BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Western Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto sales & service--new & used car & truck.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Huff Ford Subaru Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Huff Ford Subaru Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Huff Ford Subaru Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 24, 1999 Business started: 06/18/1998 in VA Business incorporated: 01/23/1998 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 West Broad Street Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
Phone Number: (804) 367-1100
Fax Number: (804) 367-1053

Wytheville Business License

Phone Number: (276) 223-3333

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Huff, President Ms. Karen Dunn, Office Manager Martin Kvasnicka, Acting GM Mr. Dave Voroyka, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Huff, President
Customer Contact: Martin Kvasnicka, Acting GM
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE

Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 1135 E. Main St.

    Wytheville, VA 24382 (276) 228-3108 (866) 378-5742

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 378-5742(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took vehicle to Huff Ford Subaru to have spark plugs changed on 2004 Ford F-150. Paid dealer $603.49 for service. Upon getting truck back the problem was still there. Assumed it was something else causing the problem with the vehicle. Did additional repairs to vehicle and still was not fixed. Was unable to drive truck for a while because of problems with it. Eventually took truck to another mechanic. Upon picking up truck mechanic told me that it was the spark plugs that was causing the problem. Mechanic gave me the old spark plugs which had been taken off my truck. Mechanic stated to me that these spark plugs had never been changed by Huff Ford Subaru. By looking at them you could see they were obviously damaged and had been on the truck for quite a while. After having new mechanic change spark plugs my truck is like brand new. Runs fine without any problems. I took the spark plugs that had been removed from my truck and took them to Huff Ford in Wytheville, Va. Asked to speak with Manager. Was told that Manager was not there. Continued to speak with girl at desk about problem and she informed me that I needed to keep those spark plugs to show the Manager. Was told that Manager would call me about this matter. Of course no one ever called me. Went back to Huff Ford where I did get to speak with Manager and was told that he did not know where those spark plugs had come from and that the situation had occurred a year ago and there was nothing that he could do for me. Manager also spoke to me in a rude and hateful tone. Asked to speak with the owner. Was told that the owner "did not live there" and he didn't know where he was. Upon leaving the secretary told me that yes they could contact him and gave me information on where I could find him. Spoke with the owner and he told me there was nothing that he could do. After showing the owner the spark plugs and receipt from new mechanic he said that he would go back to his office and check into this and he would call me that evening. That was 3 days ago. Huff Ford has no intention of resolving this matter. They obviously scammed me! They took my $600 and did not do any work at all to my truck and they're going to get away with it. They committed fraud!

