BBB Accredited Business since

Robert Woodall Auto Mall

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 996-6325 1063 Riverside Dr., Danville, VA 24540

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers the sale and service of automobiles, parts, and body shop.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Robert Woodall Auto Mall meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Robert Woodall Auto Mall
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 15, 1987 Business started: 05/15/1985 in VA Business incorporated 05/01/1985 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 West Broad Street Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
Phone Number: (804) 367-1100
Fax Number: (804) 367-1053

Danville Business License

Phone Number: (434) 799-5145

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Robbie Woodall III, President Ms. Michelle Dodson, Administrator Mr. David Gregory, Collision Center Manager Mr. Wesley Poff, Parts Manager Mr. Tim Shelton, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robbie Woodall III, President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Robert Woodall Automotive Network Robert Woodall Buick Robert Woodall Cadillac Robert Woodall Chevrolet, Inc Robert Woodall Collision Center Robert Woodall GMC Robert Woodall Hyundai Robert Woodall Nissan
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1063 Riverside Dr.

    Danville, VA 24540 (800) 996-6325

  • 132 Union Street Bridge Rd.

    Danville, VA 24540

  • 2143 Riverside Dr.

    Danville, VA 24540


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought this car in june. Have had many issues with it. I have talked to 2 different people from Chevy motor division and ****** and ******** both have ignored them as well as me. I feel like it is a fire hazard amoung a lot of other problems. Please help!****** stated he wasn't in business to lose money.

Desired Settlement: I feel that he should replace my vehicle with a fully loaded 2015 Malibu or Cruze for all the stress I have been thru. Chevy motor division has even issued me a owner loyalty certificate for S1500 to help with a new unused vehicle only. At first I just wanted all my money back but what he has put me thru I feel I deserve a new one.

Business Response: This letter is in reference to the complaint filed by ******** ******, September10, 2015. Ms. ****** purchased a used 2012 Chevrolet Cruze with 30,871 mileswhich was still under warranty June 24, 2015. Since we have made several repairsat no charge to the customer (attached). Ms. ******* has expressed herdissatisfaction with her vehicle and we have offered to exchange her vehicle fortwo different vehicles within the same price range and she has declined.We have responded to GM in reference to her complaints and believe she hasbeen issued a certificate/voucher towards the purchase of a new vehicle. Ms.******* wants a more expensive vehicle with no out of pocket cost which is notreasonable, We have made a valiant attempt to rectify this situation with noresolve.Sincerely,Robert M. Woodall,  III

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. They tried to offer me vehicle's of lesser value and a lot more miles. I just want what i thought i paid for or my money back. I have made numerous attempts to get the car back in there for repairs covered by warranty and they will not respond. I even had a personal mechanic call them and they still wont call me back. Since all this rain i have found out how much the car leaks. Close to S15,000 is a lot of money to spend on something with so many problems. I thought i was buying a car to last me for years not one with many problems.  And the electrical problems is not covered under warranty and there are many electrical problems. I have stressed a lot over this car and i want it resolved. And i dont appreciate not being respondec to.Thayt is the only reason i felt like he should give me a newer one. Just give me all my money back and i will go back to ***** and get a reliable car. Regards, ******** ******

Business Response: In response to Mrs. ****** needing warranty repairs performed on her vehicle she will need to contact our Service Department at ************.  If there is any issue with scheduling an appointment she may contact my assistant ******** ****** ************.  If the repairs required are not covered under warranty Ms. ****** will be responsible for the repairs that she authorizes.Sincerely,Robert M. Woodall, IIIPresident

8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i took my 2013 v couple cadallic to woodall because i hit 4 deers that was in the road, he is a cadallic dealer i thought i would be getting my car fix right but when i pick my car up it had not been cleaned i thought that was odd, they was supposed to turn over anything extra they found to the insurance carrier they did not, and my car had really bad srcatches down the side that wasn't fix the headlight was put in to far back in the bumper and fender looks like they took touch up paint and painted it back my car has 10021 miles on it i paid these people to do i good,and when i called back to discuss the problem the lady in the collision center told me there was nothing she could do i told her i was bringing my car back up there she stated they short handed and the paint guy was on vacation and really rude as well, that lady does not need to talk to customers for sure but worst experience ever and they got to keep the money i should have took my car to maaco,then left rubbing compound all over the car

Desired Settlement: would like my fender painted and headlight put in right at no cost to me payed one time all ready

Business Response: This letter is in reference to the complaint filed by ***** ********, August 1, 2015.Mr. ********'s vehicle was towed in to our Collision Center on 07/08/2015. Theindependent adjuster, **** ******, from **** ********* ******* had written anestimate, for *** ******* *********, prior to us receiving.Mr. ******** signed the repair order and a vehicle check in sheet on 07 /16/15, wereceived the estimate and ordered the parts 07/07/2015. We worked from theestimate written by Mr. ********'s insurance company and performed all work onsaid estimate. We contacted the adjuster 07/21/2015 for a supplement, partsprice difference from estimate on the left headlight and fog lamp for $144.69.The adjuster was on the premises 07/22/2015 looking at another vehicle and**** ******, our Assistant Collision Center Manager mentioned Mr. ********'sconcerns about a large chip in the left fender and right quarter panel. Theadjuster stated the left fender had been touched up prior to him inspecting thedamage, the large chip in the right quarter panel was inconsistent with the area ofdamage and didn't feel either was accident related.We completed the repairs 07/22/2015 and was waiting on written confirmationfrom the adjuster approving the supplement in order to release the vehicle. On07/23/2015 Mr. ******** stopped by and was advised of the situation. ********** looked at the vehicle with Mr. ******** they noticed bird droppings on thevehicle from sitting outdoors. **** advised Mr. ******** that we would have thevehicle cleaned again and Mr. ******** stated he would pay the supplement andpick the vehicle up on 07/24/2015.Mr. ******** returned on 07/24/2015 at 3:00 pm inspected his vehicle, paid thesupplement and left with his vehicle. At the time he seemed satisfied with hisrepairs and spoke to **** about doing additional work to his Corvette. Around4:30 pm Mr. ******** called back stating he was dissatisfied and was bringing thevehicle back. He was advised that he would need to contact his insurancecompany about his concerns because the adjuster felt they weren't accidentrelated. Mr. ******** was also informed the Collision Center Manger was onvacation and he should schedule to bring his vehicle back on another day.We will gladly take a look at Mr. ********'s concern with his headlamp at no costto him and will provide an estimate to repair and paint his fender.  We cannotpaint at no charge due to the fact we were paid $46 to buff scratches only. Wevalue and appreciate Mrs. ********'s business however we followed the estimatereceived from *** ******* ********* and performed everything on the estimateto insurance standards.Sincerely,Robert M. Woodall, IIIPresident

11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: PURCHASED CAR BATTERY ON AUGUST. 20TH, 2009 which has 7 year warranty. went and had battery tested, test came back stating that battery was bad which i knew. Battery was tested on 10/07/2014 at ********. Took battery back to ROBERT WOODALL to have it replaced because it is still under warranty. ROBERT WOODALL failed to give me new Battery. This battery is still under warranty, i have receipt to proove it, they owe me new battery no questions asked!!!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: new battery or full price of battery

Business Response: This letter is in reference to the complaint submitted by ******* **********, October 8, 2014. Mr, ********** purchased a battery with a 7 Year ACDelco Limited Warranty (attached) which states he would receive a new replacement battery at no charge if the battery failed to hold charge within the first 50 months, if this occurs month 51 - 84 the customer shall receive an adjusted Pro-Rate adjustment towards a new ACDelco Battery. Mr. ********** was informed that he could purchase a 7 year ACDelco battery for $149.95 and a $29.85 adjustment would be applied to reduce the cost of the battery to $120.10 plus tax. Mr ********** then requested a refund of $29.85, however the warranty specifically states the credit has to be applied to the purchase of a new ACDelco Battery. We are sorry that Mr. ********** is unhappy about his claim but the dealership has to adhere to the warranty policy of ACDelco. Mr. ********** can purchase a new battery for the amount listed above from us or he can visit any other ACDelco supplier to receive his Pro-Rata Adjustment towards his purchase. Sincerely, Robert Woodall Dealer Principal

10/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to make an appointment for an oil change for a used car I had purchased from this lot on Wednesday, making the appt time for Friday morning. My husband brought the car in Friday morning and the service personnel drained the oil from my car then told my husband they had no filter and could not find one in Danville. The manager told him he one need to get one bring it back and they would replace it. They put oil back in the car and charged him 43 dollars. The sales department assured us they could handle all service of our volkswagon when we purchased it and we should always bring it to them. The service manager , ***** **** who made the appt was aware of the make and model of the car at the time of the appt. The service dept drained the oil then told us about the filter then charged us the fee. UNACCEPTABLE.

Desired Settlement: Refund. And oil Change WITH filter. But will accept just a refund.

