BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers driveway paving, asphalt sealing, decorative concrete and stamped concrete as well asconcrete restoration services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Virginia Driveway, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Virginia Driveway, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Virginia Driveway, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 08, 2012 Business started: 11/10/2011 in VA Business incorporated 11/10/2011 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Richard Koehler , Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Koehler , Owner
Business Category

PAVING CONTRACTORS CONCRETE - STAMPED & DECORATIVE CONCRETE - RESTORATION, SEALING & CLEANING HOME IMPROVEMENTS SEALING - PAVEMENT SEAL COATING

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Paving Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 2702-A Johnson Avenue, NW

    Roanoke, VA 24017

  • P.O. Box 8265

    Roanoke, VA 24014 (540) 520-0635

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After getting different quotes from different businesses to clean and fill cracks in the church parking lot and driveway, I got back in contact with Virginia Driveway and spoke with **** ******* on November 10,2014 and informed him that the church had accepted their estimate to perform the necessary work that we had discussed pertaining to the church parking lot and driveway. Due to the nature of the job and the time of year Mr. ******* assured me that Virginia Driveway could perform the job per our discussion, and that they would try and start the job by that Friday. On. November 17,2014 **** ******* had called me and informed me that the job on the church parking lot was scheduled for November 28,1014 and that he was putting extra people on the job so that it could get completed. On that Friday I rode to the church to my surprise to only find one employee with his son working on the job site, after a discussion with this employee pertaining to the lack of other people being there with him, I had noticed not just the lack of employees to perform the job but I had a discussion with this employee pertaining to some of the cracks that he had already cleaned out and he told me that he was going to call **** ******* and give his recommendations on how to proceed with the job. After his phone call he then proceeded to inform me that **** ******* would be in contact with me on that Monday(De.01,2014) On monday Dec.01,2014 around 10am I had heard nothing from Mr.******* so I contacted him via his cell phone and had to leave a message. A little after that I received a phone call from ******* ******* the owner of the company, and during our conversation he had told me that Virginia Driveway WAS NOT going to complete the job and then proceeded to give me reasons as to why not( scheduling conflicts,etc.) which in my view was nothing but a bunch of excuses not to complete the job, I say this because based on other estimates I believe Virginia Driveway had underestimated the job and that was his way of getting out of the job all together. He did tell me that if the church wanted to get someone else he understood, but in order for his company to do the job the right way and stand behind their work it would be better to do the job in the spring, also in the conversation with ******* ******* he did tell me that at no cost to the church he would send some people to the church on Dec.5,2014 to fill in the cracks that the one employee had already opened up but would do nothing else to complete the job as agreed upon between myself and **** ******* and here it is Dec.15,2014 and Virginia Driveway has still yet not and filled in what they had already opened up.The way I see this situation, why would you put a job on the schedule to do only to back out of the agreement "due to scheduling conflicts, and to tell me that **** ******* tells people what they want to hear"

Desired Settlement: For Virginia Driveway to complete the job on the price that was agreed upon

Business Response: I’m glad that my company has a chance to discuss this situation that seems to be of concern to prospective clients. The weather plays a major part in what paving and sealing companies do, especially late in the year. Because of the need to have favorable weather conditions, the schedule is constantly moving for all clients. In regard to Mr. ***********, he contacted us on November 10, which is technically the end of the sealing/crack filling season. Seeing as our company is completely booked between then and the end of the year, we were working very hard to find a time to possibly get his project completed. We sent our crack-filling crew the Friday after Thanksgiving, which consists of two employees (who happen to be a father and a son). These two employees are more than able to complete the work that was supposed to be done in a timely fashion. There was no need to bring in extra crews. The problem was that we’d had extensive rain that week, and the parking lot and the cracks were still very wet. After several attempts to dry the parking lot with our blowers, and as we proceeded to clean the cracks, which consisted of mud, our crew determined that it was too wet to complete the job.                 I personally contacted Mr. *********** and explained to him that we were not going to be able to complete his project this year. I explained to him that, for us to stand behind our work, and for the warranties to apply to the ********** products that we use, the weather conditions would have to be satisfactory according to the manufacturer’s specifications. I told Mr. *********** that we would come out in the spring and we would complete the project when the weather was conducive. We are not a fly-by-night organization that is willing to come in and sacrifice quality for a quick buck. Our company does a good job and stands behind our work. I personally went out to the parking lot to see if the work we had done would leave any cracks open, and I did not see anything of concern that we needed to address.  He did not like my answer and was upset. The only way that I recommended he could find someone else to do the job is if he could find another company willing to do the work in those weather conditions, as Virginia Driveway was not.  I explained to him that he contacted us late in the season and that we would make every effort to squeeze him in. Virginia Driveway, again, offered to complete the job at the same price in the spring.  I don’t understand why he is filing a complaint, as we have in no way done a bad job or left our contract unfulfilled, and we have offered to complete the job in the spring when the weather conditions are ideal for us to do a job that we can stand behind. 

Consumer Response: Per the Board of Directors of the Church of *** ***** and ******** **********.It is clear to this board that there has been a discrepancy in communications between what was repeatedly and clearly communicated to our representative ( **** ***********) by the estimator at Virginia Driveway,and then later in early December by the owner of Virginia Driveway. While we do not seek to accuse, we believe that the original estimator clearly communicated that his bid and contract would fulfill our desire to protect our parking lot before the winter of 2015.In addition, the employee on-site representing Virginia Driveway made it clear to Mr.*********** on the day he began some of the work (never to return), that the larger cracks needed to be filled with asphalt as they were too wide and deep for the crack-fill product to maintain it's integrity.Previous to the estimation, most of these larger cracks had already been blown out by a member of our congregation and should have been readily understood as such by the original estimator.It is the opinion of the board of The Church of *** ***** and ******* ( and in consultation from two other members of the church--one a former asphalt and repair estimator from the ******* Area, and a retired Administrator of an asphalt and aggregate plant in ********) that this should have been understood by the estimator when he assesses the parking lot and thus should be understood by Virginia Driveway as their responsibility ( or faulty estimation )We are glad to hear that Virginia Driveway intends to stand by their work, honor their contract, and thus, reinforce their claim that they are not a "fly-by-night" company. Therefore, in an effort to rectify this situation, the Board of Directors agrees to have Virginia Driveway fulfill it's obligations per it's contract to clean and fill the cracks at an agreed upon date and time in the Spring of 2015. This work will include the driveway leading to the church, the entire parking lot itself and the filling of the larger cracks with hot-mix asphalt where needed.Respectfully,Father *** ********************** of The Board of Directors I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********,  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, **** ***********

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted to remove, replace and expand existing driveway. Estimate specified that the job would include a 6 inch base of 21A stone then install 2.5 inches of SM 9.5 asphalt on top of the stone, to be compacted with roller to a thickness of 2 inches of asphalt. They did not deliver the thickness of asphalt that was paid for and promised in estimate. Job completed on 6/3/14, the next day reported to owner, ******* ******* that there was a line of dirt embedded the full length of the driveway due to lack of thickness in asphalt, no edging on sides, and a visible hole could be seen. A worker came out patched to hole, touched up the edges, but told us the line would go away overtime. Informed owner as of 8/11/14 the line of dirt is spreading and the driveway looks like it's 4 years old, not 2 months. Now grass is growing through the asphalt & sinking at the bottom, was told he would fix the sinking & seal the entire driveway at no cost the week of 8/18/14. No communication or resolution. Did not receive products paid for and promised. Breach of contract.

Desired Settlement: Full refund or completely replace driveway at the specifications promised, with no cutting back on products before winter 2014 nsets in.

Business Response: Virginia Driveway fully executed this contract and in no way cut any corners whatsoever.  The thickness of 2.5" was achieved and compacted to 2 inches.  The dirt that appeared on the driveway came from dirt on the roller and in no way came from the base stone due to lack of thickness.  The edging on the sides with the visible hole was from the homeowner driving off the side of the driveway.  Upon inspection, we could see the tire marks. On all our contracts, we specify that we are not responsible for vegetation growth.  We do use a very potent weed killer before we pave, but it does not always prevent grass from growing through news asphalt. When the owner of Virginia Driveway questioned Mrs. ********* about the "no communication or resolution", she said that maybe she and her husband were not on the same page.  Since the owner spoke with her, Virginia Driveway fixed the cracks in the asphalt from vehicles driving over the edge and sealed to fix the dirt, which would have come off eventually. Virginia Driveway always takes care of its customers 100%.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** *********

9/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my driveway sealed and the price we agreed on was $150. I called after the work was performed and spoke with ******* who processed my payment over the phone. She took my number and told me $150 would be charged to my card. When I received my credit card statement the charge was $155.25. I called ******* and asked her why. She told me that this was due to tak. I questioned this because the tax rat in Virginia is 5.3% and this variance is 3.5%. She said it was a tax from the credit card company and the owner put it on there. I explained that I wasn't told about this fee and it was not authorized. She said she would have the owner call me and the owner did not call me.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the unauthorized amount of $5.25 and an explanation/apology of why I was billed more than what was agreed and why my call was not returned.

Business Response: $6 has been refunded to consumer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, **** ******

10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a quote from ***** ******,Virginia Driveway,on 4/21/12 for $800, to fill in all cracks in driveway and reseal driveway. According to Mr. ******, none of the cracks would be visible once the repairs were made and sealing completed.Work was performed on 6/21/12. Mr. ****** was paid in full on 6/22/12. By 6/23/12 the filler inserted into driveway cracks had sunken and separated. I contacted Mr. ******, who reveiwed the work performed, with his boss, who agreed the work would require repeating as the wrong filler was used, and the workers used were new to the job.Numerous calls to Mr. ****** have been made resulting in promises to schedule the rework, which has not occurred.Additional calls have been unanswered.On 8/20/12 Mr. ****** was informed that if the rework was not completed by 8/24/12, a claim would be made to the BBB and that I would expected a full refund.

Desired Settlement: Full refund, in cash.

Business Response: Mr. ***** ****** called and stated he has spoken with the consumer and made arranagements to come and walk through the project  to determine what needs to be done  and will come on October 15 and do the job.