BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Western Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Bryant's Plumbing & Heating, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (276) 638-2321 395 Green Hill Dr., Martinsville, VA 24112 http://www.callbryants.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing & heating services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bryant's Plumbing & Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bryant's Plumbing & Heating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bryant's Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 07, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1955 in VA Business incorporated: 01/03/1967 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Henry County Business License

Phone Number: (276) 634-4691

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David E. Bryant, President Mr. David Terrell, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David E. Bryant, President
Customer Contact: Mr. David Terrell, Manager
Business Category

PLUMBERS HEATING CONTRACTORS HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 395 Green Hill Dr.

    Martinsville, VA 24112 (276) 638-2321

  • P. O. Box 4151

    Martinsville, VA 24115

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bryants first came out last summer and replace the motor on outside heat pump but in wrong capcitor and were closed so 4 hot days no air conditioning and days later they put in the right one .I then called them because i thought there was something wrong with the part they put in December of same year was defective .They told me it was the motor on the inside unit instead and replaced that but guys only put 1 screw in motor housing to hold it in and when the took the old motor out they had to leave to get a new one .They were gone for about an hour and I noticed that they left the freon test meter still plugged into my outside unit that whole time and i mentioned it to them .I did not see one of the sheet metal screws they left laying on the floor and stepped on it and got it stuck in the heal of my foot and I left them know .They came back today because I thought the inside motor or outside motor they put in was going out and they told me no they are not and now the unit had a freon leak and I needed to replace outside unit and inside unit .I told them what the guys had done that were here last but the guy said the leak did not come from what they did .They then wanted to charge me 260 dollars for messing up my heat pump and I* had told them before that I was not going to keep paying for there mess ups .I thought I had to call them since they warranteed the parts .I have a guy coming friday named **** ******* from **** *** conditioning and heating to see what they have done to my unit .It is 11 years old .

Desired Settlement: All I want from them is to make all there mistakes right and i feel I do not owe them the 260 dollars they charged me for service because when I called them they did not do what I asked them to do .I told them that the guys did not put rubber washers on the blower motor that would have stopped the thudding of the motor .I had the missing screws they did not put in by someone else .There was only 1 screw and there were supposed to be 6 screws .They did not show me freon meter and they tested for a leak and could not find one .So it tells me they guys that left the freon meter on could have caused the freon to leak out .I feel i should not have to pay that 260 dollars and this other company will tell me for sure if there is a leak .I explained to the other company what they did and they said that would have caused the freon to leak out .I also contacted comfort coach for quote on new unit just in case and he said the same thing .If I need a new unit because of this i want at least 3 quotes so i can compare prices .

Business Response: Our service man *****, was out on 04-10-2013 and replaced outside condensing fan motor and capacitor. Instead of putting on a 7.5 he apparently put on a 15 capacitor. We were called on 06-03-13 and was advised the unit was not working, almost two months later. We made the correction and installed a 7.5 capacitor at no charge to the customer on 06-04-2013. The next time we were called was on 12-17-2013. system not working. We went out same day and found that the indoor fan motor was bad. We did not have this motor in stock on our service van. while we went to the supply house to get a motor and motor bracket, we did leave gauges hooked up to the outdoor unit. These hoses did not leak out Freon. When we returned our service man ****** replaced motor, bracket and capacitor. Motor was installed correctly with all necessary screws and washers. This furnace could not operate at all, with only one screw holding motor on. When ****** started system up he found that the blower wheel was out of balance, and asked Mrs. ****** if she wanted us to order her a wheel, that this is probably what caused her motor to go bad. Mrs. ****** asked ****** if he thought it would make it through the winter, that she was going to replace her system before summer. He advised her at that time it probably would make it for a few months. He then checked her Freon level outside and found everything to be ok. She called us on 12-31-13, two weeks later a said our men had left a sheet metal screw on the floor and she stepped on it. The next call we received was on 04-23-14. She had another service company come out and replace her blower wheel. She said that the service company told her the motor we installed was not the right one. Our service men went out same day and found everything to be ok, except she was low on Freon 4 lbs. ***** and **** could not find a leak at that time. Mrs. ****** asked them to call with a price on new equipment. Our work order was signed by Mrs. ****** witch states that all work was done satisfactorily. I feel we have given Mrs. ****** good service with the exception of the wrong capacitor in April 2013, witch we corrected at no charge as soon as we new there was a problem. I have copies of all dated work orders to verify everything I have stated. I will provide copies upon request. I would like Mrs. ****** to pay for our service call in the amount of $260.00 Witch I feel is justified. I do not wish to give Mrs. ****** a price on new equipment, and do not wish to do any service work for her now, or in the future. HVAC Manager David Terrell

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I had to sign the charge paper what recourse did i have at that time .My husband was sick and had been to the emergency room the day before with him and was still upset by that  .The screws that were not put in were the screws that held the whole housing down to the heat unit .No bushings were used to put the blower motor in which are required .I have no clue if when the guys that were here when trying to take the blower motor out could have bent the blower wheel as for 10 years it never made a noise and worked great .I thought since these parts were under warranty with this company I had to call them back .I would not have called them back if not for that reason .The unit was only 10 years old and had been maintained and cleaned before that by another company but at the time the other company could not get out here to fix the first problem .I am replacing the unit only because i feel these repairs  that were done could have shortened the life of my unit .I have always paid them before but this time i was concerned as they could not find a leak and I was not sure of what to do at that point .I do not ever wish to use this company again and other company looked at work and blower does not have the proper bushings on it .They are just plain washers as he showed me them and he showed me which ones should have been used ..There was only 1 screw holding the whole blower wheel housing down and the 4 screws that were left behind by the unit were those screws .Which one of them is the one I stepped on and got in the heal of my foot ,when I did not see it sticking up .The men when they came out looked at the screws holding the housing down and all but one were silver screws .I was so mad when I stepped on the screw and picked the other ones up i could not remember where i put them so the guy put new sheet metal screws in the housing except for the 1 original 1 which he put back in .I even showed the guy and he shined the flashlight in there and saw the new screws .Evidently the owner may need to have is men be more responsible for the work they do .I am not trying to be nasty to any one but if I have to rely on a company I would prefer no mistakes .No one is perfect but I am not a trained heating and cooling contractor and I am relying on honest well done work ,not mistakes that should not have been made by trained specialist .Makes me question  repair people now even more than ever .I have to rely on them but be honest please .I could have gone to lawyer with my injury but did i no .So this company needs to give a little like I have given for there mistakes .I spent 4 days last year with out air conditioning in 100+ degree temps before they came back and fixed there mistake not mine but there's .I had to buy 2 window fans just to try and stay cool and my husband has a bad heart and had a heart attack  and breathing problems ..We are retired so are home most of the time

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1