BBB Accredited Business since

Chaffin Custom Homes

Phone: (540) 267-6392 View Additional Phone Numbers 4670 Mountain Pride Road , Hiwassee, VA 24347 http://chaffincustomhomes.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers custom home building, additions, garages, remodeling, modular homes, wood flooring, tiling, guttering and deck services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chaffin Custom Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Chaffin Custom Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chaffin Custom Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 2013 Business started: 08/08/2012 in VA Business incorporated 07/06/2013 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wythe County Business License

Phone Number: (276) 223-6070

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Caleb Chaffin, President Ms. Jessica Chaffin, Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Caleb Chaffin, President
Principal: Ms. Jessica Chaffin, Officer
Business Category

CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES HOME IMPROVEMENTS REMODELING SERVICES ROOFING CONTRACTORS HOME IMPROVEMENTS- ADDITIONS HOME BUILDERS HARDWOOD FLOOR CONTRACTORS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS GUTTER CLEANING GARAGE BUILDERS DECK BUILDER CONTRACTORS- FLOORING CONTRACTORS - GUTTERS CONTRACTORS - GENERAL

Alternate Business Names
CCH Contracting, Inc.
Industry Tips
3-Day Cooling Off Rule BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 4670 Mountain Pride Road

    Hiwassee, VA 24347 (540) 239-2190 (540) 267-6392

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over 2 years ago, I paid $20K to have 2 porches built, one on the front and one on the back. There were 2 issues that I had. #1 the contractor tore up my yard (with his equipment) while working at my premises. I had to pay a landscaper to come out and fix the damages (****'s lawn care whom did a great job). This issue I did not address, I just took care of it on my own #2 After the porches were completed, I was advised the wood would need to set for about a year before staining and sealing, I was OK with this, I understood the reasons behind it. After the 1st full year had passed, I contacted Chaffin and requested the porches be stained and sealed. After about 3 months, he sent someone out and they sealed the porches without cleaning them first (OMG, they looked horrible) I contacted Chaffin, they came out and looked at the sealing job and apologized to me, stating the workers knew better then that. At that point Chaffin sent the workers back out to clean the mess. Porches were never sealed or stained. So the 2nd year after the porches were built and the sealing and staining wasn't completed. So now comes the 3rd year, once again I contacted Chaffin and requested (on many occasions by text and email and even called directly). to send someone out to complete the staining and sealing of the porches. He advised me he was backed up with work but would send someone out when he could spare them. I contacted him over 5 times that year to no avail. I even told the contractors I would purchase the cleaning agents to clean the porches and the stain/sealant and have it ready for them ( which I did out of generosity because this cost was included in the cost of the porch construction cost but I wanted everything to be ready when they sent out the contractors) The year came to an end and once again, the job wasn't completed. Now we are heading into another year and do I think they will send someone out to seal/stain the porches, NO!!!! I am very disappointment. All I wanted was the porches to be stained and sealed as agreed upon, I am not even worried about the cost for the landscaping. I feel I have been truly patient and understanding. . I am not going to beg them any longer to come and complete their job. They know what needs to be done. If they don't complete the work I will probably get someone I can rely on to do the job they didn't complete. Once again, very disappointed...

Desired Settlement: I either want them to complete the work, the way it should be done or pay for the cost to have someone comeout and complete the staining and sealing of the porches

Business Response: I gave the consumer the option to hire a painter/stainer and I will pay for the labor.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, **** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chaffin Custom Homes
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)