This business is not BBB accredited.

The Brothers That Just Do Gutters

Phone: (434) 237-7711 View Additional Phone Numbers   View Additional Email Addresses http://www.brothersgutters.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers gutter installation, repairs, cleaning and gutter guards.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Brothers That Just Do Gutters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Brothers That Just Do Gutters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 08, 2011 Business started: 04/01/2010 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jeremiah Boles, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeremiah Boles, Owner
Business Category

GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS CONTRACTORS - GUTTERS GUTTER LEAF GUARDS GUTTER CLEANING

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 4091

    Lynchburg, VA 24502 (434) 237-7711 (866) 550-3569

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Brothers that just do Gutters to repair the front corner of my gutter that was leaking. They came out and the employee said that he applied sealant on the leaking section but it probably would not last too long because the gutter surface was dirty. After the first rain, I noted that the gutter was still leaking - the repair did not work. I called and they sent out 2 employees to replace the corner gutter. The person that was doing the repair was very inexperienced - he was instructed what to do by the other person who was on the ground. The instructor did not go up to inspect the repair work. After the next rain, the water now pours out of the corner gutter. It used to only drip after it rained - it is significantly worse now. I called the company to repair the job - they said they would come out to repair it, but I never heard from them again. I have called several times, but I am unable to get a person on the phone.

Desired Settlement: I think the business has the responsibility to complete the work properly and apologize for the lousy work they inflicted on me.

Business Response: Good morning,Thank you for bringing to our attention the claims submitted by our client, referenced in ID#********. Unfortunately were unaware that our client, Mrs. *******, was having new issues with her gutter.According to our records, during our initial repair of the corner, we found a leak and it was repaired/sealed during this visit. We were then contacted by Mrs. ******* at a later date and were told that it was still leaking. We went back out and replaced the corner and found no issues while on site at that time. We had not received any information regarding further issues for this client until we received this notification from your organization.After receiving your notification, we did find there was a miscommunication between our call center and production team. They had received a call from Mrs. ******* and advised her we would be out to repair the problem on 12/23/14, unfortunately our production team had not received that communication.We called and spoke with Ms. **** ***** @ extension **** once we received your notification and she gave us permission to contact Mrs. *******. We then contacted Mrs. ******* and scheduled a late evening visit on the same day of our receiving the letter. The owner for our company, Jeremiah Boles, arrived and was given details by Mrs. ******* of the issues regarding her leak. He then sealed the corner and tested the with water while Mrs. ******* was at her home, and found no further leaks .Mrs. ******* was shown the repair and was advised to contact us should any further issues occur.As of Monday, January 20, 2015, we show this issue was resolved in our records. If you need further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.Thank you, ****** ******* The Brothers that just do Gutters ®

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution, while inadequate, will result in no further action from me.  I spoke with the company directly (*****) in December to schedule the third repair.  I did not talk with the call center.  They had an appointment on Dec 23 and did not keep it.  Jeremiah told me that at Christmas time his employees are not focused on the job - obviously this was the case here.  To blame it on the 'call center' as they refer to their phone tree system in not taking full responsibility for their failure to resolve this issue.  As far as the repair goes, after the last rain, there still was a very small drip; as it is about 90% better than when they started, I request no further action as they have obviously reached the limit of their ability to repair the problem. Regards, ***** *******

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired The Brothers Just do Gutters to install gutter guards on my 3 year old home which they did July 2013. Shortly we saw water damage to our wood floors and during a heavy rain saw water come off the roof, flow over the gutter onto the door to our Great Room and onto the wood floor. Jeremiah came out, removed the guard and said it was forced in to tight and trimmed it and replaced it. He looked at the floor that has buckled and has black between boards and said "this would be a claim for his insurance company". Months went by and he would not return calls. He contacted the company that supplied the floors, but refused to work with them as they were to expensive. Finally in April he brought out "his floor man" to get a price on refinishing the floor. The man said it had to be replaced. Jeremiah will not respond to my emails nor has he responded to ******* **** conflict resolution process. My floor is splitting, the finish is pulling off, and mold may be under the boards and The Brothers have walked away from this mess.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to pay for the replacement of the floor by a reputable firm preferably the one that supplied the product in the first place. The door thresholds also have black staining of mold and need replacing by a licensed contractor. An apology for the lack of responsibility on Jeremiah's part in this.

Business Response: I am currently in negotiation with the client.  I feel that it was not the fault of the gutter guard install that did the damage to her floor but as you know the complainer has all the power.  $2000.00 dollars worth of damage done by a small silicone break in a seal in which the silicone was used improperly by the original gutter installers.  I fixed it but it is a bead of caulk that can crack again and cause the same damage and then who pays for it? Me?  I am willing to compensate a little but I believe I am being taken advantage of in this situation.    Here is an email that I sent her: ********, I still do not believe we are at fault for the damage that has been done to your home.  You mentioned earlier that the water was overflowing the guard which was never mentioned before.  The problem that I saw and fixed was that the water from the upper gutter draining onto the roof was running in between the siding and the gutter.  It was applied with silicone by the previous gutter company and when the guard was installed it was broken.  Before we arrived at your house the gutters were clearly not working because it was packed with debris stopping the water completely from draining down your roof from the upper gutter. Since the guard install the water is traveling the way it was designed  rather than filling up in your gutters causing more damage.    Regardless of the seal there should be a more permanent solution to get the water into the gutter like a roof diverter under the shingle like most other homes.  However I did fix the sealant where it was broken and it fixed the problem temporarily but this will happen again over time because with the change in temperature the gutters will move and loosen that seal.  Would this be my fault again?  The more I look at the pictures on Angie's List the more I believe you have a bigger problem.  The amount of water that has been running down the side of your siding, then traveling through the door jam that is 6 inches in from the siding, and on to your floor is not from a tiny gap in the gutter and siding. I have confided in many contractors/buildrs and showed them the pictures and they too believe that something needs to be checked besides the gutters. That much water and damage can't come in a door through that gap.  I understand that we were the last ones to work on your house and you feel that we did this to your home.  I was willing to fix the problem if it was going to cost a couple hundred dollars with my insurance but when the bill comes back at $2,082.00 I know that is excessive in price without any details.   Having said that I would sincerely like to help you resolve this issue in a way that is fair for the both of us.    It seems you are non- negotiable about having PAC and their subs do the work so I am willing to pay $1,000 dollars with a check made to PAC to have your floors be repaired.  Let me know if I can be of any more assistance.   I will keep you posted of what happens from here.  Thank you for allowing me to confront this and protecting my rating.  If you need any more information I would be glad to help in any way.   Thank you ******** *****                            

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I want to make clear that The Brothers Who Just Do Gutters . attached gutter guards to existing working gutters. after the guards were installed one gutter guard prevented water off the roof from entering the gutter and forced it onto a door where it ran under the door. Jeremiah Boles came out, removed the guard, cut it down, and replaced it. The guard and gutter has worked perfectly since them. Jeremiah Boles took responsibility for this at that time I have offered to have other estimates for the replacement of the damaged floor, but he has not responded.Regards,******** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Brothers That Just Do Gutters
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)