BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/09/1983

Centennial Windows and Doors (Head Office) (Headquarters)

Phone: (519) 451-0508Fax: (519) 451-8582View Additional Phone Numbers687 Sovereign Road, LondonON N5V 4K8 Send email to Centennial Windows and Doors (Head Office)



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/09/1983

BBB has determined that Centennial Windows and Doors (Head Office) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Centennial Windows and Doors (Head Office)'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Centennial Windows and Doors (Head Office)

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
02/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Several ceramic tiles were broken upon removal of our old patio door. After almost 2 months, they have still not completed the repair.
My husband and I decided to replace our patio door, so we obtained quotes from various other companies. **********************************************, we decided to have Centennial Windows install it,*****************************************************************. Upon removal of our old patio door, several ceramic tiles in front of the door were broken. Since we didn't have any extra tile, they took payment and left, assuring us that we would be notified and it would be repaired. I waited three weeks and still no phone call. I had called the head office, every day for a week and still no reply. Finally, the receptionist assured me that someone would contact me later that day. I spoke with ********* later that night and he asked me to purchase the tile and call him back for an installation date. We had set that up for a week later. At this time, we have been waiting on the completion of the job for over a month. The installers assured me they would be back within the next couple of days to finish grouting. Again, days, and weeks went by. I called ***** office continuously every day, with no return phone call. Finally, I got a hold of him and he promised the job would be completed that week. The week passed and the job was not finished. I left a message stating I would find someone else to finish the job, but he assured me the installer would be coming at 9:30 Thursday morning. Well it's now 3:15pm; I have been waiting all day, no phone call, and no installer. ***********************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
Completion of the job and reimbursement for the tiles and grout purchased.

Business Response
Centennial investigated the customer's complaint and determined that Centennial had already completed the job and is in the process of disbursing reimbursement as per the customer's desired resolution prior to the complaint being received by the BBB.
Centennial contacted the customer and confirmed that the job had been completed to the customer's satisfaction.
At time of contact with the customer Centennial took responsibility and apologized for any lack of communication. The customer indicated to Centennial they considered the matter resolved.

01/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fiberglass front door bent, leaking air and condensing after one replacement already
Double fiberglass door ************* originally installed in November 2012. The opening door bent vertically, leaving a gap between the insulation and the door on the top and bottom. After multiple contacts with Centenial Windows, an on-site inspection was performed by a company manager. The problem was confirmed *****************************************************************. The opening door alone was replaced in April-May 2013. ******************************************************************************************** ************************************************************************************************************ Even after the new door installation, the door didn't close tight and flush to the frame on the top. Additionally, the replacement door window insert is manufactured with about 1.5 cm smaller offset from the top compared with the other (non-opening) side of the door (original). We had phone conversations with company representatives multiple times ***********************************************************************************. With a few months gone by, the door deformation has grown bigger. The door is leaking air on the top and bottom of the opening vertical side. And with cold weather outside, the door is now condensing and developing frost on the top and bottom of the inside of the non-opening door where it meets the opening door.

Desired Settlement
* On-site inspection of the problem door by a company manager as soon as possible on a mutually agreed to date and time.
* Full replacement of both doors, glass and frame with a higher quality product than the original. Installation to be performed in the beginning of 2014 in dry weather with temperature of over 10 degrees Celsius.
* Removal and installation by a senior experienced team and different from the ones previously engaged
* Removal and installation oversight and inspection by a company installation manager on the day(s) of work being performed.
* New doors and frame are properly aligned, not leaking air or water.

If all of the above requirements cannot be met, we are requesting a refund********** with the current door installation remaining as is so we can pursue a replacement with another company at our convenience.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email:**********************************
Centennial************************ *** ****** spoke with *** ******* on January 6, 2014. *** ***** outlined a proposal to correct the deficiencies. *** ******* indicated he was happy with both the fast response as well as the resolution. Arrangements have been made to reconnect in the spring to complete the task.

06/16/2016Problems with Product / Service
10/07/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/27/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows, Doors, Manufactured Homes Distributors & Manufacturers, Windows - Installation & Service, Home Improvements

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 31/10/1989Business started: 01/08/1981
Business Management
Bill Rockwood (Marketing Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Lindsay McGhie (Marketing Co-ordinator)Customer Contact: Don Midwood (General Manager)Mr George Warren (President)
Number of Employees

150

Business Category

Windows, Doors, Manufactured Homes Distributors & Manufacturers, Windows - Installation & Service, Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Centennial Windows and Doors (Head Office)

687 Sovereign Road

London, ON N5V 4K8

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 687 Sovereign Road 

    London, ON N5V 4K8(800) 265-1913

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Centennial Windows and Doors (Head Office) is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 265-1913
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Windows

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.