BBB Accredited Business since

Boone Tractor Co.

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 586-2134 View Additional Phone Numbers 1111 E. Main St., Bedford, VA 24523 http://www.boonetractor.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers farm and garden equipment, sales, service and rental.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boone Tractor Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boone Tractor Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Boone Tractor Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 07, 1990 Business started: 02/01/1984 in VA Business incorporated 02/01/1984 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Bedford City License

Phone Number: (540) 587-6051

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Carol Boone, Office Manager Mr. Jeff Beckner, Service Manager Mr. Joe Allen Boone, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carol Boone, Office Manager
Business Category

FARM EQUIPMENT FARM EQUIPMENT-REPAIR & PARTS LAWN & GARDEN EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES LAWN MOWERS

Alternate Business Names
Boone & Beckner Implement, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 1111 E. Main St.

    Bedford, VA 24523 (540) 586-2134

  • 5264 W. Main St.

    Salem, VA 24153 (540) 387-4240

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a New Holland tractor new under full factory warranty. Boone Tractor worked on air conditioning and tractor seat on three occasions under factory warranty. Never repaired problem with air conditioning or seat. On third attempt I talked to New Holland factory representative. The representative said that he knew what the problem was. I asked then why wasn't the problem fixed? Also had radio installed and radio was improperly installed because it does not stay stationary and slides back and forth. Finally, when the air conditioning failed the fourth time, I again called dealership approximately 1 June, 2013. Did not receive any response until September, 2013. At this time was told that the factory representative said that they would not spend any more money on this tractor because it was out of warranty. I purchased the tractor because of heart problems and needed the air conditioning. I have been unable to use the air conditioning. Seat continues to slide front to back and back to front and I feel that this is an unsafe condition. I transported this tractor from Callaway, VA to Bedford, VA three times with no lasting results. Trying to make hay has been unbearable.

Desired Settlement: I no longer have any confidence in Boone Tractor'x ability to repair my tractor, so I desire to have the tractor repaired by a qualified technician familiar with New Holland tractors and submit the bill for reimbursement of total repair cost to Boone Tractor. This repair would include the radio, air conditioning and a new tractor seat. This technician is in the Callaway area and has been recommended to me.

Business Response: reply:  After the manfacturer  refused any futher assistant on this problem because of the dates pasted the  warranty period.  Our service department sent customer a letter on  August 30,2013  stating that we wanted to resolve the issue.  No response from the customer till now.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Please be advised that the above complaint has not been resolved.  Boone Tractor called me during the week of February 19th and said they wanted to resolve the complaint and I reported this to the Better Business Bureau.  Boone Tractor asked if they could furnish parts to the individual that was going to repair the tractor.  I replied that I couldn't answer that question.  At Boone Tractor's request, I drove to Rocky Mount, VA on Feb 24th and requested F******* ******* and Equipment Company to call Boone Tractor.  F******* ******* called me back the same day and verified that they had called Boone Tractor and talked to the Service Department and to Joe Boone, the owner.  I did not have the results of their conversation until Pat Toler of Boone Tractor talked with me on March 19th, 2014 and said, "We don't have an agreement."  If Boone Tractor wants to resolve this complaint as they have indicated, I want in writing how they intend to resolve this matter.   **** *******  

Business Response: I would be very much interested in sitting down to discuss this problem with Mr *******. It has been a long term thing but seems Mr ******* has been adamant on making New Holland pay for the problem and we are not sure the problem is the same as before. We have all the records for review. Even after warranty period was over NH paid a huge sum to please the customer, as this is there custom to try to go beyond the normal. There has been long term problems communicating with Mr *******, but last fall again we took this to NH at his request and they reviewed and refused any additional help. At that time we sent letter to Mr ******* explaining and wanted him to come in or call and we would take a look at the problem and offer solution to resolve. We heard nothing until he filed this complaint with BBB. At this time we contacted him by phone and he said he had a party in Callaway that could fix problem. We asked for that party to contact us as they may be option for a resolution. At a later date I got a call from a dealer in Rocky Mount and said that Mr ******* wanted them to fix his tractor and Boone Tractor was to pay the bill. I stated this was between him and the customer. Then I sent Mr ******* a letter stating I would not pay anything unless I was involved in the repair. I needed to know what were the issues if I was responsible for the repair bill. I maintain the same stance and reaffirm that I will work with Mr ******* as always to deal with this problem. But I will not give a blank check on a warranty issue when warranty has been over since 02/28/2009. Joe A Boone

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  Per Mr. Boone, Boone Tractor will pick up my tractor on April 28 and repair it.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ******* *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Boone Tractor Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart