BBB Accredited Business since

Member One Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 982-8811 202 4th St., NE, Roanoke, VA 24016 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.memberonefcu.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a lending institution offering financial services including checking, savings, money-market accounts, certificates, mortgages, home equity loans, vehicle loans, personal loans and credit cards.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Member One Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Member One Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Member One Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 1980 Business started: 01/15/1940 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Carter, President & CEO Mr. Brad Boothe, Marketing Assistant Mr. Anthony Gravely, Audit Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Carter, President & CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Anthony Gravely, Audit Manager
Business Category

CREDIT UNIONS FINANCIAL PLANNING CONSULTANTS MORTGAGE BROKERS

Additional Information

The BBB has requested basic information from this company. The BBB has not received a response. Without this information, the BBB may not have current information concerning such things as the company's management or it's nature of business.

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Finance & Loan Tips

Additional Locations

  • 202 4th St., NE

    Roanoke, VA 24016 (540) 982-8811

  • P. O. Box 12288

    Roanoke, VA 24024

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a car loan out to member one My car Payment is 260 a month. I have been behind for a couple of months due my hours decreased a little at work. Every time that I know ima be late i give a call to them and let them know when can male a payment. I havent been dealing with this ****** lady it has been with someone else about my car payment I dont know if the other lady stepped down or whatever the case is. One day I left my phone at home with my kids father and he answered the phone and spoke with Ms. ****** about me being late on my car payment and that i needed to get in contact with her and some other things but how she said it he said she was real rude on the phone about the situtation I got off work and talked to him and just told him he might have took it the wrong way. The next day I talked to Ms. ****** I believe was on Monday she was rude a little bit about the situation but she said if i could pay half of what i owe for june payment which was 40 dollars she said she was giving me till wednesday to pay it or she was go get my car in possession. Wednesday afternoon I go in to the credit union to pay 90 dollars to them they wouldnt except it because they said I had to contact her which I had already did. So I contact Ms. ****** before I could get a word out she was screaming n hollering on the phone saying I never talk to you!! I dont know whats going on?!!! Everytime I call your phone a gentleman answers it!!! and that she is not go keep carrying me through to me being late on my car payment and by then her tone gets louder and louder and I said I just recently talked to you on Monday and you told me to come in wednesday to pay the 40 dollars which I was go pay a little more which was 90 then she said " what is 90 dollars?" I said 90 dollars is better than nothing or the 40. I was telling her how rude she was and her answer was because I was late on my car payment. what Iam saying is it is a better way to talk to someone one especially a customer she was very rude and it was not called for how she spoke to me! it was more said but I really wish someone would contact me reguarding this matter she was very unprofessional I have never got spoken to in that way at there customer soulutions center.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union is an independent committee charged with impartially, and objectively reviewing member complaints and disputes. The Supervisory Committee has reviewed and investigated the complaint outlined in BBB ID # ********.  The Committee's review and investigation concluded that all appropriate policies, procedures and applicable laws were followed and adhered to, during the interactions at issue in the complaint referenced above. The Committee listened to the recordings of the telephone interactions in question and found the member's complaint to be without merit.  However, per the member's request, we have requested that management contact this member to provide feedback and answer any questions she may have.   It is the Committee's understanding that the member has been contacted and that all pertinent matters have been explained. The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union would like to thank the BBB of Western Virginia for bringing this matter to its attention.  The Committee is always concerned when disputes arise, and appreciates the opportunity to address and resolve them, when at all possible. Sincerely, ******* ******* - Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union  

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a car that was financed through Member One Credit Union. There was an unexpected medical issue that was life threatening that occur with a family member which required immediate attention. My car note was set back by 3 months but I had made arrangements to catch my car note up for the past due balance and to place the payments a few months ahead. On July 4th my car was repossessed by a very rude and abusive ***ing company name ******** *** that was contracted by Member One. During the ***, I had my purse which included my insulin and my mother's medication inside and my child's car seat. The reposession guy would not allow me to get those items out of the car. Which by Virginia law any medications, child car seat etc should be allow out during a repossession. This man refused to allow me to get those items until we got into an argument and eventually the Roanoke City Police was involved because my mom was injured due to the repossession guy lifting the car up after seeing my mom lean across the seat to grab my purse. After the police came, we were able to get the items out of the car and the car was towed. I called Member One on monday to report the incident and advise that I will be able to make a payment on 07/15/2015 in the amount of $1800.00. I spoke with a ***** ***** who told me that I could not have my car back because of the incident and that my car is going to be sold at an auction. Now I reviewed my car lease/Contract and No where does it say this is what will happen. I also do not feel this was a fair judgement on her behalf because there was no physical altercation, at all. I just needed my medications and infant's car seat. This is not in the contract agreement and I was not refusing to allow the repossession, I knew I needed my medications, my Purse( which had my ID, Work and School Badge, Health insurance cards etc) and my child's car seat. I also knew that my car should've been towed by a "flat bed" because of the model the car and being towed by the type that was at my home, would cause extreme damage when towing off of a incline. This was the first incident to ever happen and to be treated this way by a company who was recommended to me as a very understanding and workable company has really changed my outlook on Member. I would like to speak with someone within the company corporation.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have someone contact me and explain to me why this was the route that was taken and if this is acutal company policy. I would also like to know why the information was not on my paper work from the dealer ship stating that this is what will happen and that medical property can be taken also.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has independently reviewed and investigated the complaint outlined in BBB ID # ********.  The Committee's review and investigation concluded that all appropriate policies, procedures and applicable laws were followed and adhered to, during the interactions at issue in the complaint referenced above. The Committee has requested that Member One Federal Credit Union's management contact this member as per the complaint's "Desired Settlement".  However, as of the writing of this response, the member has not responded to any of the documented attempts to contact them. Sincerely, ******* ******* - Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother which passed away on 2/19/2014 has a credit card with member one, which she purchased credit insurance which would pay off the balance in case she died. I recently recieved a letter stating that her innsurance was canceled and i received a statement showing she owed about $695.87 about the same time. My mother does not owe this money, member one was informed of my mothers death twice. My mothers name is **** ***** ******, I cant give her account number because it's her credit card number and BBB's website wont transmitte it.

Desired Settlement: FORGIVE THE DEBT

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has received and reviewed the complaint referrence as ID ********.  The Committee forwarded this complaint to the management of Member One Federal Credit Union for a response.  Management has informed the Committee that the complaintant has been contacted, and that a mutually acceptable understanding and agreement has been reached with regards to this complaint. Sincerely, ******* ******* - Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union.      

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** ******

3/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Purchase a Vehicle through ****** Ford and they did my financing through Member One and in order for me to get the financing through them I had to make a deposit to become a Member to get my loan. I believe that Member One and ****** Ford are in collaboration to force people to become members of Member One and I was never given the option to any other company to finance me. which forced me to make the deposit to become a member just to get a car loan.

Desired Settlement: Loan Contract voided and my membership cost refunded to me. Car purchase voided and car can be returned to dealership.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has reviewed and researched the complaint submitted by Mr. ******* ***** (Member) regarding "selling practices".  The Committee has referred this complaint to the management of Member One Federal Credit Union for a response.  The management of Member One has tried repeatedly to contact the member to discuss the exact nature of his complaint.  To date, the member has not responded or returned any telephone calls. Member One does not sell automobiles.  Member One is one of many companies that offer financing for vehicles sold by ****** Ford.  In fact, Member One offers financing for vehicles sold by many auto dealers.  In order to qualify for financing, a prospective borrower must first qualify for membership with Member One Federal Credit Union.  This is standard and common practice for Credit Unions.  To receive service from a Credit Union, a person must meet the membership requirements and voluntarily agree to  be a member of that Credit Union.  This member met Member One's membership qualifications and voluntarily agreed to be a member of Member One. The management of Member One Federal Credit Union has made numerous attempts to contact this member.  Management is ready to hear the exact nature of this member's complaint and work to find a solution if possible.  In order to proceed, it is requested that the member contact Member One Federal Credit Union directly. Sincerely, ******* *******-Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union.

1/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently had my car repossessed by Member One credit Union. I take full responsibility of the late payments, but there are SEVERAL issues that I believe are unethical, unprofessional, and illegal. For over a year I have tried to get my physical address changed in thier system to receive statements and receipts. To this day I have not received one thing. This brings me back to the repo, according to Virginia State Law, it states that the borrower must be notified by first class mail 10 days prior to repossession. This was never done. I contacted Member One on several occasions on what I could do to prevent the repo. (since it had not taken place as of yet) and was told I had to pay the balance......well 5 different people.....5 different amounts? I was also told that acceptable payment types were one thing on day and different the other day. On the particular day of the repossession I was on hold with Member One for over 25 minutes on the phone so that I could get my final balance and to let them know i was on the way to the local branch with cash in hand. Surprisingly when I was finally able to reach someone in the Recovery Department, the tow truck pulled up. I am now being told by this department that the balance has now increased over $300 due to them picking up my vehicle and towing it 8 miles down the road. Again....if I could have gotten a correct amount and an actual human on the telephone all of this could have been resolved. As I said before I take full responsibility for the loan being in default, but I truly believe this could have been handled in a more professional manner by the staff of Member One. All I ask is to have the roughly $300 on towing and storage fees refunded back to me. If I was given notification, correct balances, and someone not leaving me on hold for that time this would have never happened. Maybe just a person from this Company to acknowledge that the way this event transpired was not the most professional.

Desired Settlement: As I said before I take full responsibility for the loan being in default, but I truly believe this could have been handled in a more professional manner by the staff of Member One. All I ask is to have the roughly $300 on towing and storage fees refunded back to me. If I was given notification, correct balances, and someone not leaving me on hold for that time this would have never happened. Maybe just a person from this Company to acknowledge that the way this event transpired was not the most professional.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has reviewed the above referenced complaint.  The Committee forwarded this complaint to the management of Member One Federal Credit Union and requested a detailed response.  Upon review of the response provided, as well as, a review of the pertinent facts and circumstances surrounding this complaint, the Committee has determined the following: The Credit Union acted in accordance with its established policies and procedures.  These policies and procedures are the normal and, customary actions taken when dealing with issues such as those described in the complaint.  In addition, the Credit Union is entitled to recover  the costs incurred when taking necessary actions.  Finally, the Committee determined that the Credit Union followed all required and prudent measures for notifying the member prior to taking action.  All notifications and measures taken were in accordance with state law. The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union is always disappointed when a member of the credit union is dissatisfied.  The Committee strives to review all complaints in a fair and impartial manner. Sincerely, ******* ******* - Superviory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a small business and am no longer able to accept checks from Member One because I am unable to verify funds before depositing. I am a distance away and cannot go into the branch every day.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union received  the above referenced complaint and forwarded it to the management of Member One for a response. The Committee has been informed, by management, that all efforts to contact and communicate with the complaining member have failed.  However, the Committee has determined that efforts have been made to correct the issue to which the member was complaining.  The Supervisory Committee would encorage this member to contact the Credit Union if the issue persists or if further issues develop. The Supervisory Committee is always dissapointed when member's are not completely satisfied.  The Committee makes every effort to respond to all complaints it receives, and correct any issues that it can.   Sincerely, ******* *******, Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union 

Consumer Response: Thank you. We will begin accepting checks from your business again if we can call to verify funds on occasion if we have a questionable check.  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Regards,***** **** 

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a loan for our family vehicle. We have been delinquent in the past due to major medical issues, but caught up and was on track. We had another issue early summer and made 1/2 a payment in June, a full payment in July and when trying to pay August payment, would not accept it. Put payment in night deposit and when not cashed, called and was told by manager of collections, ***** ******, that they were not going to accept any payments, that I should deliver the vehicle to them or they would pick it up. We have lost our house and now this due to me loosing my job after 6 spine surgeries.

Desired Settlement: We want to make our payments and keep our vehicle.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union (MOFCU) has received and reviewed the complaint detailed in case #*******.  The Committee forwarded the referenced complaint to the management of Member One Federal Credit Union and requested that a response be provided.  The following timeline and explanation was given by management: August 3, 2012:  After no response from numerous letters and phone calls (where Mr. ****** was identified) from ****** ******, repossession was ordered.   Member called on August 3, after repossession had been ordered and stated that the letter had been put in neighbor’s mail box.  We allowed Mr. ****** to bring the loan current including cost and repossession was stopped. October 23, 2012:  There had been no payments made since we stopped the repossession.  Repossession was once again ordered.  ****** ****** talked to ***** ******,VP Member Solutions, and after conferring with **** *********, Chief Information Officer, we agreed to stop repossession again once Mr. ****** provided us with a hardship letter and paid the full past due and cost.  He was warned at that time that we would not stop any future repossessions and payments needed to be made on time.  Member did not make another payment until December 3, 2012 and was still delinquent with payments.  Member became 60 days past due in August, 2013 and repossession was once again ordered August 21,  2013.  Mr. ****** called September 6, 2013 and wanted to make a payment on loan and we declined to accept payment at that time since it was out for repossession again.  He then left a check in the night deposit at branch which we returned. Mr. ****** called and I explained that we were no longer going to continue to work with him and it was in his best interest to drop the vehicle off at the closest branch.  He stated that he would not be dropping car off.  I explained to him that if we did not get the car we would be forced to take him to court for the full unpaid balance.  The car is still out for repossession. Having reviewed and verified management's response, the committee feels that the credit union has made resonable efforts to resolve this matter.   Sincerely, ******* *******, Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.It looks like we will never settle this issue!  With being the little man in, we know the big guy always win!!.  To MEMBER ONE:  90% of what you stated is untrue.  Being that we will never be able to prove otherwise, we will do our very best to tell everyone we come into contact with how when we were at our lowest, you did everything in your power to kick us when we were down.  Best of luck in your endeavors to find the vehicle, as we will continue putting our payments in the night deposit box.  And by the way, we have not received a returned check from you!!  Yet another untruth!!! Regards,****** ******

10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a MemberOne FCU Member for several years and have used their online banking, in conjunction with ******* Financial software to manage my finances. I have had absolutely no issues until last Saturday, 9/14/2013, after MemberOne changed their login policies for online banking. I have two accounts that I manage online and in *******...I can no longer update either accounts with *******, and cannot retrieve any account details online with one account. On the latter account I receive a message stating that the account details are not available. I have spoken several times this past week with MemberOne customer service, and as of yet I have failed to have my problems repaired. I feel that this has been entirely too much time for this problem to be addressed! This is an inconvenience, as I use this service daily, due to traveling. I cannot even get access to my statements on one of the accounts. Let me note here that MemberOne started charging for paper statements, to get members to sign up for E-delivery.

Desired Settlement: I want my account access repaired ASAP on both accounts so that I can use with *******, and also access online through browsers, as I was able to do before the MemberOne update, and as MemberOne promises. I want to be kept up to date as to the progress on these repairs.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has received and reviewed complaint # ******* referenced above.  The Committee forwarded this complaint to the management of Member One Federal Credit Union and requested a response.  The response received is as follows: "[On] September 10, 2013 Member One Federal Credit Union’s [MOFCU's] online provider implemented an upgrade to its online platform.   MOFCU realized there was a problem with the ******* application and the upgrade to the online platform on September 11, 2013 and began diligently working with its provider to determine the error. [On] September 24, 2013 the problem was resolved.  A representative from MOFCU was in constant contact with Mr. ****** throughout the process of resolving the issue he had with ******* and being able to see his account information.   It is our position that the issue has been resolved."     The Supervisory Committee hopes that this response will prove acceptable to Mr. ****** and the BBB of Western Virginia.   Sincerely,   ******* ******* - Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union                          

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I am satisfied that the matter has been resolved. I would like to compliment ******* in the M1FCU local IT Support group for his help in getting this matter resolved.Regards,*** ******

1/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I discovered the VISA balance transfer never completed I contacted MemberOne on 9-17 requesting them to cancel the VISA card. I was unaware MEMBERONE left the VISA card open until my Identity Protection Service alerted me that new credit scores were available. My Transunion score dropped from 721 to 692. I checked the credit report negative factors which showed the MemberOne VISA Card. I contacted MEMBERONE on 12-18 about this and on 12-20 they claim they reported to the agencies correctly and do so on a monthly basis. MEMBERONE finally removed my VISA card information from my account yesterday. If MEMBERONE had CANCELLED the card as I requested, and if they had reported to the agencies properly and on a monthly basis, then my credit score would not have dropped. MEMBERONE expects me to contact the reporting agencies. I should not have to do this as it was their failure to conduct a proper balance transfer and also their failure to CANCEL the card. I have also been receiving a great deal of junk mail for people with bad credit and asked them to put a stop to this. All of the junk mail is a result of the lowered credit score which was due to sloppy service by MEMBERONE, not by me.

Desired Settlement: I want MEMBERONE to contact all of the credit reporting agencies alerting them to the fact the VISA card was supposed to have been cancelled because the balance transfer never happened, and because they failed to close the card. After they have finished describing the problem, I want MEMBERONE to request my credit score be moved from FAIR to GOOD.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One FCU is in the process of reviewing complaint # *******.  We expect to have a response soon. Sincerely, ******* *******, Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One FCU has examined the details of case # ******* and determined that the information reported to the credit agencies is correct and in accordance with all applicable laws and regulations.  We regret that we are unable to meet the requests of the complaintant, but appreciate the opportunity to review this matter. Sincerely,   ******* ******* - Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. If the Supervisory Committee actually examined the details of my case then they would not be able to truthfully state "the information reported to the credit agencies is correct and in accordance with all applicable laws and regulations." According to my Identity Guard detailed report, Experian and Transunion show a VISA balance of $5,019 last reported 09/2012. I contacted the CU on 9/17 to alert them the transfer never happened and to cancel or close the card. I received an email from ******** stating she would close the card immediately. A credit alert shows MemberOne reported in 10/2012 "Account closed at consumer's request" This alone should be proof enough that you have not reported correctly to Experian and Transunion, but only to Equifax. If you had reported correctly, then my credit score would not have dropped 20 points. You used Transunion to pull a credit report on me, you report the VISA card to all 3 agencies, however you only report to Equifax the card was closed. I don't call this accurate reporting and do not accept your findings. My account page on 9-7 showed a VISA bal. of $5,000, 9-13 showed a VISA bal. of $5,019. On 9-11 I contacted ***** regarding the SunTrust message stating they had not received a request for a bal. transfer. On 9-13 I receive an email from ******* ***** cc: ******** ******: Mr. ***** stated he contacted VP of Card Services to look into the matter. On 9-14 I receive an envelope from HSBC containing a check for $5,000 along with a form stating they had received the check in error. Quite obvious someone on your staff sent the check to the wrong bank. ******** responded on 9-17 requesting that I send her the check. The VISA bal. transfer was applied for on 8-21 and I receive a statement for the "never happened transfer" on 9-17. On 9-17 during a phone conversation with ******** I asked her to close the card and while on the phone my member page no longer showed the VISA card. I commented to ******** how fast she was at closing the card. In an email from ********, dated 9-25 she stated the check to SunTrust had been cancelled and she would have the card closed today. That makes 9-17 and 9-25 two days in which the card was closed according to statements made. She did not cancel on 9-17 as I had been previously led to believe. Your card services people reported the VISA card to all 3 agencies in 9-12, yet only reported to one of them that the card was closed at my request. This is not accurate reporting, your failure to be accurate caused my Transunion score to drop 20 points.   Numerous emails with attachments proving all of my statements have been transmitted to various CU personnel. I have worked very hard to establish and maintain a good credit score, and MemberOne has worked very hard to not accept any responsibility. I will be very happy to send every single email to and from every single person in order to prove to you I have made every attempt to resolve this issue prior to contacting the BBB.  I am requesting that your card services and/or supervisory committee provide me with all copies of the UDF (Universal Data Form) showing they reported accurately to all 3 agencies. If these forms are shown to be accurate and properly reported to all three agencies, then I will withdraw my complaint against MemberOne.  Regards, ***** ****

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has reviewed the complainant's rejection of our review and the related findings.   Upon further examination, the Supervisory Committee finds that its previous response is correct and, therefore, stands by that response.  We regret that a mutually agreeable resolution could not be reached.  The Committee strives to be an advocate for the members of Member One Federal Credit Union when disputes arise and is truly disappointed when a member is not satisfied. Sincerely, ******* ******* - Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union.    

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, In an effort to satisfy Ms. **** and meet her request, Member One will be sending Ms. ****, via certified mail, copies of the requested reporting information.  Due to the confidential nature of this information it will be sent directly to Ms **** and not provided to the Better Business Bureau.  The Supervisory Committee of Member One would like to thank the BBB of Western Virginia for their patience and understanding in this matter. Sincerely, ******* ******* – Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******. It appears Member One plans to send, via certified mail, copies of their reporting information. After I review the reports, I will respond appropriately. I have looked at all my credit reports regarding updates and found Member One did not report to all the agencies. One showed the card closed at consumer's request, another showed a balance. If Member One's reports show they contacted each agency and reported accurately, then I will remove the complaint and relieve Member One of this action. I will then take this matter up with the reporting agencies. Mr. *******, I do appreciate your continued effort to bring resolution to all concerned in this matter. Regards,***** ****  

1/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a car loan with this bank and had it set up on auto pay to be drafted from a differant bank accout from my everyday banking. However I did not fallow up to make sure payments had been drafted as I thought I didn't know there was a problem until my grandmother called and told me that repo man stopped by her house. The next morning I called the bank to ask what happen why are they looking for me I have recicved no notification from phone calls or mailing letting me know there was even a problem she said my account was 40 days pass due. And I ask why couldn't someone call me before they sent the repo man out looking for me? She clamed that they been calling me leaving messages I explained to her that I have not gotten any nottifiction of what was going on the lady just got rude with me and who doesn't check the bank accounts I told her she was right that I should done a fallow up however the money is suiting the accout I can pay it sh asked if I had cash to pay I said yes she takes my number and she needs to talk to her suppvisor and call me back she calls back 20 min latter and said turn the car in. So I said ok fine what ever I have the money it was sitting in my accout the whole time and I have enough money to pay the account current and ahead she informs me that they no longer want to continue the loan and they don't want my money they just want the car the only way I can keep the car if I can pay the loan in full payoff is 30,456.26. I only have one car to get to and from work and school for my child so now I have no car and I still owe them money they would rather me owe them and keep the car then to allow me to pay my car loan as normally I am left without transportion to and from work

Desired Settlement: The only thing I would have wanted would to be able to keep my car and pay as agreed

Business Response: BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit has reviewed case # *******.  It has been determined that the credit union followed its standard procedures which are in compliance with all laws and regulations related to such matters.  Sincerely, ******* ******* - Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union.