BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2001

Avalon Building Concepts, Inc.

(616) 261-9927View Additional Phone Numbers5017 S Division Ave, WyomingMI 49548-5601 Send email to Avalon Building Concepts, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2001

BBB has determined that Avalon Building Concepts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Avalon Building Concepts, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Avalon Building Concepts, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
11/02/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Work not complete, no communication,
It did not go well. On the plus side, I called with a leaking roof and they responded within 5 hours. Scheduled to remove snow and de-ice around chimney at 11:00 on Saturday, Feb 8, 2014. Called office at 12:40 on scheduled day as no one from the company was here, nor did they call me. Manager stopped by approx 1:30 and stated his son was on the way. Son showed up at approx 2:30 with another young man. They did not knock on the door nor call informing me they were going to begin work - I only noticed because my 18 month old granddaughter started crying and dog started barking due to noise on the roof. Approximately 4:30, I noticed the vehicle was gone from my driveway. I stepped out and hollered to see if anyone was still on the roof. One young man was and stated the other had to go "take his ole lady to work". Approximately 6-6:30 PM, I stepped out to see if anyone was still on the roof as it was getting dark and I was concerned about his safety. There was no ladder, and no one on the roof, nor did anyone say when or if they would be back. The snow on the entire roof was not removed. Sunday came and went with no contact from the company. At 11:00 Monday, I still had not heard from the company and stopped payment on the check explaining the situation, stating I understand the 2 young men deserve to be paid for their time. I put a stop payment on the check, called the company and they are extremely upset with me. When asked how much I think I owe, I stated maybe $25 an hour per man on roof. Then they got upset because I offered a price. Manager is on the way to talk with me and I told him I would not answer the door. I am disabled and will not put myself under this kind of stress.

Desired Settlement
Willing to pay for time of partial snow removal.

Business Response
*********,

First, we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. We work had to get as much feedback from our customers as possible, in order to ensure we're delivering the highest possible service.

You contacted us and requested expedited service for a roof leak and I'm glad we were able to respond immediately. You phoned us on a Friday and we were at your home working the very next day, Saturday, to begin performing the snow removal work. I'm sure you can appreciate the fact that we work very hard to service every customer as quickly as possible, despite the the current weather conditions.

With that said, there is no excuse for poor customer etiquette by our work crews. They should have better informed you of their intentions and work schedule. We try hard to fit our customer's schedules, but it seems in this case, we fell short.

After speaking with you to resolve the issue, we offered several resolutions, including completing the work at a discount and you opted to cancel the work, even though we already performed most of it. Therefore you received next day service at no cost.

Again, we apologize for our staff's miscommunication and scheduling errors.

Regards,
Avalon

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason I do not accept the response is as follows:

For clarification, every contact I had with the project manager went poorly. At one point, he came to my house, climbed over the back fence to take photos without being invited. My larger issue is the behavior of the project manager. The owner did finally call me back. Although there was no discount offered as per their response. He did agree it could have been handled better and the work performed, although not completed, is at no cost. The only reason the response is not accepted is for clarification of the behavior of the project manager as well as no discount was offered to finish the work. The owner and I had a nice conversation.

Final Business Response
Again, we apologize for our staff's miscommunication and scheduling errors.

Regards,
Avalon

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Construction & Remodeling Services, Remodeling Services, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Doors, Deck Builder, Contractors - General, Contractor - Insulation, Siding Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/04/2000Business started: 06/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1994, MI

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Mead (President)
Number of Employees

23

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Construction & Remodeling Services, Remodeling Services, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Doors, Deck Builder, Contractors - General, Contractor - Insulation, Siding Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service


If you choose to do business with Avalon Building Concepts, Inc., please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Avalon Building Concepts, Inc.

5017 S Division Ave

Wyoming, MI 49548-5601

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5017 S Division Ave 

    Wyoming, MI 49548-5601(616) 261-9927

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Avalon Building Concepts, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (616) 261-9723
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews as of January 1, 2013. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.