BBB Accredited Business since

Member One Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 982-8811 202 4th St., NE, Roanoke, VA 24016 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.memberonefcu.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a lending institution offering financial services including checking, savings, money-market accounts, certificates, mortgages, home equity loans, vehicle loans, personal loans and credit cards.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Member One Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Member One Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Member One Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 1980 Business started: 01/15/1940 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Carter, President & CEO Mr. Brad Boothe, Marketing Assistant Mr. Anthony Gravely, Audit Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Carter, President & CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Anthony Gravely, Audit Manager
Business Category

CREDIT UNIONS FINANCIAL PLANNING CONSULTANTS MORTGAGE BROKERS

Additional Information

The BBB has requested basic information from this company. The BBB has not received a response. Without this information, the BBB may not have current information concerning such things as the company's management or it's nature of business.

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Finance & Loan Tips

Additional Locations

  • 202 4th St., NE

    Roanoke, VA 24016 (540) 982-8811

  • P. O. Box 12288

    Roanoke, VA 24024

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2010 bought new car, got loan with member one. Provided insurance info. Later changed insurance and provided new policy info. June 2015, received notice from member one asking for proof of insurance or they would initiate "forced insurance ". I provided info again, even stood in bank while my info including policy was faxed to member one. Called to see when I could get my title as car is paid for 02/2016 and was told I owe over $3000 for forced insurance . I again had my insurance agent provide info to member one. Member one now states they can't discuss my account with 3rd party forced insurance company ****** ******** ********** ***) although member one obviously provided my information TO this company. I have been insured and I have paid for my car, never once a late payment. I used payroll deduction for payments and I fear this company will take from my account. I believe this is a scam!

Desired Settlement: I want my car title and if this is on my credit report, I want it removed.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia,The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has received and researched complaint #********.  The Committee requested that the management of Member One review the complaint and provide a response as soon as possible.  The Committee has been informed that management has contacted the complainant, and that a mutually agreeable resolution has been reached and that the member is now satisfied.The Supervisory Committee appreciates the opportunity to review and respond to disputes when they arise.  The Committee strives to act as an independent, impartial mediator and provide fair resolutions when at all possible. Sincerely,******* ******* - Supervisory Committee RepresentativeMember One Federal Credit Union

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ****** ****** Issue is not resolved yet. I requested statement showing all premiums for ***** ******** ********* and I was only provided transactionsstarting in Oct 2012. I was told they could get further history. I still have not been provided exact amount that has been added to my loan for this insurance I NEVER needed. I have always provided insurance information to Member One. I will be satisfied when these figures are provided, I'm refunded and I receive my car title. You are doing your job and I appreciate your time.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia,The Supervisory Committee has reviewed the complainant's response to the Committee's previous reply.  As a result, the Committee has contacted the responsible members of management and requested a status update. The Supervisory Committee was able to confirm that as of today, April 5, 2016, the member has been contacted directly by management and that a mutually agreeable resolution has been reached.    Sincerely,******* ******* -  Supervisory Committee RepresentativeMember One Federal Credit Union 

3/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car loan shows that there was one payment left however, there is a balance of more than $1600.00 owed with only one payment left. I have asked numerous times for an explanation of this difference. I have been in the branch twice. I have called on the phone and my daughter emailed ***** ***** who stated that he would research this and get back to me. No one can explain to me why there is an amount and payment date difference on the computer than it is different on the contract. I would like a payment history. I have asked for this repeatedly and no one can help me. No one can explain why I am being charged almost $2000 more than what was agreed upon.

Desired Settlement: I would like an explanation. Several people have now ignored my request. I deserve to know where this additional money is coming from. Payments have not been late and they have not been skipped. The car has been insured the entire duration of the loan. No one can explain this or give me a pament history.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia,The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has received complaint ID #********.  The Committee has forwarded the complaint to the Credit Union's management for review and response.  The Committee recommended that management reach out to this member to provide explanation and clarification as needed.  It is the Committee's understanding that the communication process is in progress at the writing of this response.  Once a final resolution and understanding has been reached, a formal and final response will be provided.The Supervisory Committee appreciates the BBB of Western Virginia for facilitating the complaint process and for its patience as a resolution is sought.  The Committee strives to be objective and impartial when reviewing member complaints and seeks fair resolutions when at all possible. Sincerely,******* ******* - Supervisory Committee RepresentativeMember One Federal Credit Union  

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia,The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit has reviewed complaint #********.  The Committee requested that management reach out to the complainant to provide the requested clarification and explanation.The Supervisory Committee has been informed that the complainant has been contacted and is now satisfied with the Credit Union's response.As always, the Supervisory Committee appreciates the opportunity to help resolve misunderstandings when at all possible. Sincerely, ******* ******* - Supervisory Committee RepresentativeMember One Federal Credit Union. 

12/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been banking with this bank for 2 years. And last year I was I was involved in a car wreck where my car was totalled. I contacted the bank and rented a car to drive back to ******** ** since I had moved to ************ *** Since we had to purchase another car. In the process the bank was generous enough to give me another loan while the other loan was being processed with the GAP coverage and write off from the car insurance. Well within this time it had taken almost a year with trying to contact the bank, dealership and GAP company and car insurance. Everyone was saying different things and no one seemed to be on the same page. The bank (Member One Federal Credit Union of ******** **** Knew that we had GAP coverage on the vehicle that was totalled and still managed to turn it over to a collection agency and will not help us resolve this even though they have recieved the GAP coverage check. Also for each month of trying to resolve this, they would punish us by adding a late fee and which the balance exceeds at $250 in late fees and told us on December 1st that we have until the 31st to pay this or this too would go to collection and they would take us to court. No one from the bank ever told us that we had late fees and remind you we call them each month to pay for our new car loan and speak with ******* ***** to pay them and she has never mentioned this to us. The other day we tried speaking with them and they hung up on me. This bank is very unprofessional and does not work with you to resolve any issue. I need help with trying to resolve this. And would love for someone to please contact me. I do not feel that I should be treated this way since I have always paid them on my due dates and they can never help me.

Desired Settlement: Please have someone from your office (BBB) contact me please. I would greatly appreciate it.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia,The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has independently reviewed and investigated the complaint outlined in BBB ID #********. The Committee has requested that Member One Federal Credit Union's management contact this member per the complaint's "Desired Settlement".  It is the Committee's understanding that this member has been contacted and that all issues and complaints have been resolved.The Supervisory Committee would like to thank the BBB of Western Virginia for bringing this matter to its attention.  The Committee is always concerned when disputes arise, and appreciates the opportunity to address them, when at all possible.Sincerely,******* ******* - Supervisory Committee RepresentativeMember One Federal Credit Union  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, **** *******

8/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a car loan out to member one My car Payment is 260 a month. I have been behind for a couple of months due my hours decreased a little at work. Every time that I know ima be late i give a call to them and let them know when can male a payment. I havent been dealing with this ****** lady it has been with someone else about my car payment I dont know if the other lady stepped down or whatever the case is. One day I left my phone at home with my kids father and he answered the phone and spoke with Ms. ****** about me being late on my car payment and that i needed to get in contact with her and some other things but how she said it he said she was real rude on the phone about the situtation I got off work and talked to him and just told him he might have took it the wrong way. The next day I talked to Ms. ****** I believe was on Monday she was rude a little bit about the situation but she said if i could pay half of what i owe for june payment which was 40 dollars she said she was giving me till wednesday to pay it or she was go get my car in possession. Wednesday afternoon I go in to the credit union to pay 90 dollars to them they wouldnt except it because they said I had to contact her which I had already did. So I contact Ms. ****** before I could get a word out she was screaming n hollering on the phone saying I never talk to you!! I dont know whats going on?!!! Everytime I call your phone a gentleman answers it!!! and that she is not go keep carrying me through to me being late on my car payment and by then her tone gets louder and louder and I said I just recently talked to you on Monday and you told me to come in wednesday to pay the 40 dollars which I was go pay a little more which was 90 then she said " what is 90 dollars?" I said 90 dollars is better than nothing or the 40. I was telling her how rude she was and her answer was because I was late on my car payment. what Iam saying is it is a better way to talk to someone one especially a customer she was very rude and it was not called for how she spoke to me! it was more said but I really wish someone would contact me reguarding this matter she was very unprofessional I have never got spoken to in that way at there customer soulutions center.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union is an independent committee charged with impartially, and objectively reviewing member complaints and disputes. The Supervisory Committee has reviewed and investigated the complaint outlined in BBB ID # ********.  The Committee's review and investigation concluded that all appropriate policies, procedures and applicable laws were followed and adhered to, during the interactions at issue in the complaint referenced above. The Committee listened to the recordings of the telephone interactions in question and found the member's complaint to be without merit.  However, per the member's request, we have requested that management contact this member to provide feedback and answer any questions she may have.   It is the Committee's understanding that the member has been contacted and that all pertinent matters have been explained. The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union would like to thank the BBB of Western Virginia for bringing this matter to its attention.  The Committee is always concerned when disputes arise, and appreciates the opportunity to address and resolve them, when at all possible. Sincerely, ******* ******* - Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union  

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a car that was financed through Member One Credit Union. There was an unexpected medical issue that was life threatening that occur with a family member which required immediate attention. My car note was set back by 3 months but I had made arrangements to catch my car note up for the past due balance and to place the payments a few months ahead. On July 4th my car was repossessed by a very rude and abusive ***ing company name ******** *** that was contracted by Member One. During the ***, I had my purse which included my insulin and my mother's medication inside and my child's car seat. The reposession guy would not allow me to get those items out of the car. Which by Virginia law any medications, child car seat etc should be allow out during a repossession. This man refused to allow me to get those items until we got into an argument and eventually the Roanoke City Police was involved because my mom was injured due to the repossession guy lifting the car up after seeing my mom lean across the seat to grab my purse. After the police came, we were able to get the items out of the car and the car was towed. I called Member One on monday to report the incident and advise that I will be able to make a payment on 07/15/2015 in the amount of $1800.00. I spoke with a ***** ***** who told me that I could not have my car back because of the incident and that my car is going to be sold at an auction. Now I reviewed my car lease/Contract and No where does it say this is what will happen. I also do not feel this was a fair judgement on her behalf because there was no physical altercation, at all. I just needed my medications and infant's car seat. This is not in the contract agreement and I was not refusing to allow the repossession, I knew I needed my medications, my Purse( which had my ID, Work and School Badge, Health insurance cards etc) and my child's car seat. I also knew that my car should've been towed by a "flat bed" because of the model the car and being towed by the type that was at my home, would cause extreme damage when towing off of a incline. This was the first incident to ever happen and to be treated this way by a company who was recommended to me as a very understanding and workable company has really changed my outlook on Member. I would like to speak with someone within the company corporation.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have someone contact me and explain to me why this was the route that was taken and if this is acutal company policy. I would also like to know why the information was not on my paper work from the dealer ship stating that this is what will happen and that medical property can be taken also.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has independently reviewed and investigated the complaint outlined in BBB ID # ********.  The Committee's review and investigation concluded that all appropriate policies, procedures and applicable laws were followed and adhered to, during the interactions at issue in the complaint referenced above. The Committee has requested that Member One Federal Credit Union's management contact this member as per the complaint's "Desired Settlement".  However, as of the writing of this response, the member has not responded to any of the documented attempts to contact them. Sincerely, ******* ******* - Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother which passed away on 2/19/2014 has a credit card with member one, which she purchased credit insurance which would pay off the balance in case she died. I recently recieved a letter stating that her innsurance was canceled and i received a statement showing she owed about $695.87 about the same time. My mother does not owe this money, member one was informed of my mothers death twice. My mothers name is **** ***** ******, I cant give her account number because it's her credit card number and BBB's website wont transmitte it.

Desired Settlement: FORGIVE THE DEBT

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has received and reviewed the complaint referrence as ID ********.  The Committee forwarded this complaint to the management of Member One Federal Credit Union for a response.  Management has informed the Committee that the complaintant has been contacted, and that a mutually acceptable understanding and agreement has been reached with regards to this complaint. Sincerely, ******* ******* - Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union.      

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** ******

3/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Purchase a Vehicle through ****** Ford and they did my financing through Member One and in order for me to get the financing through them I had to make a deposit to become a Member to get my loan. I believe that Member One and ****** Ford are in collaboration to force people to become members of Member One and I was never given the option to any other company to finance me. which forced me to make the deposit to become a member just to get a car loan.

Desired Settlement: Loan Contract voided and my membership cost refunded to me. Car purchase voided and car can be returned to dealership.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has reviewed and researched the complaint submitted by Mr. ******* ***** (Member) regarding "selling practices".  The Committee has referred this complaint to the management of Member One Federal Credit Union for a response.  The management of Member One has tried repeatedly to contact the member to discuss the exact nature of his complaint.  To date, the member has not responded or returned any telephone calls. Member One does not sell automobiles.  Member One is one of many companies that offer financing for vehicles sold by ****** Ford.  In fact, Member One offers financing for vehicles sold by many auto dealers.  In order to qualify for financing, a prospective borrower must first qualify for membership with Member One Federal Credit Union.  This is standard and common practice for Credit Unions.  To receive service from a Credit Union, a person must meet the membership requirements and voluntarily agree to  be a member of that Credit Union.  This member met Member One's membership qualifications and voluntarily agreed to be a member of Member One. The management of Member One Federal Credit Union has made numerous attempts to contact this member.  Management is ready to hear the exact nature of this member's complaint and work to find a solution if possible.  In order to proceed, it is requested that the member contact Member One Federal Credit Union directly. Sincerely, ******* *******-Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union.

1/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently had my car repossessed by Member One credit Union. I take full responsibility of the late payments, but there are SEVERAL issues that I believe are unethical, unprofessional, and illegal. For over a year I have tried to get my physical address changed in thier system to receive statements and receipts. To this day I have not received one thing. This brings me back to the repo, according to Virginia State Law, it states that the borrower must be notified by first class mail 10 days prior to repossession. This was never done. I contacted Member One on several occasions on what I could do to prevent the repo. (since it had not taken place as of yet) and was told I had to pay the balance......well 5 different people.....5 different amounts? I was also told that acceptable payment types were one thing on day and different the other day. On the particular day of the repossession I was on hold with Member One for over 25 minutes on the phone so that I could get my final balance and to let them know i was on the way to the local branch with cash in hand. Surprisingly when I was finally able to reach someone in the Recovery Department, the tow truck pulled up. I am now being told by this department that the balance has now increased over $300 due to them picking up my vehicle and towing it 8 miles down the road. Again....if I could have gotten a correct amount and an actual human on the telephone all of this could have been resolved. As I said before I take full responsibility for the loan being in default, but I truly believe this could have been handled in a more professional manner by the staff of Member One. All I ask is to have the roughly $300 on towing and storage fees refunded back to me. If I was given notification, correct balances, and someone not leaving me on hold for that time this would have never happened. Maybe just a person from this Company to acknowledge that the way this event transpired was not the most professional.

Desired Settlement: As I said before I take full responsibility for the loan being in default, but I truly believe this could have been handled in a more professional manner by the staff of Member One. All I ask is to have the roughly $300 on towing and storage fees refunded back to me. If I was given notification, correct balances, and someone not leaving me on hold for that time this would have never happened. Maybe just a person from this Company to acknowledge that the way this event transpired was not the most professional.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has reviewed the above referenced complaint.  The Committee forwarded this complaint to the management of Member One Federal Credit Union and requested a detailed response.  Upon review of the response provided, as well as, a review of the pertinent facts and circumstances surrounding this complaint, the Committee has determined the following: The Credit Union acted in accordance with its established policies and procedures.  These policies and procedures are the normal and, customary actions taken when dealing with issues such as those described in the complaint.  In addition, the Credit Union is entitled to recover  the costs incurred when taking necessary actions.  Finally, the Committee determined that the Credit Union followed all required and prudent measures for notifying the member prior to taking action.  All notifications and measures taken were in accordance with state law. The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union is always disappointed when a member of the credit union is dissatisfied.  The Committee strives to review all complaints in a fair and impartial manner. Sincerely, ******* ******* - Superviory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a small business and am no longer able to accept checks from Member One because I am unable to verify funds before depositing. I am a distance away and cannot go into the branch every day.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union received  the above referenced complaint and forwarded it to the management of Member One for a response. The Committee has been informed, by management, that all efforts to contact and communicate with the complaining member have failed.  However, the Committee has determined that efforts have been made to correct the issue to which the member was complaining.  The Supervisory Committee would encorage this member to contact the Credit Union if the issue persists or if further issues develop. The Supervisory Committee is always dissapointed when member's are not completely satisfied.  The Committee makes every effort to respond to all complaints it receives, and correct any issues that it can.   Sincerely, ******* *******, Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union 

Consumer Response: Thank you. We will begin accepting checks from your business again if we can call to verify funds on occasion if we have a questionable check.  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Regards,***** **** 

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a loan for our family vehicle. We have been delinquent in the past due to major medical issues, but caught up and was on track. We had another issue early summer and made 1/2 a payment in June, a full payment in July and when trying to pay August payment, would not accept it. Put payment in night deposit and when not cashed, called and was told by manager of collections, ***** ******, that they were not going to accept any payments, that I should deliver the vehicle to them or they would pick it up. We have lost our house and now this due to me loosing my job after 6 spine surgeries.

Desired Settlement: We want to make our payments and keep our vehicle.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union (MOFCU) has received and reviewed the complaint detailed in case #*******.  The Committee forwarded the referenced complaint to the management of Member One Federal Credit Union and requested that a response be provided.  The following timeline and explanation was given by management: August 3, 2012:  After no response from numerous letters and phone calls (where Mr. ****** was identified) from ****** ******, repossession was ordered.   Member called on August 3, after repossession had been ordered and stated that the letter had been put in neighbor’s mail box.  We allowed Mr. ****** to bring the loan current including cost and repossession was stopped. October 23, 2012:  There had been no payments made since we stopped the repossession.  Repossession was once again ordered.  ****** ****** talked to ***** ******,VP Member Solutions, and after conferring with **** *********, Chief Information Officer, we agreed to stop repossession again once Mr. ****** provided us with a hardship letter and paid the full past due and cost.  He was warned at that time that we would not stop any future repossessions and payments needed to be made on time.  Member did not make another payment until December 3, 2012 and was still delinquent with payments.  Member became 60 days past due in August, 2013 and repossession was once again ordered August 21,  2013.  Mr. ****** called September 6, 2013 and wanted to make a payment on loan and we declined to accept payment at that time since it was out for repossession again.  He then left a check in the night deposit at branch which we returned. Mr. ****** called and I explained that we were no longer going to continue to work with him and it was in his best interest to drop the vehicle off at the closest branch.  He stated that he would not be dropping car off.  I explained to him that if we did not get the car we would be forced to take him to court for the full unpaid balance.  The car is still out for repossession. Having reviewed and verified management's response, the committee feels that the credit union has made resonable efforts to resolve this matter.   Sincerely, ******* *******, Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.It looks like we will never settle this issue!  With being the little man in, we know the big guy always win!!.  To MEMBER ONE:  90% of what you stated is untrue.  Being that we will never be able to prove otherwise, we will do our very best to tell everyone we come into contact with how when we were at our lowest, you did everything in your power to kick us when we were down.  Best of luck in your endeavors to find the vehicle, as we will continue putting our payments in the night deposit box.  And by the way, we have not received a returned check from you!!  Yet another untruth!!! Regards,****** ******

10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a MemberOne FCU Member for several years and have used their online banking, in conjunction with ******* Financial software to manage my finances. I have had absolutely no issues until last Saturday, 9/14/2013, after MemberOne changed their login policies for online banking. I have two accounts that I manage online and in *******...I can no longer update either accounts with *******, and cannot retrieve any account details online with one account. On the latter account I receive a message stating that the account details are not available. I have spoken several times this past week with MemberOne customer service, and as of yet I have failed to have my problems repaired. I feel that this has been entirely too much time for this problem to be addressed! This is an inconvenience, as I use this service daily, due to traveling. I cannot even get access to my statements on one of the accounts. Let me note here that MemberOne started charging for paper statements, to get members to sign up for E-delivery.

Desired Settlement: I want my account access repaired ASAP on both accounts so that I can use with *******, and also access online through browsers, as I was able to do before the MemberOne update, and as MemberOne promises. I want to be kept up to date as to the progress on these repairs.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Western Virginia, The Supervisory Committee of Member One Federal Credit Union has received and reviewed complaint # ******* referenced above.  The Committee forwarded this complaint to the management of Member One Federal Credit Union and requested a response.  The response received is as follows: "[On] September 10, 2013 Member One Federal Credit Union’s [MOFCU's] online provider implemented an upgrade to its online platform.   MOFCU realized there was a problem with the ******* application and the upgrade to the online platform on September 11, 2013 and began diligently working with its provider to determine the error. [On] September 24, 2013 the problem was resolved.  A representative from MOFCU was in constant contact with Mr. ****** throughout the process of resolving the issue he had with ******* and being able to see his account information.   It is our position that the issue has been resolved."     The Supervisory Committee hopes that this response will prove acceptable to Mr. ****** and the BBB of Western Virginia.   Sincerely,   ******* ******* - Supervisory Committee Representative Member One Federal Credit Union                          

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I am satisfied that the matter has been resolved. I would like to compliment ******* in the M1FCU local IT Support group for his help in getting this matter resolved.Regards,*** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Member One Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)