BBB Accredited Business since

TruGreen

Phone: (540) 389-0181 Fax: (540) 389-1243 View Additional Phone Numbers 31 Wells Street, Salem, VA 24153 http://www.gottrust.org/trugreen



Click for BBB Rating on TruGreen

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers lawn care services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TruGreen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for TruGreen. BBB of the Mid-South has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for TruGreen.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 1990 Business started: 02/15/1988 in VA Business incorporated 02/15/1988 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Salem Business License

Phone Number: (540) 375-3019

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Young, General Manager Mr. John Grzanka, Service Manager Mr. Benjamin Moore , Sales Manager Ms. Shalenia Williams, TruGreen Customer Care Lead
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Shalenia Williams, TruGreen Customer Care Lead
Principal: Mr. Brian Young, General Manager
Business Category

LAWN MAINTENANCE

Alternate Business Names
TruGreen Limited Partnership
Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 31 Wells Street

    Salem, VA 24153 (540) 389-0181 (800) 234-9575 (901) 597-5697

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Spring of 2014 I called TRUGREEN about a mole problem in the yard. I was told that they would treat the moles and they might leave, but this is difficult and they could not promise it would work. Let's try it. They treated my lawn six times at the cost go $141 each trip. In Feb. 2015 I called and told them it was not working and discontinue service. Their response It just snowed, let us try once more. They sent a ***** man last week in talking to him I learned that they were not Killing grubs, but were applying weed killer and fertilizer. They apply mole stuff in the fall, but not to my yard. This was all news to me. They did leave customer service list of what they did, but I thought that was used to kill grubs that which feed the mole

Desired Settlement: Since I have lawn service here, and I did not contract for fertilizer weed killer they should refund $846. And they did not service the moles in the fall.

Business Response: I apologize for the miscommunication and our inability to meet your expectations.  I have entered the refund into our system as of today.   ***** *****

3/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with ChemLawn in 2012/2013 to provide six months worth of lawn service. There was a slight improvement with my lawn's appearance after their service period. But as I told them when I signed up I only wanted six month's worth because I was selling my house and moving out of state. Since the six months of service I have been continually harassed by various TruGreen employees based out of the ***** ** location. They call my cell phone early in the morning, afternoons, and 830 at night. They call me every couple of weeks, for the last year. I have repeatedly told them to stop calling, but they persist. They always say it's going to stop, but it never does. They ran off another neighbor of mine with the same kind of harassment. I cannot emphasize just how horrible this company is. Just remember, if you deal with these people you will never get rid of them...ever.

Desired Settlement: My attorney has advised me that I should get a letter from TruGreen stating that Tru-Green ChemLawn will not contact me via mail, phone, email, or any other way. I would like it signed by their manager from the ***** or ******* ****** TruGreen office.

Business Response: Per your request, we have added your information to our internal Do Not Contact database. We have taken all steps possible from the corporate level and will do our best to ensure your request is honored to not be contacted by TruGreen in the future. The local office in ****** ** is aware of your request and measures have been taken at that location also to ensure your request is honored to the best of our ability. TruGreen is fully committed to complying with all solicitation laws. If in the future you would like to receive TruGreen service we would ask that you contact us.

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All calls made to Trugreen ************ April 21 2014 Called spoke with ****** to schedule vegetation kill spray for lot *** * *****. Explained the lot went thru to ***** *** **. Ask that I be called prior to spraying so lot could be mowed for best results. Trugreen employee stated they would call prior to treatment. May 5, 2014 Called spoke with **** and ask when the lot would be sprayed he said it was scheduled for the following week and they would call prior to spraying. May 6, 2014 had lot mowed in preparation of spray. May 30, 2014 received bill $250 for treatment check was written and cleared my bank. I was out of town from May 13 to July 9 July 10, 2014 Called spoke with *** and explained that only half the lot had been spayed evident by the continue growth on half the lot. He stated he would put a work order in to have it completed and someone would call me within 24 hours to tell when the job would be completed. I explained I would have to have mowed again cost of $40 he said he would put in for refund of $40. July 11, 2014 paid to have lot mowed again $40. July 16, 2014 Called and spoke with ***** whostated it would be completed on Thursday or Friday of that week and the $40 was mailed to me. July 24,2014 Called and spoke with ***** She said the order had been cancelled for unknown reasons and she would reschedule and send the $40 which was listed as a credit. Aug 4, 2014 Call and spoke with ***** who stated he would have the local General Manager ***** ***** call me to take care of the matter. He stated the $0 had been mailed. Aug 5, 2014 received $40 check for re-mowing of July 11th. August 8, 2014 had the lot mowed again $40. Aug 11, 2014 Went to the TriGreen office and spoke with ***** ***** who stated his Service Manager had stated the re-spray had been completed. I told him it had not evidenced by continue growth of grass. He stated he would refund the $40 for the Aug 89 mowing and he would be sure the spay was completed. Sept 2 2014 had the lot mowed again $40. I have pictures dated of the grass growth and as of today this job has not been completed.

Desired Settlement: Tru Green owes me $250 for not completing the job, $80 for mowing for a total of $330 which I want to close this file

Business Response: Ms. *****, I know there have been issues with this service this year and I am willing to credit back the entire $250 for the service that you have paid for.  I can not pay the mowing cost without having the receipts.  My system will not allow me to refund more than what was paid for the service so I will need the receipts to turn in to my accounts payable department so that we may pay for those services. Please mail those receipts to: TruGreen C/O ***** *****  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I am not interested in a "credit" if they will send me the $250.00 then I am willing to close this issue Regards, **** *****

Business Response: My proposal was to send the $250.00 back to you in the same manner in which you paid.  If you paid via credit card, it will be credited back to the card.  If you paid by check you will receive a check.  I am sorry for the confusion the word "credit" caused.  If the proposal is sufficient to close the claim I will put the refund request into our billing department so that the process can begin.   *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I paid this bill with a check which has cleared my bank and therefore expect a check to be sent to me to be received within 10 days of today Nov. 13, 2014.   Regards, **** *****

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Trugreen employee treated my lawn after I told him not to. I received a bill for the service of $99.00. I am not going to pay the bill. The employee called on June 2, 2014 to say he would be treating our lawn the next day. I told him 3 times that I did not want nor needed any service from Trugreen as I had received poor service the year before. The next day a service person came and treated our lawn. I received a bill for $99.00. I do not intend to pay the bill and will see Trugreen in court befor doing so. I am telling all my friends of this encounter.

Desired Settlement: A letter of apology and a cancelation of the bill would seem to be in order.

Business Response: I will request the credit on the account today so Mr. ****** will not owe for the application and will send a letter of apology.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I have received a past due bill for $89. Regards, ****** ******

Business Response: Upon review of the account, a billing statement was printed and mailed to the customer June 28, 2014.  TruGreen issued the credit to the account July 1, 2014; the account has a zero balance.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** ****** 

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being a customer for a couple of years we noticed that service had taken a decidedly downward trend. Service was being preformed without leaving notice that they had been on the property letting us know what was done and then we would receive a bill for said service. The dispute is for service on Sept 13, 2013 at our residence in the Cloverdale area, we had prepaid for fall aeration when the service was completed(?) no paper work was left and I finally figured they had been here when I found "plugs: of soil in my back yard. However about a week later I received an additional charge of $84.00 for that same date, after repeated calls I spoke to the service manager, ****. Voiced my concerns and dissatisfaction. He advised that the additional charge was for a Lime treatment, however no paperwork was left at the house as agreed and none could be located for the date in question. Ironically a service rep was at the house the date my wife received the bill for this service, and he told her that he did not know what this bill was for and volunteered the statement that the company had not started Lime treatments as of yet. The service manager said that he would follow-up on the problem and get back to me in a few days. After several days about 10 to 14 I tried again and repeatedly to call him and the general manager back to discuss this issue. Numerous messages have been left and a response has not been returned. I have received numerous collection calls from the company reps and have explained the situation every time to the agent, who each always says that they are noting it in their system and emailing the company managers to contact me. I will not pay this charge until it is shown to me that it was actually completed, each agent that I have talked with can not find documentation for this service in their system. I have cancelled all additional service both in writing and verbally several times now.

Desired Settlement: I desire an apology and credit to my account showing that the charge has been erased and then no further contact from this company or their representatives. NOTE: the contacts have been numerous since September. Supposedly noted in the company system per the agents I have talked with.

Business Response: I do apologize for the miscommunication and the lack of response to the request to speak to a manager.  I believe that there was some misinformation surrounding the lime application as we complete lime applications all througout the year and we do many of them along with the aeration because when the lime gets into the aeration holes it will break down quicker which is desirable.  I also apologize for the note **** left.  He has been spoken to and are trying to use this as a training opportunity.  The $85 has already been credited to the account so you do not owe for that service.  I will also put your phone number on our do not call list.   ***** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Regards,******* *****

11/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
Trugreen aerated my yard (attachment) last October. In March, I noticed the yard especially bald areas/yard looked the same as before the aeration was done. I was charged $250.00 by Trugreen which they withdrew from my bank account the day after the aeration was done.
 
I began calling in March the local 540 area code number for Trugreen office in Salem Va. I was told that they would have someone to come out and assess. They would also put me on a schedule to redo the aeration. No one came; I waited two weeks and called again, this time talking to customer service in other locations. I asked to speak with someone in Salem V A and they said when no one is available in that location other locations pick up. I voiced my concern and asked when someone will come back out to my home. I was told by the person that they were inputting my concern and request in the computer and someone should contact me within 48 hours. Another week went by and I called again, same response and routine. This went on for nearly three months. In July, I requested the manager for the Salem location and was told (***** *****, I was told) they would send him an email immediately to contact me. Again, no contact to me was made on their part. The last time I called was August 2013 and was told they will make certain the manager contacts me and here it is October. Due to so much frustration I have not contacted Trugreen nor have they contacted me since August 2013.
 
As a senior citizen I feel duped by Trugreen with no respect, or regard for me as a customer. I have always paid for any lawn work done by them and to be totally ignored says a lot about the character and reputation of a company who advertises customer satisfaction. 
 



















Desired Settlement: Given my numerous contacts to resolve/ask that they redo my lawn and was promised by customer service representative it was on the list to return and they never did-I want my $250.00 back-highly frustrated by lack of response.

Business Response: Mrs. ***** I apologize for the communication issues that occured as well as the results of the original service not meeting your expectations.  I do not remember receiving an email asking me to contact you directly.  Typically in sitiuations in which I receive an email to contact a custome I respond the same day or the next at the latest.  There were notes sent to the branch however and you are correct in saying that we did not handle the issues in the manor that we should have.  I will agree to refund the cost of the aeration and seeding back to you and will start that process today.   Again I apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate the feedback so we may serve our customers better in the future.   *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.   I  am satisfied with the response and have been compensatedRegards,******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on TruGreen
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart