This business is not BBB accredited.

Thomas M. Thompson Construction

Phone: (540) 493-4935 830 Copperhead Lane, Rocky Mount, VA 24151 http://www.thomasmthompsonconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers construction and remodeling services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thomas M. Thompson Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Thomas M. Thompson Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2013 Business started: 03/13/2008 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Thomas M. Thompson III, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas M. Thompson III, Owner
Business Category

CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES REMODELING SERVICES HOME IMPROVEMENTS SIDING CONTRACTORS ROOFING CONTRACTORS PATIO & DECK BUILDERS KITCHEN REMODELING CONTRACTORS - GENERAL BATHROOM REMODELING

Industry Tips
3-Day Cooling Off Rule BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    830 Copperhead Lane

    Rocky Mount, VA 24151 (540) 493-4935

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Thompson for a small home improvement project (hand railing along front entry steps.) Signed a work order and gave a deposit of $1,642.33 on 1/3/15. After getting ignored, "the run around" and excuses for almost 3 months, I badgered him enough that he finally came 3/25 and worked a few hours, getting the job partially complete (and leaving our home looking worse, since the construction is only partially complete.) He said he would return 3/27 to complete the job. He did not, nor did he call, nor did he respond to numerous calls from me the past several days asking him to complete the job or at least inform me when he will return. His non compliance and lack of communication (taking, or returning calls) during the 3 month period has become very frustrating. My patience is exhausted!

Desired Settlement: Have the job finished completely and promptly.

Business Response: The job has been completed.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** ****

5/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tom put an architectural roof on my house in oct 2009 for $6700. It was leaking in the living room and is still leaking. He claimed it was because of the loose bricks around the chimney. I had the chimney repaired 2011 and it still leaks. He also put in a sump pump in my stair well going down to the basement in 2012 for $1500 and it quit working and my basement flooded so I had a reputable company put one in and they said the pump he used was cheap and inadequate to keep the water out. Also the outdoor socket that was put in the stair well was not enclosed and the switch would constantly short out from esposure to rain so the pump did not work for lack of power. It was not a professional job.

Desired Settlement: I would like 1500 for the cost of the sump pump and I want the roof repaired so it does not leak.

Business Response: In response to the customer’s complaint:  In October of 2009, we did install a new roof for $6,700.00 due to a leak in the living room around the chimney. We installed new shingles, new step flashing, and counter-flashing around the chimney where the water problem was occurring. During the project, I noticed the mortar was weak around the chimney and recommended the homeowner have a professional brick mason inspect and repair the issue. I even referred her to a colleague of mine, and she refused to have the work done at the time. I finished the project at her request. Upon the roof being completed, she complained that there was still a leak around the chimney. I returned to the home on three different occasions, one of which I went to the extent of running a water hose on the shingles and could not make the roof leak. In the years since, we have had several inches of snow and rain, and I did not hear from her through any of the bad weather, when a roof is most likely to leak. The next time I heard from her was Monday, April 1, 2013, when the customer called to say if I did not come fix the roof she would contact the Better Business Bureau. On this day, the customer was completely irate - I asked her to calm down so we could figure things out, and she immediately hung up the phone.     We pride ourselves in customer satisfaction, and I stand behind my work. I would be happy to revisit the home and see if there was anything I could do, but she has not called me back to discuss the issue in a calm manner.   According to her written complaint, she had the chimney repaired in 2011, and it still leaks. This work was not done by our company, so I cannot vouch for their workmanship, or even if they are a licensed party.  Whomever she had this work done by may have damaged or disrupted the work I did to seal around the chimney. The customer provided me with this person’s contact information. I called the number she provided and the man said he did do chimney work, but was unable to provide me with his contractor’s license number or even what class of contractor he was.    Her written complaint also discussed work that was done in 2012 to install a sump pump and an outdoor socket that was “inadequate and caused her basement to flood.” She is claiming that our company did this work, but we have not visited the property since 2009. This work was not done by our company, as we do not install sump pumps or do electrical work. All electrical work needed by our clients is subcontracted to a Licensed Electrician. We request that she furnish any sort of proof (e.g. receipts and/or a contract) that this work was done by our company, as we completely refute this statement.   Thank you.