BBB Accredited Business since

Angler's Choice

Phone: (276) 632-5600 6771 A.L. Philpott Highway, Martinsville, VA 24112 http://www.anglerschoicemarine.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers boats, motors, trailers, parts, accesssories and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Angler's Choice meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Angler's Choice include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Angler's Choice
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 27, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1994 in VA Business incorporated 12/01/1994 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Henry County Business License

Phone Number: (276) 634-4691

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Sandra Loganadan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sandra Loganadan, Owner
Business Category

BOAT DEALERS BOAT REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
SANNIC, LLC
Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 6771 A.L. Philpott Highway

    Martinsville, VA 24112 (276) 632-5600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2005 Stratos 201 pro xl from Anglers Choice Marine on May,24th 2013. Since the purchase I have had several problems with the boat. Main issue is I was sold a boat for $24,900.00 that needs roughly $10,000.00 in repairs. When I bought this boat it had a few comedic stress cracks on the top rail that I agreed I would have fixed during the winter months at my cost(since I was told all damages on the boat weren't structural damages)When I took the boat to have the cracks repaired. Several other fractures were found on the bottom haul of the boat, knee brace was broke and blistering on the haul under the bunks. All in which was found to be structural damages to the boat. I called **** from Anglers Choice Marine(the owner) He stated that I must have hit something on the water that caused the damage to the haul. Informing me that I needed to call and report a claim to my insurance company. So I did just that, upon there inspection they had found that the damages were in fact old and had seen color variations to the haul that show previous old repair as well as improper application of clear coat to the boat to hide many more small stress cracks. So naturally the insurance denied my claim. So I have been trying to get in contact with **** now for about 2 weeks with no return phone calls. Several times I have called I was told by the receptionist that **** was in please hold to be transferred and they come back on the line saying that he is at lunch, or with another customer, on the other line. So 4 times now I have left my number and have yet to receive a call back from **** about settling this matter. Once I heard back from ***** (a salesman from anglers choice) only because he thought I was another customer Mr. ********. Someone who was purchasing a new boat. So when I explained to him who I was and why I had called he said **** just got off the phone and he would put me through to him. Same old story put me on hold for the receptionist to pick up and state he was on the other line.

Desired Settlement: I would feel that it would be fair to replace the boat with another of equal value from the point of purchase. $24,900.00 the original purchase price. Or cover all repairs minus the stress cracks on the top rail that I was aware of when purchased. Place of repair to be chosen by myself. EST. amount of repair is $10-13,000.00.

Business Response: We received a call from Mr. ******* in early January concerning damage to his boat, which he had purchased from us eight months earlier.  First, we would like to note that the sale to Mr. ******* was made in good faith, with full disclosure.  At the time of purchase, Mr. ******* acknowledged that there were some cosmetic stress cracks on the top deck of the boat, which we had fixed prior to the purchase date.  This boat is a used boat that received our standard dealer warranty, which is good for 30 days from the purchase date, for labor only (at our shop) and parts at dealer cost. As a company policy we thoroughly inspect each boat when they are traded to us and re-inspect them just prior to delivery at time of sale.  The inspection report dated April 8th 2013 does not indicate any damage to the hull (bottom of the boat). This was also confirmed by the body shop (***** Dodson) that did the cosmetic work on the top deck.     Mr. ******* brought the boat to us on October 30, 2013 for various wiring issues. This was four months after the purchase date. We repaired the issues he was having and did not charge him ($1108) out of good will, even though the boat had passed the warranty period. We even gave him a new propeller to improve the performance of his boat. At that time, he did not mention any hull damage nor did our technicians see any damage to the hull.   In our first conversation in January, he mentioned that he had run the boat in the river several times, which immediately cautioned us that this could be damage sustained by an impact in shallow water. He sent us several pictures of the damage for us to review. Since we do not do body work on boats, we sent these to Auto Marine Service, the fiberglass repair shop that does our work for us, to get their opinion.  They told us that the cracks in the pictures looked like they were caused by an impact.  After careful consideration, we then advised Mr. ******* that we would not be able to help him with the damage to his boat and that he should file a claim with his insurance company.    We have carefully considered the circumstances surrounding this situation, and we regretfully conclude that we are not obligated to pay for any damage to the hull. However,  Mr. ******* did mention that there was some delamination of the clear-coat paint on the top deck. We will gladly have the body shop (***** Dodson) consider redoing the work which was done at his shop.     Sincerely,   **** *********         

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. The cracks on the top of the boat have never been fixed as stated in the response from  Anglers Choice. When I purchased the boat there were several stress crack(so I were told they were stress cracks) on the top side of the boat. When I ask, if they were structural. I was told no. In fact several of those places now I am told from the marine that is quoting the repair and the insurance adjuster that they are in fact structural damage.  The haul of the boat is then in question. I reported to my insurance as informed by the owner at Anglers Choice (****). during the  insurances  review of the boat. They denied any claim stating that is was evident the repairs and damages on the haul of the boat were in fact pre purchase. When I spoke with the insurance adjuster he stated that the clear coat that Anglers Choice openly admits to having sprayed on the boat prior to my purchase. Was nothing more than a half done job to cover up more small cracks in the top rail for a quick sale. Then I am  gave the option to have them fix or cover up those cracks with an automotive clear coat again that shouldn't have been put on a gel coated boat in the first place. I don't fill that is the proper fix to the situation.  I feel that this boat falls under a fraudulent sale. It was sold to me as having no structural damages. All were to be cosmetic damages that had no affects on it being a safe and structurally sound boat. But as documented in the attached file you can clearly see this is in fact not the case. The purchase price of the boat was $24,900.00 and has over $10,000.00 in repair needs. Which means that the value of the boat wouldn't have qualified for the loan amount if the damages had been fully disclosed to the finance company at the time of the sale. ( informed of by:******* ****-the lean holder) I would like to see some type of cash settlement offer for the cost of repair of the boat at this point or a return of the boat at full sale price. You can see the total amounts attached for repair of the boat.  Which I have paid out of pocket to start the repairs since Anglers Choice Marine wouldn't respond to me on several occasions leaving me no choice but to advance in the repair direction.   Regards, *********** *******

Business Response:  RE: ID of ******* In our previous response to this complaint on 2/24/2014, we offered to have the gel coat work re-done at the body shop that originally did the work, at no charge to Mr. *******.  Our offer still stands. The marine inspection report by ******* ******** states that Mr. ******* admits that he hit something on the water.  We are convinced that since the hull was not damaged when we sold it, and that any damage to the hull was done after it was sold to Mr. ******* in July of 2013.  After further consideration of the circumstances in this case, we are sorry to say that we cannot offer any more assistance in good faith.    **** *********      

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. The reason for which I am not satisfied with the offer from Anglers Choice Marine is because the damages to this boat were done previous to me owing it. The damages were not discovered til the clear coat that they applied to the boat to cover up damages started to peel and chip. The damages to this boat include damages to the hull which once the clear coat was removed you can clearly see that a repair was attempted because of the color differential to the hull, structural damages to the cap (which I was told when I bought the boat these were just stress cracks in the gel coat) and a broken knee brace(which is a main structural component of a boat) which leads back to why there were so many stress cracks appearing in the gelcoat because the knee brace keeps the boat from torqueing from the weight of the motor. I took the boat to have it regelcoated because anglers choice was unwilling to fix the clear coat that they had applied to the boat with a gelcoat so, when I bought the boat I knew there were some imperfections in the gelcoat so I was willing to get that fixed, until **** **** ******* ***** **** started to uncover a lot of structural damage in the cap when he removed the clear coat ***** being a boat mechanic knew there must be something causing all these stress fractures and that's when he discovered the broken knee brace he suggested we get in contact with Anglers Choice because the damages were old not something that happens in less 9 Months of owing a boat and 4 Months of actual use. We also contacted our insurance company and had them send an adjuster out to look at the boat and based on his professional opinion these were not new damages they were done before we owned the boat (I will get more verification and a statement from the insurance adjuster on his professional findings of damages). The repair cost could approach or exceed $6000 which I do agree that I should have to pay considering the findings of damages were obviously before I owned the boat. I am also not comfortable with them fixing the boat because they are obviously not through in inspecting and repairing or I would have known about all these damages. Regards, *********** *******

Business Response: Here is the inspection checklist we did on April 4th, 2013.  As I mentioned earlier there was no hull or transom damage indicated and some superficial gel coat stress cracks were noted and repaired.  At the time of sale, the stress cracks were disclosed to Mr. *******, and were acknowledged by him at that time and in his subsequent emails.  We do not feel responsible for the hull or transom repair, as we think he has hit something in the river and damaged his boat.  His wife called me a couple of weeks ago and said that Mr. ******* would settle the issue if we shared the cost of the gelcoat repair which was quoted at about $750.  We agreed to pay $400 towards the gelcoat repair just to settle the issue and put this behind us. If this is acceptable, he can sign a release and we will send him a check.  Thank you for your help in this matter. Respectfully, **** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Angler's Choice
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)