BBB Accredited Business since

CertaPro Painters of Roanoke VA

Phone: (540) 400-8923 View Additional Phone Numbers 2716 Colonial Avenue, SW, Roanoke, VA 24015 http://roanoke.certapro.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial  painting contracting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CertaPro Painters of Roanoke VA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CertaPro Painters of Roanoke VA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CertaPro Painters of Roanoke VA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 04, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2004 in VA Business incorporated 11/02/2006 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kelly Fleming, Treasurer Mr. Scott Fleming, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelly Fleming, Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Scott Fleming, General Manager
Business Category

PAINTING CONTRACTORS HOME IMPROVEMENTS WALLPAPER INSTALLATION & REMOVAL

Alternate Business Names
Certa Roanoke, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 2716 Colonial Avenue, SW

    Roanoke, VA 24015 (540) 400-8923 (800) 462-3782

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Certapro Complaint RE: Certapro Painters ******** ****** ***** *******, Owner Work Performed at ***** ***** ***** **** ********* ** In November, 2012, Certapro completed painting the exterior of my house. The contract for painting called for a two year warranty on the work. In the summer of 2013, within the warranty period, I contacted the Roanoke office of Certapro to request some touch-up on the paint. After several weeks of no contact, I repeated my request for touch-up and was advised by the Certapro owner that the painter had reported that the touch-up had been completed. As no one had ever appeared to perform the work, this was not the case. At that time, out of frustration with the delays and misinformation I advised Certapro that I would perform the touch-up myself. Subsequently, still within the warranty period, in June of 2014, I advised Certapro by letter that large sections of paint were pealing off my house. After more than two weeks, I received a return call from the owner to schedule an appointment to view the work. At this appointment my position was that there had been inadequate preparation in the surface before the paint had been applied. The position of Certapro was that the pealing was the result of the failure of the underlying paint which had been painted over. The owner, however, did agree that some touch-up was appropriate and he would schedule some one to perform the work in “the next couple of weeks.” No one ever appeared and the work was never performed. Then, in October, 2014, still within the warranty period, in response to a Certapro promotion, I called the national phone number to request the advertised two-year inspection. I verified with the customer service representative that an e-mail had been sent to ***** in the Roanoke office to perform the inspection. No contact from the Roanoke office was ever received. I allege the above is ample evidence of the failure of Certapro to honor the contracted warranty and complete the contracted work in a workmanship like manner.

Desired Settlement: I request that the owner of the Roanoke Certapro franchise perform a detailed inspection of all painted surfaces. Where the paint failed to adhere to the underlying surface, these areas shall be scraped, primed, and repainted with two coats of paint applied by brush with appropriate drying time between coats. Areas needing touch-up shall be prepared and repainted as specified above. A new two-year warranty shall be granted for all newly painted surfaces. I believe the above is a reasonable remedy and fully within the scope of the original contracted warranty.

Business Response: CertaPro will touch up and paint in areas where needed.  This includes preparation of the surfaces as CertaPro deems necessary.  CertaPro will not extend a new two-year warranty for the newly painted surfaces.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Certapro 3.15.2015     Certapro’s resolution to my complaint is rejected for the following reasons.   Certapro does not adequately address all issues raised in the complaint.   Certapro fails to indicate when the touch-up painting may be done (weather permitting, of course.)  Since it has been months since they first promised to accomplish the touch-up, a reasonable timeline should be presented.   Certapro fails to indicate in detail how the surface will be prepared and painting accomplished.  To leave this to “Certapro deems necessary” is not sufficient.  I know they don’t reach an acceptable standard to perform this work by not adhering to appropriate acceptable practices as specified in the original complaint.  Just leaving the preparation of the surfaces to Certapro’s discretion doesn’t work.   Certapro fails to address the inspection to which I am entitled as a Certapro customer.  There is then no identification of the surfaces where the paint failed to adhere leading to large sections peeling.  Regardless of the cause of this peeling, Certapro should have anticipated this problem and provided appropriate surface preparation in the initial painting.  In addition, the areas subject to the earlier touch-up have been exposed to over 8 months of severe weather requiring additional preparation before painting.   Certapro fails to provide any warranty on the newly painted surfaces.  This provides no assurance that the work will be accomplished with generally accepted painting practices or in a workmanship like manner.   Therefore, Certapro has failed to propose a good faith resolution to the complaint.Regards,******* *******

Business Response:

1.  It is reasonable to get the touch ups completed by the end of April.  We do not have designated crews that work on touch ups so we will work this into our regular scheduling.  
2.  Regarding peeling surfaces, preparation will include the following: scrape off loose and peeling paint, prime with oil based primer.  Then we will re-paint.
3.  ***** will have a scheduled inspection with the customer to identify areas that need to be repainted.  The inspection needs to take place the week of April 6-10.  Mr. ******* may call our office to schedule this inspection at his convenience. ###-###-####
4.  The warranty will not be extended two additional years from the date of these touch up services.
Sincerely,
***** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Certapro has no history of completing work within a general time frame.   Certapro does not offer any warranty on the newly painted surfaces. Regards,******* *******

Business Response: First, let me say that I am disappointed that the customer has not accepted our proposed resolution of this matter. I would like to "make good" our original warranty promise. As Mr. ******* has pointed out, we did originally fall down on a couple of attempts to complete touch-ups due to various circumstances pursuant to my meeting with Mr. ******* in 2013 to review the affected area. One point of clarification: the work we did for the customer took place in August of 2012 and not in 2013 as was previously indicated by Mr. *******.  In terms of the paint failure issue, the paint was failing down to the original bare rough-hewn lumber substrate.  Unfortunately, sometimes pre-existing layers of paint will fail after new paint has been applied and this is unrelated to the most recent coating.  In this case, the rough-hewn lumber substrate (non-typical siding) probably should have been stained with a solid stain originally in lieu of being painted. Note: appearance would look much like a paint, but a stain would have allowed better adherence due to the nature of the rough-hewn wood.  That being said, we agreed to paint this property on **** ******** for Mr. ******* and we still want to back our original warranty by performing necessary touch-ups needed at this time since we failed previously to do so. I do hope Mr. ******* will reconsider our offer to do so. Sincerely, ***** *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Certapro conducted a detailed assessment of the entire exterior of the house prior to offering their original contract.  At the time of the consideration of the contract, no mention was made of the possibility of the paint peeling over previously painted surfaces.  Certapro presents the ad hoc argument that the house should have been stained rather than painted.  I too wish the wood had been stained, but I cannot reason that the failing Certapro paint can be blamed on the decision of the previous owner of the house.  Some of the peeling is on sections of unprepared bare wood or over Certapro applied primer.    In engaging a professional painting firm, I had the reasonable expectation that the surface would be prepared in accordance with current acceptable practices as specified by the paint manufacturer (******* ******** ******).  Whatever the reason for the peeling, Certapro should have taken whatever steps necessary in the preparation of the surfaces to receive the new paint and provide a coating with a reasonable lifespan.   The failing paint was caused either a lack of technical knowledge or by too many corners cut by Certapro painters.  I am now left with an exterior surface which continues to peel and without any recourse of warranty for current and future problems caused by a defective paint job.   Regards,******* *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on CertaPro Painters of Roanoke VA
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)