BBB Accredited Business since

Virginia Driveway, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 520-0635 2702-A Johnson Avenue, NW, Roanoke, VA 24017 http://www.virginiadriveway.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers driveway paving, asphalt sealing, decorative concrete and stamped concrete as well asconcrete restoration services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Virginia Driveway, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Virginia Driveway, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Virginia Driveway, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 08, 2012 Business started: 11/10/2011 in VA Business incorporated 11/10/2011 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Richard Koehler , Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Koehler , Owner
Business Category

PAVING CONTRACTORS CONCRETE - STAMPED & DECORATIVE CONCRETE - RESTORATION, SEALING & CLEANING HOME IMPROVEMENTS SEALING - PAVEMENT SEAL COATING

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Paving Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 2702-A Johnson Avenue, NW

    Roanoke, VA 24017

  • P.O. Box 8265

    Roanoke, VA 24014 (540) 520-0635

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales Representative **** ******* indicated when giving me a bid on sealing my driveway that cracks would be filled w/ sealmaster filler, driveway would be cleaned, and edges trimmed. When job was performed driveway wasn't cleaned, edges not trimmed and cracks were not filled. Mr. ******* came to inspect my complaints and agreed the job was not done properly. This was JULY. I was under the impression the cracks would be filled and driveway would be re-sealed so driveway would look nice. There seems to be some confusion on communication on this. However he assured me it would be corrected. Through the course of 2 and half months nothing was done, I inquired several times during this time period, they told me two people were coming and never showed up. When the company came it was SEPTEMBER ,they spenT 30 minutes filling cracks, I was also not pleased that my driveway was different shades. Mr. ******* heard my complaints and offered a refund of $260.00 for 1. The job not being done properly and 2. The amount of time it took to correct it and 3. Me not being happy about how the driveway looked. Another week went by and another gentlemen called me saying "He had inspected my driveway and I wasn't going to get the refund, and that the job was done properly" I of course felt differently but told him that regardless their customer service was not good. This gentlemen then immediately called me back and said he would send me the refund. Over 3 weeks have gone by and still no refund in the mail. I have called several times and no one calls me back. It is a repeated scenario of them saying one thing but not carrying through on their own words. The second gentlemen I talked to I believe had the last name ******* as well. * Footnote I realized my driveway was in bad shape to begin with and sealing wouldn't make it look brand new, Two people verbally told me I would get a refund based on their customer service (obviously the check isn't in the mail), which is why I am making a complaint.

Desired Settlement: $260.00 has been verbally told to me by two people who work in the company for poor customer service and the length of time to perform job. I am only asking what they suggested. They should honor their word. Yes they did the job, they came back to fill the cracks but my driveway is different shades now because the job wasn't done right the first time, plus it took 2 and a half months to correct something that took 40 minutes. If not the whole amount as promised, a partial refund is in order.

Business Response: I’m not sure if Mr. ****** has all of the facts correct in his complaint. What it comes down to is this: Virginia Driveway did the job correctly. As the owner of the company, I personally went out to inspect Mr. ******’s driveway. The driveway was in terrible shape and it was recommended that it be taken out and repaved. This was not something Mr. ****** was willing to do. We agreed to just seal the driveway. We went above and beyond what we typically do for a driveway in that condition.   Mr. ****** was upset that the crack filler dried darker than the sealer. His contract clearly stated that: “crack filler will not make cracks disappear, nor will deep cracks be flush with surrounding asphalt… These areas will dry darker when the job is completed.” The Virginia Driveway office, and the salesman, **** *******, had many conversations with Mr. ****** about his driveway and about how poor of shape it is in. Virginia Driveway could not seem to communicate to Mr. ****** in such a way that it was understandable to him, for him to be satisfied with the end product based on what the contract stated, and therefore a refund was offered. It was an over-site on my part that the refund was not made to Mr. ****** sooner. His refund is going out in the mail today. Virginia Driveway fulfilled its contract 100% and I feel there is not another asphalt paving/sealing company that does as good of a job as we do. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ******* ******

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are plants growing through a section of the driveway. Company had dug out that section and patched it, stating that the problem would be solved. However, the plants quickly started to grow through again. Called company and the owner came to look at it on 11 May 2015 and said he would come back out and fix it correctly this time. Unfortunately, there has not been any additional repair done. Have called numerous times since, and keep receiving new dates, but they have yet to follow through.

Desired Settlement: Fix the driveway so that plants will cease to grow through (successfully kill the plants and patch the damaged area) so that we can proceed with sealing it as needed.

Business Response: THIS IS NOT A WARRANTY ISSUE. Virginia Driveway’s warranty clearly states that we are not responsible for vegetation that penetrates through the asphalt after we’ve completed our work. Virginia Driveway uses a product called Permitol, which is the strongest industrial strength vegetation killer on the market. When the original work was performed, Virginia Driveway excavated and removed all of the vegetation and thoroughly sprayed the area with Permitol. The plant came back through the driveway for a second time. Technically, this was not Virginia Driveway’s responsibility but since I was disappointed on how the plant damaged the driveway I was concerned that we didn’t put enough Permitol on the vegetation. Virginia Driveway then agreed to come out and fix the issue even though we do not warranty vegetation regrowth. When the driveway was removed, we used Permitol and Diesel fuel to try to kill all of the plant. We then put the asphalt back in as per the contract we had with Mrs. ******. The plant came back a second time and I, Richard Koehler, made a special trip out to the property just to see the issue again. I explained to Mrs. ****** at that we had used Permitol and Diesel fuel before we laid the asphalt and that if the asphalt was removed and the vegetation addressed again that this issue still might happen. I told Mrs. ****** that when we had crews in the area we would address the issue at no cost. Again, this is not a warranty issue. Since this complaint was filed, I have spoken with Mrs. ******* and Virginia Driveway has agreed to take out the asphalt again. It was agreed that is would be Mrs. ******’s responsibility to find a landscape specialist to deal with the plant issue. Once the landscape issue has been dealt with to the approval of Mrs. ******, Virginia Driveway has agreed to lay new asphalt at no charge to her once again. We are a company who stands behind its work and if this doesn’t show how we are committed to standard, then I don’t know what does. Sincerely, Richard Koehler

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, **** ******

9/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Virginia Driveway worked on my driveway on 03/16/2015. Even though I have asked the manager ******* to remove the current asphalt and put new base and than apply new asphalt due to big pot wholes but he suggested that it won't be necessary. They will just put new asphalt on top of the old one and I will never have any problem. Besides if there is any issue withing one year they will be covered under the warranty. I was also received a signed written estimate that they would remove the old asphalt as necessary but they did not. In May I have noticed some of the areas of the driveway were caved in because of those pot wholes and also the asphalt gravels are coming off. Also because of the heat one of the area of the drive way has a vehicle tire mark. I have called and left them a message in May to come by and fix the driveway but I never heard from their office until July. In July I was told that they will be here beginning of August but they never showed up. Since then I have received several phone calls from their office and multiple empty promises. Days after days I have stayed home for them to show up but they never did. They keep giving me run around for several months now. I have the warranty so I am not sure why they cannot come and fix my driveway. I cannot believe that I have paid $4300 for this type of poor service. It is unfortunate that I had to reach out to a third party to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: I want Virginia Driveway to deliver what I was promised under the warranty as quickly as possible before the weather gets bad or the warranty expires.

Business Response: First of all, I would like to apologize to Mr. *****, if Virginia Driveway in anyway has not communicated effectively with him.    In this business, weather constantly dictates our schedule and in the case of Mr. *****, when we have scheduled to have his work completed, the schedule was having to be adjusted because of the weather. We did contact Mr. ***** each time we needed to adjust our schedule, so I do feel like we communicated adequately with him.In regards to Mr. *****’s driveway itself,  it is technically not a warranty issue, as a vehicle was put on the driveway too soon after the work was completed. The tire indentations have nothing to do with the quality of work  that was provided. According to our contract the work was completed as promised. We did remove the failed asphalt as needed and installed a #21A stone at the pot holes before we did the overlay. These areas are not failing whatsoever, and these areas are not the reason why Mr. ***** has contacted us. Because of Mr. *****’s frustration we are currently looking at new ways to approach any warranty issues we may have in a more timely fashion. We are currently scheduled to have Mr. *****’s damaged driveway repaired next week.  Sincerely, ******* *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I am replying to the response from *******: First of all the dates they had scheduled to perform the job the weather was perfectly ok except for Monday August the 9th. The driveway issues where it caved in has nothing to do with the car parking, even an unprofessional can figure this out by looking at the driveway. One of my guest parked their car just about a month ago (in August) and the driveway work was done by Virginia Driveway last March. I was told not to use the driveway for three days after the work was completed but I have avoided using the driveway for one whole week. I had to park my car across the street to one my neighbors driveway for that entire week. So I do not understand how is this too soon. Anyway i will wait for them to fix the driveway. I have received a call from the owner (Bill) that they will be here on September 15th. Thanks to Bill (owner) for calling me and scheduling the date. He was very nice, apologetic and understanding. He is very nice to work with. Regards, ******** *****

8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Va Driveways to seal my drive in May 2015. the job was satisfactory except that the overspray of the chemical used on my drive ended up on my garage door and mailbox. I telephoned Va driveways several days later to tell them what had happened and ask if they could return to clean it off. I had already tried and could not remove it. '****' at Va Driveways advised me that someone would return shortly to clean my home, etc. since May I have called about 10 times - always a friendly response and a promise to come back but no one returns. I have even offered to clean it myself if they will just tell me what I can do to remove the stuff. No response. as a further FYI - when the company arrives they have you sign a form stating what they will do as part of the job - things like edge the drive before they begin. They DON'T do these things. They seem to do the fastest job they can and then leave. i wouldn't trust them again.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to return to my home and clean the overspray off my home and mailbox - as they have promised.

Business Response: As owner of Virginia Driveway, I sincerely apologize to Mr. ****** for our company not getting back and cleaning the sealer off the garage and his mailbox. Virginia Driveway strives to provide excellent workmanship and superior customer service. I’m embarrassed to the fact that Mr. ****** had to respond 10 times and file a complaint to the BBB to get our attention in this matter. The employee that Mr. ****** mentioned, who was responsible for making the right people aware of warranty situations, did not relay the multiple messages that Mr. ****** left. They are no longer with our company and at this time we are scheduling to take care of the situation at Mr. ******’ by Friday of this week. Quality comes first with VA Driveway. We do not try to rush in and do the fastest job we can and then leave. We strive to be best driveway sealer in the ******* ****** and if our customer’s aren’t satisfied, we’ll see to it that we can accommodate them so they are satisfied.  Thank you,******* *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  Regards, ***** ******

7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted this company to seal my driveway about two months ago and the projected date to complete the job was July1, 2015. After several phone calls they started giving me dates to do the job but never showed up. The last phone call they promised to do the job on 7-24-2015 but didn't show up, so I called about three different times on that day and they had changed the date again to the following Monday so I cancelled the job. After being jerked around for a whole month I just got tired of fooling with such a company. Afterwards, my wife and I were going out to shop and saw their construction crew on the same street that we live on paving a driveway from scratch...big bucks. This paving job was obviously the reason they were delaying our work until the following Monday. Bottom line...this company was taking on more expensive jobs ahead of my less expensive job, even though I had waited till my due time on the list. I'm very stressed out over this ordeal and will never use their service in the future. I think this review should be kept on your file for other customers to view.

Desired Settlement: I think this company needs to adhere to the schedule they establish with their customers.

Business Response: As owner of Virginia  Driveway is seems as though every year I deal with a situation like this.  I’m sorry that Mr. ****** does not understand that our company is in demand and that our sealing crew completing jobs is based on weather conditions.Our schedule is constantly moving when it comes to seal coating. And yes, Mr. ****** was pushed back several times due to the weather affecting our ability to get to him on the dates we gave him. Our records indicate that either he or his wife were contacted by phone every time it was required that he be rescheduled. On our estimate-contract which Mr. ****** signed, it clearly states “weather consistently dictates our schedule. Because of the quality of our work, our company, during the sealing season, is in high demand. We ask that you be patient as the need to reschedule your work could occur several times due to inclement weather. Trust us; it is very frustrating for us to have to adjust our schedule, but it is something that is unfortunately unavoidable. We appreciate your understanding if this does happen.”I'm not sure if Mr. ****** saw this on his contract or not but I  we had contacted Mr. ****** either leaving a voicemail or speaking with him/his wife on several occasions.I believe that Mr. ****** is out of line and unaware of how I run my business to come to the conclusion that we would bump his seal job to do a paving job.  Virginia Driveway runs separate paving and separate seal coating crews and these two crews work simultaneously.  Sincerely,******* *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I have tried several times to send responses on your web site with failure. I do want my complaint to remain on your web site:In response to my complaint I feel justified in reporting this company to people who is looking for someone they can trust and do a good job. I don't feel "out of line" with this complaint. Please post this complaint on your web site.Thank you,***** ******

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After getting different quotes from different businesses to clean and fill cracks in the church parking lot and driveway, I got back in contact with Virginia Driveway and spoke with **** ******* on November 10,2014 and informed him that the church had accepted their estimate to perform the necessary work that we had discussed pertaining to the church parking lot and driveway. Due to the nature of the job and the time of year Mr. ******* assured me that Virginia Driveway could perform the job per our discussion, and that they would try and start the job by that Friday. On. November 17,2014 **** ******* had called me and informed me that the job on the church parking lot was scheduled for November 28,1014 and that he was putting extra people on the job so that it could get completed. On that Friday I rode to the church to my surprise to only find one employee with his son working on the job site, after a discussion with this employee pertaining to the lack of other people being there with him, I had noticed not just the lack of employees to perform the job but I had a discussion with this employee pertaining to some of the cracks that he had already cleaned out and he told me that he was going to call **** ******* and give his recommendations on how to proceed with the job. After his phone call he then proceeded to inform me that **** ******* would be in contact with me on that Monday(De.01,2014) On monday Dec.01,2014 around 10am I had heard nothing from Mr.******* so I contacted him via his cell phone and had to leave a message. A little after that I received a phone call from ******* ******* the owner of the company, and during our conversation he had told me that Virginia Driveway WAS NOT going to complete the job and then proceeded to give me reasons as to why not( scheduling conflicts,etc.) which in my view was nothing but a bunch of excuses not to complete the job, I say this because based on other estimates I believe Virginia Driveway had underestimated the job and that was his way of getting out of the job all together. He did tell me that if the church wanted to get someone else he understood, but in order for his company to do the job the right way and stand behind their work it would be better to do the job in the spring, also in the conversation with ******* ******* he did tell me that at no cost to the church he would send some people to the church on Dec.5,2014 to fill in the cracks that the one employee had already opened up but would do nothing else to complete the job as agreed upon between myself and **** ******* and here it is Dec.15,2014 and Virginia Driveway has still yet not and filled in what they had already opened up.The way I see this situation, why would you put a job on the schedule to do only to back out of the agreement "due to scheduling conflicts, and to tell me that **** ******* tells people what they want to hear"

Desired Settlement: For Virginia Driveway to complete the job on the price that was agreed upon

Business Response: I’m glad that my company has a chance to discuss this situation that seems to be of concern to prospective clients. The weather plays a major part in what paving and sealing companies do, especially late in the year. Because of the need to have favorable weather conditions, the schedule is constantly moving for all clients. In regard to Mr. ***********, he contacted us on November 10, which is technically the end of the sealing/crack filling season. Seeing as our company is completely booked between then and the end of the year, we were working very hard to find a time to possibly get his project completed. We sent our crack-filling crew the Friday after Thanksgiving, which consists of two employees (who happen to be a father and a son). These two employees are more than able to complete the work that was supposed to be done in a timely fashion. There was no need to bring in extra crews. The problem was that we’d had extensive rain that week, and the parking lot and the cracks were still very wet. After several attempts to dry the parking lot with our blowers, and as we proceeded to clean the cracks, which consisted of mud, our crew determined that it was too wet to complete the job.                 I personally contacted Mr. *********** and explained to him that we were not going to be able to complete his project this year. I explained to him that, for us to stand behind our work, and for the warranties to apply to the ********** products that we use, the weather conditions would have to be satisfactory according to the manufacturer’s specifications. I told Mr. *********** that we would come out in the spring and we would complete the project when the weather was conducive. We are not a fly-by-night organization that is willing to come in and sacrifice quality for a quick buck. Our company does a good job and stands behind our work. I personally went out to the parking lot to see if the work we had done would leave any cracks open, and I did not see anything of concern that we needed to address.  He did not like my answer and was upset. The only way that I recommended he could find someone else to do the job is if he could find another company willing to do the work in those weather conditions, as Virginia Driveway was not.  I explained to him that he contacted us late in the season and that we would make every effort to squeeze him in. Virginia Driveway, again, offered to complete the job at the same price in the spring.  I don’t understand why he is filing a complaint, as we have in no way done a bad job or left our contract unfulfilled, and we have offered to complete the job in the spring when the weather conditions are ideal for us to do a job that we can stand behind. 

Consumer Response: Per the Board of Directors of the Church of *** ***** and ******** **********.It is clear to this board that there has been a discrepancy in communications between what was repeatedly and clearly communicated to our representative ( **** ***********) by the estimator at Virginia Driveway,and then later in early December by the owner of Virginia Driveway. While we do not seek to accuse, we believe that the original estimator clearly communicated that his bid and contract would fulfill our desire to protect our parking lot before the winter of 2015.In addition, the employee on-site representing Virginia Driveway made it clear to Mr.*********** on the day he began some of the work (never to return), that the larger cracks needed to be filled with asphalt as they were too wide and deep for the crack-fill product to maintain it's integrity.Previous to the estimation, most of these larger cracks had already been blown out by a member of our congregation and should have been readily understood as such by the original estimator.It is the opinion of the board of The Church of *** ***** and ******* ( and in consultation from two other members of the church--one a former asphalt and repair estimator from the ******* Area, and a retired Administrator of an asphalt and aggregate plant in ********) that this should have been understood by the estimator when he assesses the parking lot and thus should be understood by Virginia Driveway as their responsibility ( or faulty estimation )We are glad to hear that Virginia Driveway intends to stand by their work, honor their contract, and thus, reinforce their claim that they are not a "fly-by-night" company. Therefore, in an effort to rectify this situation, the Board of Directors agrees to have Virginia Driveway fulfill it's obligations per it's contract to clean and fill the cracks at an agreed upon date and time in the Spring of 2015. This work will include the driveway leading to the church, the entire parking lot itself and the filling of the larger cracks with hot-mix asphalt where needed.Respectfully,Father *** ********************** of The Board of Directors I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********,  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, **** ***********

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted to remove, replace and expand existing driveway. Estimate specified that the job would include a 6 inch base of 21A stone then install 2.5 inches of SM 9.5 asphalt on top of the stone, to be compacted with roller to a thickness of 2 inches of asphalt. They did not deliver the thickness of asphalt that was paid for and promised in estimate. Job completed on 6/3/14, the next day reported to owner, ******* ******* that there was a line of dirt embedded the full length of the driveway due to lack of thickness in asphalt, no edging on sides, and a visible hole could be seen. A worker came out patched to hole, touched up the edges, but told us the line would go away overtime. Informed owner as of 8/11/14 the line of dirt is spreading and the driveway looks like it's 4 years old, not 2 months. Now grass is growing through the asphalt & sinking at the bottom, was told he would fix the sinking & seal the entire driveway at no cost the week of 8/18/14. No communication or resolution. Did not receive products paid for and promised. Breach of contract.

Desired Settlement: Full refund or completely replace driveway at the specifications promised, with no cutting back on products before winter 2014 nsets in.

Business Response: Virginia Driveway fully executed this contract and in no way cut any corners whatsoever.  The thickness of 2.5" was achieved and compacted to 2 inches.  The dirt that appeared on the driveway came from dirt on the roller and in no way came from the base stone due to lack of thickness.  The edging on the sides with the visible hole was from the homeowner driving off the side of the driveway.  Upon inspection, we could see the tire marks. On all our contracts, we specify that we are not responsible for vegetation growth.  We do use a very potent weed killer before we pave, but it does not always prevent grass from growing through news asphalt. When the owner of Virginia Driveway questioned Mrs. ********* about the "no communication or resolution", she said that maybe she and her husband were not on the same page.  Since the owner spoke with her, Virginia Driveway fixed the cracks in the asphalt from vehicles driving over the edge and sealed to fix the dirt, which would have come off eventually. Virginia Driveway always takes care of its customers 100%.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** *********

9/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my driveway sealed and the price we agreed on was $150. I called after the work was performed and spoke with ******* who processed my payment over the phone. She took my number and told me $150 would be charged to my card. When I received my credit card statement the charge was $155.25. I called ******* and asked her why. She told me that this was due to tak. I questioned this because the tax rat in Virginia is 5.3% and this variance is 3.5%. She said it was a tax from the credit card company and the owner put it on there. I explained that I wasn't told about this fee and it was not authorized. She said she would have the owner call me and the owner did not call me.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the unauthorized amount of $5.25 and an explanation/apology of why I was billed more than what was agreed and why my call was not returned.

Business Response: $6 has been refunded to consumer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, **** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Virginia Driveway, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)