BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Service

Phone: (540) 432-6623 282 University Blvd., Harrisonburg, VA 22801

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This firm offers auto service, exhaust systems, brakes, alignment, suspension repair, wheel balancing, cooling systems, shocks, struts, oil, filter, lubrication and general maintenance.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1996 in VA Business incorporated 07/29/2004 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Harrisonburg Business Lic.

Phone Number: (540) 432-7704

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gary Bauserman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Bauserman, Owner
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Bauserman Investments, L.L.C.
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 282 University Blvd.

    Harrisonburg, VA 22801 (540) 432-6623


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a bearing go out in my front end. I paid Midas to replace it. I then had a problem with the other front bearing. I paid them to replace that as well. They told me it was a tire problem, but I had new tires on it and the manager agreed the tires were fine (they were trying to sell me tires). I had further problems with the front end and took it to a different garage and they told me that when they took the bearing out, that it looked like Midas had taken a hammer to my axle and smashed the bearing in. This second shop sent the bearing to be put into the casing by a machine shop and the machine shop said the bearing had never been replaced, it looked like the original bearing. I had to pay over $800 to have my axle replaced and a new bearing put in. When I called and emailed Midas, first they denied it, then they said that they would repay me the cost of the one bearing installation but I would have to talk to the owner. In addition, since driving off of their property the last time I heard some noise in the rear end. Both of my rear struts were broken which were not previously damaged at all. I called the owner several times and he wouldn't return my phone call. So I emailed them again and they never responded. I would like for them to repay the service fee for the bearing and the cost of the damage they did to my car.

Desired Settlement: I would like other consumers to be aware of the bad repair service I received and I would like to receive a full refund of the monies I spend on the damage they did to my axle plus the fact that they charged me to replace a bearing and they did not provide this service but damaged my bearing casing and axle. There were hammer marks on the inside of the bearing case and axle and the screw was stripped. Both the machine shop and the other garage would bear witness to the damage they did to my Toyota Avalon. I contacted them via email on 2/6/15, 2/6/15, 2/9/15, 2/10/15, 2/27/15.

Business Response: in response to BBB case #********   On Aug the 14th 2014 ******* ****** solicited our services to replace a driver side wheel bearing in which she had stated to the owner that two other shops refused to work on her vehicle. The Bearing was replaced per her request with no problems. In November of 2014 Mrs. ****** returned to the shop with a compliant of a noise and believed it to be the other wheel bearing. A 25 year technician drove her vehicle and examined the vehicle on lift and did not feel like the noise she was hearing was coming from the wheel bearing and suggest it may be just a tire noise. At no time did anyone offer to sell her tires. It was advised that she drive the vehicle a little longer until the noise become more pronounced. On November the 24th 2014 Mrs ****** approached me in the local ******* to express her disappointment that we did not want to work on her vehicle and that her tires were fairly new. I explained to her that the technician was just being honest and didn’t feel like her bearing was making the noise but bring the vehicle back and I will personally get involved with the diagnosis. On November the 25th2014 Mrs. ****** came to the shop and we personally test drove the vehicle so we both could agree on the noise she was hearing. After a couple simple road test I too wasn’t sure the wheel bearing was the cause of the faint noise she complained of. I explained to her we would put the vehicle on the lift and I would get another technicians opinion of the noise. After a complete evaluation of her vehicle at no charge by a second technician the same one that replaced the first bearing, agreed that he wasn’t completely 100% that the noise was coming from the wheel bearing and that he could hear a faint noise in the hub but couldn’t be 100% considering noises can travel through the drive train of a vehicle but felt the bearing would be a good place to start consider she just had one replaced. Mrs ****** was notified of our finding and agreed to change the wheel bearing. The procedure to remove and replace the wheel bearing has a industry standard time of around 3 hours so the vehicle was repaired and available for pick up that day. To assure Mrs. ****** satisfaction we took a 40 minute test drive through town and on the interstate,she agreed the vehicle was fixed. On February 6th 2015 I received a phone call from Mrs. ****** stating that the wheel bearing was installed “crooked” and it caused her axle to fail also. (This is a pressed in type bearing it not possible to install “crooked” see attached pictures). I said send me your bill and I will talk to the owner to see what can be done about it. I also explained she had a complete parts and labor warranty that she should have contacted me from the beginning we could have had the vehicle towed to our shop. She stated that the work had already been done. After discussing the matter with the owner it was decided she didn’t take advantage of the warranty she was provided . She choose to have the work done somewhere else and that we couldn’t do anything for her but would make a exception to refund her previous bill for the last bearing as a good neighbor gesture. If she had any further questions to direct them to the owner who was working that day in the shop. February 26th 2015 ,twenty days after the initial phone call and email I get another email with a bill attached for the repairs stating that the wheel bearing was never replaced and that we just basically took her money,never did the work and that if she didn’t get her full refund she would take the next steps. After careful review of the invoices she provided we notice that the shop had preformed the work on 1/29/2015 for the sum of $837.34 but then the vehicle was returned to the facility on February 9th 2015 with the same problem where the once again they charged her to install a used spindle and bearing for the sum of $261.37.(see attachments) Considering the job takes around 3 hrs for an experienced technician not 3 weeks and a second trip I can only assume your vehicle was misdiagnosed by the faculty in question and most likely beyond their skill set considering they had to relay on machine shop to install the bearing for them not to mention having to re do the work a 3rd time on February 9th 2015( and charged her again!) We have made attempts to satisfy this with Mrs ****** going above and beyond our legal obligations by offering her a refund on the bearing we installed. She has never spoke with the owner choose instead to use this outlet to make false accusations weeks after the fact therefor at this time we choose to not refund any of the her money.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.     In Paragraph One, the response from Midas was that they never offered to sell me tires.  This is absolutely false.  The older female desk clerk called me at my office down the street and stated that the technician thought that it was the tires and that they sold tires, did I want them to replace the front tires.  I told them absolutely not, that the tires were not that old.  When I spoke to the garage manager, he looked at the tires and told me that he didn't think that they needed replacing either.     In Paragraph Two, when I saw the garage manager getting ready to check out at ******* I told him how disappointed I was with the work I had completed at his shop.  I never expressed disappointment that they would not work on the vehicle, this is also false.  He told me to please come back and he would personally look into the matter.     Paragraph Three is also completely false.  We did go for a test drive.  The garage manager told me he thought it was the other front wheel bearing, and that would take care of it that day.  They did not put it on the rack and test it first before they diagnosed it as a wheel bearing.  We absolutely did not take a 40 minute test drive through town and on the interstate.  I drove it by myself off of the lot and immediately noticed a noise now coming from my back end, where there was not a problem before.  It was later diagnosed b by another mechanic that both of my shocks/struts had been broken off at the top on my rear.       I called Midas to see what they would do to compensate me for the damages they did to my car and was given the owner of Mida's phone number to call.  I tried calling him several times and he would not answer the phone or return my phone call after I left a polite message.  When I did not receive a call back I left several emails with the garage manager, ****, who then quit responding to the emails.        Thank you for your time and interest in this matter.  It has been a very costly and disappointing experience.  I have attached the emails and other garage repair mechanic's statements for your review.  In addition, the second mechanic that had to repair the work from Midas stated that the machine shop that put the bearing back in the casing stated to him that Midas had never replaced the bearing at all, that it was the original bearing.Respectfully,****** ******           Regards, ******* ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)