BBB Accredited Business since

Bill's Used Parts, Inc.

Phone: (540) 382-3972 View Additional Phone Numbers 1415 Radford Rd., Christiansburg, VA 24073 http://www.billsusedparts.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers resale of used & new auto & light truck parts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bill's Used Parts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bill's Used Parts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bill's Used Parts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 25, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1944 in VA Business incorporated 01/01/1944 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Harvey, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Harvey, President
Business Category

AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-USED & REBUILT TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW

Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 1415 Radford Rd.

    Christiansburg, VA 24073 (540) 382-3972

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 8, 2015 I contacted Bills in regards to purchasing a transmission. ***** was my sales associate that would be helping me. He said that he had a transmission that was $1100 and they could have it there Friday. I said "great" and purchased the transmission. When my husband went to pick up the trans ***** explained that the cooling tubes were bent and that we could just use the original ones on my current transmission, though there was no price difference in the amount paid. Once we got the transmission to my mechanic he installed it, there was no change to the car, the transmission didn't work. We contacted bills letting ***** know, they gave my mechanic a check list of things one by one to try before we could return the transmission and get a different one. Every time one thing didn't work he would have to call back and they would tell him another thing to check. After several weeks they allowed us to return the transmission and ordered us another one. The called us when the 2nd trans came in, ***** required that we bring the original trans and the trans we purchased from them since they were giving us a "deal" with a trans that had less miles. I took the 2nd trans to my mechanic who installed it with no luck it didn't work either. I thought maybe it was my mechanic, so I took the car to ****** ****** and they came back with the same issue the trans was no good and neither was a part called the body valve. We let bills know, ***** stated that he would get the body valve off the original transmission and see if that fixes the car, he would contact us in a few days when he had it. Well a few days went by and no call, we called Bills and ***** gave us the run around stating they haven't found it yet. After a week and a half goes by we call again, they are still looking for it, they will have it there tomorrow. I call them the next day and there still isn't a body valve. They tell us to give them another day, so I do. The next day I drive down there (a 45min drive one way) to pick up the part and they do not have it. ***** tells me that they did have it out that my husband said that we went on vacation and so they put the valve back since we never came and picked it, which was not true since we had been calling them for it. ***** tells me that he will have it tomorrow, they have a lot of boxes to go through. I go again the next day and they have it ready. I take it to my mechanic and he informs me that this isn't the body valve that even goes to my make or model car. We contact Bills again dealing with ***** and it again is the run around. It's been over 2 months with no resolution. I contacted Bills today 7/21/15, while stating to ***** that I will be there Thursday 7/23/15 with all their parts and that I want my original trans and body valve and my money back, he hung up on me. I called back and spoke with his manager ****** of which I repeated the same to him. He stated he would see me then.

Desired Settlement: I want to just have my original parts back and my money.

Business Response: On 05/14/15 we sold ***** ****** a Caliber transmission on our invoice # ****** for the amount of $1026.68.On 06/06/15 he picked up a replacement transmission for invoice # ******.I have just returned from a trip and reviewed this information from the BBB and have researched the situation. We have either incorrectly marked or have processed the transmission that came out of the car.   Because of this we will let you keep the transmission that is currently in your car and still give you a refund of your purchase price ($1026.68).I do apologize for the extended time frame and the multiple calls to try and get the first unit working but vehicles are becoming more and more complicated and vehicle systems are interlinked. As far as our sales representative hanging up, he was being verbally abused and I do not ask any of our employees to take that. You can come by and pick up your refund check anytime Monday thru Friday 8 AM to 5 PM. Or on Saturday if you would like please just call ahead for Saturday because our office staff does on work on Saturday. Please see *****, ****** or myself. Thank you, *** ******   

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a front Jeep JK rubicon drive axle. The part was defective and didn't work once installed. I requested a replacement axle or a reimbursement of what I had to spend here locally to repair the drive axle. they stopped responding to my written request and phone calls.

Desired Settlement: I just need them to take care of the bill for parts and labor I had here at my local four-wheel repair shop.

Business Response:   On 11/28/12 the customer purchased a 07 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon front axle from us on our invoice # ****** which is attached. The first time we were notified there was a problem with this part was via e-mail on 05/21/13. This is well past when the 100 day warranty ended on 03/08/13.   The customer indicated to our sales person ***** that he was building a rock crawler and therefore had to install and wire this front axle in a vehicle that is was not exactly designed to fit in. He also indicated the front axle he ordered was being installed in a vehicle that  is for off road use and not for use as regular passenger vehicle.   The customer has had repairs made to the part without permission from Bill's Used Parts Inc.. Permission is required before any repairs are made, reference  # 11 on the Certificate of Limited Warranty that is attached.    The customer is billing us for parts and labor even though if you reference the copy of the invoice it has " ** 100 DAY PARTS ONLY WARRANTY FROM INVOICE DATE ** " and under Invoice Terms it has " *** No labor paid without the purchase of a labor warranty. *** " .   This is not a valid complaint or claim against Bill's Used Parts Inc. because the customer did not make a warranty claim within the warranty period.   If further information on this matter is required it should be noted that I will be out of the office from 10/18/13 to 10/27/13. I will be in the office on 10/28/13.    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: 10-15-13I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.The information submitted by the business is not accurate. 1 - I have attached a copy of the first email dated 1-21-13 requesting a follow up from ***** on the wiring connectors needed to operate / engage the axle they sold me. This issue was address then. 2 – This isn’t a “rock crawler”, it’s a rebuild of a wrecked / salvage 2007 Jeep unlimited Rubicon. The VIN # to this jeep is ***************** and is currently registered and inspected in Texas for street use. 3 – I have over sixteen copies of emails requesting a solution from ***** starting on 1-21-13 of not being able to operate the axle without the wiring harness that was to be sent. I have emails saying that he thought his guys sent them to they were sending them again etc. All the way to his company is looking into this matter and will call me back. 4 – I bought several thousands of dollars in jeep parts from them and this is their response / solution for their customer. 5 – It seems to me that they intentionally stalled on the delivery of this whole wiring connector deal to get beyond the warranty of 100 days so they wouldn’t have to stand behind their axle because they knew it was defective. I made it very clear to ***** in all the emails from the beginning that I couldn’t check / operate the axle without the wiring connectors. He said no problem and made several promises to get them to me but never did. I will be happy to scan all the emails and forward them. 6 – Once I realized they were never going to send them, I started going to other salvage yards until I found some wiring connectors that I could make work, and sure enough, the axle did not operate / engage. 7 – this was a major rebuild, and it did take several months for me to complete, but I did request a wiring connector solution long before the warranty was up.Regards, ***** ******  

Business Response: I would like to address each item the customer ***** ****** submitted in his last response.    1) Our sales person ***** told ***** he would send the wiring connectors if we had them. Requesting connectors is not reporting a warranty problem.   2) The statement it was a "rock crawler" came form ***** to our sales person ***** not from us.   3) Any qualified shop could have made a jumper wire to test the front axle with out the wiring harness or connectors. It is not our fault the customer or the customers shop did not know how to do this.   4) The customer has purchased 2 parts a front axle and a transfer case.   5) We did not stall on the wiring connectors. We told the customer we would send them if available, and the front axle could have been tested with out the connector by a qualified shop.   6) & 7) It is not our fault that it took ***** several months to complete his project.   In closing the customer has made repairs to the part without permission which is required. He also did not make a warranty claim during the warranty period. These two items were mentioned in my previous response. As a good faith gesture we would be willing to offer the customer $877.00 reimbursement for the part he says was defective in the front axle. This amount reflects our cost for the defective part  (part # *******) from a DANA distributor (our warranty is for parts only and no labor, this was also outlined in my last response). The copy of the quote is attached. I feel like this a generous offer considering the customer did not make a claim during the warranty period and he had the part repaired without asking for permission first. 

Consumer Response: I accept the business's response and Financial compensation to resolve this complaint...I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Regards,***** ******  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bill's Used Parts, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)