BBB Accredited Business since

Barkhouser Ford Lincoln

Phone: (434) 793-1112 3604 Riverside Dr., Danville, VA 24541 http://www.barkhouser.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used vehicles, auto parts and repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Barkhouser Ford Lincoln meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Barkhouser Ford Lincoln include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Barkhouser Ford Lincoln
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 15, 1988 Business started: 08/21/1958 in WV Business incorporated 08/21/1958 in WV
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 West Broad Street Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
Phone Number: (804) 367-1100
Fax Number: (804) 367-1053

Danville Business License

Phone Number: (434) 799-5145

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James E. Barkhouser, Vice President Ms. Vicki L. Davis, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James E. Barkhouser, Vice President
Related Businesses
Barkhouser Ford Lincoln
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Barkhouser Motors, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 3604 Riverside Dr.

    Danville, VA 24541 (434) 793-1112

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 26th, I found a 2015 Ford Flex Limited listed on ************************* and called and spoke with a Sales Manager to verify availability. Upon explaining that my wife and I would be driving from ******** ****** ** and wanted to ensure the vehicle would be available, he assured me that it was. My wife and I drove from our residence the morning of February 27th and upon arrival (4 hour drive time), we discovered that the listing was not accurate as it did not have a power moonroof (no moonroof at all in fact). We immediatly discussed our dissatisfaction of the inaccurate information listing it having the installed option, we returned to our vehicle and returned home.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for my time ($42.24 per hour for 8 hours total) and fuel cost ($37) for my trip. I would also like to ensure the company develops a method of ensuring its website is accurately advertising the information of the vehicles as time is not something that can be refunded or made up for.

Business Response: Response to ******* ** ********Mr. ******* ** ******** called Barkhouser Ford Lincoln on 02/26/2016 verifying the availability of a certain used 2015 Ford Flex listedonline in Barkhouser's inventory. Mr. ******** was told by a Sales Manager *** ***** that the vehicle was available.   Mr. ******** explained that he would be driving from ******** ***** on Saturday morning, 02/27/2016, to take a look at the vehicle.  *** asked him to call that Saturday morning to make sure we had not sold the vehicle and let us know that he was in route so we could then "hold" the vehicle until Mr. ********'s arrival.  Sales Manager *** ***** greeted Mr. and Mrs. ******** when they arrived. Upon inspecting the vehicle, Mr. ******** pointed out that the Flex had no moon roof, though the website listing showed moon roof as an included option.     Like most dealers, Barkhouser Ford Lincoln pays a third party vendor to upload vehicle photos and descriptions to various online listing services.  Although every effort is made to avoid erroneous vehicle information listings, errors do occur on rare occasions due to the sheer volume of data handled.  Most are caught and corrected quickly without incident.  To protect against the rare but inevitable error, Barkhouser includes the following disclaimer on all vehicle listings: “Images and options shown are examples, only, and may not reflect exact vehicle color, trim, options, pricing or other specifications.”  In this specific case, no one at the dealership realized that the moon roof option was listed erroneously for the Flex in question.  Unfortunately, there had beenno prior discussion of amoon roof in the phone conversations that would have prompted a visual confirmation by our Sales Manager prior to the ********'s trip to Danville. Pictures of the actual vehicle were shown in the online listing; however, none showed clearly that the vehicle had no moon roof.     Sales Manager *** ***** apologized profusely to the ********’s and explained how this situation, thoughrare, canoccur.  *** offered to fill up their gas tank for their troubles and asked if there was anything else he could do.  Mr. ******** declined, stating that "We don't want anything from you".  *** ***** called Mr. ******** approximately 2 hours after they had left the dealership to apologize again.I immediately contacted our third party vendor that Saturday afternoon, and explained the circumstances to them. They agreed to meet with me the following Tuesday. We met and talked about avoiding situations like this going forward.  I told them that these types of issues were completely unacceptable.  We both agreed to work more closely together to avoidsimilar situations.In summary, we deeply regret the erroneous option listed and take numerous steps to avoid these type situations.  Our disclaimer alerts the consumer to possible discrepancies for the rare occasions which, unfortunatelydo occur.  Regarding Mr. ********’s request for monetary compensation, we offered to reimburse gas for the ********’s trip and were turned down.  We're still willing to reimburse the ********'s for gas and any meal expenses they may have incurred, in the total amount of $100 which should more than cover such expenses.***** ******General Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ******* ********

