BBB Accredited Business since

The Orvis Company, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (540) 345-6789 View Additional Phone Numbers 1711 Blue Hills Drive, Roanoke, VA 24012

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers sporting goods and equipment, as well as clothing and gifts, via mail order and retail stores.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Orvis Company, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Orvis Company, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 15, 1987 Business started: 05/15/1987 in VA Business incorporated 09/29/1989 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Mike Rigney, Chief Operations Officer Ms. Chris Andrews, Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Rigney, Chief Operations Officer
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Green Drake Outfitters
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1711 Blue Hills Drive

    Roanoke, VA 24012 (540) 345-6789

  • 19 E. Campbell Avenue

    Roanoke, VA 24011 (540) 345-3635

  • P. O. Box 12000

    Roanoke, VA 24022 (540) 345-6789


    4180 Main Street, Historic Route 7A

    Manchester, VT 05254

  • 89 Holland Ave.

    Ottawa, ON K1Y 0


    7227 N High St, Ste 118

    Columbus, OH 43085


    5161 Peachtree Pkwy # 630

    Norcross, GA 30092


    680 Phillips Pl # F

    Charlotte, NC 28210


    3701 Sumner Blvd # 100

    Raleigh, NC 27616


    11800 W Broad St

    Richmond, VA 23233


    142 E Ontario St Ste 1

    Chicago, IL 60611


    248 Sutter St

    San Francisco, CA 94108


    911 Bellevue Way Ne

    Bellevue, WA 98004


    320 SW Powerhouse Dr

    Bend, OR 97702


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE: ********** Order. On Sunday morning, September 11, 2016, I was creating a purchase via **********. I needed new sweaters and wanted the cable pattern. I scrolled through the sweaters and found two very nice sweaters and they were offered by the vendor known as ORVIS. I placed both sweaters into my shopping cart, but did not proceed to checkout, because I had not completed my shopping at that time. I soon received an email confirming the purchase of one of the sweaters, but I had not okayed this purchase yet. I contacted ORVIS and was told that since ****** sent the purchase to them, there is nothing they can do to stop it. When I told them that I had not finalized the purchase, the rep said that I might have used "1 click" which would have instantly authorized the purchase. I never use "1 click" on any of my ****** purchases. Although nothing has been shipped, the ORVIS rep explained how I can send the sweater back for a full refund. Why would I have to do that, if I never ordered the sweater in the first place? Just asking. I looks like ORVIS has side jacked my ****** activity and is making every effort to complete the shipment. Please make no mistake about this. I have every intention to order the two sweaters, but with the way this has happened, I have reservations about ORVIS now. I cancelled all of my ****** Credit Card Pay Options, so that ORVIS will not be paid if they send this item, that I never ordered.

Desired Settlement: I need ORVIS to Stop this shipment.

Business Response: Out liaison to ****** and Customer Service Reps have since handled this matter. The order has been canceled.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ******* *******

4/25/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a set of fishing flies from Orvis based on a commercial they air here in ******. The flies can clearly be seen in said commercial and it does not say that ********* will receive a different set than ******** buyers. Went to their website to order the special "TV commercial" fly set, but had a problem checking out said item. Called their customer support 1-800 number and a CSR said that there is a separate product number for ******** buyers of that set. He did not mention, however, that it was a different set. Still encountered problems checking out, so called back and another CSR handled my order over the phone. He, too, did not say anything about the set being different than the one sold to ********s/shown in the commercial they air in ******. Received the set, which was sent from their ******** shipping location, and discovered that only 2 or 3 of the 20 flies in the set were the same or similar to those in the set shown in the ******** commercial/sold to ********s (I know what US buyers receive because an acquaintance in the States sent me a photo of his set). Emailed Orvis customer service to register a complaint and a CSR replied that Committee for the International Trade in Endangered Species (CITIES) regulations forbade them from shipping the flies in the commercial set to ******. I emailed back to ask why they don't show the different set that ******** buyers receive in the commercial that they air here or at least state in said commercial that we will receive different flies than those shown and explicitly state as much on their website and during over-the-phone orders and inquiries. At best, not doing so is a deceptive business practice; at worst, it is out and out fraud. It is around two weeks now and they still have not replied to that email nor did I receive an apology in the only response that I have received. Clearly, customer satisfaction is not a big concern to them. Thank you

Desired Settlement: Would simply like them to change the commercial they air in ****** and explicitly inform ******** buyers on their website/over the phone that they will receive a different set of flies than ********s receive. No use in my trying to get a refund because my order came to something like $11.25 and they charge a $10 shipping fee for returns. It would be nice, however, to receive an apology and know that subsequent ******** buyers will not be deceived/ripped off. Thank you

Business Response: spoke to customer and apologize for being giving wrong information. Refunded customer and sent gift card.

Consumer Response: An Orvis representative contacted me via phone about an hour ago and apologized for what occurred, said she has refunded my money and will be sending me a gift card, and, most importantly, will see to it that company associates will advise ******** customers ordering a product over the phone when said product cannot be shipped here &/or a different item will be substituted for ******** buyers.If what was stated turns out to be the case, I will consider the problem rectified.  Will let you know if/when that is so.Thank you very much for your assistance. **** *****

1/28/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/6/14, I ordered a fly rod & reel for my nephew. It was suppose to be a Christmas present. I was told their were on stock for this item except in their ******** ** store and they would have it sent to me be fore Christmas. Teo day later, the Orvis Company informed me vis Email that the item was not available from the ******** ** store and would be sent 1/19/15. On 1/10/15, I receiced a letter telling me it would be sent 2/19/15 due to manufacturing delays. On 1/15/15, I once again received an email informing it would be sent on 3/1/15. Manufacturing delays were their reasoning. On 1/16/15, I canceled the order for a better rod & reel from **** *** **** which will be delivered to my nephew on 1/22/15 - CONFIRMED! I sent a letter to Orvis CEO, Voice Of The Customer, and Customer Service complaining about the delays and the situatin they put me in. To date, Ihave received no replies. I really did not expect to receive a reply as this seem to be a common practice for the Orvis Company.

Desired Settlement: One delay is understable, but 3 is not. My cost should have been dicounted 15% each time it was delayed. Whoever has the responisibility of manufacturing should be terminated. If I told my customers, after advertising my product, that the delivery date will be 4 months late. I would be TERMINATED and loose forever customers which has happened.

Business Response: A member of management that works for the presidents office contacted the customer back the same day that this complaint was filed.  We offered to send an avaialble replacement at a heavy discount to the customer, but he had already ordered from another compay.  We completely understand, and agree with the customer that the backorder notices and delays put him in a bad position and were completely our fault.  We did send the customer a PR gift certificate for use on any future order for his frustration.  We are very sorry at our failure and would be happy to provide any future assistance should the customer give us another opportunity.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.   Regards, ***** *****

1/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received gift cards in the mail from Orvis with no terms on how to use them and no expiration dates.These cards were re-useable. I ordered items online and the gift cards worked for every transaction. Afterwards, I sent them an email to cancel all the orders and only honor the first 10 orders. The problem is they have begun shipping these orders, but they have gone back after the fact and adjusted the price on the items without my consent. They have removed the gift cards from the transactions, and have charged my credit card with the balance of the amount without my consent. I have never heard of any store adjusting the price of an item after the transaction has been completed, and after I received a confirmation email on the transaction, especially without my consent.

Desired Settlement: 1. Simply refund my credit card for all transactions that were re-adjusted after the fact and without my consent. 2. Allow me to keep any items that have been mailed and were paid wiith my credit card without my consent. 2. Fix their gift cards immediately, so they can not be reused in the future 3. No further contact by email or other means from Orvis

Business Response: Dear BBB: Our system does allow customers to "type in" on the website gift certificate numbers more than once, however they cannot be used more than once.  The "gift card" is a valid number, but the balance goes down accordingly when it is used.  We suspended and cancelled Ms. *******'s orders where she attempted multiple times to use the same cards becaus the balance due is zero. We have let the customer know that we have honored the orders with a coupon and with the subsequent gift cards, and they have already been redeemed.  We did not charge back for anything already approved.  Going forward we will not be able to honor the same coupon or gift card numbers.  Our coupons state that they are for one use only.  Our gift card numbers do not expire, however, when the balance is zero, there are no monies left to use. Thank you. **** ** **** Special Assistant to the President The Orvis Company Inc.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Please remove the complaint from the system and posts.  Regards, ***** *******

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their claim is. 100% customer satisfaction. You may return an item at any time for a complete refund. What they claim and what they do are two completely different facts. I returned sport coats, sweaters, pants and other items that I can't recall that were completely lost an totaled over $1,200. I made call after call after call to customer service. Eventually, after several months, they informed me they could not locate the items. They did acknowledge, however, the fact they had received two packages from me. Now, again I have returned a package to them two weeks ago and no acknowledgement to date. This company has the absolute worst customer service. One needs to continually call them. It's like they're trying to wear you down so you'll just give up. I am a retired senior and don't deserve to be treated with indifference. Your assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Refund. Change returns system to work like **** **** and/or ****** ***.

Business Response: Thank you for the message. We received this package from the customer on 11/26/2014, not two weeks ago.  It was quite a sizeable return, and took a few days to process.  It was in processing this morning, but I have requested everything be expedited for Mr. & Mrs. ********.  We apologize for any delays.  The funds have been released and customer should expect the refund checks to be cut and mailed on Thursday, December 4th. Have a great day!

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Also sent a package a couple of years ago Orvis said they never received.  If can find the shipping receipts will send to the BBB. Regards, ******* ********

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been fly fishing 100 too 150 days a year for 23 years, about 12 of the as an Orvis endorsed guide in Eagle County. Twice while I worked there as a guide we won Orvis endorsed shop of the year ,that was in the early to mid 90's. I also have fished on the U.S fly-fishing team for a couple of years before becoming a restaurateur and very avid Fly fisherman and golfer. I'm also married with children. Too the point I have a ton of gear that I've accumulated over the years most of it Orvis. From ***********, ,************ ,************, ********, now ******. same in waiters. I've had so many different pairs of Orvis waiters I don't know where to begin. They have always been garbage, ************ to guide waits to the new ******. My wife bought me a new ****** two Christmas ago. She did not get pro form and got me the rod because I didn't have a 4 piece 5 weight that I liked. I fished it a bit and it snapped in the but section while fighting a 14inch brown. this rod probably had 60- 70 days on it when it snapped. This was around Christmas the following year. My wife then proceeded to buy me a pair of ***** waiters for that Christmas 2014, because she was sick of seeing me coming home half soaked from whatever pair or waiters I threw on. I fished about 20 days in the ****** when they started leaking. The broke right at the seem where the neoprene booty is attached to the gortex. I called repair and explained where they had ripped and I believed them to be defective and I would like to send them back and get a new pair. They said they would determine if they were defective or fixable. I also had just received my year old ****** that I had sent for repair lifetime warranty = 30 bucks. After calling in my new repair order on my two month old ***** waiters, that day I went fishing with my rebuilt ******, I broke on first hook set LOL!!!!! So I called in another rod repair to be sent in at the same time as my waiters. these repairs were called in I believe in February or April. I did not receive any of my gear for over six weeks. During that time I traveled Wyoming, Montana, Utah, and Colorado the whole time I fished a 29$ eagle claw 5 weight, it's landed thousands of trout still not broke kind of amazing. I bought 4 more and had enough money to buy a pair of Patagonia waiters, lol. Anyways ***** waiters leak at repair spot again maybe 20 days fished. I am not calling in another order for 30 bucks and hours of phone time and weeks or even months on repair time. I will never use an Orvis product again and I discourage anyone else from doing so. They don't make it they just put their name on it and not stand behind their products. From one entrepreneur to another TAKE SOME PRIDE IN WHAT YOU DO Sincerely *** ****** ********************* ****************** ###-###-#### ###-###-#### ###-###-#### fax ###-###-#### if you want to get ahold of me

Very poor customer service. And fatly equipment. I have been fishing Orvis products for 20 plus years. My first fly rod was a fleuger 8'6, 5 weight I still have it never has broke 99 dollar investment. After many hours in the river and the local Orvis fly shop Fly Fishing Outfitters I got a job as a full time wade guide, this was 1999. As a wade guide, if I was outfitted I would re reimbursed for all things I brought to the trip like rods, waders, terminal tackle, lunch. So I owned 5 they started off as Clearwater 5 weights and after multiple 30 dollar repairs they became ********. I then bought a restaurant in 2007 ******* ******* grill where I also worked as a waiter and I was lent money by 6 different fly fishing clients. That were all fully outfitted by me and my pro forms. I still have 7 pairs of Leakey waders and all sort of boot from size 4 to 14. I have been a businessman now for 9 years and have hot guided since I still however fish over 150 days a year and have been offered a spot on the US team every year for the last 10 years, also while working at FFO we were voted Orvis endorsed shop of the year twice. ( **** ***** owner) OK MY PROBLEM I have one through twelve weights in multiple Orvis rod varieties, all my five weights are broken I have 4 broken Orvis rods and one old sage DS2. they have broken slowly over the years and I didn't want to deal with trying to get them fixed between repair and shipping fees I could by a cheaper rod, so I bought a couple of those lefty cray rods still have em they fish ok. I had broke my last five weight ******* and my wife went out and got me a ****** because she's sweet and she new I was fishing a lesser rod supposedly. This was X- mas 2013. Then x-mas of 2014 she gave me a beautiful pair of Orvis ***** waders, because I had put a bunch of duck tape on my last pair of Orvis Guide waits lol should be called light weights. duck tape works way better than your patch kits FYI. Anyway the ****** got a tear in them right where gortex seem meet the neoprene boot, it was double stitched and opened up after about 20 days in the river. I feel this would be a defect and replaced and not repaired. The ****** had snapped about three weeks prior, I took I to the shop my wife bought it they returned it and gave me back a " repaired" rod in 4 or so weeks. Not lying first cast set hook on a 12 inch brown rod broke in exact same spot, cleanest break ive ever seen landed small trout by hand. Went home called Orvis rod and waiter repair and told them what just happened to the rod, and that I was about to go fish Idaho, Montana and Wyoming in a week and I wouldn't mind having it back before I left, I also then told him about my waders and set up a repair order on them as well as seeing if I could them fast tracked back to me. They informed me this would probably not be possible. I asked to speak to a manager they said there was not one available and they would get back to me. I mailed both items after getting repair #s, and never heard from anyone. now four weeks later I'm back from fishing many of the great tail waters of the west. I landed thousands of pounds of trout on a 30 dollar Eagle Claw 8'6, five weight I got at ***-****. I was using a 500 dollar large arbor Orvis reel and 100 rios line. I did this to prove a point I pounded fish with a 30 dollar rod your selling a 20 dollar rod with a 500 dollar name. and then not standing behind them. I called today and they told me both were in repair.

Desired Settlement: I want to give back my ****** and the ****** for cash and be done with Orvis. paid 900$ I will take 500$ and give the stuff back. Only call me if you want me to be on your research and development team or your quality control team! otherwise mail me a cahiers check for 500 plus 30 dollars for shipping I want a check for the rod, waders, and shipping. I have receipts. I will take 1200 $ us I do not want Orvis shop credit either your products just get worse and more expensive. you have my equipment already just send me a check. *** ******

Business Response: We have tired to contact customer for the last 3 days at the number giving.  We havent heard anything back yet. The nest step would be to send customer a letter.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, *** ******   still waiting to hear from orvis

Business Response: Orvis has tried to call customer 4 times and left messages for customer to call us back on 9/17 @ 1:20 and on  9/18 and on 9/19

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, *** ****** I have all my phone records both cell and no proof of any calls on those dates.. I can document. they could have also emailed. I will try to contact that person whom said called personally.. still not satisfied  9/30/2014 my cell is ###-###-#### email   *********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  Have resolved the complaint. Regards, *** ******

7/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase from Orvis online on June 12th in the amount of $43.36. I noticed that I used an incorrect credit card for the purchase, so I immediately called to see if I could switch from the Mastercard I entered, to a Visa. They were fine with this, and took the information for the switch. The confirmation email for the purchase states, "Don't worry. Your debit or credit card will be charged only when your order ships. If you see what looks like a deduction on your online statement before that, it is simply a reserve to ensure your order can be processed. This is known as "authorization hold" and can typically last a few days depending on your bank." I did see this hold on my Mastercard, but on 6/14 the amount of $43.36 cleared my Visa. (Please note, the shipping dates were 6/13 and 6/18.) On 6/16, $13.93 cleared my Mastercard account and then another $29.43 cleared my Mastercard account on 6/20. I have called several times, and emailed, only to hear that my Mastercard is already being credited. I was told that it should be back on my Mastercard by 6/25, but nothing yet.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like the $43.36 put back on my Mastercard. They should have never charged the full amount on the Visa on 6/14 if the final item didn't ship until 6/18, if their email clearly states they don't. This has caused my Mastercard account to incur two NSF's, but I was able to get money in to cover them before I incurred a fee. I would like those "NSF's" removed from my Mastercard account, because it looks like I am not financially responsible, and this was clearly their error.

Business Response: We credited the customer back the full charge to her Mastercard on 6/26/2014.  It may take her bank a couple of days to process on their end.  I have left the customer a message and let her know this and to make sure to check for the credit again.  I also offered to personally contact her bank if that would help speed things up on their end.    

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. The reimbursement did credit my account this morning.  Regards,***** **** 

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on The Orvis Company, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart