BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Western Virginia

This Business is not BBB accredited

Blue Mountain Plumbing, Heating & Cooling

Phone: (877) 280-5777 1744 Jefferson Highway, Fishersville, VA 22939 http://www.bluemountainservice.com

! BBB Business Review on Blue Mountain Plumbing, Heating & Cooling is being Updated by BBB!

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing, heating and cooling services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.



Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1744 Jefferson Highway

    Fishersville, VA 22939 (877) 280-5777

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

BBB's Business Review on this business is currently being updated. Therefore BBB cannot provide you with any information at this time.


Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Blue Mountain Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling on or around July 17, 2013 and asked that they send out a service tech to look at my (outside A/C unit.) On July 18, 2013 two gentlemen from Blue Mountain Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling arrived at my residence to look at my A/C unit. I explained to them that I was weed eating and accidently hit the wires and the A/C unit would not turn on after this. (I also explained that I had just purchased the house and had used the unit about three times since I bought the house and it was working fine.) They said that they would see what they could find and started working on the unit. I went back into the house and about ten minutes later (I heard them in the basement taking the door/cover off the back of the furnace.) They were in the basement for roughly five minutes, before I noticed them returning to the van. They sat in the van for about 15 minutes and then came into the house and and handed me a paper stating their findings. The paper stated that (they had found that the A/C unit had a "bad compressor, burnt contactor, weak capacitors, the fan wires were brittle and the insulation is ready to expose high-voltage wires.") At the bottom of the paper there was a statement for a TOTAL SYSTEM REPLACEMENT for exactly $8,192.92. As I read this one of the gentlemen explained that, and I quote "the whole system is shot and needs to be replaced." Note: I never said that there was a problem with the furnace and the furnace still worked fine. I told them that I didn't have that kind of money and signed the refusal of a total system replacement. Months later on October 25, 2013 I decided to call *** Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling to get a second opinion. They sent out a service tech named *****. I explained to him exactly what I explained to Blue Mountain. We were in the basement (when he took the door/cover off the back of the furnace.) Almost immediately after doing so he stated, and I quote, ("Well, no wonder your A/C unit won't work, this is wired completely wrong.") He said ("with the way this is wired there is no way that your A/C unit will work.") He fixed the thermostat wire that I hit with the weedeater, we went inside and turned on the A/C unit and it started right up. I called Blue Mountain a few weeks ago on a wednesday and stated my displeasure with their service. I was told that someone would call me back. On Friday, two days later, someone called me back to notify me that the thirty-nine dollars that I requested refunded would not be returned to me because it was a "dispatch fee and they don't give that back." As I explained everything that had happened, they were still uncooperative and refused to give me the thirty-nine dollars back. Key points are noted with parentheses.

Desired Settlement: Since I have now had to get the Better Business Bureau invovled in this matter, I am now requesting my thirty-nine dollar dispatch fee returned to me, plus the eighty-four dollar dispatch fee for *** Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling to come out and fix the initial problem and the one that Blue Mountain created by improperly wiring the system and the fact Blue Mountain attempted to sell me a WHOLE NEW SYSTEM when the furnace was working with no issues, the entire system was inspected before I bought the house by a licensed home inspector. I have proof of everything and have kept all of the paperwork given to me by both companies. I also ask that the better Business Bureau reprimand this company in some way due to the way they conduct business. If I had not gotten a second opinion, I would have been at a substantial financial loss due their recommendations. I do not want to create any trouble for anyone but the unprofessional way this matter has been handled by this company has left me very displeased.

Business Response: The consumer was aware of the $39 fee prior to our arrival. That fee is fixed and will not be returned. We regret that he was not satisfied.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is an insufficient response. Period.

They are in no way trying to resolve this issue by simply stating that the dispatch fee will not be returned. They have not explained why their employees wired my a/c unit wrong, or why they also tried to sell me an $8,000 dollar heating and cooling system, when there was nothing wrong with my heat pump. I was pretty much called a liar by whoever called me back about my complaint. Simply because the service tech had been working for "20 years in the heating and cooling business and they had never had a complaint on him," so I'm a liar? I have been a Sworn Law Enforcement Officer for the Commonwealth of Virginia for the past three years and I have no reason to lie about anything that has happened. If this is going to be the only response by this company to this issue, then I want more action taking against this company by the Better Business Bureau. The process and amount of time that not only myself, but the Better Business Bureau have had to spend on this complaint are unacceptable and ridiculous.

     

 

Business Response: No work was done as evidenced  by the customers signature declining any work to be performed.   Items identified as deficient with the customer system where given to the customer in writing which included the following statement" estimated age of system is around 30 years recommend replacement."   Please see the attached which shows the recommendations and the customers signature where her declined to have the work preformed.  No work was done at the customer’s house.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.    Thank you for showing that to me.....if you had read my initial complaint then you would have seen that I stated that I had all of the paperwork. You are right there wasn't any work performed, because from the minute your employees arrived at my residence and 1.) seen how old the system was and 2.) seen that I was in the process of making some major renovations, they seen nothing but dollar signs $$$. Therefore, they then, in the process of checking out the system, (while nobody was around), rewired the circuit board in the furnace wrong so that the A/C unit would definitely not work. They were hoping that by doing this, that I would eventually end up giving the go ahead and pay the $8,192.92 for the new system. As I stated above, you are right they didn't perform any work. Not even the work that they stated that they did on the "Summary of Findings" sheet. Under "Observations", it states that they "found a bad compressor, burnt contactor, weak capacitors, the fan wires are brittle and the insulation is ready to expose bare high-voltage wires (VERBATIM)." If this is true then why is the A/C unit back up and running smoothly again with just a simple rewire at the furnace? It is impossible that they found all of that in 30 minutes, because 15 minutes of that time was spent sitting in the van writing up the summary sheet for the new system they were trying to sell me. If no work was performed then why did your employee check the box on the invoice labeled "please pay from this invoice - WORK PERFORMED C.O.D. (VERBATIM)?" I am attaching the invoice from *** Plumbing, Heating and Cooling stating the work that they had to perform. Which was "rewire the low voltage on the furnace." Also I would like to know why? 1.) Your employee's names weren't on the invoice anywhere, so that I would know who was at my residence performing work. They never would have told me, had I not shook hands with them and introduced myself. 2.) You have never once told me who you are. Is this a common business pracitce as well?   Regards, ****** ******** 

5/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife was home alone and noticed the hot water heater was leaking. Unable to help my wife over the phone, I contacted this company to try and fix the problem. The owner, Clark Brule, sent someone to our house within an hour after shifting other work. I was told of the $39 dispatch fee. The technician spent 15 minutes assessing the problem. During his assessment, he fixed the leak by tightening a nut. AFTER the work was completed, my wife was charged $169.23($39 dispatch fee + flat rate fee of $150.23 for tightening the nut - $20 coupon). She questioned the price with the technician, wrote a check for the work, and then she was asked to sign the invoice. She signed without reading the fine print and later realized she signed authorization for the technician to complete a job, which was supposed to be signed and agreed upon BEFORE starting the work. The invoice states I hereby authorize you to proceed with the above work at the upfront fee of $169.23. She was NOT first given an estimate of the work and the technician did NOT tell her the problem until after it was fixed. She would have declined the additional service and paid the $39 dispatch fee if given an upfront price. She called the owner to voice her frustration. Things started nicely, but he would not consider the idea that she was being treated unfairly even though she was NOT first given an "UPFRONT PRICE" of the work to be completed. The owner verified with the technician that an estimate was NOT provided before fixing the problem. The owner became livid when she stated she did not agree with the charge and that she would put this experience on Facebook. After that, he said at least one swear word, said that if she put mean comments about his business on Facebook, he could say worse things about her in return. Lastly, he said he has more money than her and that he could do a whole lot more damage to her than she could do to him. I do not appreciate that the owner threatened my wife, cursed on the phone, and yelled at her.

Desired Settlement: I honestly do not believe we should have been charged the minimal adjustment fee of $150.23 for tightening a nut, as this price was NOT presented to us BEFORE the work was completed. However, I appreciate Blue Mountain coming in such a timely manner and am willing to pay $30 in addition to the dispatch fee of $39. This will be a total of $69 for their time and services.

Business Response: Response to BBB - ******* I am in receipt of your written notification of BBB case number ******* for which I submit the following response. Blue Mountain is a customer focused company and as such we take any customer concern with our services (from whatever the source) very seriously.     I am familiar with the matter referenced above and the facts are as follows:     • On February 7, 2013, the customer called our office late in the afternoon requesting service for a leaking water heater. The customer indicated it was urgent that they get service immediately as their house was for sale and they had a showing scheduled.     • In an effort to meet the customer's needs we contacted a previously scheduled customer to move their service call to another day creating an opening in the schedule. A Service Tech was dispatched to the customer's home immediately.     • At the customer's home the Service Tech identified the problem, made the repair, completed the necessary paperwork, the customer paid their invoice and the Service Tech left the customer's home.      Attached is a copy of the customer's invoice where it clearly shows the customer authorized the work, as indicated by their signature in the "Work Authorization", approved of the work completed, as indicated by the signature in the "Acceptance of Work Performed", and paid the amount due as indicated in the payment shown. The customer also used an on-line coupon we have available on our website. The customer was completely aware of the work being done and the costs.     • After the technician had left the customer's home, the customer called our office wanting to pay a lower price. The customer indicated:      There was no problem what so ever with the technician or any of the work performed      The work performed by the technician resolved their problem      And they were relieved the technician was able to fix the problem without having to replace the water heater.     PAGE 02     • We explained to the customer that the technician only charged them for a minimum adjustment fee and there wasn't any amount less available for the technician to charge for making the repair.     • The customer became agitated and clearly stated that if we did not give them a discount they would do whatever they could to cause disruption to our business. It is assumed this complaint is their latest attempt to follow through on that claim.     The customer has spent an inordinate amount of time and energy on a very modest invoice to get an unreasonable discount for the timely, professional and experienced service they received which completely resolved the problem for which they requested service.     Due to these facts, Blue Mountain is unable to further assist this customer in any way.   Clark Brule General Manager          

Consumer Response: ·         We are not happy with the response from the general manager and do not find our complaint to be resolved. ·         We would first like to state that we were very appreciative of Blue Mountain for switching around their appointments and coming to our house in such a timely manner.  Our initial experiences with them were positive.  The technician was nice and did find and fix the problem associated with our hot water heater.  What we were not happy with was the pricing of the work and the way the general manager treated my wife when she called to discuss the matter with him.  Yes, after the general manager explained their upfront pricing, she did say she did not agree with the payment, that she would not recommend their services to her friends, and she might put her experience on Facebook.  The general manager reacted very unprofessionally after my wife mentioned this, and he ended up raising his voice, cursing over the phone, and threatening my wife.  When I called to confront him about the way he treated my wife, he said it was a “character issue.” ·         I would like to respond to the general manager’s comment, “The customer was completely aware of the work being done and the costs.”… As mentioned in the original complaint, my wife and I were aware of the dispatch fee of $39 and agreed to this charge.  However, the technician DID NOT discuss with my wife the work that needed to be done and how much it would cost BEFORE the work was completed.  (Had she known that only a nut had to be tightened, she would have done it herself or had a friend come to the house to help her as I was out of town.)  Yes, my wife did sign the “Work Authorization,” but this was AFTER she already wrote the technician a check of $169.23 (with that included the $20 coupon) for TIGHTENING A NUT on our hot water heater.  My wife did question the charge with the technician.  It would have been nice if he had mentioned that if she did not agree with the charge, then she could have refused to sign the “Work Authorization.”  Regardless, we have learned a valuable lesson through this experience to not sign paper work without reading the fine print and to not sign paperwork if you do not agree with a charge.  ·         When both my wife and myself called the general manager to discuss what we thought was a ridiculous charge to tighten a nut on our hot water heater, he stated that Blue Mountain has upfront pricing and their “Minimum Adjustment Fee” is $150.  Therefore, without a coupon, Blue Mountain’s minimum charge to complete a job is $189.23.  This was NEVER mentioned to my wife or me BEFORE work on our heater was begun.  We would have not chosen their services had we been aware of this pricing.  We have since learned we have friends who have recently had more extensive work done by plumbers for a lower cost.  I would not recommend services from Blue Mountain of Fishersville because of their high pricing and the unprofessionalism of the general manager. Regards, ****** ******  

Business Response: From original information we have a signed work order with the price listed, a signed acceptance of the work and a check where work was paid for.  Company does not understand where the confusion is.  The orignal response stands.

Consumer Response: Though the owner has a piece of paper with our signature, we weren’t asked to sign anything until AFTER the work was completed and a check for the work was written.  The technician started and completed the work BEFORE any pricing information was communicated to us, and the owner was made aware of this by both my wife and the technician. We acknowledge that the piece of paper we signed states otherwise and looking back  we should have written our check and refused to sign the paperwork.  $189 to tighten a nut is ridiculous! Regardless, what’s done is done.  However, we do not appreciate the way the owner talked to my wife and raised his voice towards her during their discussion over his pricing scheme.  This discussion left her in tears, and that is no way for a man to treat a woman.  We had the furthest thing from an A+ experience during this process...which was his BBB rating at the time.  I strongly encourage anyone reading this to seek services elsewhere before having to interact with the owner of this company. Regards,****** ******  

4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a water leak in the main waterline to my modular home.The plumber came out and looked and said %397.00I asked for a price breakdown with parts and labor.He refused. I said that price sounds excessive.He gave me a $20.00 discountI saw what he replaced:(1) brass insert to water line(2) shutoff valveWork took 1 hourI went to ********** ******** ****** and found out the price of the parts, and they came to $25.00.For what this man did, $313.00 for 1 hour of labor is unrealistic and a ripoff.I called the office, and complained and the answers I received were not satisfactory.For one hour of work for a simple job like this is excessive.At the most, it is worth about a $100.00 (and that is still excessive).I had service from this company before and was satisfied with their service and pricing. This is predatory business dealings. They refused to give me parts and labor, and what I was charged is outrageous.Thank you,**** ********  ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: My desired settlement is to half the cost of this service.The Service call charge was %39.00-I will pay that.The parts are about $25.00The labor was $313.00. I am willing to pay 1/2 of that amount, which is still high, but more reasonable than what I was charged for very simple plumbing work.

Business Response:

We are a flat rate shop and provide the cost for our services to our customer's in advance of starting any work.  In this case, the *** ******** was given the price of $397.26 to complete his job which he approved in writting before any work was started.  If the customer thought the price was too high he should not have authorized us to do the work.  Attached is a copy of the customer's invoice which shows the customer's written approval to complete the work for $397.26.  At the bottom of the invoice it shows the coustomer's acceptance of the work performed as indicated by their signiture.

Upon learning of the customer's concerns, the Service tech assigned to the *** ********* job was called and asked to review the charges.  The tech did discover a clerical error which resulted in an overchrge of $39.81.  The technician called the customer and explained the error and offered to return to correct the invoice.  These corrections were entered on the invoice by the tech (in a less then clear manner) but listed none the less. 

As a flat rate company the price we give the customer is the total cost.  If the job would have taken several hours or a few minutes, the cost to the customer is the same.  As such we are unable to provide a breakdown of parts and labor on a project which is listed in our terms and conditions on the reverse of the customer's invoice under the heading of "Entire Agreement". 

I reject *** ******** offer to pay something different than agreed to after the work has already been completed.  After correcting for the error listed above and taking off a coupon the customer presented at the time invoiceing, *** ********* credit card will be charged $337.45.

I take offense to *** ********* describing our business practices as predatory.  We make sure our customer's know the total cost for their job before any work is started so there are no surprises. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution would be "legally" satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I have learned a valuable lesson, I will never use Blue Mountain for any plumbing services again. I doubt seriously that my rate would have been the same if they had been here several hours, rather than the one hour they were here. $39.00 for service call is ok. $25.00 for parts is Ok . $270.00 +/- for one hour of work is not rational an definitely not OK. The only reason I accept this is that I did sign the agreement.

Their services are are guilty of over-charging customers. I am not withdrawing my complaint, merely accepting the inevitable. It is immoral to charge that much money for 1 hour of work. This is vulture capitalism.  

Remember, word of mouth works.

Regards,

**** ********

 

 

1/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues