BBB Accredited Business since

Southwest Sunroom & Window Co., Inc.

Phone: (540) 389-8844 View Additional Phone Numbers 625 College Avenue, Salem, VA 24153 http://southwestsunroomandwindow.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sunrooms and windows, decking, undershield, patio covers, enclosures.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Southwest Sunroom & Window Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Southwest Sunroom & Window Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Southwest Sunroom & Window Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 1980 Business started: 05/15/1980 in VA Business incorporated 11/04/1988 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Salem Business License

Phone Number: (540) 375-3019

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kim F. Feivor, President Mr. Steve Miles, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kim F. Feivor, President
Business Category

PATIO, PORCH & DECK ENCLOSURES SIDING CONTRACTORS CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES WINDOWS - INSTALLATION/SERVICE DOORS SCREEN ENCLOSURES PATIO & DECK BUILDERS SUNROOM & SOLARIUM DESIGN & CONSTRUCTION

Industry Tips
3-Day Cooling Off Rule BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 625 College Avenue

    Salem, VA 24153 (540) 389-8844 (800) 277-8845

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we purchased the storm doors, September 29, 2014, the salesman came out to the job-site. In addition, I was given a brochure that detailed the storm door we came to and he put an asterisk above it. This was on pg. 9. The "Storm Door Construction" details are on page 3. The “Deluxe Storm Door specifically says on line 4 of the bottom half of the page, “the bottom sweep eliminates drafts” and then specifically says the sweep is a “double” sweep. Pg. 8 says "DELUXE SERIES STORM DOORS INCLUDE: Double seal bottom sweep" This was important to us because of energy efficiency. Otherwise, why not put in a cheaper door, i.e the *** *** *********** storm door which only provides 1 (one) sweep and would have cost less money?? When I did speak to the owner/salesman, ***, in the middle of November. (He was the salesman who came to our house) I complained to him by telephone that the bottom sweep the installer is providing had only a single blade and not a double as it showed in the brochure. He said he had just called the company and they told him there was no double blade provided on an "expandable" door. We were never told that this "expandable" style would change the construction of the door. We were NOT made aware of any other difference nor were any change(s) communicated from the salesman’s mouth about these storm doors and the absence of a double sweep. He is the owner of the company and should have known his products! If he could not meet the demands of the customer, he should have said so. Instead of walking away from the sale because his company could not do the work, it is as if he sold us the doors and he would do what he could with what he had. When I spoke to him on the phone, I asked him why he did not explain this to us while he was sitting with us and he said “it was never brought up.” I asked him, how we would know "to bring it up" if we were not familiar with an “expandable door” and the changes affecting the bottom sweep? I told him that he was responsible for advising us since he was the owner/salesman and he should have been familiar with the storm doors he sold us! He mislead us. The salesman was negligent in explaining that the product he sold us would be different than the one he installed. I.e. the "expandable" storm doors we purchased did not include the double sweep as shown in the catalog. Why wasn't this mentioned?? This was important to us because it would help with eliminating drafts. Secondly, and most importantly, before the installer left the jobsite, I looked at both doors more thoroughly. I pointed out several problems to the installer. He didn't act as though he wanted to stay and fix them so I asked him to pass it on to the owner. That was on a Saturday. I never heard back from the owner! I believe it was Tuesday of the following week that I sent him an email. (Would I have heard back from him had I not contacted him?) Nevertheless, I told him I was contacting the BBB. His response? He sent me an email stating I needed to pay him the majority of the balance before he would send the installer back to the house "to take care of what he needs to do." This is just plain wrong! That installer should have been sent back immediately or at least on Monday. It seems wrong to pay the balance first, before he will send out the installer to finish the job. We had already paid over 700.00 down back in September and he is asking for an additional 683.05 before he will return the installer? This seems unethical since the balance is generally paid when the work is completed. This job was NOT completed. The problems included the following; The "Handle set" and "Deadbolt" were not put on consistently between the two doors. In other words, on one storm door the deadbolt was placed on top, with the handle on the bottom and on the other storm door, the deadbolt was placed on the bottom, with the handle on the top. (We have two other storm doors very similar to the *** **** i.e, very similar hardware and they appear to set right, and they were not put on with these problems. Neither have such large gaps between the door and frame) Secondly, the installer did not install the appropriate "screwpacks" that were included with the dead bolt and handle set. The installer is using plastic to hold the lock in place which does not allow for the security it was designed to accomplish. I contacted the company (*** ***) and requested a copy of all parts included in the install. I received a photo copy of their parts list and was advised by the customer service person that they SHOULD HAVE been installed because they are a part of the security. Photos will be made available. Thirdly; the installer did not let me know the door handle was blocking the storm door so he had to improvise the storm door and it now sets with the appearance that the door is open. (In fact, both storm doors he installed appear to be open and have at least a half inch gap between the frame and the storm door.) Had he told me about the alleged door lock being a problem, I could have fixed this problem by removing the door handle and replacing it with a different lock. What was the excuse for the gap on the other door? Nevertheless, I also complained that the "single" sweep was not flush to the ground. He stated the concrete was not even and he would have recommended a threshold below the storm door to solve the problem. But because there was no threshold, he said there was nothing he could do. Fourthly, it appears the hole for the deadbolt lock was not drilled correctly and thus, the deadbolt sits at an angle. And, you can see a part of where the hole was drilled that the deadbolt should have covered. Again, we pointed this out to the installer, but he left the job site anyways. As I said, the owner never contacted me even though I asked the installer to communicate my dissatisfaction with the install. I feel as if the product was not a good fit for my situation, but the company thought they would improvise/manipulate the door in order to make the sale. If I am wrong, then they did a terrible job and I want it to look like it did in the brochure. On a side note, other problems that bothered us were the following; the installer drilled the storm door over a drain where small pieces of metal dropped all over the place. Why he didn't put a drop cloth over the drain I don't know. I can only hope pieces of the metal shavings were unable to make it into the drain and cause future problems. To add insult to injury, he left the shavings all over the ground and WE had to clean them up. Also, the installer was supposed to be at the jobsite on Friday, the 28th at around 0930. He could not be here at 0830 because he had to go and pick up the threshold from *****. (Was it really appropriate for them to wait six weeks to pick up the threshold?) Nevertheless, he did not arrive until 1030 that morning. On the following day he told us he would be at the jobsite at 1030. He did not arrive until 1130. He was late both days so we had to work around his tardiness.

Desired Settlement: The business has the responsibility to make the doors set right inside the frame and the lockset/handle installed as per factory designs. The signature on their email says "We are an Energy Star partner and offer products which incorporate state-of-the-art technology for maximum performance, durability and energy savings." Pray-tell, how a job like this can be energy efficient? I think the door to the stairwell basement should be replaced altogether if they cannot make it right. Both doors have a large gap between the frame and door and need to be addressed. A threshold should be added to the basement stairwell door as the installer advised in order to make it set flush. The locks are just wrong and need to be fixed! I think an install manager should be the one to do the install because we are not happy with the installer they sent out. If they cannot make it right then pay another company to fix/finish the job correctly or refund us for the door install so we can pay someone to fix them. have to wonder now if ***** would have done a better job? After all, they were under 1500.00 for the same doors and may have done a better job with the install. Maybe we can have them fix the problems and Southwest Sunroom can pay them? That may be another option.

Business Response: We have settled this matter with Mr. *******.  See attached copy of our e-mail to him on 12/04/2014..... our check was sent 12/09/2014.We just received a copy of your complaint to the BBB. We are sorry for the many issues you feel you have with both the doors and the installation. I must say that ***** is probably one of the best installers in the area, and has over 20 years experience. Usually all we hear are compliments from our customers regarding his workmanship. Anyway, at this point there is probably nothing that we could do to make you happy. So, as you suggested for desiredsettlement, we will be giving you full credit for the cost of installation which is $250.00. We will have a check in the mail to you by the first of next week.Current balance.... = $76.00Additional credit....= $174.00Total credit...........= $250.00*** ******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this was a no win situation for me. They took it upon themselves to bypass the BBB and contact me directly, and then told the BBB they worked it all out. Note their letter stated "We have settled this matter with Mr. *******." Really? That's news to me that I accepted their settlement. At what point did the BBB mediate the problem? You didn't even ask for pictures. I now own a storm door that allows airflow through the bottom because it has only 1 floor sweep which does not rest flush with the ground it sets on. And, what about the installation that was done half assed by leaving a gap on the left side of both storm doors? The gap is in BOTH doors. In addition to the one door efficiency, the door lock is simply resting on a piece of plastic which can be broke with the right tools. I will have to put a new security door at that location in order to ensure security and energy efficiency. Shame on the BBB for their flawed process in achieving a just resolution. Note the company's response which said "Anyway, at this point there is probably nothing that we could do to make you happy." HE DIDN'T EVEN TRY TO RESOLVE THINGS in order to make me happy!!! To add insult to injury, the BBB didn't even help with an attempted resolution toward the problems. Nevertheless, I will accept his partial refund for 1 of the 2 storm doors. It's better than nothing. It will become secure when I put on a new security door. I should not have to pay for the install of a door that was not put on correctly and according to the photos in factory brochures.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, **** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on Southwest Sunroom & Window Co., Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart