BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Western Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Bill's Used Parts, Inc.

Phone: (540) 382-3972 View Additional Phone Numbers 1415 Radford Rd., Christiansburg, VA 24073 http://www.billsusedparts.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers resale of used & new auto & light truck parts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bill's Used Parts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bill's Used Parts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bill's Used Parts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 25, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1944 in VA Business incorporated: 01/01/1944 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Harvey, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Harvey, President
Business Category

AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-USED & REBUILT TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW

Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 1415 Radford Rd.

    Christiansburg, VA 24073 (540) 382-3972

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (540) 382-2476(Phone)
  • (540) 382-5010(Phone)
  • (540) 382-5068(Phone)
  • (540) 382-6449(Phone)
  • (540) 382-6467(Phone)
  • (540) 382-8605(Phone)
  • (540) 382-8672(Phone)
  • (800) 468-5612(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a front Jeep JK rubicon drive axle. The part was defective and didn't work once installed. I requested a replacement axle or a reimbursement of what I had to spend here locally to repair the drive axle. they stopped responding to my written request and phone calls.

Desired Settlement: I just need them to take care of the bill for parts and labor I had here at my local four-wheel repair shop.

Business Response:   On 11/28/12 the customer purchased a 07 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon front axle from us on our invoice # ****** which is attached. The first time we were notified there was a problem with this part was via e-mail on 05/21/13. This is well past when the 100 day warranty ended on 03/08/13.   The customer indicated to our sales person ***** that he was building a rock crawler and therefore had to install and wire this front axle in a vehicle that is was not exactly designed to fit in. He also indicated the front axle he ordered was being installed in a vehicle that  is for off road use and not for use as regular passenger vehicle.   The customer has had repairs made to the part without permission from Bill's Used Parts Inc.. Permission is required before any repairs are made, reference  # 11 on the Certificate of Limited Warranty that is attached.    The customer is billing us for parts and labor even though if you reference the copy of the invoice it has " ** 100 DAY PARTS ONLY WARRANTY FROM INVOICE DATE ** " and under Invoice Terms it has " *** No labor paid without the purchase of a labor warranty. *** " .   This is not a valid complaint or claim against Bill's Used Parts Inc. because the customer did not make a warranty claim within the warranty period.   If further information on this matter is required it should be noted that I will be out of the office from 10/18/13 to 10/27/13. I will be in the office on 10/28/13.    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: 10-15-13I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.The information submitted by the business is not accurate. 1 - I have attached a copy of the first email dated 1-21-13 requesting a follow up from ***** on the wiring connectors needed to operate / engage the axle they sold me. This issue was address then. 2 – This isn’t a “rock crawler”, it’s a rebuild of a wrecked / salvage 2007 Jeep unlimited Rubicon. The VIN # to this jeep is ***************** and is currently registered and inspected in Texas for street use. 3 – I have over sixteen copies of emails requesting a solution from ***** starting on 1-21-13 of not being able to operate the axle without the wiring harness that was to be sent. I have emails saying that he thought his guys sent them to they were sending them again etc. All the way to his company is looking into this matter and will call me back. 4 – I bought several thousands of dollars in jeep parts from them and this is their response / solution for their customer. 5 – It seems to me that they intentionally stalled on the delivery of this whole wiring connector deal to get beyond the warranty of 100 days so they wouldn’t have to stand behind their axle because they knew it was defective. I made it very clear to ***** in all the emails from the beginning that I couldn’t check / operate the axle without the wiring connectors. He said no problem and made several promises to get them to me but never did. I will be happy to scan all the emails and forward them. 6 – Once I realized they were never going to send them, I started going to other salvage yards until I found some wiring connectors that I could make work, and sure enough, the axle did not operate / engage. 7 – this was a major rebuild, and it did take several months for me to complete, but I did request a wiring connector solution long before the warranty was up.Regards, ***** ******  

Business Response: I would like to address each item the customer ***** ****** submitted in his last response.    1) Our sales person ***** told ***** he would send the wiring connectors if we had them. Requesting connectors is not reporting a warranty problem.   2) The statement it was a "rock crawler" came form ***** to our sales person ***** not from us.   3) Any qualified shop could have made a jumper wire to test the front axle with out the wiring harness or connectors. It is not our fault the customer or the customers shop did not know how to do this.   4) The customer has purchased 2 parts a front axle and a transfer case.   5) We did not stall on the wiring connectors. We told the customer we would send them if available, and the front axle could have been tested with out the connector by a qualified shop.   6) & 7) It is not our fault that it took ***** several months to complete his project.   In closing the customer has made repairs to the part without permission which is required. He also did not make a warranty claim during the warranty period. These two items were mentioned in my previous response. As a good faith gesture we would be willing to offer the customer $877.00 reimbursement for the part he says was defective in the front axle. This amount reflects our cost for the defective part  (part # *******) from a DANA distributor (our warranty is for parts only and no labor, this was also outlined in my last response). The copy of the quote is attached. I feel like this a generous offer considering the customer did not make a claim during the warranty period and he had the part repaired without asking for permission first. 

Consumer Response: I accept the business's response and Financial compensation to resolve this complaint...I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Regards,***** ******  

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/17/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used engine from these guys that has problems. The CSR I have been dealing with (******)just keeps promising the parts and labor money to fix it now for going on 2 months. I have not received parts and he keeps just beating around the bush for some odd reason. He was informed they sent a bad engine the day it was installed and I have still yet to get any help with the matter and the parts have a warranty.

Desired Settlement: Parts to fix engine and labor cost that I have informed ****** about.

Business Response: We issued a credit of $572.36 to *** ****** on December 5th.*** ******

Consumer Response: This did not cover the labor cost to fix the engine. ****** informed me on the 3rd and 4th that a check has been mailed to cover this. Once I receive this I will consider the dispute settled Regards,**** ******    

Business Response: As far as a labor claim is concerend please see the copy of the attachedinvoice and note the statement of "100 DAY PARTS ONLY WARRANTY FROM INVOICEDATE" on the invoice for AMH. As far as the parts are concerned we put acredit back on his credit card on 12/05/12 in the ammount of $572.36. Ifthere are any other questions please call me.  *** ******  

Consumer Response: Spoke with *** ****** and have this issue straightened out.   The complaint has been taken care of. Regards, **** ******  

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.