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left my vehicle at the dealership to be repaired at its 10AM appointment. I was charged for one hour of service, but at the end of the day, my car wasn't repaired. When I brought this up with the customer service lady (who refused to share her name), she said that other cars were in need of work. When I was leaving I noticed that there were also two huge new dents on my door! The customer service lady and her boss took zero responsibility for the damage. They claim that the dents were there when they checked in the car, but they were not. They claim there are no cameras to figure out who dented my door.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Barkhouser Ford to please take responsibility and fix my door (or pay for it to be repaired).

Business Response: Upon receipt of Mr. ******’s complaint via the BBB, we retrieved our records concerning Mr. ******’s repair and I reviewed them with our Service Manager, ***** *********,  Service Advisor, ******* ******, and the technician working on the car, **** ******. Our records indicate that Mr. ****** brought his 1999 Ford Taurus to Barkhouser on 02/20/2015 to check for battery drain and to test the charging system.  Mr. ****** stated that his battery dies overnight after recently having installed an aftermarket MP3 player and power switch.  Ms. ****** noted on the appointment print-out for Mr. ****** that  the car had body damage on the hood and door of the car. She also relayed that information to Mr. ******, the technician.  In diagnosing the battery and charging system of the car, the technician found that the MP3 player was draining power from the battery after the car was turned off. The battery and the factory charging system were found to be in proper working order. Mr. ****** was informed that the MP3 player that he had installed was causing the battery to drain overnight.  We advised him that either the MP3 player would need to be disconnected, or a different power switch used to turn the player off.  We charged Mr. ****** $65.00 for diagnosing his problem.  After reviewing the repair order and Mr. ******’s complaint, I contacted him by phone on  02/25/2015. I asked Mr. ****** to bring his car to the dealership for us to inspect the damage. He was out of town but offered to send pictures of his car. Mr. ****** asked if we had cameras on our lot and whether our tow truck driver or any other employee had seen anything that could explain how his car may have sustained the damage.  I checked, but no one had seen any activity that could have cause the door damage.  Mr. ****** also told me that he had reported the damage to his insurance company, ****. While reviewing the pictures, we observed other damage on the vehicle as well as on the door.  The door damage noted in Mr. ******'s complaint was worse than anticipated and, in our judgment, could not be repaired satisfactorily by paintless dent repair but would require a collision facility repair.  As mentioned previously, Ms. ****** noted some damage on the car hood and door when she inspected the vehicle for write-up.  The question is when and where the door damage occurred.  Barkhouser policy includes the following:damage occurring inside the repair facility is the financial responsibility of Barkhouser;damage caused by a company employee is the financial responsibility of Barkhouser;damage occurring in our public parking lot by any 3rd party will be assumed by the vehicle owner (consistent with other businesses with parking lots open to the public);damage caused by an employee is to be reported immediately to his or her supervisor;Barkhouser assumes 100% financial responsibility for employee-caused damage, and does not financially penalize the employee.  This policy is to encourage our employees to immediately report damage, and the policy has worked very well for decades. Given the location of the damage on the car driver’s door, at the door handle, I feel that it is reasonable to expect that Mr. ****** would notice any “new” damage to his car.  It may have happened on our public parking lot.  However, after interviewing our employees and given our policy of not penalizing our employees when damages occur, I don’t believe the door damage occurred while in the direct possession by our employees. My second conversation by phone with Mr. ****** was on 03/02/2015. I told him I felt that his insurance company was his best course of action.  He said the estimate was for $1,000.00 and that he didn’t want to file a claim.  He instead wanted Barkhouser to pay for the repair.  I explained to Mr. ****** that I would cooperate with him or his insurance company any way I could but that, given the circumstances, Barkhouser Motors would not pay for the repair. ***** ****** General Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that it does not resolve my complaint. The response does not offer anything. Mr ****** has been very polite and I think the description of his investigation sounds pretty accurate.Reading between the lines, however, it seems that Barkhouser was initially willing to repair the damage to my vehicle and accept responsibility (by paintless dent repair) until they realized that it would be costly (evidenced by the $1,000 insurance estimate). To initially accept responsibility and then renege on that responsibility once it becomes expensive does not seem right to me. Fortunately, my insurance has agreed to cover most of the costs for the damage. However, this stlil obligates me to a $200 deductible that I do not feel is my responsibility. To deny responsibility, Mr ****** compares his parking lot to something you might find at a mall. As I see it, the key difference is that when I gave Barkhouser my keys, I entrusted them with my vehicle as if it were their own. They have not responded to this damage as if it were on their own vehicle.Regards, ******* ******

Business Response: We still hold firm to our original response to Mr. ******’s complaint. You asked me if Mr. ******  notified us of the alleged “new” dents before he left the premises, and for the record, he did. I would like to address a couple of points that Mr. ****** made in his response as follows:  #1. His car wasn’t repaired.  We were asked to check the battery and charging system, and  identify the cause of the battery going dead overnight, and we did that. We charged $65.00 for the diagnosis, and gave Mr. ****** a solution to his problem. #2. Renege on original offer.  Before  I had seen the car to inspect the damage, I indicated to Mr. ******, that hopefully we could get the car repaired by paint-less dent repair. After seeing the pictures of his car, and then realizing the extent of the damage, I felt that the area of   concern on the door could not be fixed adequately by that method, and may even risk further damage if the paint were broken during the repair process. #3.Accepting and then denying  responsibility for the damage.       In offering a solution of paint-less dent repair as an option for fixing a dent, before inspecting the damage, cannot be viewed as taking responsibility for the dents in the door.   #4. Possession of keys dictating responsibility of property.  We continue to maintain that our policy of 100% company responsibility for damage incurred by an employee to a vehicle while under direct control of the employee, best serves our customers, the company, and our employees.  Our property is privately owned, but open to the public, the same as a mall parking lot, or ***’s parking lot, or ******* parking lot.  Possession of the key doesn’t constitute responsibility for damage incurred to a vehicle in a public parking lot.   #5. Why don’t we have cameras?  I called and surveyed the other 4 franchised car dealers in Danville, and only one uses surveillance cameras outside the building, so it’s not as if we are the only dealership in town that doesn’t have cameras.Respectfully,***** ******General ManagerBarkhouser Ford Lincoln

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.In addition to my initial proposal to resolve the compalint, I will offer two more possible solutions. Understanding Mr ******'s concerns about paintless dent repair, I am willing to attempt paintless dent repair to resolve this incident. I would also be satisfied if Barkhouser covered the $200 deductible my insurance requires. Here are some details regarding my dissatisfaction with Mr ******'s responses.#1: Barkhouser simply did not repair my car. I asked them to fix the problem that made my battery die overnight, not just diagnose it. Even so, they offered a weak diagnosis at best. (They said "The mechanic thinks it has something to do with the radio"). On top of this, they charged me for a battery and alternator check that the local auto parts store had already done for free. I had told them that the battery and alternator worked fine, so Barkhouser charged me for information I already knew. A feeble diagnosis is certainly not the same thing as a repair.#3: I disagree that offering paintless dent repair is not a form of taking resposibility. I doubt that Barkhouser makes a habit of offering to repair cars towards which they feel no obligations. They clearly recognized a large degree of fault and wished to cheaply correct the solution. I maintain that they reneged once they found out that the repairs would be costly. I also maintain that this is a bad business practice.#4: I disagree that Barkhouser's responsibility policy is the best for its customers. Under that policy, I, a customer, have been left out to dry in a bad way because of this policy. It's not even certain that this incident does not fall under the policy because Barkhouser conveniently does not have cameras. Finally, I do not accept the anecdotal evidence that local dealerships' lack of cameras somehow justifies Barkhouser's negligence. Regardless of the cameras, Barkhouser has a responsibility to correct damage that occurs under their watch. I have also asked around about similar situations where cars were damaged at an auto repair facility (not by the employees, but by a third party). Two similarly costly situations were described to me in which the repair shop fully repaired the vehicles on their private property. That sounds like better business practices to me. I hope Barkhouser considers my offers to resolve this conflict. I am not a fan of bickering and would greatly like to see this issue resolved. Regards, ******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Barkhouser Ford Lincoln
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)