BBB Accredited Business since

Bryant's Plumbing & Heating, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (276) 638-2321 395 Green Hill Dr., Martinsville, VA 24112 http://www.callbryants.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing & heating services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bryant's Plumbing & Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bryant's Plumbing & Heating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bryant's Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 07, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1955 in VA Business incorporated 01/03/1967 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Henry County Business License

Phone Number: (276) 634-4691

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David E. Bryant, President Mr. David Terrell, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David E. Bryant, President
Customer Contact: Mr. David Terrell, Manager
Business Category

PLUMBERS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING HEATING CONTRACTORS HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 395 Green Hill Dr.

    Martinsville, VA 24112 (276) 638-2321

  • P. O. Box 4151

    Martinsville, VA 24115

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a rental home at *** ******** **** ** ************, Va. Tenants complained that the air was not blowing out of the vents overhead. I called Bryant's and his technicians repaired two 'issues' that did not resolve the problem. He charged me 498.06 and the problem still remained. No air was blowing out of the vents. His team came back on 11/19/12 to fix issues they had created on their first visit (this was verified by two other HVAC services) and billed me for 143.90 for a total of 631.96. The original issue was never resolved and I had to replace the air handler (the real problem) for $1500 using another vendor. I offered to pay 60% of his first visit (of the 498 total) and paid $100 as good faith, but never received a reply from him to discuss the quality of service or the balance owed. Now he has taken me to collections for 873.38. He ignored my overtures to speak to him about this and has charged much more interest than any court would allow. I would not recommend his service to anyone in the area at this point.

Desired Settlement: I will pay this man what I offered to pay to offset some of his expenses but I will not pay for shoddy work that did not solve the problem, and even introduced new problems. And this had better come out of collections or we'll be in court in Martinsville.

Business Response: First of all I would like to apologize for the delay in responding to this.  My HVAC manager has been out with "major" medical issues.  It has taken some time to get a opportunity to talk with him about this. To give you some history on this system, it was installed in August of 2005 by Bryant's.  The unit installed was not the quality system we normally install.  Not sure if price was a issue or not at that time as this was for a rental house.  This was 8 years ago now . . . We went out on August 30 and 31st. for the system not cooling and Mr. ******* was not charged for these calls.  The next time we went out was on 4/21/06 with the unit not cooling.  We found the thermostat wires loose at the outside unit and all the air filters totally clogged up.  This call was paid by Mr. *******.  Next time we were called was on 5/8/07 for no a/c.  We found that the compressor was locked up and tripping the breaker.  We got the compressor replaced under warranty but the labor and freon was charged and paid for.  On 6/18/07 got yet another call and this time found the indoor blower was out.  This was the original indoor unit.  As I stated before we only changed the outdoor unit.  This bill was also paid.  On 6/21/11 no a/c again and this time it was the condensing fan motor bad.  We changed out, charged the system and checked operation. Now the work in question!  On 10/26/12 we got a call that the heat was not working.  We found that the TXV valve was bad, changed and checked operation.  Everything was fine at this time.  On 11/7/12 we found that the reversing valve was stuck, we free'ed it up, checked system out and again all was fine at that time.  On 4/22/13 we did receive a payment of 100.00 from Mr. ******* toward his outstanding bill.  It has been a year now since the original work was completed.  I feel this was long enough to let this bill go on so it was turned over to collections.  FYI:  the interest rates we charge are the max allowed by VA state law.  I feel these charges are justifiable considering the work we done. If Mr. ******* would have contacted us regarding the replacement of this unit I know we would have taken into consideration all the past problems and would have helped him out on the cost of replacement.  We never go the chance. . . I am open to discussing the amount that is rightfully owed if Mr. ******* would like to call me direct.  My office number is ************. ***** ** ****** *

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.   Better Business Bureau: For the record, I have no issues with Mr. ****** nor his company, except for the services rendered during the visit in question.  I offered to discuss terms with Mr. ****** in a professionally written letter shortly after the issues continued and offered to speak with him by phone.  The offer I suggested was 60% of his time and parts for a heating unit that was never fixed.  If he had met with me as I asked of course I would have considered his company... I made that clear in my initial letter.  I will meet with him in the spirit of cooperation but I cannot close this claim until we agree on price.  Here is more detail on the original matter.   The amount billed to me was $517.22, and I paid $100 at that time.  I offered to pay Mr. ****** 60% of the bill he presented but never received a reply by U.S. Mail, nor a return phone call.  I did, however, continue to receive monthly statements for the amount owed with $10-11/month in interest attached to the account.  After reviewing his reply to this complaint, that he had staff with medical issues and how it delayed his reply, I can say that I recognize the challenges with running a small business.  His failure to respond could have been due to the daily demands on him and his company.   I remain willing to pay a price to defray Mr. ******** expenses, but cannot in good conscience pay the full amount plus intererst.     We will chat this week and if we can agree on the amount I will update this case.  Thank you for your help.     Regards, ******** *******  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1*******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ******** *******

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bryants first came out last summer and replace the motor on outside heat pump but in wrong capcitor and were closed so 4 hot days no air conditioning and days later they put in the right one .I then called them because i thought there was something wrong with the part they put in December of same year was defective .They told me it was the motor on the inside unit instead and replaced that but guys only put 1 screw in motor housing to hold it in and when the took the old motor out they had to leave to get a new one .They were gone for about an hour and I noticed that they left the freon test meter still plugged into my outside unit that whole time and i mentioned it to them .I did not see one of the sheet metal screws they left laying on the floor and stepped on it and got it stuck in the heal of my foot and I left them know .They came back today because I thought the inside motor or outside motor they put in was going out and they told me no they are not and now the unit had a freon leak and I needed to replace outside unit and inside unit .I told them what the guys had done that were here last but the guy said the leak did not come from what they did .They then wanted to charge me 260 dollars for messing up my heat pump and I* had told them before that I was not going to keep paying for there mess ups .I thought I had to call them since they warranteed the parts .I have a guy coming friday named **** ******* from **** *** conditioning and heating to see what they have done to my unit .It is 11 years old .

Desired Settlement: All I want from them is to make all there mistakes right and i feel I do not owe them the 260 dollars they charged me for service because when I called them they did not do what I asked them to do .I told them that the guys did not put rubber washers on the blower motor that would have stopped the thudding of the motor .I had the missing screws they did not put in by someone else .There was only 1 screw and there were supposed to be 6 screws .They did not show me freon meter and they tested for a leak and could not find one .So it tells me they guys that left the freon meter on could have caused the freon to leak out .I feel i should not have to pay that 260 dollars and this other company will tell me for sure if there is a leak .I explained to the other company what they did and they said that would have caused the freon to leak out .I also contacted comfort coach for quote on new unit just in case and he said the same thing .If I need a new unit because of this i want at least 3 quotes so i can compare prices .

Business Response: Our service man *****, was out on 04-10-2013 and replaced outside condensing fan motor and capacitor. Instead of putting on a 7.5 he apparently put on a 15 capacitor. We were called on 06-03-13 and was advised the unit was not working, almost two months later. We made the correction and installed a 7.5 capacitor at no charge to the customer on 06-04-2013. The next time we were called was on 12-17-2013. system not working. We went out same day and found that the indoor fan motor was bad. We did not have this motor in stock on our service van. while we went to the supply house to get a motor and motor bracket, we did leave gauges hooked up to the outdoor unit. These hoses did not leak out Freon. When we returned our service man ****** replaced motor, bracket and capacitor. Motor was installed correctly with all necessary screws and washers. This furnace could not operate at all, with only one screw holding motor on. When ****** started system up he found that the blower wheel was out of balance, and asked Mrs. ****** if she wanted us to order her a wheel, that this is probably what caused her motor to go bad. Mrs. ****** asked ****** if he thought it would make it through the winter, that she was going to replace her system before summer. He advised her at that time it probably would make it for a few months. He then checked her Freon level outside and found everything to be ok. She called us on 12-31-13, two weeks later a said our men had left a sheet metal screw on the floor and she stepped on it. The next call we received was on 04-23-14. She had another service company come out and replace her blower wheel. She said that the service company told her the motor we installed was not the right one. Our service men went out same day and found everything to be ok, except she was low on Freon 4 lbs. ***** and **** could not find a leak at that time. Mrs. ****** asked them to call with a price on new equipment. Our work order was signed by Mrs. ****** witch states that all work was done satisfactorily. I feel we have given Mrs. ****** good service with the exception of the wrong capacitor in April 2013, witch we corrected at no charge as soon as we new there was a problem. I have copies of all dated work orders to verify everything I have stated. I will provide copies upon request. I would like Mrs. ****** to pay for our service call in the amount of $260.00 Witch I feel is justified. I do not wish to give Mrs. ****** a price on new equipment, and do not wish to do any service work for her now, or in the future. HVAC Manager David Terrell

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I had to sign the charge paper what recourse did i have at that time .My husband was sick and had been to the emergency room the day before with him and was still upset by that  .The screws that were not put in were the screws that held the whole housing down to the heat unit .No bushings were used to put the blower motor in which are required .I have no clue if when the guys that were here when trying to take the blower motor out could have bent the blower wheel as for 10 years it never made a noise and worked great .I thought since these parts were under warranty with this company I had to call them back .I would not have called them back if not for that reason .The unit was only 10 years old and had been maintained and cleaned before that by another company but at the time the other company could not get out here to fix the first problem .I am replacing the unit only because i feel these repairs  that were done could have shortened the life of my unit .I have always paid them before but this time i was concerned as they could not find a leak and I was not sure of what to do at that point .I do not ever wish to use this company again and other company looked at work and blower does not have the proper bushings on it .They are just plain washers as he showed me them and he showed me which ones should have been used ..There was only 1 screw holding the whole blower wheel housing down and the 4 screws that were left behind by the unit were those screws .Which one of them is the one I stepped on and got in the heal of my foot ,when I did not see it sticking up .The men when they came out looked at the screws holding the housing down and all but one were silver screws .I was so mad when I stepped on the screw and picked the other ones up i could not remember where i put them so the guy put new sheet metal screws in the housing except for the 1 original 1 which he put back in .I even showed the guy and he shined the flashlight in there and saw the new screws .Evidently the owner may need to have is men be more responsible for the work they do .I am not trying to be nasty to any one but if I have to rely on a company I would prefer no mistakes .No one is perfect but I am not a trained heating and cooling contractor and I am relying on honest well done work ,not mistakes that should not have been made by trained specialist .Makes me question  repair people now even more than ever .I have to rely on them but be honest please .I could have gone to lawyer with my injury but did i no .So this company needs to give a little like I have given for there mistakes .I spent 4 days last year with out air conditioning in 100+ degree temps before they came back and fixed there mistake not mine but there's .I had to buy 2 window fans just to try and stay cool and my husband has a bad heart and had a heart attack  and breathing problems ..We are retired so are home most of the time


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bryant's Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)