BBB Accredited Business since

Classic Plumbing Solutions

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 375-7378 923 Florida Street, Salem, VA 24153 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.classicplumbingsolutions.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial plumbing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Classic Plumbing Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Classic Plumbing Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Plumbing Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1980 in VA Business incorporated 11/20/1998 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Salem Business License

Phone Number: (540) 375-3019

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Renee Abshire, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Renee Abshire, President
Business Category

PLUMBERS WATER FILTRATION & PURIFICATION EQUIPMENT KITCHEN & BATH-DESIGN & REMODELING

Products & Services

Classic Plumbing Solutions sells the following brand(s): A O Smith Water Heaters, All Brands Including:, Gerber Toilets, Nature's Miracle Water Filtration, Wolverine Brass Faucets

Classic Plumbing Solutions offers the following product(s): All Products Including:, AO Smith Water Heaters, BioSmart Drain Maintainer, Gerber Toilets, Nature's Miracle Water Filtration, Wolverine Brass Faucets

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Cash, Check
Alternate Business Names
Special Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 3735 Franklin Road, SW

    Roanoke, VA 24014 (540) 375-7378

  • 923 Florida Street

    Salem, VA 24153

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My choice to schedule their visit a week from my initial my call They did not show on the date given to me. They "forgot to write down the date". I called on the forgotten date and got rescheduled. their solution was not to be charged the fee for a service call. I did not have to pay the service call fee, but needed repairs done. I was given a price, asked for an itemized list of charges. I was not given option of joining to get a decrease in the price. I estimated this could have been a $250 difference. I asked multiple times for an itemized bill and was never given one. I probably ended paying the service call fee after all. I was told they don't do itemized bills, jobs are based on the national average. I called again after work was completed and shared my complaints and still was denied an itemized bill or a refund from not being given their discount. I paid in cash. The person who answered the phone was friendly. The workers seemed to know what they were doing. I would have like

Desired Settlement: I would still like an itemized bill. I would also like an apology for not being made aware of the opportunity to join their warranty where I could have had a decrease in the cost of the repairs. I was told by I think his name was *****, the worker they required a year paid in advanced. I could have saved $250 even with paying this fee. I would like to have the difference refunded to me. I had the work done in August. I have thought about this for months and a friend suggested I contact the BBB for assistance in getting some type of response so I could get this off my chest and laid to rest. It's unlikely that I would use them again even though I found no fault with the work quality. Is it really that difficult to have an itemized bill? I get itemized bills from health care providers, my vet, and car mechanics. It does concern me that I may have been over charged since they have refused to give me a list of charges. Why have an advertisement on their van to 'Ask me about..." and then not be given the opportunity to join.

Business Response: Please allow me to first to give you some background on our Company's procedures.When a customer calls our office to schedule work in their home, they are quoted a service charge to have the plumber come out. They are also told that the plumber will review the job with them and give them a Straight Forward@ price before the work begins along with any options that may be available. Once they authorize the work, it is explained that this plumber will either stay and complete it or get them on the schedule to return. All customers are told by our call taker that our work is COD and given options for payment.  If they are in agreement with this procedure, their call is booked.When the plumber arrives and has diagnosed the problem(s), he prices the job based upon our Straight Forward Pricing Guide@ which is a turn-key, flat rate type of pricing schedule. It is not the traditional time & material way of pricing. Our customers have found that they love to know the cost of the work up front and it allows them to know that whether the job takes 15 min or 3 hrs, the price will not change. Most of all, they appreciate having the power to authorize how their money was spent!We also have a Diamond Club@ Maintenance Program.  For a small fee, the Member gets benefits such as a free, yearly, plumbing system inspection, front of the line scheduling, discounts on repairs and a discount on their emergency service fees. Once a homeowner joins they can begin using their discount on future service calls. This program has been suspended since the fall of 2013.When Mrs. **** called for help on her plumbing, her call was handled according to the procedures above. Because we failed to properly schedule her appointment, her service fee of $59 was waived. She did not pay this fee. She was quoted a Straight Forward@ price for a fixture replacement and a partial re-pipe. When she asked the plumber about an itemized bill, he explained again how our pricing is based and that we do not itemize.  We turn-key quote. She authorized both jobs to be done and scheduled a completion date.At some point while the plumbers were completing the work, she asked about the Diamond Club@ and was told about the program and the options on monthly vs. yearly payment. She was also told that even if she could join, the benefits would not apply to the current job but future work. Mrs. **** was unhappy with not being "allowed" to to apply the discount if she joined so she persisted with the plumbers in voicing her complaint on how and why the program worked that way. So much so that the men called the office to verify the information to her. She then called the office herself more than once during and after the work. She became very irate that the program didn't benefit her on this work and went on to say, as she had several times before, how expensive we were. She had already indicated once during the work that she probably would have cancelled the job except she had authorized by her signature.To clarify, even if she had been a member of the Diamond Club@ when she scheduled this work, there would have been NO discount to use because the discount does not apply to a fixture replacement or re-piping. The scope of the work was explained in detail on the initial diagnostic visit when authorization was given to proceed.In looking at the attached copy of her invoice, you can see the options given with pricing separated for each option. You can see that two options were zero qty and two options were okayed totaling $2381. There is no Service Fee of $59 added to the quote. And you can see her signature of authorization of work totaling $2381. She paid $2381.After telling Mrs. **** on numerous occasions that we had standard operating procedures in place for a reason, that we were not going to change them or make an exception, she stopped calling.We strive daily for operational excellence knowing that pleasing all the people all the time is impossible.Sincerely,Special Plumbing Inc.Classic Phumbing Solutions