Business Response: Mr. ******** had his vehicle serviced at Huff Ford on November 9th, 2012.  He had multiple items done to his vehicle including replacing the spark plugs.  We haven't heard back from Mr. ******** until recently with the concern regarding the spark plugs.  He opted to take it to another repair shop instead of bringing it back to us (this has been almost a year).  He requested to speak with the manager, which he did, and also with the owner.  Mr. Huff agreed to check in to this matter because he wants to make sure that our customers are being treated properly.  Eventhough the customer did not return to us to address this issue sooner, to give us the opportunity to check in to this, the owner is prepared to reimburse the customer for the spark plugs.  We do not appreciate being labeled "a fraud" and or being accused of scamming customers.  All we ask for is that we are giving the opportunity to clear up potential issues.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Huff Ford stated that they did multiple items to my vehicle. This is absolutely not true! The only thing that was suppose to be done was to change my spark plugs and they did not even do that. They done absolutely nothing to my truck except charge me $603.49. They even cost me over $800 in additional repairs to my truck because I replaced other items on my truck. I thought that my spark plugs had really been replaced and I was still having the same problem with my vehicle. So I assumed that it must not have been the spark plugs to begin with causing the problem. I even had to park my truck for a while and drive another vehicle because it was not running properly. So I eventually took it to another mechanic to see what the problem was only to find out that it was the spark plugs all along because they had NEVER been replaced in the first place by Huff Ford. If Huff Ford had really changed them my truck would have been running properly, but it was not. It only started running properly after spark plugs were REALLY changed by a different mechanic. I thought it might just be a dishonest mechanic at Huff Ford, but obviously it is the owner also or else he would have treated me (his customer) properly and resolved this matter. They know they didn't do it and they are trying to avoid me.  The only reason the owner even contacted me was because he received my complaint from BBB. He contacted me the very same day the complaint was sent to him. He only asked to have the numbers off the spark plugs. I gave them to him. He told me he would contact me back the next day. I have yet to hear from him. That was a week ago. I have called Huff Ford and even Huff Chevrolet (owner's other business) and left multiple messages to have him return my call. He has not!! They have avoided me over and over again. If they really wanted to resolve this matter and treat their customers properly they would contact ME personally. They said they did work on my vehicle that they did not do and took my money. This is intentional deception made for personal gain-FRAUD!! In regards to their response, they say I spoke to the manager. Yes, I did. Only after leaving a message for him to call me which he never did. I had to return to Huff Ford again and finally spoke with him. He then treated me with disrespect and hostility. When asked to speak with owner he stated "I don't know where he is, he doesn't live here ya know." I gave them an opportunity on multiple occasions to resolve this matter before filing my complaint with BBB. They are still not working with me to resolve this matter. They have only responded to BBB to make it appear like they are doing the right thing. I have a reputable honest mechanic who can testify to the fact that my spark plugs were never changed by Huff Ford. It's only too obvious this is the truth. My truck runs fine now that the spark plugs have really been replaced. They say they will refund my money for the spark plugs. What about the labor? There was no labor. You have to actually do something to charge someone for the labor. They are trying to say they done multiple things to my truck? They did nothing to my truck. They need to be honest and do the right thing and refund my $603.49 in full. They know what they did or else they would not be avoiding me and this situation. I had faith in Huff Ford and thought they would fix my vehicle. I trusted them as a business and this is how I was treated. Customers be warned!! 

Business Response: Unfortunately it is obvious that whatever we say or do will be rebutted by Mr. ********.  He initially asked to be reimbursed for the spark plugs only, which we did out of goodwill!  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.Huff Ford knows what they done to me. It is unfortunate that owner makes his living off cheating their customers who trust him. AGAIN he lies. They say I had only requested refund for spark plugs. I have proof that is yet another lie. Let's look at my first complaint. It's there in black and white. They said they did additional repairs to my vehicle. I have my receipt to prove that is yet again a lie. They did no other repairs. Where is the $400.00 in labor they did not do? I'm spreading the word about their corrupt business. Word gets around quickly in a small town. Hopefully I can save someone else from being scammed by Huff Ford!

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 2,2013 We contacted Huff Ford about working on our 2006 ford expedition, it quit running on us ,but it would idle ,but not pull out. They said to bring it on and they would check it out. So we hauled it to them ourselves that night, at this time there were no dash lights on. On May 6 2013 we went to pick it up. The bill was $295.79 they said they put a fuel driver module on, so we started to leave and the check engine light was on. We didn't leave the parking lot and told *** ****** the Service manager and he checked it with device that gives you a code to tell you the problem,He said it didn't say what it was that it probably has dust on sensor so drive it a few days and it should be ok. We also discussed putting spark plugs in later on. On May 24 2013 we took it back for plugs and oil change and they checked it again and said the Fuel tank pressure sensor was bad and thats why the light was on, but they also wanted quite a bit of money to fix it. My Wife and Myself talked to them about it, *** ****** and ***** ******* both are service managers that the service engine light was not on until they put the module on. They said that they did nothing wrong,But I honestly believe that the tester showed what was wrong becuase I let ******** check it out with their meter and it said the Fuel tank pressure sensor was bad and I believe theirs did also, they just wouldn't admitted. I got an independant garage to fix it a lot cheaper than they wanted, thus saying they were going to overcharge us anyway for something they broke working on something else.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbersed the $340.00 that it cost me to get it done right.

Business Response: This vehicle was towed to us with a no start condition. They are correct we installed a fuel driver module on this vehicle to correct the no start condition.In a previous conversation with this customer by Service Advisor *** ****** he showed them where this part would be installed which was towards the rear of the vehicle at bumper area.The purpose of the fuel driver module is to do nothing but electronically operate the fuel pump to help distribute the fuel to keep vehicle running.When we test drove vehicle at time of repair check engine light did not come on. When customer picked up vehicle and started away light came on,Service Advisor *** did take a generic scan tool out and hooked into system it did show what we call an evap leak which is basically an air or pressure leak somewhere,we explained to this customer that anytime a check engine light comes on and shows an evap leak that it is possible this light may go out after so many complete trips she said she had to have the vehicle and would drive it for a few days and let us know,which they did, they drove vehicle for approx 2 weeks. In the meantime they took the vehicle to ******** to have have codes read. Keep in mind a generic scan tool will not give the complete diagnois as a Ford scan tool. The Fuel pressure sensor we quoted them is an emmission gases part which is located on top of the fuel tank its purpose is to measure the emissions gases which go thru the fuel system and release them and distribute them to charcoal canister instead of into the atomosphere,so the two repairs are no where near related  as they say. They are correct when they say the check engine light was not on until we put the module on  because the vehicle would not run,this problem could have possibly been going on prior to the break down because we had no opportunity to see the vehicle runnning. Somtimes a check engine light will come on and then after so many trips will go out and clear codes as I stated previously. I feel the only reason this customer had repaired somewhere else was because they got repair done cheaper,reason being we quoted them Ford parts @ 334.00 plus labor 3hrs @ 83.50 and hour=250.00. When I tried to explain this to the customer by phone he hung up on me. This vehicle at the time of repair had approx 114,000 miles on it. Please also keep in mind Service Advisor *** is not a technican so diagnoising a repair is not his job it is for the technician to determine repair. ***** ******* Service Mgr.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.The vehicle would run, but it would not pull out and the check engine light was on as soon as we started it up to leave.  If Don is not a mechanic why didn't they let a real one check it out instead of him, but no he said it was probably dust on a sensor. The reason we got someone else to fix it is because we purchased the part from another ford dealership about  $75.00 cheaper than they was going to charge us to start with.  This really shows how dishonest they are. They'll take advantage of anyone the best way they can to make money.  My Wife called them several times during the two weeks about the light and each time they would tell her to keep driving that it might take a while to go out. He said I hung up on him and I did because the phone  conversation was like his response to you he had every excuse in the book to get out of it.Regards.****** ****** 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my 2001 ford escape has a factory recall i took it to huff ford and they looked at it and said they would call me when the parts come n thats been 3 months ago i keep calling them and they keep saying they dont have the parts but they tryed to sell me the parts and i fix it r they fix it and they charge me for parts an laber and i can fill out a form and send it to the ford company and try to get my money back if they got the part to sell me y dont they have it to fix it

Desired Settlement: fix my escape like they suppose to

Business Response: After reviewing the complaint in case #*******, I pulled the most current information available to the dealership on recall 11s24. At this time Ford still does not have the parts and labor list available, in the customer letter it does state that Ford will be sending out letters when parts are available. We can not repair or put a part on the vehicle when it is unclear as to what that repair may be, it is unfortunate but sometimes this does occur.  In the interim the customer is to have recall 07s51 performed if it has not already been performed and to follow instructions in the letter (see attachement). We performed the recall 07s51 on Feb 2 2012 and informed customer that she would have to wait until Ford came out with the parts to repair the vehicle.   As to the statement that was made to customer about the dealer selling her the part and the dealer installing that part I have been unable to validate, what I believe happened was a miscommunication from advisor to customer or misunderstanding by the customer. One, dealer would not be able to replace a part because it is not even certain what part Ford is recalling. Two, if we replaced a part before Ford revised it then we would just be putting on another possibly defective part. I will assure you that I have spoken to all advisors about this possible misunderstanding so it will not happen in the future.      Thank You,   ***** ****** Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1