BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Western Michigan

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/1979

EPS Security

Find a Location

(616) 459-0281View Additional Phone Numbers750 Front Ave NW STE 300, Grand RapidsMI 49504-4470 Send email to EPS Security

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/1979

BBB has determined that EPS Security meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised EPS Security's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on EPS Security

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide itemized billing as requested

Complaint: Keep getting bills without detailed descriptions, cannot get detailed descriptions when asked.
My problem is that I keep getting billed but I don't know what the bills are for. I have called in on two separate occassions to get the detailed amounts and cannot.

The first time I called about this I was told someone would call me back and no one ever did.

Today I spoke with a ****, and all I tried to get was the total amount we were billed (we've only had service for 3 months) and the total amount we have paid. She could not provide that information without printing things out and calling us back.

She did call back, and then told me the total I had paid was about $400 and that we owed $63. Then she said "well I'm not sure about that, it could be $360." So I said "I've only had service 3 months how could it be that high?" She said "Install was $329, I think, well I'm not really sure." So I said "I don't understand why install was so high I should be paying for the smoke alarms monthly. Was I billed for the smoke alarms."

She said, "Well I really have no idea, that's between you and the sales rep....." I said, "Ok,... but I really need that info if you want me to keep paying bills, you keep sending me bills without an explanation of what they are for." So she says she's going to look into it and get back with me. I said it really shouldn't be that hard to tell me why and what I was billed, and she said "I'm sorry but it is, we might not be able to get back with you until tomorrow."

**** was reasonably polite and I believe tried to be helpful. That is not my problem. My problem is with the EPS systems. The fact that I am having to chase around bills to find out what they are for, and the fact that EPS' own staff doesn't have easy access to that info. I also have a problem that the online account system doesn't allow you to just sign up, you have to fill out a form and "request an account". I was told this takes 48 hours. This is 2013, customer's should be able to make an account and not have to wait around 48 hours to have someone manually approve it.

On top of that, I feel like I was overbilled, but I have no way of knowing without seeing the bill. I do know $400 is a lot when our house already had the system installed.

Finally, I also have a complaint about the installation itself. We did not have the basement finished, and we had two motion sensors taken off the wall for painting. The technician suggested (without us asking) that he come back and install those after the painting was done. He did not mention there would be an extra charge for this, and since he suggested it and didn't mention a charge we assumed it was included in the install. When we called in to get the two sensors installed, we were informed we'd have to pay to have him come back out, or sign up for a monthly service plan. Had we been informed of that we would have had him install the sensors and painted around them as we had originally planned.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***************, Director
Contact Phone: **************
Contact Email: *************************
I regret that Mr. ******* has received less than exceptional service from my staff. We are experiencing a bit of growing pain at the moment with several new employees that are still in training.

Here is a breakdown of the pricing to date:
* Agreement dated August 15, 2013 details the monitoring (recurring) charges of $81.00 per quarter
* Rider to Agreement shows EPS will install 3 smoke detectors and 1 water detector for $135.00 plus tax plus an additional $27.00 per quarter.

The following invoices have been sent to Mr. *******.

******* 9/24/13 $138.60 This is for the installation of the additional equipment

******* 9/24/13 $126.00 This is the first prorated invoice for monitoring service. Dates covered are 9/16/13 thru 12/31/13. Future
invoices will be for a calendar quarter.

***** 9/24/13 $-36.00 Credit for 1st month free
******* 12/1/13 $108.00 Service for 1/1/14 thru 3/31/14

Total Invoiced $ 336.60

Payments received:
8/23/13 $ 75.00
9/25/13 $ 90.00
11/18/13 $ 63.60
Total Paid $228.60

There is a remaining balance on the account of $108.00 that is due 12/31/13. This is an invoice that was just mailed out on 12/1/13.

In regards to the re-mounting of the 2 motion detectors we are happy to schedule a technician to come out and perform this work however, this would be a chargable service call. Had the original technician done the work the day he was there Mr. ******* would have been charged for the work also. This work is in addition to the reinstatement of the system and/or the addition of the 3 smoke and 1 water detectors. I am sorry Mr. ******* assumed that it would be at no charge however this is a chargeable call in addition to the monitor services he pays on a quarterly basis.

If Mr. ******* has any further questions on the issues above or an issue in the future he can always ask to speak to our Customer Service Supervisor, ************************ or myself. ***** can be contacted at *********************** and would be happy to assist him. I can be contacted at the same number and my extension is ***.



Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not feel I should have to pay to have a technician come back out since your technician was the one that did not install the detectors to begin with and suggested we do them later. If he declined to install them, he should have informed us there would be a charge to do them later.

He is the one that declined to install them during my free install, this was not my suggestion. You should do the right thing and correct his negligence. They could have easily been installed and painted around. By your logic he could have installed nothing during the free install and then we would have to pay for everything at a later date. He didn't do his job during the free install, this shouldn't be fixed at our cost.

If that is not possible we would like our service canceled at no charge to us. We no longer want to do business with a company that won't do the right thing.

Final Business Response
EPS will go ahead and re-install the two (2) motion detectors per your request at no charge. However, please understand that the "free install" you mentioned was to upgrade your panel and to tie in the motion sensors, not to reinstall them. You also selected not to have a service agreement on your account so any time a technician comes to your home there will be a service charge in the future.
Please contact one of our supervisors to schedule your appointment. They can be reached at ******************************.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

12/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: Original contract holder dead. Company will not allow contract to be cancelled.
Contract is for security alarm monitoring. Alarm has not been turned on for more than 2 years. Company will not allow contract to be cancelled without signature of dead person or 2 other unknown people.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***************, Director
Contact Phone: *******************
Contact Email: *************************
I spoke with ****** ****** by phone and we have worked out the issue. Due to security reasons and contractual obligations EPS Security must have a cancellation request in writing by an authorized user. Unfortunately, Mr. ****** ****** passed away some time ago and no other authorized users could be located.

This has placed Ms. ****** in a difficult situation and for that I have apologized. During our conversation we have determined another way for the cancellation to be processed. Ms. ****** will not only be sending the cancellation request on her company letterhead but has also provided a couple of utility bills showing another person is now responsible for the home. With this documentation we will be able to prove the ownership and accept the cancellation request.
If you have any questions or further concerns please feel free to contact at ********************* or *************************.
Sincerely,
EPS SECURITY

***************
Director of Administrative Services

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: See on line attachment

Initial Business Response
Mr.****** is correct in his complaint that his most recent payment of $93.00 was for April, May and June. However, the outstanding invoice for $26.50 if for the balance of his 30 day cancellation notice. Under paragraph C. Term:, of his agreement dated June 5th, 2008 it states "After the three (3) years, this Agreement shall automatically renew on a month to month basis unless terminated by either party by written notice to the other party postmarked thirty (30) days prior to termination date or any extension thereof."

Mr.****** letter is dated June 24, 2013 and was received on June 25, 2013. Mr.****** was invoiced for the term of July 1, 2013 to July 24, 2013, $26.50, for the remaining balance of the 30 day notice as stated in his agreement with EPS.

I would be happy to supply a copy of the agreement along with Mr.****** cancellation letter for your review.

In light of the small amount owed EPS will extend a goodwill credit to Mr.****** although he did not provide proper notice.

If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me **************************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/21/1983Business started: 01/01/1955
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1967, MI

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Allan Carlson (CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Kevin Carlson (President)Mr. David Hood (Director of Business Development)
Number of Employees

198

Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

Products & Services

This company offers security, fire alarm, video surveillance and access control systems.

Alternate Business Names
Engineered Protection Systems, Inc.
Industry Tips
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Security Tips to Protect Laptops, PDAs and Cell Phones

If you choose to do business with EPS Security, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for EPS Security

750 Front Ave NW STE 300

Grand Rapids, MI 49504-4470

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*EPS Security is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 968-3379
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews as of January 1, 2013. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Security Tips to Protect Laptops, PDAs and Cell Phones
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00-5.99
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.