BBB Accredited Business since

The Green Team

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 400-2647 802 Kerns Avenue, Suite 12, Roanoke, VA 24015 http://www.jointhegreenteam.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers landscaping, lawn maintenance and tree service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Green Team meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Green Team include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for The Green Team include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on The Green Team
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 19, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2007 in VA Business incorporated: 02/10/2005 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Derek Jones, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derek Jones, Owner
Business Category

LAWN MAINTENANCE LANDSCAPE MAINTENANCE TREE SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
On Time Lawn & Landscaping, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 802 Kerns Avenue, Suite 12

    Roanoke, VA 24015 (540) 400-2647

  • P. O. Box 206

    Troutville, VA 24175

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was no contract with the company. They were to contact me before they would proceed with work and they did. They continued to come/do work when they were not authorized to do so, even after phone calls, and continued to bill.

Desired Settlement: The bill balance needs to be adjusted to show a zero balance as stated above they continued to proceed with work they were not authorized to complete.

Business Response: Mr. signed up with our service on 3/20/14 on his home residence and his rental property. He was mailed a detailed overview/pre-payment letter on 3/21/14. I also personally explained the service and price to him on 3/20/14 on his property. Mr. received service from us from 3/22/14 until 8/22/14 at which point he told us to discontinue service, which we did immediately. The account from that phone call with my office manager was " 08/22/2014 02:28 PM - 239 - NEW CALL: call mr to set up appt to meet on lawn to discuss needs and recommendations. He misunderstood and thought he was getting 3 apps on each lawn, didnt realize it would be 6 for each property. At first he told me to cxl the rental and keep service on his property but then said he needs work done and reseeding done first because lawn is in bad shape." After this call I personally contacted Mr. immediately to advise that I would meet him on his property to discuss an issues that he had and that I would offer him a free aeration/seeding service for his misunderstanding at which point Mr. told me he did not wish to meet me or receive the free service. However, at this point he had received four services on each property, one of which on each property was free of charge so he only owed for three applications on each property which is what he said he agreed to. Also we had communications with Mr. on 11/20/14 in which the note from my office managers account said "mr was returning a call from -----, but wanted to discuss his bill, adv'd he owes $135.28 on his property and $53 on his rental. he says he is not happy that no one has contacted him before ------ about seeding his lawn or about his concerns and dissatisfaction with the service so he was only going to send in partial payment. Adv'd that ---- has attempted to call him and that he never mentioned to me prior to today that he was dissatisfied with the service." On 12/17/14 my office manager left Mr. a message regarding his balance and was unable to reach him. At this point Mr. account was turned over to our collections department. During this service time Mr. was mailed statements on 6/4/14 and 7/3/14 as a friendly reminder that he had a balance with us. Upon sending notices we never received a phone call note or any other form of communication letting us know his desire to stop service until 8/22/14. Due to interest charges Mr. now owes $54.52 on his rental property and $137.28 on his home property. Billing statements we also sent out on 9/11/14, 10/08/14, 11/10/14, and 12/08/14 as a reminder of his balance. I will be happy to provide any and all documentation I have related to these accounts upon request by any party involved.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. We had no contract, they were advised to discontinue the service and they continued and continued to charge even after they were contacted and told not to.  Regards,****** ********

Business Response: Mr. cancelled service on 8/22/14 and there were no other services performed after this point. However, we are a locally owned company intent on keeping customers and former customers happy and satisfied. I would offer Mr. a resolution to pay $95.90 which is %50 off of his current balance to resolve this account.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I would like the business to send me an updated bill.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** ********

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved from my home in May. In June I received what I believed to be a final lawn mowing bill for mowing that should have ended on May 9, 2013. In September I received another bill. Since I was unsure of why I was receiving additional charges, I emailed the Green Team stating that I believed I had already paid in full and needed information regarding this bill for 48.55. I did not receive any correspondence from them until December when they mailed me another bill through the post office and emailed to ask for my new billing address. I emailed a reply that I needed information regarding the reason for the bill. I did not hear from them again. However, shortly after that, I received a letter from ******* ****** Recovery - a collection agency - attempting to collect my debt. I am extremely upset that, after being a loyal customer for a number of years, I was turned over to a collection agency without the courtesy of responding to my two requests to explain the bill to me. I consider this to be very poor business protocol to ignore a customer's request for information regarding a bill, meanwhile turning it over to a collection agency.

Desired Settlement: I have excellent credit and do not want a credit agency showing up on my credit rating for a bill that I would be willing to pay promptly and I want ***** from the Green Team to explain to me why I owe the funds so that I can resolve this matter to the satisfaction of both the Green Team and me.

Business Response: We mowed the property on the 1st and the 9th. We only received a payment for the one cutting that was preformed on the first, and not the one on the 9th. I had sent the invoices to only address that I had on file and it was never paid.  I had emailed Ms. ***** and never received a response. As for the collection agency we are still working out the kinks with this, and is a learning process. Ms. ***** was an outstanding customer and we enjoyed having her as a customer. I would have called her personally but I did not have an active phone number. I have put a credit on the account for the intrest and she can send in the payment of the 45.00 for the last cut on the 9th to our local office. I will update the mailing address to include the po box and resend an invoice to that box. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ***** *****

4/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the owner of green team just called me and called me a liar and in idiot because I cancelled services with him. he NEVER scheduled the service call with me and had a technision just come out randomly to my house. i have 2 dogs and can not have chemicals sprayed around them. i do not appriciate a business be rude and using rude language. i never had a contract with him, and he never scheduled a firm appointment with me, i have no obligation to him or his company and yet he acted as if i owed him money.... i WILL NEVER use this company and will tell everyone how rude the owner is.

Desired Settlement: written appology

Business Response: I'm so sorry that this has been a problem that wasn't taken care of. We strive to take care of any issue or complaint as soon as we can. This problem should have been handled right of way. A manager had given the said employee a chance to follow up with Mr. ******s compliant the employee was supposed to send a letter and did not. The employee is no longer employed with the company, and in hindsight it was evident that the employee didn't care about our customers the way we would like for all our employees to care for and treat our customers.  I'm sorry that Mr. ****** had to deal with such a discourteous employee and we will do whatever we need to do to prevent this type of behavior in the future.       Thanks,   ******  

2/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable