BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2007

Action Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc.

(616) 877-4055View Additional Phone Numbers1134 Morren Ct, WaylandMI 49348-8944 Send email to Action Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2007

BBB has determined that Action Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Action Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Action Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/06/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
REPLACEMENT OF WATER HEATER UNDER WARRANTY- COST OF LABOR AND MATERIALS NOT STATED UP FRONT
My water heater, not originally installed by Action Plumbing, was leaking so I called my plumber, a Bradford White dealer, and he stated that he would be willing to replace it, he charged $355 total for the install, but he recommended that I call Bradford White to see if it was under warranty first.

So, I called Bradford White and they stated that it was still under warranty and they recommended that I call Action plumbing for a warranty replacement.

When I contacted Action Plumbing I was told that they would be out the next morning and that the Bradford White water heater would be replaced free of charge. At no point did anyone state that they would need to charge me for the labor and materials. So, I had assumed that Bradford White and Action Plumbing had an agreement where Bradford White would compensate Action for the install.

Once the plumber arrived the next day he quickly replaced my water heater with a new Bradford White water heater and was gone within an hour and 15 minutes. At no point did he mention that there would be a cost to me either, nor was I provided with an estimate of any sort or any paperwork.

I then received a bill for $581 (155.44 for Materials and Permits and 426 for 1 hr and 15 minutes of labor) I contacted Bradford White and they stated that the warranty doesn't cover installation costs and so I would have to contact Action Plumbing.

I contacted Action Plumbing and stated that I was not made aware of this cost, Cindy (the employee on the phone) was courteous but stated that "the cost is the cost" and that they "disclose that to all warranty customers up front". This simply isn't true, had I known that the cost was going to be more than the $355 that my plumber (Insight Mechanical) would charge me, then why would I have okay'd the extra $226.

Desired Settlement
I am fine with paying Action, if it is the warranty rules that I have to pay for labor then I will pay. But, I do not feel that it is correct for me to pay any more than I would have paid my own Bradford White dealer.

So, because I was not advised of any cost for the install, let alone the much higher cost than my own Bradford White dealer, I believe that I should simply pay the $355 that I would have paid my own plumber had I not been led to believe that there was not a cost or increased cost for using Action Plumbing.

I am willing to pay $355 immediately, it is not a matter of whether or not they deserve to be paid. It is a matter of whether or not I should have been led to believe that there was no cost associated with the change over; and if there were a cost why was I not advised of it so I could have made a better purchase decision.

Although I feel they did a good job, I do not see the logic in making what amounts to a donation of $226 for the same work I would have chosen to have done by an equally qualified and reputable firm had I known

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********** (Serv. Man.)
Contact Phone: 616-877-4055
Contact Email: *****************************
We did find an error in our billing and we will adjust ******* invoice. However, when installing a new water heater, we pulled a permit and installed a water heater pan which we do per code. We are not sure if the home owner's plumber had figured the cost of that in his estimate. We will notify ***** of the adjustment. Thank you.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Mechanical Contractors, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/27/2002Business started: 07/01/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2006, MI

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dellen Vanderwoude (President/Owner)Ms. Cindy Vanderwoude (Secretary)
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Plumbers, Mechanical Contractors, Heating Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers residential, commercial, and industrial plumbing and heating services.


If you choose to do business with Action Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc., please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Action Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc.

1134 Morren Ct

Wayland, MI 49348-8944

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1134 Morren Ct 

    Wayland, MI 49348-8944(616) 877-4055

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Action Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (616) 877-4081
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews as of January 1, 2013. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.