BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Western Ontario

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 25/10/2011

5 Star Dealers

(519) 455-42271500 Dundas St E, LondonON N5W 3B9 Send email to 5 Star Dealers

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 25/10/2011

BBB has determined that 5 Star Dealers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised 5 Star Dealers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: HelloI have been having every day issues with the customer service, maintenance, on my newly purchased second vehicle.********************************************************************************************************************************************** I have missed 8 days of work because my car was ********** getting fixed.My car has water drainage coming from my front windshield which flooded my passenger side flooring, my car barely starts ******************************************************************************************.I had asked to get the maintenance slips to see what has been changed or was replaced but was never there to show me.******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************Thank You
Product_Or_Service: *************
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
We are willing to bring Mr. ******'s vehicle in and honour any service that was agreed to on his contract and bill of sale. We have brought Mr. ******'s vehicle in on other occasions when he had concerns. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************** If Mr. ****** would like to call me I would be more then happy to discuss any issues he may be having and I will do my best to rectify any problems that he is having. My ****** has not contacted me personally nor was I aware that he was having continuing issues. If he would like to call me or email me my number is XXX-XXX-XXXX or he can email me at ***************@5stardealer.ca.

Final Consumer Response
I would be more than happy to trade in this vehicle for a more reliable vehicle.

Final Business Response
We are not going to cancel the contract on the current vehicle. We are willing to repair anything that falls within his 30 day guarantee or that would be covered under the warranty that he signed for. If he is concerned about speaking with someone that will get it done he is more then welcome to phone the manager **** ******* at anytime and I would be more then happy to answer and questions he has and make sure that the work promised gets done. I have not received any messages or anything from him so again not getting through by calling to the dealership is something I am just learning about. If you would like Mr. ****** can call my personal cell phone to arrange the repairs and that way he can be assured that I will pick up so we can set an appointment and get this taken care of. My personal cell number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. We are more then willing to stand behind any guarantees that were given and would like to resolve this and make sure Mr ****** is comfortable in the vehicle he chose. We are not interested in cancelling the contract though and will not be taking the vehicle back unless Mr ****** is interested in trading it in.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/29/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/06/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 20/03/2007Business started: 01/01/2005
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2005, ON

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Brad Stewart (General Sales Manager)
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for 5 Star Dealers

1500 Dundas St E

London, ON N5W 3B9

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1500 Dundas St E 

    London, ON N5W 3B9(519) 455-4227

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*5 Star Dealers is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.