BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Western Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO Transmissions and Total Car Care

Phone: (540) 433-1232 1851 Reservoir Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801 http://www.harrisonburgautorepair.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers transmission repairs and total car care.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions and Total Car Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmissions and Total Car Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AAMCO Transmissions and Total Car Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 18, 1999 Business started: 02/01/1997 in VA Business under new ownership as of: 04/01/2006 Business incorporated: 09/30/2002 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Harrisonburg Business Lic.

Phone Number: (540) 432-7704

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Penny Imeson, President Mr. Thomas C. Imeson, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Penny Imeson, President
Principal: Mr. Thomas C. Imeson, Vice President
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE

Alternate Business Names
GSG, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 1851 Reservoir Street

    Harrisonburg, VA 22801 (540) 433-1232

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a problem with my steering; when my vehicle gets cold the steering gets rough and it makes a grinding sound. This problem still has not been fixed. I took my vehicle to ***** **** and they could not find a problem with my peer steering, or any parts connected to the steering. Next I tried AAMCO. They ran a diagnostics on my vehicle and concluded that there was a leak in my pressure line of my power steering which was causing the problem. I was unsure about this diagnostics because ***** **** specifically checked it for me. So I asked them, "Is the problem severe to the point where it has to be fixed immediately." They responded, "No, but later down the road it may cause problems." They continued to say, "However, if you want that grinding noise from the steering to go away, replacing the pressure line will definitely fix the problem." I am not a mechanic but as a consumer I have no choice to trust and believe in the mechanics diagnostics. I payed them nearly $300.00 to fix the problem, I think $296.00 to be exact. After they replaced the pressure line, the problem was still there and worst. Everyday it got worst. So at this point Im under the suspicion that maybe my power steering pressure line did not needed to be replaced. So I took my vehicle back to AAMCO, they said for me to give them a chance "to make things right." I took it back and they still did not fix the problem. I am unsatisfied with their service because they told me they can fix the problem and they did not. I demanded for my money back, and the manager (***) said he cannot give me my money back because they cannot experience any problems with the vehicle. I left my vehicle with them two more times and both times they mentioned that they could not experience the problem. So I drove the vehicle with *** and I witnessed him experiencing the problem (the grinding of the steering wheel). At this point, *** and his mechanic did their research on dodge charger forums and found out that the solution to the problem of my vehicle is a $20.00 bottle fluid. So I asked again for my refund, since they experienced the problem, but he said he still cannot give me my money back, which is ridiculous because he said he would if he experienced the problem. However he did say that he will get the $20.00 fluid for my vehicle. I have been ripped off, AAMCO ran a diagnostic on my car and concluded that a $300.00 repair would fix it but it did not. Then they buy the solution for my vehicle which is $20.00. This is a $280.00 difference and AAMCO took it from me. I am a college student at ***** ******* University, I cannot afford to throw away $280.00. I even contacted AAMCOs national headquarters six times in the last week. Once I filed a report to them, to their customer service representative (Gregory), he never returned my calls. Also he have not answered or returned my last five calls. The BBB is my last option and I really need y'all help. I have been ripped off. I paid $300.00 to get my car fix and they did nothing. Also i complained to *** the manager and he responded that "that is how life goes, not everything goes your way." That is absurd, this is not a life lesson. It is supply and demands. I paid the cost but they did not provide the service. Please help.

Business Response: The customer had two complaints: 1) Gears switching slow. ***** **** said they noticed wetness at trans lines 2) Turning is not smooth as before.  Hears and feels clicks when turning We did not hear the turning noise, because the customer said it only happens when it is frigid cold, which it was that week.  The transmission was fine, performed well and had no leaks. We did see a leak from the power steering pressure line. Leaks cause a low fluid condition, which can cause the power steering pump to whine or generally perform badly. The customer gave us permission to repair the leaky power steering pressure line.  After repairing the leaking power steering pressure line, the customer said the noise was still there on cold mornings.  We inspected and drove the car on several different days and finally heard a noise from the power steering system. Every garage is going to fix a power steering pressure line leak first. It would be malpractice not to. AAMCO fixed a leak. This does not make AAMCO responsible for the rest of the power steering system. As for the $20 friction modifier, should we have ignored an obvious leak and then started hunting around for an hour on a Dodge forum? No. Any mechanic would have said fix the leak first. A leak and corresponding low fluid condition is almost certainly the cause of the problem.  I am sorry it didn't fix the noise.  I would do it exactly the same again given the same symptoms, however. I think the customer misunderstood my comment about life: You fix the obvious problems first. Not everything is a conspiracy. Thanks

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I am not satisfied because their complaint is false. It is true that they replaced the power steering pressure line but after they ran their diagnostics, they were sure that replacing the power steering pressure line would solve the problem. However, it did not and they were false-not my fault. Their desk worker. (******) said himself, "it doesn't need to be replaced immediately, maybe down the road it may cause problems, but if you want to get rid of that noise then replacing it would definitely solve the problem." This tells me that my power steering pressure line doesn't need to be fixed now- it is not severely damaged or unusable. Also there may be a possibility that it wasn't damaged at all. After replacing the power steering pressure line the problem was still there, which help supports that the power steering  pressure line was not bad. My vehicle was bought from a dealer, only be driving it for 6 months and I barely drive because I am in school. There is no way that my power steering pressure line should be in the condition to be replaced. However they are the mechanic and I hd no choice but to trust their diagnostic, but it was false. He also stated they every mechanic would have recommended to replace the power steering pressure line. Once again, he was wrong. I took my vehicle to other mechanics before him, including ***** **** like he mentioned. Neither one of them said that there was a problem with the power steering pressure line. It has a month or more days since I paid AAMCO $300.00 to fix my car and the problem still has not been fixed. If this is not bad service, I don't know what is. Also when I started to bring my car back to AAMCO due to the problem not being fixed, I noticed that other customers were complaining about their service. I basically gave AAMCO $300.00 without receiving the service I needed, and all the manager had to say about that is "that's life."   Regards, ******* *******  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called AAMCO on 05/09, made an appointment for my car for 05/10 at 8a. I spoke to *** who seemed very knowledgeable and genuine about my issues and concerns. Took my car here friday, received a phone call back that the engine was very strong, transmission fluid not burnt, the 2 codes that were pulled were the same that **** **** had pulled for free. I paid the 47.50 diagnostic fee, was told to bring it back for a more comprehensive review which would cost 285.00 a level 3 diagnostic, and my transmission pan would be pulled off and the transmission inspected and the exact parts would be seen which needed to be replaced. I took the car back, they worked on it again on 05/13, called me that evening. Told me the transmission fluid was burnt now, and a rebuilt transmission needed because of the torque clutch converter, (which was the same code originally pulled and what I found out from **** ****). I asked if transmission was pulled apart and pan looked at for shavings like I was told it would be. No, this was not performed, my boyfriend paid the fee before he spoke to me about this. I called and complained and was told the reciept would show everything performed. The receipt shows, the car was driven, codes pulled and the transmission fluid checked again. I wasnt told any other information and was offered to speak to a technician to be told what was done, and said yes, but never was given the techinician on the phone. I have contacted *** 3 times since, was offered a few oil changes since I was not happy, no I would not trust this company with my car now. So what I am requesting is even a partial refund, I am willing to pay the company for some of their time, but not for a level 3 diagnostic, since I was misquoted work to be performed that was not done, and have since taken my car somewhere else and the issue is fixable without needing the transmission replaced or rebuilt.

Desired Settlement: I would at least like a partial refund and am even willing to pay for another 47.50 diagnostic from 05/13 since they did review my car again this day even though they did the same thing on 05/10. I was misquoted what was needed to fix my vehicle, and was told certain diagnostics would be performed that were not. I paid 285.00 for nothing, and am now getting my car fixed without the money used to pay for this and am completely out this money for no reason.

Business Response: Re: Complaint: ******* It is important to keep in mind that the reason we did the level 3 diagnostics is because there was notenough evidence on the initial diagnostic to condemn the transmission. The vehicle drove beautifullyand the fluid did not have a burnt odor to it. There were two transmission related codes. Code PO742torque converter clutch problem and a follow on code (POo1811) which is her computer saying that thetransmission is not shifting correctly. We CANNOT condemn a transmission that is running perfectly onthe test drive and has good fluid. We MUST determine if the cause of the codes is an internal failure orsimply an electronic fault on the torque converter clutch circuit. In other words, is there a short? I explained this to Mr. *****. I told her that we needed to do a "Level 3" diagnostic. This buys up tothree hours of my "A" tech's time to find the short.  And we hope to avoid replacing the transmission.This was diagnostic time, not repair time. lt turns out that the problem with the vehicle was amechanical failure either because of or in addition to electrical failure. In other words, she needs atransmission. The reason we did not give her a parts list is that there are no parts that can fix hertransmission without removing the entire transmission and overhauling it. I gave Ms. ***** themultiple page diagnostic flow chart that we used to determine what the problem was. I also explainedto her that two technicians were involved in driving the vehicle with the scan tool. One drives thevehicle and the other reads the computer. That obviously doubles the labor cost, which is covered bythe level 3 diagnostics. Ms. ***** is also concerned that we simply told her what she got for free from **** ****. She is underthe false impression that a vehicle code tells us exactly what parts are defective. This is not true. Avehicle code says that there is a fault on the ClRCUlT.  The fault could be with a solenoid, a break in awire, a bad computer , a bad battery, a poor connection or whatever. Lf you do not do a properdiagnostic, you are just throwing parts at a problem. Once we determined that there was indeed a mechanical failure, we offered to repair the transmissioninternally. This is the step where we remove the transmission and give the customer a list of the wornand damaged internal parts that need to be replaced in order to get the vehicle running correctly again,Ms, ***** refused this service and took her car. We credited her $47.50 for the initial diagnostic, andcharged her for the technician's time, which we call a level 3 diagnostic. There are alot of transmissions being replaced out there that do not need to be replaced. We need tobe sure that a transmission has failed before we try to sell the customer a new transmission.  

Consumer Response: This response still doesnt tell me why I was lied to and was told they would drop the transmission pan and look for metal and debris. So I am assuming they drove the car for an hour and a half to pay two techs 150.00 each. This is absolutely ridiculous, and yes I still only know what auto zone told me for free because correct  me if I am wrong you diagnosed me torque clutch converter and you still told me you wouldnt know what hard parts would be needed until it was tore apart. This company is a complete scam and unfortunately untrustworthy.  My complaint for some type of refund was not addressed, if he were willing to give me free oil changes which I declined then give me money back for those oil changes you were going to compensate me for! And to be honest, would you want someone to treat your wife, mother, daughter this way. Absolutely ridiculous and of course this company did no wrong.  Regards, **** *****   

Business Response: I do regret that the customer is unsatisfied.  We did our best to diagnose the problem in such as way as to avoid having to overhaul the transmission.  My techs did spend in excess of three man hours on the vehicle.  I told the customer what we would charge before we did the work, and then I charged her that amount. The techs were able to determine the problem without dropping the transmission pan, so they did not drop it.  As I wrote earlier, we simply have to spend some time with vehicles before we condemn the transmission. We are trying to SAVE the customer money whenever possible.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1