BBB Accredited Business since

Bob's Muffler Shop, Inc.

Phone: (276) 628-4207 584 East Main Street, Abingdon, VA 24210

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This firm offers auto repair services including exhaust repair, brakes, tire alignment, oil changes, state inspections, and the repair of mufflers, shocks and struts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob's Muffler Shop, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob's Muffler Shop, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bob's Muffler Shop, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2005 Business started: 12/01/1981 in VA Business incorporated 03/26/1991 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Abingdon Business License

Phone Number: (276) 628-3167

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Bob Alvis, President Mr. Randy Alvis, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Alvis, President
Business Category


Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 584 East Main Street

    Abingdon, VA 24210 (276) 628-4207


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Mr. *****, On the afternoon of Nov 25, 2013, I picked up my black Geo Tracker from ***** Garage where a new (rebuilt) engine had been installed. ***** recommended that two things be done: a front wheel alignment and a flushing/replacement of transmission fluid . I drove the car home from ***** (5 miles) and made plans to have the car at Bob's Muffler first thing in the morning. Bob's was a very trusted place to take our vehicles - for brakes, wheel alignment and other things. I had been taking our vehicles there for over ten years and, with one other exception, have always been more than satisfied with the service. So the next morning, Nov 26, I drove the car to Bob's (@7 miles) – a business I trusted - and left it there with the above instructions plus I also requested that someone look at the 4-wheel dr and make sure it was functioning properly as well as the overdrive switch. That afternoon I picked up the tracker (Inv#******) and drove it home (7 miles), being assured that all the issues had been taken care of. That evening my wife and I had to run an errand and decided to take the tracker. After about 4 miles the engine stopped on a deserted road on a very cold night and would not restart. I checked the oil, there was none. My wife and I were flabbergasted. I had the tracker towed to ***** because I wanted to know what happened. ***** noted that the oil pan plug was missing; it had been removed or loosened enough to fall out easily (there was evidence of deliberate tampering) and all the oil had drained out somewhere. The oil was subsequently found at the top of our driveway [see photo]; it had been there for two days before being discovered as we had left originally at night and it had snowed sufficiently that evening to mask the oil for two days. The Tracker lasted exactly 11 miles from leaving bob's. So I went to Bob and said ‘Bob the engine on this tracker was destroyed because someone loosened the oil pan plug enough to fall out and the only place that really could have happened was here.’ Bob asked what had been done to the car in the shop and I told him. He replied that the plug couldn't have been removed at his shop because nothing I asked to be done required removing the plug. I agreed with him then pointed out that that wasn’t really the issue, whether it was required or not someone did remove the plug and it certainly appeared that that someone worked at Bob's. I asked and Bob agreed to go ask whoever did the work about it; he came back in 2-3 minutes and said, no it wasn't us, our guy said he didn't touch the plug. And Bob, that was the extent of your investigation into the destruction of my Geo Tracker engine ($4,000) and the placing in danger of my wife and I. So Bob – for the sake of a sloppy and weak ‘investigation’ - you treated a devoted customer poorly, someone who has recommended Bob’s to many people and been bringing his own vehicles to your shop for over a decade. That lack of courage, Bob, and sense of responsibility to your customers is your real legacy and what you will be leaving for whomever takes over the shop when you leave. I personally do not believe you, or your ***, were lying to me when you said your guy denied removing the plug – I can believe whoever did it would say that, and it may not have been the person you spoke to - but the fact remains that there was only one place it could have occurred and that was in your shop. Over the 14 years we have lived in Abingdon a similar thing has occurred twice and both times the businesses understood their responsibility and stood behind their work - they made it right. And we have continued doing business with them in trust and confidence. But Bob, you haven’t shown that level of courage, honesty or sense of responsibility. You have traded your lifetime reputation for $4,000. I will also say this, speaking from long experience, you have a real problem in your shop and whoever did this will do it again. I am requesting that you now please provide me with the name of your insurance company so that I may make a claim for the loss of my vehicle. I would appreciate your doing so immediately so I can have the repairs made as soon as possible. Sincerely,

Desired Settlement: replace and install new engine in GEO Tracker that Bob's employee destroyed.

Business Response: In response the claims made by Mr. ******** I would like to make a few comments. First of all, the work that was done to the Geo, which was an alignment and transmission flush, does not require the technician to be around the oil drain plug. Transmission lines are taken loose at the radiator and hooked to the flush machine and while the vehicle was in the air, there was/is no reason to even look at the oil pan plug. Secondly, the claims of an insufficient investigation by Bob are ridiculous. Mr. ******** had called and spoke to me about what had happened. I  told Bob what had happened when he came to the shop that day and we both questioned the tech on what and how he had performed the work on the Geo. His response was that he hadn't nor had any reason to tamper with the oil drain plug. He didn't even take notice of the drain plug. When Mr. ******** came in and spoke to Bob, he was fully aware of the accusations being made and had done the proper investigation.   Next, I spoke to *** at ***** Garage and he never accused us of tampering with the drain plug, but that someone must have. He and I both find it hard to believe that you can loose 5 qts of oil in your driveway and not see any oil nor recognize the oil pressure light in the vehicle.   The odd thing about this is that I know of no one that has ever had this happen to them and Mr. ******** has had exact same thing happen twice. I would look closer to home and someone tampering with your vehicle than accusing credible businesses with this and looking for a handout to support your enemies. Finally, the legacy spoken of is one that has 32 years of good honest service, reputable in the community, and a commitment to do the right things when we make an error and we do, no one is perfect. In this case, Mr. ******** was told by ***** that he was out of luck with them and he is seeking a free lunch, so to speak, from somewhere else.We are in no way responsible for the loss of the drain plug and feel no obligation to pay for an engine that we didn't destroy. Our history and honesty in how we do business is our legacy and one man's campaign to drag our name through the mud is deplorable and uncalled for.    

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.   I respectfully disagree and will not comment further at this time. ******* ********