BBB Accredited Business since

Robert Woodall Auto Mall

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 996-6325 1063 Riverside Dr., Danville, VA 24540 http://www.woodallauto.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale and service of automobiles, parts, and body shop.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Robert Woodall Auto Mall meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Robert Woodall Auto Mall include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Robert Woodall Auto Mall
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 15, 1987 Business started: 05/15/1985 in VA Business incorporated: 05/01/1985 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 West Broad Street Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
Phone Number: (804) 367-1100
Fax Number: (804) 367-1053

Danville Business License

Phone Number: (434) 799-5145

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robbie Woodall III, President Ms. Michelle Dodson, Administrator Mr. David Gregory, Collision Center Manager Mr. Wesley Poff, Parts Manager Mr. Tim Shelton, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robbie Woodall III, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE

Alternate Business Names
Robert Woodall Automotive Network Robert Woodall Buick Robert Woodall Cadillac Robert Woodall Chevrolet, Inc Robert Woodall Collision Center Robert Woodall GMC Robert Woodall Hyundai Robert Woodall Nissan
Industry Tips
As is information BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 1063 Riverside Dr.

    Danville, VA 24540 (800) 996-6325

  • 132 Union Street Bridge Rd.

    Danville, VA 24540

  • 2143 Riverside Dr.

    Danville, VA 24540

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PURCHASED CAR BATTERY ON AUGUST. 20TH, 2009 which has 7 year warranty. went and had battery tested, test came back stating that battery was bad which i knew. Battery was tested on 10/07/2014 at ********. Took battery back to ROBERT WOODALL to have it replaced because it is still under warranty. ROBERT WOODALL failed to give me new Battery. This battery is still under warranty, i have receipt to proove it, they owe me new battery no questions asked!!!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: new battery or full price of battery

Business Response: This letter is in reference to the complaint submitted by ******* **********, October 8, 2014. Mr, ********** purchased a battery with a 7 Year ACDelco Limited Warranty (attached) which states he would receive a new replacement battery at no charge if the battery failed to hold charge within the first 50 months, if this occurs month 51 - 84 the customer shall receive an adjusted Pro-Rate adjustment towards a new ACDelco Battery. Mr. ********** was informed that he could purchase a 7 year ACDelco battery for $149.95 and a $29.85 adjustment would be applied to reduce the cost of the battery to $120.10 plus tax. Mr ********** then requested a refund of $29.85, however the warranty specifically states the credit has to be applied to the purchase of a new ACDelco Battery. We are sorry that Mr. ********** is unhappy about his claim but the dealership has to adhere to the warranty policy of ACDelco. Mr. ********** can purchase a new battery for the amount listed above from us or he can visit any other ACDelco supplier to receive his Pro-Rata Adjustment towards his purchase. Sincerely, Robert Woodall Dealer Principal

10/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to make an appointment for an oil change for a used car I had purchased from this lot on Wednesday, making the appt time for Friday morning. My husband brought the car in Friday morning and the service personnel drained the oil from my car then told my husband they had no filter and could not find one in Danville. The manager told him he one need to get one bring it back and they would replace it. They put oil back in the car and charged him 43 dollars. The sales department assured us they could handle all service of our volkswagon when we purchased it and we should always bring it to them. The service manager , ***** **** who made the appt was aware of the make and model of the car at the time of the appt. The service dept drained the oil then told us about the filter then charged us the fee. UNACCEPTABLE.

Desired Settlement: Refund. And oil Change WITH filter. But will accept just a refund.

Business Response: This letter is in reference to the complaÍnt filed by ***** ******. September 12, 2014. Mrs. ****** is absolutely right this type of customer service is UNACCEPTABLE. I have discussed this with my service director and service department to be certain an incident such as this does not reoccur. I am sorry for the inconvenience, we value and appreciate Mrs. ******'s business therefore we are mailing a $50 g¡ft card to use towards her next service visit. If I can be of further assistance please let me know. Sincerely, ****** ******* Dealer Principal

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ***** ******

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my 2013 Tahoe to Robert Woodall with a little over 5000 miles on it, which I hardly ever drive, because a buzzard had hit it. The first time They fixed it I took it back after calling them & making them aware that the paint or the clear on my hood had "Run". I took it back the 2nd time and it's an unacceptable job. Look like it was buffed and maybe a patch job. This is NOT how I keep my vehicles. My husband & I has purchased I'm sure 5 vehicles from Woodall in our lifetime & I gave my son a down payment to go purchase one. In the past I have given them I'm sure 4 different jobs to repair, a professional body shop individual would have seen such a horrific job. My vehicle now has to go back a 3rd time (which I'm reluctant but they have been paid). This is totally unacceptable. The negligence on behalf of the shop has pushed me to Not want to deal with the company anymore.

Desired Settlement: I will let Woodall decide what they feel the outcome should be for my inconvenience. I'm the returning customer with multiple complaints about the same vehicle. The outcome will determine my future relationship with them.

Business Response: This letter is in reference to the complaint filed by ****** ******** July 21, 2014. Ms. ******** brought her 2013 Chevrolet Tahoe to our collision repair facility on July 7, 2014 to repair and paint the hood and the vehicle was picked up July 9, 2014. Mrs, ******** called back a couple of days later and spoke to the body shop secretary stating there was a run in the paint at front edge of the hood. Mrs, ******** was advised to bring the vehicle in for us to look at. The vehicle was brought back in by Mrs. ********'s son on July 17, 2014 and the hood was wet sanded and buffed. ***** *******, our Body Shop Manager spoke to Mrs. ********'s son and told him if Mrs. ******** was still unhappy with the hood to let him know and we would schedule to repaint. On July 21, 2014 the same day this complaint was filed the vehicle was dropped off without notice at our repair facility, we repainted the hood and her vehicle was ready to be picked up July 24, 2014. ***** ******* placed a courtesy call to Mrs. ******** after she picked up her vehicle to be sure she was satisfied with the repair.  Mrs. ******** stated she was satisfied with repair but upset with the number of trips that was made to our shop; we have mailed a $25 Sheetz gas card to Mrs. ******** for her inconvenience. Sincerely, Robbie Woodall Dealer Principal

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** ********

6/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I drove my car to their dealership looking to trade my vehicle in if we could work out a deal. We drove to the other dealership where the salesperson said the car was to check if it was still their. The car I was checking on had been sold, but they had another car of similar interest and I asked about a price on that one. We then drove back to the dealership where he is stationed to work at, to figure up a trade value and a price of the new car. He had me give the other sales person the keys to my car so they could evaluate it and offer a trade in price. The salesman had me come to his cubical and started asking me for my personal information such as my home address, phone number, place of employment, date of birth, and stated to me that he had to have it to come up with a trade offer, then he gave me a paper and asked me to sign it stating that it was only for getting me an offer price on the car. He went over to another desk and said they were running some numbers, after a while he showed me a paper that included what they would give me for my vehicle trade and what they would sell me their vehicle for and listed all the other charges that come with it. The offer was too much and we did not agree on a price and I left. A couple days later I got a notice from my credit reporting agency that stated that I had a new Hard Inquiry on my credit report, I checked it, and it was from Woodall Chev. They should not have had to pull my credit report for any reason because we never came to an agreement for any purchase. We only discussed a price which I said was too much and never agreed to anything. Now I have a Hard Inquiry on my credit report that is going to stay on their for a year that I have to deal with.

Desired Settlement: My credit report should not have been pulled until we came to an agreement on a purchase price and not anytime before. I think they should be held accountable for their sneaky actions, and since I am the one that has to suffer with having a HARD INQUIRY on my credit report which dropped my credit score and ultimately made the interest rate on my next purchase of the vehicle go up, they should have to pay for the damaging effect that it did to my credit. The car that I was paying on had a 2.9% interest rate with **** ****, and when I did find another car to trade it in on. When we went through the financing, I ended up getting a rate 7.69% financing through the same **** on my purchase. If they hadn't pulled my report, I believe I would have gotten a better rate which would have saved me a couple thousand dollars.

Business Response: This letter is in reference to the complaint filed by ***** ***** ********* 04/07/2014. Mr. ********* supplied the dealership with his social security number; we could not have made an inquiry without this information. At the time a customer provides their social security number they are made aware that it is to pull their credit history. Also, Mr. ********* references in his desired settlement the 7.69% rate that was offered to him, **** will not offer rates without reviewing credit. Regretfully, based on his current credit status and negative equity he was not offered a rate comparable to what already had. Our sales tactics were not deceptive with Mr. ********* in any way, he was completely aware of the steps taken to negotiate payments for his prospective purchase.  If you have additional questions feel free to contact me at ************. Sincerely, Roþert M. Woodall, lll Dealer Operator/ Owner

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ***** ********* Within the last week I recieved a letter from a finance company in the amount of the price that the dealer at woodall had came up with. With that in mind, if you reference my first letter, we never even came close to an agreement on a price, or even an agreement to buy the vehicle, and just to be clear I don't remember giving the dealer my SSN at that time, but I do remember buying a vehicle form the same dealership years ago, so who is to say that they didn't still have my information on file from when I was financed for that vehicle? And why was an application to finance the vehicle even submitted to a ****. I still have the letter if you would like for me to produce it. Pulling my credit and trying to get me financed are 2 entirely different matters, or do you think that I am going to believe that when you pull someones credit it automatically sends the information to a **** to get that person financed at the same time wether you have an agreement first or not? I would love to hear your resopnce on this one. Thanks, and also feel free to contact me anytime, my number is ************

Business Response: This letter is in response to the comments made by Mr. ********* after our response to his original complaint. First of all Mr. ********* states he received a letter from a finance company with the exact same price our dealership came up with then contradicts himself in the next sentence and states that he and the dealership never came close to an agreement or price. In reference to our sales tactics our dealership does not pull social security numbers from prior deals on new purchases it is provided by the customer. Mr. ********* also states pulling credit scores and getting financed is two entirely different matters, the dealership cannot quote payments to customers based on their credit score alone it has to be submitted to ****s to receive rate information. Regretfully, based on Mr. ********* credit status we were unable to offer him the deal he desired. Sincerely, Robert M. Woodall, lll Dealer Operator / Owner

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ***** ********* I'm not quite sure how you figured that I contradicted myself but to help clarify, I'll try to put it in plain English on how everything went from the time I walked into the dealership until I walked out the door. I drove my car to the dealership on the already stated date looking to possibly trade my vehicle in on a car that I had seen online the previous day. I spoke with one of your salesman about the car I had in mind, he stated that they may have already sold it but he wasn't sure, and said that we could ride up to the other dealership and check to see if it was their. We then proceeded to drive to the other dealership to check if the car was there. After getting to the dealership and checking, we found that the car had been already sold. I then asked about another car of similar interest and was there on the lot. Your dealer stated that we had to go back to the other dealership where he is stationed at so that he could get my car evaluated so they could offer me a trade value, and then run some numbers to be able to give me a price. We then proceeded to drive back to the dealership where he was stationed. Once we got their, he asked me to give the keys to my car to another salesperson so they could look over my car. While they were doing that, the salesperson in which I was speaking with brings me inside to his desk and then proceeds to ask me for my information in which I have already stated in the previous, then after that he gets up and says that he will be back in just a few minutes with some numbers, and I said ok. The salesperson goes over to the other desk and is just standing around. After about 15 minutes of waiting, I get up from his desk and go over to the other desk where the salesman is still standing, and the salesman tells me that they are running some numbers and coming up with an offer. He then shows me a paper that listed the price of the car of interest, the price for my trade in, the difference in what I still owed on my car and the trade in price, and taxes and fees. I told him that I did not like that offer which he showed me. We tried to negotiate the price for a couple more minutes but the salesman wouldn't budge a penny, so I told him that I was not interested and proceeded to leave and walked out the door. This was the full interaction with your dealership. Now since the last letter that I wrote, I have received yet another letter from another **** for financing this vehicle that I said no to after your dealer showed me the paper with the offered price, and this letter does not have the amount that was trying to be financed, instead it has your dealership name on it as who submitted it for financing. Like I stated in the other letters where you seem to think I contradicted myself, we never came close to an agreement, so why was my information submitted to **** for financing when we never was even close to an agreement on a price. So now I have 2 letters from 2 different **** that your dealership tried to get me financed through. and we never was in agreement on a price, and I can provide proof of these letters at any time they are requested.

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went in to have Transmission module reprogram, said they tried 3 times to do it and it would not take the program. The girl ask me what I did to it. Of course I didn't do anything to it, that's why I brought it in to have done. They told me I have to pay $80.00 or I couldn't have my car back til paid. I don't mind paying something for their time but they didn't do anything to it. Charge me $80.00. I didn't ask to see what was wrong with it. Talk to another dealership and they told me that there was no reason they couldn't reprogram it. Told me to come in and they will do it for free of charge since Robert Woodall would not work with me. I will not be taking my car back there. They were not friendly. All I ask was to be honest and they were not honest business. Charge me $80.00.

Desired Settlement: I don't mind paying something for their time. I was charge $80.00 and they didn't do anything. That's not honest business.

Business Response: This letter is in reference to the complaint submitted 02/13/2013 by ****** ****.  Mr. **** brought his vehicle in to our Service department to program a module that ws installed by another repair facility because they did not have the required equipment.  Mr. **** was advised that it would be an $80.00 labor charge.  We attempted to program the module with GM Wireless MDI three times, twice with Tech II to DIC, and loaded the program on Tech II and attempted to program module on vehicle.  The module would not accept the program and it's our opinion that the module installed by the prior facility was not compatible with his vehicle.  Since we didn't sell him the module we could not warranty the part, however we worked on his vehicle 1.3 hours and only charged him for 1.0 hour labor which we feel was more than fair. Sincerely, Robnert M. Woodall Jr., President

Consumer Response:  Mr Woodall is saying in his opinion that the module was installed is not compatible. The module is a original part that came with the vehicle. All I ask for was a transmission module to be reprogram which his service department could not do so I took it to another dealership and for their kindness they did not charge me and was able to reprogram the module. 

Business Response: April 18, 2013 To Whom it May Concern: It was my understanding from speaking to my Service Advisor that this vehicle had been to an independent repair shop prior to his visit to my dealership and they sent Mr. **** to a dealership to have his module reprogrammed because they could not.  I spoke with the Service Technician which performed the repair and he states that he never saw the module he just connected it to our equipment to attempt the repair.  Regardless of whether the module was the original part or not the part was faulty and would not accept the program and Mr. **** was charged for the service requested. Sincerely, Robert M. Woodall Jr.. President

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******. Another dealer took care of the issue without charge. I won't be going back to woodall anymore.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** *****  

3/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Woodall advertied a oil change for 9.95 But that was false.when they bring you car out to you thay tell you that the oil change is for 58.76. They should inform a person in more detail that if your car take a special oil that it would be more but be cause they did not infrom a person they should not change it. When question the person they just walk off and tell you that is your.

Desired Settlement: Would like for the company to know that not only are they in tight time with the ecomomy but every one else is,an that they need better service with the people .

Business Response: This letter is in reference to the complaint submitted 02/012013 by ****** *. *****.  Attached is a photo with disclosure information "Includes All GM, Nissan, Hyundai, All Fords, Chrysler, Toyota, Honda & Kia, Up to 5 Quarts of Oil & Filter, Excludes Full Synthetic, Diesel, Dealers, & Fleet or Commercial" that is on signs posted in our Service Write Up Area, banners, and all advertisement pertaining to our $9.95 Oil Change Promotion.  We specifically stated the exclusions and all customers were advised prior to the oil change being completed if they were eligible.  Ms. *****' vehicle is a Cadillac and requires synthetic oil therefore she was unable to take advantage of our $9.95 Oil Change promotion. Sincerely, Robert M. Woodall, Jr., President

11/19/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2007 Ford Edge from them and about 3 weeks after i got it water started leaking in the driver floor.  I took it to them and they didn't want to fix it.  I then took it to ******* Motor Company which is a ford Dealership in South Boston, VA.  They blew out all the drains and said that wasn't the problem.  They said I have a water leak behind the firewall somewhere and it needs to be fix by Woodall because it was going to be a costly job to get someone who specializes in leaks to pull the dash down and find the leak.  I then called them back but they still refused to fix it.

Desired Settlement: I think they should get someone to fix it.  I've only had the EDGE about a month now.  I pay $417.00 a month car payment for a vehicle that floods out on the driver side everytime it rains.

Business Response: Our dealership contacted Ms. **** and had her bring her 2007 Ford Edge to our Body Shop for us to repair the water leak in the left front floor board Wednesday, October 10, 2012 and it was returned to her Friday, October 12, 2012.  Also, a rental car was provided for both days and we filled her vehicle up with gas, if you need additional information please contact ******** ****** at ###-###-#### . Sincerely, Robert Woodall President