BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/15/1987

Norman Camera & Video

Find a Location

(269) 343-0460View Additional Phone Numbers3602 S Westnedge Ave, KalamazooMI 49008-2969 Send email to Norman Camera & Video

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/15/1987

BBB has determined that Norman Camera & Video meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Norman Camera & Video's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Norman Camera & Video

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made a purchase a store called Norman Camera & Video, after paying, and they processed the shipment, they cancel the purchase claiming technical
Hi I made a purchase in ******* to a store called Norman Camera & Video, after paying, and they processed the shipment, they cancel the purchase claiming technical problems
violating my rights as a buyer and to send me the product
After making the purchase and the transaction succeed
they cancel without assuming responsibility as a seller
they must compensate the damage caused to my person, who expected the package you bought with high hopes


Order Confirmation

Order ********************
Hello **** *******,
Thank you for shopping with us. We'd like to let you know that Norman Camera & Video has received your order, and is preparing it for shipment. Your estimated delivery date is below. If you would like to view the status of your order or make any changes to it, please visit Your Orders on ***********

Your estimated delivery date is:
Tuesday, June 11, 2013 -
Friday, June 14, 2013

Your shipping speed:
Standard


Your order will be sent to:
******* ****** **** ****** (***-***)**************
****************
*************************
United States

Order Details
Order ********************
Placed on Wednesday, June 5, 2013
-****************************************************************************************** Cameras
*****; Camera
Sold by Norman Camera & Video

Desired Settlement
I want to send the product I paid
Hi I made a purchase in ******* to a store called Norman Camera & Video, after paying, and they processed the shipment, they cancel the purchase claiming technical problems
violating my rights as a buyer and to send me the product
After making the purchase and the transaction succeed
they cancel without assuming responsibility as a seller
they must compensate the damage caused to my person, who expected the package you bought with high hopes


Order Confirmation

Order*********************
Hello **** *******,
Thank you for shopping with us. We'd like to let you know that Norman Camera & Video has received your order, and is preparing it for shipment. Your estimated delivery date is below. If you would like to view the status of your order or make any changes to it, please visit Your Orders on Amazon.com.

Your estimated delivery date is:
Tuesday, June 11, 2013 -
Friday, June 14, 2013

Your shipping speed:
Standard


Your order will be sent to: *
******* ****** **** ****** (***-***)*************
****************
*************************
United States

Order Details
Order*********************
Placed on Wednesday, June 5, 2013
******************************************************************************************* Cameras
*****; Camera
Sold by Norman Camera & Video

Business Response
On Wednesday 6/5/2013 we had a technical upload error between our data feed and The ****** Marketplace resulting in pricing of expensive products going in at the wrong price. This error was caught within a few minutes however unfortunately before the error was caught some orders were placed on ******. Immediately when we realized what had happened we removed the feed from ******, cancelled the orders, contacted the customers to let them know of the error and contacted ****** to refund their orders immediately. This particular lens sells for $699.95 so it was quite obvious that it was an error selling for $23.50. We explained what had happened via an email that the customer received but didn't post here. The email he posted was an automated response generated from ******. Below is the email he received explaining the situation.

Hello,

I apologize for the technical error that caused this issue.

The automated upload that was done this morning of our inventory caused most items to go in with the wrong price, i.e. items of all prices went in at $14.95 or $23.50 in error. This was caught by ****** within minutes, and all associated orders were canceled as quickly as possible and will be fully refunded. We apologize for any inconvenience, and again your order is being fully refunded by ******. ****** is fully aware of the issue, and helped alert us of the technical error, and assisted in the cancelation of the orders.

Thanks for your consideration, and again I apologize for any inconvenience,

******* ********

Norman Camera & Video
**************
(***) ********

Unfortunately in this computer age mistakes/technical difficulties happen and we did everything we could to rectify the situation as quickly as possible, We did not knowingly cause this error and certainly didn't benefit in any way from this error. Again we apologize to the customer for the inconvenience this caused and we have taken every reasonable step to rectify the situation.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

I Do not think it's fair that a so-called "technical problem" has kept me from getting the lens I ordered. This was either their or ******'s fault, not mine. I will be sure to not place an order with their company in the future based on their poor handling of this transaction. All I received was an e-mail stating the order was cancelled due to a "technical problem". No other explanation was given."
"Item not received! Seller cancelled my order and made excuses about technical problems. Seller should honor the sale! Deceptive seller! Technical problems didn't keep seller from TAKING my money!
They must Send me my order!"
they must respond to consumer rights
who is not to blame for what happened
and the damage personal and psychological
must take its responsibility as a shop
they must compensate the damage caused

03/23/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/15/1987Business started: 01/01/1957
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marlene Whitman (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Kelly Felton (Vice President)
Number of Employees

22

Business Category

Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Products & Services

This company offers photographic and video equipment.

Alternate Business Names
Norman Camera Company, LLC

If you choose to do business with Norman Camera & Video, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Norman Camera & Video

3602 S Westnedge Ave

Kalamazoo, MI 49008-2969

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2954 28th St SE 

    Grand Rapids, MI 49512-1625(616) 954-9920

  • 3602 S Westnedge Ave 

    Kalamazoo, MI 49008-2969(269) 343-0460

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Western Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Norman Camera & Video is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 900-6676
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews as of January 1, 2013. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.