BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Western Ontario

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 21/09/1984

Goodlife Fitness Clubs (H.O.) (Headquarters)

Phone: (519) 661-0190

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

257 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 61 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues14
Billing / Collection Issues92
Problems with Product / Service151
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints257

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (257)BBB Closure Definitions
03/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Let it be known that the Goodlife Membership dispute of ************ that the said membership contract is attached. Furthermore this membership purchased on the 20th of July 2013 was purchased as a "1 Year Family and Friends Membership" for a lump sum payment of $281.37 which was paid in full with cash upon initiating the membership. Likewise a second membership was purchased in the same manner at the same time by *****************.

This form of membership does not utilize monthly fees as seen by its absence in the membership contract. No banking information has ever been given by ************ nor any agreements to pay a monthly fee or resulting month over month balance of $459.80 accumulated in error by Goodlife Fitness.

The resulting overdue balance is a clerical error on the part of Goodlife employee *********** which upon discovery by ************ in October of 2013 further notified Goodlife but failed to receive clarification. The same error has occurred with ******************* membership.

Initial Business Response
Good afternoon *****,
Thank you very much for taking the time to reach out and bring this to our attention. We are aware of the situation with our former associate ********** and have corrected the error on both accounts.
Please be advised that there is no money outstanding on either account and that the memberships are clear and active with an expiry date of August 10th, 2014.
Thank you and have a great day!

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Didn't cancel when asked. ********************************
Me and my wife had memberships. Called to cancel both. And they only cancelled mine. I noticed the took money out again. So I called and was told my wife's wasn't canceled and sorry. ************************************************************************************************* Tried to email for responses. To no avail. Was promised a refund. But it's been 8 days and nothing has happened yet. ********************************** ******************************

Initial Business Response
Good afternoon ******
Thank you for taking the time to write with your concerns. Our records show that a refund was processed for the January 31st payment. This was sent to your bank to be processed to your account on February 12th. You should see the credit of $23.73 deposited either that day or the following, depending on your banks processing times.
We will not be reimbursing for the stop payment fee as we have rectified the issue and placing the stop payment was a choice that you made.
If you can forward us your cellular bill detailing the charges specifically caused by phone calls to us after January 31st we can look into reimbursing that for you.
You can send that to ************************.
Thank you and have a great day.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
And the cell phone bill will be sent once I receive it.
The refund was processed yes. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
All in all. I'm happy I got my money back but annoyed of the process**************************************************************************************************************

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: Had a 3 math trail. Activated trail, broke foot 2 days after. Never used trail and asked for them to restart and they wouldn't.
Since I never used a day in this trail due to breaking foot I asked for them to restart the trail and they refused. Asked if they could possibly give me even a month or a week they refused. I won this 3 mth trail from a draw at a bennifit. ******************************************************************************************************************************************* The lady said it didn't matter and there was nothing they could do.

Initial Business Response
Good afternoon **********
Thank you so much for taking the time to reach out to us. I'm so sorry to hear that you weren't able to use your three month trial due to your injury.
If you are able to provide us with a medical note indicating that you were unable to use the membership for it's duration we would be happy to restart the membership for you.
You can email your medical documentation to ******************************
Thank you and have a great day!
**********************************************************

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 46
11/21/2011Billing / Collection Issues
09/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues
07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues
05/29/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 6
09/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Health Clubs

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.