BBB Accredited Business since

The Green Team

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 400-2647 802 Kerns Avenue, Suite 12, Roanoke, VA 24015 http://www.jointhegreenteam.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers landscaping, lawn maintenance and tree service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Green Team meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Green Team include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on The Green Team
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2007 in VA Business incorporated 02/10/2005 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Roanoke City Business License

Phone Number: (540) 853-2524

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Derek Jones, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derek Jones, Owner
Business Category

LAWN MAINTENANCE LANDSCAPE MAINTENANCE TREE SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
On Time Lawn & Landscaping, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 802 Kerns Avenue, Suite 12

    Roanoke, VA 24015 (540) 400-2647

  • P. O. Box 206

    Troutville, VA 24175

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The owner of this business came to my door, was extremely rude, and bullied me into having a service I had previously cancelled; I asked him to not perform the service (spraying chemicals) as we were having additional lawn projects done at the time, and he only treated half of the yard when he did. I then spoke with the customer service manager and explained to her what had happened, at which point I thought she took care of everything. A few months later, I receive a bill saying it is overdue for $49.00 and accruing interest. I called and spoke with Derek, the owner who bullied his way inside my front door (I was on the phone and had a crying baby in my arms) and bullied me into having services I did not request and previously cancelled. I would like to see my bill cancelled and account cleared. I would also request that they not harass me or send any more communications in the future.

Desired Settlement: Cease and desist any communications from the business. Remit a credit for the services I was bullied into receiving by the owner (he did not have an appointment and showed up and performed only partial job), thus giving me a $0.00 balance on my account. If this does not occur, I will pursue full reimbursement for bogus chemical treatments via the courts.

Business Response: We are sorry you were not happy with our service, therefore, we will credit the application fee of $49.

2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was no contract with the company. They were to contact me before they would proceed with work and they did. They continued to come/do work when they were not authorized to do so, even after phone calls, and continued to bill.

Desired Settlement: The bill balance needs to be adjusted to show a zero balance as stated above they continued to proceed with work they were not authorized to complete.

Business Response: Mr. signed up with our service on 3/20/14 on his home residence and his rental property. He was mailed a detailed overview/pre-payment letter on 3/21/14. I also personally explained the service and price to him on 3/20/14 on his property. Mr. received service from us from 3/22/14 until 8/22/14 at which point he told us to discontinue service, which we did immediately. The account from that phone call with my office manager was " 08/22/2014 02:28 PM - 239 - NEW CALL: call mr to set up appt to meet on lawn to discuss needs and recommendations. He misunderstood and thought he was getting 3 apps on each lawn, didnt realize it would be 6 for each property. At first he told me to cxl the rental and keep service on his property but then said he needs work done and reseeding done first because lawn is in bad shape." After this call I personally contacted Mr. immediately to advise that I would meet him on his property to discuss an issues that he had and that I would offer him a free aeration/seeding service for his misunderstanding at which point Mr. told me he did not wish to meet me or receive the free service. However, at this point he had received four services on each property, one of which on each property was free of charge so he only owed for three applications on each property which is what he said he agreed to. Also we had communications with Mr. on 11/20/14 in which the note from my office managers account said "mr was returning a call from -----, but wanted to discuss his bill, adv'd he owes $135.28 on his property and $53 on his rental. he says he is not happy that no one has contacted him before ------ about seeding his lawn or about his concerns and dissatisfaction with the service so he was only going to send in partial payment. Adv'd that ---- has attempted to call him and that he never mentioned to me prior to today that he was dissatisfied with the service." On 12/17/14 my office manager left Mr. a message regarding his balance and was unable to reach him. At this point Mr. account was turned over to our collections department. During this service time Mr. was mailed statements on 6/4/14 and 7/3/14 as a friendly reminder that he had a balance with us. Upon sending notices we never received a phone call note or any other form of communication letting us know his desire to stop service until 8/22/14. Due to interest charges Mr. now owes $54.52 on his rental property and $137.28 on his home property. Billing statements we also sent out on 9/11/14, 10/08/14, 11/10/14, and 12/08/14 as a reminder of his balance. I will be happy to provide any and all documentation I have related to these accounts upon request by any party involved.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. We had no contract, they were advised to discontinue the service and they continued and continued to charge even after they were contacted and told not to.  Regards,****** ********

Business Response: Mr. cancelled service on 8/22/14 and there were no other services performed after this point. However, we are a locally owned company intent on keeping customers and former customers happy and satisfied. I would offer Mr. a resolution to pay $95.90 which is %50 off of his current balance to resolve this account.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I would like the business to send me an updated bill.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** ********

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved from my home in May. In June I received what I believed to be a final lawn mowing bill for mowing that should have ended on May 9, 2013. In September I received another bill. Since I was unsure of why I was receiving additional charges, I emailed the Green Team stating that I believed I had already paid in full and needed information regarding this bill for 48.55. I did not receive any correspondence from them until December when they mailed me another bill through the post office and emailed to ask for my new billing address. I emailed a reply that I needed information regarding the reason for the bill. I did not hear from them again. However, shortly after that, I received a letter from ******* ****** Recovery - a collection agency - attempting to collect my debt. I am extremely upset that, after being a loyal customer for a number of years, I was turned over to a collection agency without the courtesy of responding to my two requests to explain the bill to me. I consider this to be very poor business protocol to ignore a customer's request for information regarding a bill, meanwhile turning it over to a collection agency.

Desired Settlement: I have excellent credit and do not want a credit agency showing up on my credit rating for a bill that I would be willing to pay promptly and I want ***** from the Green Team to explain to me why I owe the funds so that I can resolve this matter to the satisfaction of both the Green Team and me.

Business Response: We mowed the property on the 1st and the 9th. We only received a payment for the one cutting that was preformed on the first, and not the one on the 9th. I had sent the invoices to only address that I had on file and it was never paid.  I had emailed Ms. ***** and never received a response. As for the collection agency we are still working out the kinks with this, and is a learning process. Ms. ***** was an outstanding customer and we enjoyed having her as a customer. I would have called her personally but I did not have an active phone number. I have put a credit on the account for the intrest and she can send in the payment of the 45.00 for the last cut on the 9th to our local office. I will update the mailing address to include the po box and resend an invoice to that box. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on The Green Team
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart