the job when they came in they snaked the drain gave me a solution to put in drain and left the drain is still clogged after trying to get in touch with them ive have yet to get a call back and my drain is still clogged they haverecieve the monies in full for half work

Desired Settlement: finish the job or refund

Business Response: Please allow me to first give you some background on our Company’s procedures.When a customer calls our office to schedule work in their home, they are quoted a service charge to have the plumber come out.  They are also told that the plumber will review the job with them and give them a Straight Forward© price before the work begins along with any options that may be available.  Once they authorize the work, it is explained that the plumber will either stay and complete it or get them on the schedule to return.  All customers are told by our call taker that our work is COD and given options for payment.  If they are in agreement with this procedure, their call is booked.When the plumber arrives and has diagnosed the problem(s), he prices the job based upon our Straight Forward Pricing Guide© which is a turn-key, flat rate type of pricing schedule.  It is not the traditional time + material way of pricing.  Our customers have found that they love to know the cost of the work up front and it allows them to know that whether the job takes 15 min or 3 hrs, the price will not change.  Most of all, they appreciate having the power to authorize how their money was spent!Upon arrival, Mr. ******* indicated that a small amount of grease had recently been put down the drain by a family member and the drain was now clogged. After gaining authorization from Mr. ******* for $373 to rod the drain, in addition to the service fee he had already approved over the phone of $59, our team went to work.  After encountering and pulling back the cables with excessive amounts of grease, and the line still being clogged, the team questioned the “small amount of grease” and the “recently put down the drain” details they had been told.  Mr. ******* agreed that his original statement was incorrect.  The team ran the cables a second time with the same results, excessive grease caking up the cables and making no headway.  At this time the team recommended two options to Mr. *******.  Option One:  we could replace this drain line which would eliminate the current grease problem in this line.  Option Two:  use our liquid product “BioSmart” in the drain line every night (when there is no water use for a minimum of 6-8 hours) for at least a week or more.  As explained, this product does not immediately dissolve the clog but over time, if used properly, can open the drain.  Mr. ******* was not prepared to proceed with repiping the drain so we left him a 64 oz bottle of BioSmart at no charge (a $59 value).Before a week had gone by, only three days, we received a call from Mr. ******* that we needed to send the team back out because the “stuff” we told him to put down the drain was not working and he had “paid a lot of money”.  Our calls to Mr. ******* have gone to voicemail and he has not called back since October 13th.We need to check on the progress of the BioSmart, if it has been used properly and consistently, and if Mr. ******* wants to continue to work with the liquid product or have us price and repipe the drain line.  We are on standby for an update.  Mr. ******* has been our customer for a couple years and we would like to continue to help him with this and other plumbing issues if given the opportunity.Sincerely,Renee’ AbshirePresident      

6/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They gave no hint of charges to de-install old dishwasher; install flexline; and install new dishwasher until they were in my kitchen. Had I known their charges I would have hired a different plumber or a different installer. The 5 other installers were all charging $115 to $150. Those estimates did not include installing flexline.

Desired Settlement: I do not know labor charges or cost of parts used as the bill I received was not itemized that way. I would like an itemized bill. If they charge $100/hr, then $300 would seem an appropriate charge, therefore I would like to be refunded $170. An estimated fee schedule would help customers decide whether or not to use this company. Without one - charges seem totally arbitrary.

Business Response: Please allow me to first give you some background on our Company’s procedures.When a customer calls our office to schedule work in their home, they are quoted a service charge to have the plumber come out.  They are also told that the plumber will review the job with them and give them a Straight Forward© price before the work begins along with any options that may be available.  Once they authorize the work, it is explained that the plumber will either stay and complete it or get them on the schedule to return.  All customers are told by our call taker that our work is COD and given options for payment.  If they are in agreement with this procedure, their call is booked.When the plumber arrives and has diagnosed the problem(s), he prices the job based upon our Straight Forward Pricing Guide© which is a turn-key, flat rate type of pricing schedule.  It is not the traditional time + material way of pricing.  Our customers have found that they love to know the cost of the work up front and it allows them to know that whether the job takes 15 min or 3 hrs, the price will not change.  Most of all, they appreciate having the power to authorize how their money was spent!When Mrs. ****** called for help to remove her existing dishwasher and install a new one that she would provide, her call was handled according to the procedures above.  Upon her approval of the service fee of $59 her call was booked.  She called before her appointment date to ask if we would haul off the old dishwasher and if there was an additional charge.  We quoted her $25.  When the service technician arrived for her appointment and assessed her job, he quoted her the cost and upon Mrs. ******’s authorization, removed her existing dishwasher and replaced it with the new one she provided.  He then collected and hauled away the old dishwasher.Mrs. ******’s quoted charge for her job was $429 less a Senior Citizen Discount of $43 which totals $386.  Adding in the pre-authorized charges of $59 (service fee) and $25 (haul away) brings the total bill to $470.I spoke with Mrs. ****** by phone and confirmed that she was given the cost before the work began.  She indicated to me that the “man was standing there in my kitchen ready to do the job, how could I turn him away with two dishwashers sitting in my kitchen?”  When asked if ANY of the other people she called for prices CAME to her home to review the job before giving a price she said NO.  It is unfortunate that after having a reputable, professional look at and price her job IN HER HOME that she would rely on “estimates” by others who, by her own admission, did not look at the job but base their price on who knows what.Mrs. ****** invited us to her home for a service project.  We arrived on the designated date prepared to do the job once it was authorized.  She authorized us to do the job for a specific amount of money which she knew IN ADVANCE.  We did the job as agreed.  She has a new, working dishwasher per her wishes.  I regret that Mrs. ****** has buyer’s remorse.Sincerely,Renee’ AbshirePresident

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Please see attached. Regards, ***** ******

1/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My choice to schedule their visit a week from my initial my call They did not show on the date given to me. They "forgot to write down the date". I called on the forgotten date and got rescheduled. their solution was not to be charged the fee for a service call. I did not have to pay the service call fee, but needed repairs done. I was given a price, asked for an itemized list of charges. I was not given option of joining to get a decrease in the price. I estimated this could have been a $250 difference. I asked multiple times for an itemized bill and was never given one. I probably ended paying the service call fee after all. I was told they don't do itemized bills, jobs are based on the national average. I called again after work was completed and shared my complaints and still was denied an itemized bill or a refund from not being given their discount. I paid in cash. The person who answered the phone was friendly. The workers seemed to know what they were doing. I would have like

Desired Settlement: I would still like an itemized bill. I would also like an apology for not being made aware of the opportunity to join their warranty where I could have had a decrease in the cost of the repairs. I was told by I think his name was *****, the worker they required a year paid in advanced. I could have saved $250 even with paying this fee. I would like to have the difference refunded to me. I had the work done in August. I have thought about this for months and a friend suggested I contact the BBB for assistance in getting some type of response so I could get this off my chest and laid to rest. It's unlikely that I would use them again even though I found no fault with the work quality. Is it really that difficult to have an itemized bill? I get itemized bills from health care providers, my vet, and car mechanics. It does concern me that I may have been over charged since they have refused to give me a list of charges. Why have an advertisement on their van to 'Ask me about..." and then not be given the opportunity to join.

Business Response: Please allow me to first to give you some background on our Company's procedures.When a customer calls our office to schedule work in their home, they are quoted a service charge to have the plumber come out. They are also told that the plumber will review the job with them and give them a Straight Forward@ price before the work begins along with any options that may be available. Once they authorize the work, it is explained that this plumber will either stay and complete it or get them on the schedule to return. All customers are told by our call taker that our work is COD and given options for payment.  If they are in agreement with this procedure, their call is booked.When the plumber arrives and has diagnosed the problem(s), he prices the job based upon our Straight Forward Pricing Guide@ which is a turn-key, flat rate type of pricing schedule. It is not the traditional time & material way of pricing. Our customers have found that they love to know the cost of the work up front and it allows them to know that whether the job takes 15 min or 3 hrs, the price will not change. Most of all, they appreciate having the power to authorize how their money was spent!We also have a Diamond Club@ Maintenance Program.  For a small fee, the Member gets benefits such as a free, yearly, plumbing system inspection, front of the line scheduling, discounts on repairs and a discount on their emergency service fees. Once a homeowner joins they can begin using their discount on future service calls. This program has been suspended since the fall of 2013.When Mrs. **** called for help on her plumbing, her call was handled according to the procedures above. Because we failed to properly schedule her appointment, her service fee of $59 was waived. She did not pay this fee. She was quoted a Straight Forward@ price for a fixture replacement and a partial re-pipe. When she asked the plumber about an itemized bill, he explained again how our pricing is based and that we do not itemize.  We turn-key quote. She authorized both jobs to be done and scheduled a completion date.At some point while the plumbers were completing the work, she asked about the Diamond Club@ and was told about the program and the options on monthly vs. yearly payment. She was also told that even if she could join, the benefits would not apply to the current job but future work. Mrs. **** was unhappy with not being "allowed" to to apply the discount if she joined so she persisted with the plumbers in voicing her complaint on how and why the program worked that way. So much so that the men called the office to verify the information to her. She then called the office herself more than once during and after the work. She became very irate that the program didn't benefit her on this work and went on to say, as she had several times before, how expensive we were. She had already indicated once during the work that she probably would have cancelled the job except she had authorized by her signature.To clarify, even if she had been a member of the Diamond Club@ when she scheduled this work, there would have been NO discount to use because the discount does not apply to a fixture replacement or re-piping. The scope of the work was explained in detail on the initial diagnostic visit when authorization was given to proceed.In looking at the attached copy of her invoice, you can see the options given with pricing separated for each option. You can see that two options were zero qty and two options were okayed totaling $2381. There is no Service Fee of $59 added to the quote. And you can see her signature of authorization of work totaling $2381. She paid $2381.After telling Mrs. **** on numerous occasions that we had standard operating procedures in place for a reason, that we were not going to change them or make an exception, she stopped calling.We strive daily for operational excellence knowing that pleasing all the people all the time is impossible.Sincerely,Special Plumbing Inc.Classic Phumbing Solutions


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Plumbing Solutions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)