BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Western Virginia
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steve Padgett’s Danville Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steve Padgett’s Danville Honda include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Steve Padgett’s Danville Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 15, 2008 Business started: 11/18/2008 in NC Business incorporated: 08/13/2008 in NC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 West Broad Street Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
Phone Number: (804) 367-1100
Fax Number: (804) 367-1053

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Danville Business License

Phone Number: (434) 799-5145

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Johnson, Member/Manager Mr. Steve Padgett, General Manager Mr. Jay McFarland, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Johnson, Member/Manager
Principal: Mr. Steve Padgett, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Alternate Business Names
PMJ Automotive, LLC
Additional Information

This company purchased John Hoover Honda in November of 2008.  There is a separate report available on John Hoover Honda.

Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 4050 Riverside Drive

    Danville, VA 24541 (434) 793-7901 (800) 694-6632

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 694-6632(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 01/08/2013 approx.1900hrs I Ms.******** ***** purchased a vehicle from Steve Padgett's Honda this was a cash deal, it was told to my husband and I that,they would allow us to write a personal check for the amount of the car,and they would HOLD it until my husband came in with the cashier's check,my husband had been consistently in contact with this dealership,they were not authorized to put through the personal check,my husband had spoken with them on a couple of occasions to let them know that he would be there with the cashiers check,they did not wait! My Husband and I returned the Vehicle,because of their poor customer service! and threating and harssing phone calls, telling us that if they don't get their money by the end of the day they were gonna press charges for a Bad check, My husband and I then contacted 1800 Honda and complained about this dealership, and they too also stated that the dealership was out of line! They have been harssing us for two days now which started on 1/30/2013-1/31/2013 and today!

Desired Settlement: We would like an apology for starters,and also the the bank fee for The NSF.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:   We, Steve Padgett's Danville Honda, sold ******** ***** a 2013 Honda Accord on January 8'",2013.  Our new car sales manager ***** ****** spoke with them and was told that night the vehicle was purchased the money would be transferred and in the account on January io". ***** ****** was told to deposit the check on January 10". We proceeded to deposit the check as agreed upon. The check eventually came back as insufficient funds. The customer called us and said there was a problem with the funds before we were aware of the check coming back for insufficient funds. The date we were contacted was on January 17th and we were advised a cashiers check would be overnighted and received on January 18". The cashiers check did not arrive so we contacted them on the afternoon of the18" and were told it would be in our hands on Monday January 21". Again, we did not receive the cashiers check. So we again contacted them and told they would hand deliver the cashiers check by 7pm January 22nd They did not arrive by 7pm so at 7:20pm ***** ****** contacted them and was advised that they would be here by 9am January 23rd Upon arrival at work on January 23rd ***** ****** was given a note that was left with a service advisor written by ******** ***** with the key to the vehicle stating they would be back after going to the bank to get cashiers check. They did not return so we contacted them that afternoon. We advised them how serious this matter was and that it needed to be handled immediately. They proceeded to speak with profanity and have not resolved this issue. We have since filed criminal charges against ******** *****. We are now aware that ******** ***** and her husband have done this same thing to at least two other dealers.

12/30/2011 Billing/Collection Issues