Business Response: This letter is in reference to the complaÍnt filed by ***** ******. September 12, 2014. Mrs. ****** is absolutely right this type of customer service is UNACCEPTABLE. I have discussed this with my service director and service department to be certain an incident such as this does not reoccur. I am sorry for the inconvenience, we value and appreciate Mrs. ******'s business therefore we are mailing a $50 g¡ft card to use towards her next service visit. If I can be of further assistance please let me know. Sincerely, ****** ******* Dealer Principal

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ***** ******

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my 2013 Tahoe to Robert Woodall with a little over 5000 miles on it, which I hardly ever drive, because a buzzard had hit it. The first time They fixed it I took it back after calling them & making them aware that the paint or the clear on my hood had "Run". I took it back the 2nd time and it's an unacceptable job. Look like it was buffed and maybe a patch job. This is NOT how I keep my vehicles. My husband & I has purchased I'm sure 5 vehicles from Woodall in our lifetime & I gave my son a down payment to go purchase one. In the past I have given them I'm sure 4 different jobs to repair, a professional body shop individual would have seen such a horrific job. My vehicle now has to go back a 3rd time (which I'm reluctant but they have been paid). This is totally unacceptable. The negligence on behalf of the shop has pushed me to Not want to deal with the company anymore.

Desired Settlement: I will let Woodall decide what they feel the outcome should be for my inconvenience. I'm the returning customer with multiple complaints about the same vehicle. The outcome will determine my future relationship with them.

Business Response: This letter is in reference to the complaint filed by ****** ******** July 21, 2014. Ms. ******** brought her 2013 Chevrolet Tahoe to our collision repair facility on July 7, 2014 to repair and paint the hood and the vehicle was picked up July 9, 2014. Mrs, ******** called back a couple of days later and spoke to the body shop secretary stating there was a run in the paint at front edge of the hood. Mrs, ******** was advised to bring the vehicle in for us to look at. The vehicle was brought back in by Mrs. ********'s son on July 17, 2014 and the hood was wet sanded and buffed. ***** *******, our Body Shop Manager spoke to Mrs. ********'s son and told him if Mrs. ******** was still unhappy with the hood to let him know and we would schedule to repaint. On July 21, 2014 the same day this complaint was filed the vehicle was dropped off without notice at our repair facility, we repainted the hood and her vehicle was ready to be picked up July 24, 2014. ***** ******* placed a courtesy call to Mrs. ******** after she picked up her vehicle to be sure she was satisfied with the repair.  Mrs. ******** stated she was satisfied with repair but upset with the number of trips that was made to our shop; we have mailed a $25 Sheetz gas card to Mrs. ******** for her inconvenience. Sincerely, Robbie Woodall Dealer Principal

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** ********

6/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I drove my car to their dealership looking to trade my vehicle in if we could work out a deal. We drove to the other dealership where the salesperson said the car was to check if it was still their. The car I was checking on had been sold, but they had another car of similar interest and I asked about a price on that one. We then drove back to the dealership where he is stationed to work at, to figure up a trade value and a price of the new car. He had me give the other sales person the keys to my car so they could evaluate it and offer a trade in price. The salesman had me come to his cubical and started asking me for my personal information such as my home address, phone number, place of employment, date of birth, and stated to me that he had to have it to come up with a trade offer, then he gave me a paper and asked me to sign it stating that it was only for getting me an offer price on the car. He went over to another desk and said they were running some numbers, after a while he showed me a paper that included what they would give me for my vehicle trade and what they would sell me their vehicle for and listed all the other charges that come with it. The offer was too much and we did not agree on a price and I left. A couple days later I got a notice from my credit reporting agency that stated that I had a new Hard Inquiry on my credit report, I checked it, and it was from Woodall Chev. They should not have had to pull my credit report for any reason because we never came to an agreement for any purchase. We only discussed a price which I said was too much and never agreed to anything. Now I have a Hard Inquiry on my credit report that is going to stay on their for a year that I have to deal with.

Desired Settlement: My credit report should not have been pulled until we came to an agreement on a purchase price and not anytime before. I think they should be held accountable for their sneaky actions, and since I am the one that has to suffer with having a HARD INQUIRY on my credit report which dropped my credit score and ultimately made the interest rate on my next purchase of the vehicle go up, they should have to pay for the damaging effect that it did to my credit. The car that I was paying on had a 2.9% interest rate with **** ****, and when I did find another car to trade it in on. When we went through the financing, I ended up getting a rate 7.69% financing through the same **** on my purchase. If they hadn't pulled my report, I believe I would have gotten a better rate which would have saved me a couple thousand dollars.

Business Response: This letter is in reference to the complaint filed by ***** ***** ********* 04/07/2014. Mr. ********* supplied the dealership with his social security number; we could not have made an inquiry without this information. At the time a customer provides their social security number they are made aware that it is to pull their credit history. Also, Mr. ********* references in his desired settlement the 7.69% rate that was offered to him, **** will not offer rates without reviewing credit. Regretfully, based on his current credit status and negative equity he was not offered a rate comparable to what already had. Our sales tactics were not deceptive with Mr. ********* in any way, he was completely aware of the steps taken to negotiate payments for his prospective purchase.  If you have additional questions feel free to contact me at ************. Sincerely, Roþert M. Woodall, lll Dealer Operator/ Owner

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ***** ********* Within the last week I recieved a letter from a finance company in the amount of the price that the dealer at woodall had came up with. With that in mind, if you reference my first letter, we never even came close to an agreement on a price, or even an agreement to buy the vehicle, and just to be clear I don't remember giving the dealer my SSN at that time, but I do remember buying a vehicle form the same dealership years ago, so who is to say that they didn't still have my information on file from when I was financed for that vehicle? And why was an application to finance the vehicle even submitted to a ****. I still have the letter if you would like for me to produce it. Pulling my credit and trying to get me financed are 2 entirely different matters, or do you think that I am going to believe that when you pull someones credit it automatically sends the information to a **** to get that person financed at the same time wether you have an agreement first or not? I would love to hear your resopnce on this one. Thanks, and also feel free to contact me anytime, my number is ************

Business Response: This letter is in response to the comments made by Mr. ********* after our response to his original complaint. First of all Mr. ********* states he received a letter from a finance company with the exact same price our dealership came up with then contradicts himself in the next sentence and states that he and the dealership never came close to an agreement or price. In reference to our sales tactics our dealership does not pull social security numbers from prior deals on new purchases it is provided by the customer. Mr. ********* also states pulling credit scores and getting financed is two entirely different matters, the dealership cannot quote payments to customers based on their credit score alone it has to be submitted to ****s to receive rate information. Regretfully, based on Mr. ********* credit status we were unable to offer him the deal he desired. Sincerely, Robert M. Woodall, lll Dealer Operator / Owner

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ***** ********* I'm not quite sure how you figured that I contradicted myself but to help clarify, I'll try to put it in plain English on how everything went from the time I walked into the dealership until I walked out the door. I drove my car to the dealership on the already stated date looking to possibly trade my vehicle in on a car that I had seen online the previous day. I spoke with one of your salesman about the car I had in mind, he stated that they may have already sold it but he wasn't sure, and said that we could ride up to the other dealership and check to see if it was their. We then proceeded to drive to the other dealership to check if the car was there. After getting to the dealership and checking, we found that the car had been already sold. I then asked about another car of similar interest and was there on the lot. Your dealer stated that we had to go back to the other dealership where he is stationed at so that he could get my car evaluated so they could offer me a trade value, and then run some numbers to be able to give me a price. We then proceeded to drive back to the dealership where he was stationed. Once we got their, he asked me to give the keys to my car to another salesperson so they could look over my car. While they were doing that, the salesperson in which I was speaking with brings me inside to his desk and then proceeds to ask me for my information in which I have already stated in the previous, then after that he gets up and says that he will be back in just a few minutes with some numbers, and I said ok. The salesperson goes over to the other desk and is just standing around. After about 15 minutes of waiting, I get up from his desk and go over to the other desk where the salesman is still standing, and the salesman tells me that they are running some numbers and coming up with an offer. He then shows me a paper that listed the price of the car of interest, the price for my trade in, the difference in what I still owed on my car and the trade in price, and taxes and fees. I told him that I did not like that offer which he showed me. We tried to negotiate the price for a couple more minutes but the salesman wouldn't budge a penny, so I told him that I was not interested and proceeded to leave and walked out the door. This was the full interaction with your dealership. Now since the last letter that I wrote, I have received yet another letter from another **** for financing this vehicle that I said no to after your dealer showed me the paper with the offered price, and this letter does not have the amount that was trying to be financed, instead it has your dealership name on it as who submitted it for financing. Like I stated in the other letters where you seem to think I contradicted myself, we never came close to an agreement, so why was my information submitted to **** for financing when we never was even close to an agreement on a price. So now I have 2 letters from 2 different **** that your dealership tried to get me financed through. and we never was in agreement on a price, and I can provide proof of these letters at any time they are requested.

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Robert Woodall Auto Mall
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart