BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Western Virginia
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers driveway paving, asphalt sealing, decorative concrete and stamped concrete as well asconcrete restoration services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Virginia Driveway, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Virginia Driveway, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Virginia Driveway, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Virginia Driveway, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 08, 2012 Business started: 11/10/2011 in VA Business incorporated: 11/10/2011 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Richard Koehler , Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Koehler , Owner
Business Category

PAVING CONTRACTORS CONCRETE - STAMPED & DECORATIVE CONCRETE - RESTORATION, SEALING & CLEANING HOME IMPROVEMENTS SEALING - PAVEMENT SEAL COATING

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Paving Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 2235 Colonial Avenue, SW

    Roanoke, VA 24015

  • P.O. Box 8265

    Roanoke, VA 24014 (540) 520-0635

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted to remove, replace and expand existing driveway. Estimate specified that the job would include a 6 inch base of 21A stone then install 2.5 inches of SM 9.5 asphalt on top of the stone, to be compacted with roller to a thickness of 2 inches of asphalt. They did not deliver the thickness of asphalt that was paid for and promised in estimate. Job completed on 6/3/14, the next day reported to owner, ******* ******* that there was a line of dirt embedded the full length of the driveway due to lack of thickness in asphalt, no edging on sides, and a visible hole could be seen. A worker came out patched to hole, touched up the edges, but told us the line would go away overtime. Informed owner as of 8/11/14 the line of dirt is spreading and the driveway looks like it's 4 years old, not 2 months. Now grass is growing through the asphalt & sinking at the bottom, was told he would fix the sinking & seal the entire driveway at no cost the week of 8/18/14. No communication or resolution. Did not receive products paid for and promised. Breach of contract.

Desired Settlement: Full refund or completely replace driveway at the specifications promised, with no cutting back on products before winter 2014 nsets in.

Business Response: Virginia Driveway fully executed this contract and in no way cut any corners whatsoever.  The thickness of 2.5" was achieved and compacted to 2 inches.  The dirt that appeared on the driveway came from dirt on the roller and in no way came from the base stone due to lack of thickness.  The edging on the sides with the visible hole was from the homeowner driving off the side of the driveway.  Upon inspection, we could see the tire marks. On all our contracts, we specify that we are not responsible for vegetation growth.  We do use a very potent weed killer before we pave, but it does not always prevent grass from growing through news asphalt. When the owner of Virginia Driveway questioned Mrs. ********* about the "no communication or resolution", she said that maybe she and her husband were not on the same page.  Since the owner spoke with her, Virginia Driveway fixed the cracks in the asphalt from vehicles driving over the edge and sealed to fix the dirt, which would have come off eventually. Virginia Driveway always takes care of its customers 100%.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my driveway sealed and the price we agreed on was $150. I called after the work was performed and spoke with ******* who processed my payment over the phone. She took my number and told me $150 would be charged to my card. When I received my credit card statement the charge was $155.25. I called ******* and asked her why. She told me that this was due to tak. I questioned this because the tax rat in Virginia is 5.3% and this variance is 3.5%. She said it was a tax from the credit card company and the owner put it on there. I explained that I wasn't told about this fee and it was not authorized. She said she would have the owner call me and the owner did not call me.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the unauthorized amount of $5.25 and an explanation/apology of why I was billed more than what was agreed and why my call was not returned.

Business Response: $6 has been refunded to consumer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, **** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a quote from ***** ******,Virginia Driveway,on 4/21/12 for $800, to fill in all cracks in driveway and reseal driveway. According to Mr. ******, none of the cracks would be visible once the repairs were made and sealing completed.Work was performed on 6/21/12. Mr. ****** was paid in full on 6/22/12. By 6/23/12 the filler inserted into driveway cracks had sunken and separated. I contacted Mr. ******, who reveiwed the work performed, with his boss, who agreed the work would require repeating as the wrong filler was used, and the workers used were new to the job.Numerous calls to Mr. ****** have been made resulting in promises to schedule the rework, which has not occurred.Additional calls have been unanswered.On 8/20/12 Mr. ****** was informed that if the rework was not completed by 8/24/12, a claim would be made to the BBB and that I would expected a full refund.

Desired Settlement: Full refund, in cash.

Business Response: Mr. ***** ****** called and stated he has spoken with the consumer and made arranagements to come and walk through the project  to determine what needs to be done  and will come on October 15 and do the job.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved