This business is not BBB accredited.

Blue Mountain Plumbing, Heating & Cooling

Phone: (877) 280-5777 View Additional Phone Numbers 1744 Jefferson Highway, Fishersville, VA 22939 http://www.bluemountainservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing, heating and cooling services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Blue Mountain Plumbing, Heating & Cooling include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Mountain Plumbing, Heating & Cooling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Blue Mountain Plumbing, Heating & Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 28, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2002 in VA Business incorporated 09/09/2002 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Augusta Business License

Phone Number: (540) 245-5640

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Clark Brule, Owner & General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clark Brule, Owner & General Manager
Business Category

PLUMBERS HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS

Alternate Business Names
Blue Mountain, LLC
Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1744 Jefferson Highway

    Fishersville, VA 22939 (877) 280-5777

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service representative found faulty flame switch while on my requested service call for my furnace that was not working. Representative provided price for part and labor. I questioned if part was under warranty, he pointed out the date in the furnace and said it was not under warranty. I signed the work order and paid for the part and labor. Not understanding why the part wouldn't be under warranty (it was purchased May 2012) I called the manufacturer and they confirmed the part was indeed under warranty and there would be no cost involved for the part to be sent to the licensed installer. I called back the service representative and he said he'll let the office know and will hold my check. When I didn't get a call that the part was in I called back and inquired when it would be in. It was explained the part now being under warranty needed to be ordered directly from the manufacturer vs after market. Part arrived and I was told I would not be getting my check back that I would have to wait until Blue Mountain returned my defective part to the manufacturer, its value would be prorated and I would receive the difference back if any once they received the money from the manufacturer. I then called the manufacturer again and confirmed there is no cost when a part is under warranty and they do not do anything like prorate used parts for value - never heard of that. I called back Blue Mountain and was told that's how warranty service worked. To my knowledge when an item is under warranty the customer does not have to pay for the items full cost and wait to be reimbursed by the service installer - that's why we have have the warranty to not have to pay out of pocket for products under warranty. Business refused to turn my check over even though I offered to write another one for the labor.

Desired Settlement: I will gladly pay for the labor to installed the warrantied part, but the cost of the part should be refunded being it was under warranty.

Business Response: This customer contracted with Blue Mountain for the replacement of a fault flame switch.  He agreed to pay a flat rate fee for this service.  Blue Mountain did not install this equipment and did not provide any warranty on the equipment.  If this customer has a warranty, it was provided by the manufacturer of the equipment or the previous installer. Blue Mountain is not a party to that warranty.  It has not seen the warranty.  It has no idea whether or not the part is actually covered by a warranty. As a courtesy to this customer (and for no extra charge), Blue Mountain agreed to submit a warranty claim on this customer's behalf.  That is, Blue Mountain agreed to help him facilitate making a warranty claim.  This process works as follows.  First, Blue Mountain purchased the equipment from its distributor.  Second, Blue Mountain submitted a warranty claim to the distributor.  Third, the distributor will submit a warranty claim to the manufacturer.  Fourth, the manufacturer will review the claim and decide whether or not the part is covered by a warranty.  Fifth, if the part is covered by a warranty, the manufacturer will issue a credit to the distributor, the distributor will issue a credit to Blue Mountain, and Blue Mountain will issue a credit to the customer.  It should also be noted that some distributors charge a fee for processing warranty claims.  Blue Mountain does not know if its distributor will in this case but, if it does, the customer's credit will be reduced by the amount of the fee. Blue Mountain's office has explained this process to this customer on several occasions.  Unfortunately, the customer mistakenly believes that he should not have to pay any upfront out of pocket expenses because the equipment is under warranty.  It is actually often the case that out of pocket expenses are paid upfront and are then later reimbursed by the warranty company.  As noted above, Blue Mountain did not give this warranty, is not a party to that warranty, and it has no idea whether or not the part is actually covered by a warranty.  Blue Mountain has paid for the part and charged the customer for the part as per the terms of their contract.  Blue Mountain has tried to resolve this customer's concerns by submitting a warranty claim on his behalf and has agreed to provide him with a refund/credit that the distributor provides as part of that claim less any expenses it charges. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.I signed the work order for the flat rate fee before I knew the part was under warranty. Once we found out it was under warranty by doing a quick run of the serial number directly on the manufacturers website, which was less than 30 minutes later we called the service tech and asked him to hold the check and let us know what the price would be for the labor only since the part would be no charge. He said he would let the office know. We never received a call back with a new price for labor only so we called again were told that's not how it would work.  I never would have signed a work order for the flat rate (labor and part) if it would have been disclosed whether part is on warranty or not, we would be paying the same amount upfront (We spoke directly with ********* the manufacturer and they said they could ship the part out no charge but it would have to be installed by a licensed technician) I have no issue with receiving my money back for the part and paying for labor but the business will not release their fee for the labor only. My resolve would be to know the labor fee and part refund that I will be receiving back and when.  Saying they don't know how much I'll get back for the part doesn't make sense when the flat fee includes the price for the part...that fee had to be calculated using a price for the part and that is the amount I should be refunded. Having to wait for a business to get money back is not what a consumer should have to do when performing warranty work, that is part of business overhead. I did ask when I originally phoned if they could service a ******* furnace - their response was yes, servicing means honoring warranties and if a business doesn't it should disclose that info before dispatching. Regards, ******** ******

2/26/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Blue Maintain plumbing, heating, and cooling claimed multiple false fees, and then threatened lawsuit unless false fees were paid. Here are specifics: - charged $39.00 for an estimate for a job (most companies to not charge for an estimate). This was not unethical (we were told on front end) just not great business practice. - When we cancelled the job two days in advance of job, Bluestone claimed we owed them a $182 cancellation fee. The maximum fee they could claim in the contract we signed was $93. There was no legal or ethical basis for this inflated cancellation charge. They did not correct their claim despite our written request that they do so and our reference to fine print in their own contract document.

Desired Settlement: We paid the cancellation fee of $93.00 as indicated in the contract (so we have paid them a total of $132.00 without any actual job performed). We would like them to confirm that this settles our bill, and acknowledge that their claim of an additional $89.00 is in error.

Business Response: The agreement that Dr. ******* signed provided that in the event of cancellation he "agree[s] to pay a $89.00 diagnostic charge and all incurred costs or 10% of the Work Authorization, whichever is greater."  As 10% of the Work Authorization was greater than the costs incurred, Dr. ******* was contractually obligated to pay the $89.00 diagnostic charge and $93.29 for 10% of the Work Authorization.  This provision appears on the front face of the contract directly above Dr. *******'s signature authorizing the work.  A copy of contract signed by Dr. ******* and the letter that Blue Mountain sent Dr. ******* explaining its terms are attached.   Dr. ******* has apparently interpreted the contract he signed incorrectly.  Upon cancellation, the contract requires payment of both (1) the $89.00 diagnostic charge plus (2) the greater of costs incurred or 10% of the Work Authorization.  Dr. ******* incorrectly reads the contract to require that he pay the higher of (1)  $89.00 plus costs incurred or (2) 10% of the Work Authorization.  He has confused the "and" and the "or" in the contract term.   Moreover, he was informed of the cancellation fee at the time the contract was signed.  The person who serviced Dr. ******* decided not to collect a deposit from him as a courtesy but asked him not to cancel the job or the fee would have to be collected.  Even though Dr. ******* has misinterpreted the contract and is still legally obligated to Blue Mountain in the amount of $89, to date, and as a courtesy to Dr. *******, Blue Mountain has taken no action to collect this debt.  Please let me know if you have any further questions. Best regards, **** 

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Blue Mountain Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling on or around July 17, 2013 and asked that they send out a service tech to look at my (outside A/C unit.) On July 18, 2013 two gentlemen from Blue Mountain Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling arrived at my residence to look at my A/C unit. I explained to them that I was weed eating and accidently hit the wires and the A/C unit would not turn on after this. (I also explained that I had just purchased the house and had used the unit about three times since I bought the house and it was working fine.) They said that they would see what they could find and started working on the unit. I went back into the house and about ten minutes later (I heard them in the basement taking the door/cover off the back of the furnace.) They were in the basement for roughly five minutes, before I noticed them returning to the van. They sat in the van for about 15 minutes and then came into the house and and handed me a paper stating their findings. The paper stated that (they had found that the A/C unit had a "bad compressor, burnt contactor, weak capacitors, the fan wires were brittle and the insulation is ready to expose high-voltage wires.") At the bottom of the paper there was a statement for a TOTAL SYSTEM REPLACEMENT for exactly $8,192.92. As I read this one of the gentlemen explained that, and I quote "the whole system is shot and needs to be replaced." Note: I never said that there was a problem with the furnace and the furnace still worked fine. I told them that I didn't have that kind of money and signed the refusal of a total system replacement. Months later on October 25, 2013 I decided to call *** Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling to get a second opinion. They sent out a service tech named *****. I explained to him exactly what I explained to Blue Mountain. We were in the basement (when he took the door/cover off the back of the furnace.) Almost immediately after doing so he stated, and I quote, ("Well, no wonder your A/C unit won't work, this is wired completely wrong.") He said ("with the way this is wired there is no way that your A/C unit will work.") He fixed the thermostat wire that I hit with the weedeater, we went inside and turned on the A/C unit and it started right up. I called Blue Mountain a few weeks ago on a wednesday and stated my displeasure with their service. I was told that someone would call me back. On Friday, two days later, someone called me back to notify me that the thirty-nine dollars that I requested refunded would not be returned to me because it was a "dispatch fee and they don't give that back." As I explained everything that had happened, they were still uncooperative and refused to give me the thirty-nine dollars back. Key points are noted with parentheses.

Desired Settlement: Since I have now had to get the Better Business Bureau invovled in this matter, I am now requesting my thirty-nine dollar dispatch fee returned to me, plus the eighty-four dollar dispatch fee for *** Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling to come out and fix the initial problem and the one that Blue Mountain created by improperly wiring the system and the fact Blue Mountain attempted to sell me a WHOLE NEW SYSTEM when the furnace was working with no issues, the entire system was inspected before I bought the house by a licensed home inspector. I have proof of everything and have kept all of the paperwork given to me by both companies. I also ask that the better Business Bureau reprimand this company in some way due to the way they conduct business. If I had not gotten a second opinion, I would have been at a substantial financial loss due their recommendations. I do not want to create any trouble for anyone but the unprofessional way this matter has been handled by this company has left me very displeased.

Business Response: The consumer was aware of the $39 fee prior to our arrival. That fee is fixed and will not be returned. We regret that he was not satisfied.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is an insufficient response. Period.

They are in no way trying to resolve this issue by simply stating that the dispatch fee will not be returned. They have not explained why their employees wired my a/c unit wrong, or why they also tried to sell me an $8,000 dollar heating and cooling system, when there was nothing wrong with my heat pump. I was pretty much called a liar by whoever called me back about my complaint. Simply because the service tech had been working for "20 years in the heating and cooling business and they had never had a complaint on him," so I'm a liar? I have been a Sworn Law Enforcement Officer for the Commonwealth of Virginia for the past three years and I have no reason to lie about anything that has happened. If this is going to be the only response by this company to this issue, then I want more action taking against this company by the Better Business Bureau. The process and amount of time that not only myself, but the Better Business Bureau have had to spend on this complaint are unacceptable and ridiculous.

     

 

Business Response: No work was done as evidenced  by the customers signature declining any work to be performed.   Items identified as deficient with the customer system where given to the customer in writing which included the following statement" estimated age of system is around 30 years recommend replacement."   Please see the attached which shows the recommendations and the customers signature where her declined to have the work preformed.  No work was done at the customer’s house.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.    Thank you for showing that to me.....if you had read my initial complaint then you would have seen that I stated that I had all of the paperwork. You are right there wasn't any work performed, because from the minute your employees arrived at my residence and 1.) seen how old the system was and 2.) seen that I was in the process of making some major renovations, they seen nothing but dollar signs $$$. Therefore, they then, in the process of checking out the system, (while nobody was around), rewired the circuit board in the furnace wrong so that the A/C unit would definitely not work. They were hoping that by doing this, that I would eventually end up giving the go ahead and pay the $8,192.92 for the new system. As I stated above, you are right they didn't perform any work. Not even the work that they stated that they did on the "Summary of Findings" sheet. Under "Observations", it states that they "found a bad compressor, burnt contactor, weak capacitors, the fan wires are brittle and the insulation is ready to expose bare high-voltage wires (VERBATIM)." If this is true then why is the A/C unit back up and running smoothly again with just a simple rewire at the furnace? It is impossible that they found all of that in 30 minutes, because 15 minutes of that time was spent sitting in the van writing up the summary sheet for the new system they were trying to sell me. If no work was performed then why did your employee check the box on the invoice labeled "please pay from this invoice - WORK PERFORMED C.O.D. (VERBATIM)?" I am attaching the invoice from *** Plumbing, Heating and Cooling stating the work that they had to perform. Which was "rewire the low voltage on the furnace." Also I would like to know why? 1.) Your employee's names weren't on the invoice anywhere, so that I would know who was at my residence performing work. They never would have told me, had I not shook hands with them and introduced myself. 2.) You have never once told me who you are. Is this a common business pracitce as well?   Regards, ****** ******** 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Blue Mountain Plumbing, Heating & Cooling
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart