BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/2005

McNaughton Family Shopping Centre

Phone: (519) 693-4484Fax: (519) 693-460522789 Hagerty Rd, NewburyON N0L 1Z0 Send email to McNaughton Family Shopping Centre

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/2005

BBB has determined that McNaughton Family Shopping Centre meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised McNaughton Family Shopping Centre's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on McNaughton Family Shopping Centre

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had windows installed approximately 4 yrs ago the first winter there was found to be a cold breeze that was coming from 2 windows. I called McNaughtons Home Hardware and they sent a contractor(installer) out to re caulk the windows that did nothing to alleviate the problem. I than called the maker of the windows ********************************* about the problem they sent a representative out and water tested the windows which led them to the conclusion the window was fine it just had inadequate insulation which is the problem of the installer from where the windows were purchased - McNaughtons Home Hardware. The maker of the windows than contacted McNaughtons Home Hardware to have them send yet another contractor (installer) out to repair the insulation issue.In conclusion they have re caulked and re insulated the windows to no avail leading me to have to double plastic BRAND NEW windows in the winter/fall seasons.**************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Did finally receive a call indicating they would take the windows out, re install them for half price. My answer was no because it should have been done properly the first time why should I have to pay AGAIN?I did have a representative from Home Hardware come to my house so I could discuss getting a new door and during the sales pitch it came up that if I were to purchase the new door, whilst they are here installing they would take out the windows and do a full re install ...so it would seem if I'm willing to shell out money for a new door they'll do my windows that I've already paid for and that weren't properly installed in the first place. My answer again was no.

Desired Settlement
I would like the 2 windows in question to be taken completely out and re-installed properly INCLUDING proper caulking and insulation. I would like their mistake to be fixed by them with no cost to me.

Business Response
*************** has contacted the customer today and we are sending somebody out to fix the windows. There is a one year warranty signed by the customer but we are providing this additional service for complete customer satisfaction.

Consumer Response
I have been given a date on which McNaughtons will be coming to fix the install of the windows. July 2 2014 I've been guaranteed that they will be able to fix the initial install but if not they will completely take them out and redo the entire install. Thank you
***********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Shopping Centers & Malls, Floor Materials - Retail, Lumber - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/09/2004Business started: 01/01/1948
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1948, ON

Contact Information
Principal: Gary McNaughton (Contact)Customer Contact: Monte McNaughton Mike McNaughton
Number of Employees

55

Business Category

Shopping Centers & Malls, Floor Materials - Retail, Lumber - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Carquest Auto Centre, M & M Meats, Home Electronics, Home Hardware

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for McNaughton Family Shopping Centre

22789 Hagerty Rd

Newbury, ON N0L 1Z0

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 22789 Hagerty Rd 

    Newbury, ON N0L 1Z0(519) 693-4484

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*McNaughton Family Shopping Centre is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Shopping Centers & Malls

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.