BBB Accredited Business since

Rock Creek Mulch & Nursery, Inc.

Phone: (540) 344-5770 View Additional Phone Numbers 1109 Hollins Road, Roanoke, VA 24012 http://www.rockcreekmulch.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a nursery offering topsoil, plants, trees, and spreading mulch.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rock Creek Mulch & Nursery, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rock Creek Mulch & Nursery, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rock Creek Mulch & Nursery, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1998 in VA Business incorporated 02/16/2001 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Morehead, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Morehead, President
Business Category

NURSERIES-PLANTS, TREES, ETC. PLANTS-RETAIL TOPSOIL LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS LAWN & GARDEN EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES MULCHES

Method(s) of Payment
all major credit cards, checks
Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 1109 Hollins Road

    Roanoke, VA 24012 (540) 344-5770 (540) 797-5013

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 3 scoops or 3 ton of topsoil @45. a scoop or ton as stated on the website. When it was delivered it did not look like 3 scoops it looked like 1. When I said something to the driver I was told how heavy it was. Paid $172.00 for what is 1 scoop of topsoil, and that's what it looked like in the truck. I moved this in 1 day not the coverage so stated in the measuring guide listed on the site.

Desired Settlement: Either delivery the correct amount or refund the amount of over charge, plus delivery fee as I will have to pay some other company for another delivery

Business Response: The customer ordered 3 scoops of topsoil and I loaded 3 scoops of topsoil.I have cameras and looked back over to make sure and you can plainly see 3 scoops being put in truck for his delivery.Topsoil is so dense and heavy it doesn't take up too much space to be a ton or 1 scoop.Whereas, mulch is fluffy and looks like a lot more than what it is.Usually, you can get 100 sq feet out of one scoop at 2". That is if everything is pretty level and not too deep. I am not aware of what the customer was using it for.I delivered what the customer ordered and would not need to do otherwise. If he ordered 3, then he got 3.You can look at my BBB rating and see that we have not had any complaints in many years and that we serve our customers well.I can try to work with the customer to get him some more topsoil and waive the delivery or something if he would like.Thank You

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. This did not cover 300 square foot 1 inch deep. the scoop might have filled the back of a small pick-up truck. When dumped from the truck the  pile wasn't more than 3 foot high. Regards, ***** ********

Business Response: I spoke to Mr. ******** on the 10th of Nov and he said I could come look at what he did with the topsoil.He said the dirt was waist high when delivered.The area that the mulch was dumped was about 9' by 7' and waist high.This is a photo of 3 scoops delivered to a customer on Friday the 7th.It is about waist high and approx the same measurements.Normally you should get about 100 sq ft per ton on topsoil.The area Mr ******** covered was approx 6' wide and about 55' or so long that went around a tree.So that is around 300+ sq ft. Plus, there were some small piles still around also.I feel like the right amount was delivered and again I have a video showing me loading the truck with 3 scoops.We have no reason to cheat someone over dirt or anything else.If Mr. ******** needs more topsoil, I will waive the delivery fee to help this along.Thank You

Consumer Response:  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ***** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rock Creek Mulch & Nursery, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)