BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Service

Phone: (540) 432-6623 282 University Blvd., Harrisonburg, VA 22801 http://www.midas.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers auto service, exhaust systems, brakes, alignment, suspension repair, wheel balancing, cooling systems, shocks, struts, oil, filter, lubrication and general maintenance.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Midas Auto Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 29, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1996 in VA Business incorporated: 07/29/2004 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Harrisonburg Business Lic.

Phone Number: (540) 432-7704

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Bauserman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Bauserman, Owner
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE TIRE DEALERS TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS BRAKE SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Bauserman Investments, L.L.C.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 282 University Blvd.

    Harrisonburg, VA 22801 (540) 432-6623

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 06/21/12 My truck was being serviced for an oli change at Midas on University BLVD in Harrisonburg, Virginia, while I was at work.I received a call from ****, manager of Midas, informing me that the oil change had been completed. **** then stated that he noticed that my air conditioning was not working. I told him that I was aware and that I had considered repairing it but that i was skeptical about having it repaired because I had experiences in the past where I felt I wasted money on such efforts to repair a/c problems. He insisted that he could correct the problem and get the a/c unit running correctly. He said that he would look into it and call me back. I told him i did not want to spend the money unless he could guarantee that the problem would actually be fixed. He said that he wouldnt do it unless he knew for sure that it would work going forward. **** called me back a few minutes later stating that he had tested the a/c system and that the only thing wrong with it was a small valve that was leaking. He stated that if he put in the new valve that the system would work and that I would have cold a/c. I questioned him again asking if he was sure that the installation of said part would repair the a/c to proper functioning without any additional repairs. I reiterated my desire not to waste money on the repair if it would not fix the problem totally. He assured me that he had done a thorough evaluation and inspection of the a/c system and that this small repair was all that was needed. Based on his assurance I authorized the repair and I paid him $161.50.The A/C functioned for a week or two but quickly reverted back to blowing hot air. I brought the truck back to Midas to see have it checked. After several visits, **** informed me that there was a leak in the back line of the system which would cost me $500-600 to get the part from a dealer and have them install it. I requested my money back and he declined to offer a satisfactory refund.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund as ****'s assurance to me on 06/21/2012 that he had performed a thorough investigation of the a/c system on my truck and that the repair he recommended that day was all that was needed for my a/c system to function correctly again. Based on that assurance I authorized the repair. It did not correct my problem and now I am out $161.50 and I still don't have A/C in my truck.I want a refund of $161.50 from Midas, University BLVD, Harrisonburg, Virginia.Thank You.**

Business Response: My name is **** ******* manager at Harrisonburg Midas. On 8/2/2012 I recieved a consumer complaint BBB case # ******* in regaurds to ******* *******'s service he recieved on 6/21/2012.

On June 21,2012 Mr ******** had called our shop about getting his oil change in his 200,000 mile 2000 GMC Yukon. Since Mr ****** was a good customer I went to his work and picked his vehicle up for him just as I have done in the past. I called the customer after the service was performed to let him know I would be bringing the vehicle back to his work and would need payment. I did suggest to him that the AC in the vehicle was not working and did he have any idea why it wasnt working(to cut out the obvious like if the comprerssor was broke or if he might know what was wrong with the vehicle before he was charged).would he be interested in having the vehicle looked at. I explained the procudere to the customer. Basically the vehicle would get hooked up to the ac machine once we drawed down the system the machine would keep enough vacum on the system to determine if there were any major leaks in the system. Once we could determine the system would hold a charge then we would add the coolant and also add a dye to the sytem to determime in the future if there where any small leaks that the draw test would not find. The cost for this procedure would be $109.99 at that time. If the vehicle had a bad component like a compressor the fee would be $75.00 along with a quote to do the repair. Mr ****** vehicle had a valve leaking on a line where the machine hooked up at. (Schrader Valve) I called Mr ****** explained the situation and said we would need to fix this Schrader valve before the vehicle would hold the coolant. he agreed to fix the valve. After about 2 weeks Mr ****** returned to the shop stating that his ac was warm again. Unfortatley at the time he had is Ac serviced, the machine had failed to add the dye to the coolant. This is the only thing we could think of because there was no signs of leaks in the system. We advised him that he had some sort of leak in the system and that we were sorry but there was a possiblity there was no dye added when we recharged it. We recharged the system again to determine where the leak was coming from.(at no charge to the customer) Mr ****** returned about two weeks later,at that time we were able to determine he had a small leak in the rear lines that feed the rear ac unit. Mr ****** had inquired if there was anyway to just not use those lines and I explained to him they all were part of the system and it could not be done. After I gave him the price quote he was not happy. I informed he could call the dealer just as I had done and get the parts himself but thats just how it is, they were very expensive lines to replace.I should make a note in saying that there had been some sort of problem in the past because someone had disconnected the compressor prior to us diagnosing the ac unit. This is when Mr ****** insisted that he didnt rent the air and he wanted his money back. I wanted to make him happy so I decided to give him back the difference between the ac charge $109.99 and the Diagnositic fee of $75.00 difference of $34.99 he was not happy with that either. I explained to him at that point that I didnt have to give him any money back because we had done nothing wrong and asked him to leave the store because he was disrupting other customers. We do on avrage 100 ac recharges a season with the same procedure and never have a problem with a customer understanding the procedure. I feel we went above and beyond to satisfy this customer and he was just unwilling to accept the answer he got.

Consumer Response: The Manager assured me that he had diagnosed my problem and that if I spent the $161.50 my problem would be resolved.  Based on his assurance that all my truck needed was the small valve, I agreed to the repair.  I had informed him that I did not want to perform the repair if he could not guarantee me that the A/C would function.  He is not standing by his Guarantee to me and I have wasted $161.50 for the a/c repair and I have no working a/c in my truck.  I believe he was not honest with me and only baited me into a repair he knew would not work.  I want my $161.50 Back or I will persue further legal recourse. Regards, ******* *******  

Business Response: In response to the customer compliant #******* He was offered a refund of $34.99 which was the difference of the ac recharge ($109.99) or diagnostic($75.00) this was not satisfactory to him.   Procedure: Mr. Customer ac Diagnoises works like this, First we are going to draw down the system and this will provide us with enough information to determine if the vehicle's system can hold a charge. In the event your vehicle will not hold a charge or other components are bad then there is a fee of $75.00 and a quote will be giving to you for the cost of the repair. If the vehicle passes the draw test and the components are all working properly then the fee will be 109.99 for the cost of the r134a freon.  The customers had a leaking schrader valve this is the valve that plugs the line after the coolant is replensihed. The small leaks in the rear ac lines could not be detected by the machine and according to the customer did not leak off until weeks later.      **** ******* ###-###-####

Consumer Response: I will not accept anything less than a full refund of my $161.50 from Midas, University Blvd, Harrisonburg, Virginia.   **** assured me if he put the valve on and charged the system that my A/C would function.  I asked him several times for such assurance before I agreed to have the service performed.  Based on his repeated assurances I agreed to have the service performed and paid for the service. **** and Midas, Harrisonburg, Virginia, are not standing behind their promise.  I paid my $161.50 and received a weeks worth of Cold Air from my A/C. I wasted my money on that service and I am out $161.50 Perhaps I will have to contact the Virginia Attorney General and the Virginia Consumer Affairs if this business will not do right by me and refund my $161.50. Regards, ******* *******  

Consumer Response: Dear BBB: I would like to accept the offer from Midas in Harrisonburg regarding complaint #*******. Please have them forward their check to me at the following mailing address: ******* ** *******    

Business Response: This offer was made prior to the complaint being made. Since Mr. ****** decided to take further action and took up everyones time this offer is no longer stands.

Consumer Response: ok.  i tried to settle this matter out of court... but i will now priceed with leagal action agains the company.   Regards,******* *******  

Business Response: I made contact with Mr. ******* on Friday and gave him his refund I hope we can consider this case closed. Thank you for your help in this matter.

1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The inspection on my vehicle I recently purchased is due in March 2013. I was told to have it checked out to find out what would need to be done, if anything, to pass inspection when it is due. I took it in to Midas and explained that the inspection isn't due until March but I wanted to have them do a pre-inspection to let me know if anything will need to be done to get it to pass in March when due. They scaped the inspection sticker off the car then took it in and rejected the vehicle because of rusted out areas of the frame. They were not suppose to take the sticker off because I wasn't having a safety inspection, just a pre-inspection.Now I have a vehicle I am not able to drive because repair shops around here won't weld the frame, they want to put a whole new frame under the car. The service personnel were uncaring and rude. I, in turn, was upset and very unhappy. They say state law requires them to remove the sticker. I checked with the state inspection office and it was only required to be removed if I was in fact having the safety inspection done. I was not, but they say that is just hear say. They should have told me right from the start that they were going to scape the sticker off. They did not.

Desired Settlement: I want my old sticker back. I want to be able to drive my car until March giving me time to find someone who will be willing to fix it without replacing the whole frame. I don't want to pay for this inspection that they did that I did not authorize. I want my car keys back. I want them to warn people ahead of time that if they do ANY kind of inspection they will remove the inspection sticker prior to the inspection. I am sure they thenmselves don't know half the law they try to quote.

Business Response: In regard to Mrs. ******** formal complaint of the inspection of her 1999 Kia Sportage on January,4,2013 . Mrs. ******** came to our location walked in and requested a Virgina State Inspection on her vehicle. Mrs. ******** made the comment that it wasn't due until March but she wanted to get the vehicle inspected anyway because she had just bought the vehicle. Once the vehicle was noticed to have severe frame damaged and was asked to come out to the inspection bay to see the problem first hand she refused immediately and insisted that we leave her sticker on the vehicle since it was not expired. Unfortunately rule number one on the Virgina State inspection process is remove the old sticker.  Her answer was "she didn't know because she was from another state." I offered the number to the State Highway Patrol who handles these matters(###-###-####) and she responded to me that she had already talked to them and they were the one who referred us. Mrs. ******** became irate and was disrupting business and was asked to pay for her inspection and leave. She refused got her spare key from her purse and left without paying. Mrs. ******** stated that she didn't ask for a State Inspection but a "Pre-Inspection" If this was the case it is Company policy to inform the customer of a $29.99 for a "Total Vehicle Inspection." Mrs. ******** is being unreasonable and should be concerned that her vehicle is not only unsafe for her to drive but unsafe to other motorist.This situation should be arbitrated with the Virgina State Highway Patrol not the Better Business Bureau.        

Consumer Response: The owner was not present at the business that day. The manager was at lunch. The statement submitted by the owner is not the truth of what transpired. First of all, I DID go out and check under the car as they asked. Secondly, I did get upset, but did not get IRATE and disrupt the business. For one thing, there was only one other  customer with his two young sons in the waiting room at the time and we did not even go into the waiting room to talk. All our communication was done outside with no customers around. The owners statement is an untruthful account of what transpired that day. He admitted on the phone that his manager was out of line with the way he talked to and treated me. I cannot be held accountable for what his people enter into a computer without my knowledge. His office man at the desk evidently did not enter the proper info into the computer as to what I requested done. He would be wise to give a copy of the workorder to the customer to verify in the future. Even ******* does that for a simple oil chang,  I do not accept the owners response as it is not the truth. I have taken my car elsewhere to get fixed and have no desire to do business with this establishment again. In my opinion, they are not to be believed or trusted. All they needed to do was acknowledge their mistake and things may have taken a different turn. Regards,***** ********